Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 52 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Just did the update last night on my 5100 and noticed nothing different. Plays just as great as before.
steve1971 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
installed the new firmware today on my 3100, so far so good here as well. Also noticed a service update too. Looks like techCrunch is a new service sony has added, didn't notice anything else straight up.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1533 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post

installed the new firmware today on my 3100, so far so good here as well. Also noticed a service update too. Looks like techCrunch is a new service sony has added, didn't notice anything else straight up.


Yea Tech Crunch is the only new addition on my 5100 that I noticed.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1534 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 181
The only issue I have with my S5100 is I have to resign into YouTube, and punch in the code on my laptop every time I restart the 5100............ Annoying.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #1535 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
DukeNukem1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Model: BDP-S5100
Tested: USB functionality on September 25, 2013

Software version: M15.R.0093 (out of the box)
Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: No
Supports VC1 MKV: No
Supports compressed subtitles: Yes
Supports PGS subtitles: No

Then I upgraded the software to version M15.R.0163.

Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports VC1 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports compressed subtitles: Yes
Supports PGS subtitles: No

In a nutshell, Sony has finally made available to us a stellar Blu-ray/media player. I tried other players from Samsung and LG and they all fell short (i.e. no support for HDDs greater than 2TB, didn't play all formats, etc.). I had a WD Live, but it got hot and kept freezing so I returned it. The picture quality on the 5100 is perfect, the interface looks slick, and it has 2 USB ports (1 front, 1 back), Wi-Fi, 3D, and a bunch of other features. I wish it supported PGS (native Blu-ray) subtitles, but they can be compressed using zlib or just use MakeMKV and select the WD profile when ripping.
marctronixx, Kisakuku and mijotter like this.
DukeNukem1967 is offline  
post #1536 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
Lucy Hall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi I am getting this as of yesterday, did you manage to get anywhere as yet? 

Lucy Hall is offline  
post #1537 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

The only issue I have with my S5100 is I have to resign into YouTube, and punch in the code on my laptop every time I restart the 5100............ Annoying.

I had this in the past. Turns out my router firewall filtering rule I put in to block my kids' gaming interferes with it. After excluding the player's IP, it has been working fine. The YouTube re-signin feature must have used some odd ports (like somewhere in 5000 range) and if they are blocked, it will fail.
D Bone likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1538 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by DukeNukem1967 View Post

I wish it supported PGS (native Blu-ray) subtitles, but they can be compressed using zlib or just use MakeMKV and select the WD profile when ripping.

Great alternative to the methods I posted for conversion to text-based subs.
Kisakuku is offline  
post #1539 of 3173 Old 09-26-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
I did a test and use MKVMerge to compress the PSG subtitle with zlib compression, it didn't work on my 5100.

Another test using MakeMKV to rip with WTV profile doesn't work either. No subtitles displayed. It doesn't looks like Sony players like PSG subtitles, compressed or not.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1540 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 05:39 AM
Newbie
 
DukeNukem1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You're right, the 5100 doesn't support PGS subtitles, compressed or not. My apologies. I mistook the TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles as compressed PGS. Last night I ripped a Blu-ray with MakeMKV using the WDTV profile and tried to play the compressed PGS subtitles. No success. Here is my updated review.

Model: BDP-S5100
Tested: USB functionality on September 25, 2013

Software version: M15.R.0093 (out of the box)
Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: No
Supports VC1 MKV: No
Supports uncompressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports compressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles: Yes

Then I upgraded the software to version M15.R.0163.

Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports VC1 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports uncompressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports compressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles: Yes

In a nutshell, Sony has finally made available to us a stellar Blu-ray/media player. I tried other players from Samsung and LG and they all fell short (i.e. no support for HDDs greater than 2TB, didn't play all formats, etc.). I had a WD Live, but it got hot and kept freezing so I returned it. The picture quality on the 5100 is perfect, the interface looks slick, and it has 2 USB ports (1 front, 1 back), Wi-Fi, 3D, and a bunch of other features. I wish it supported uncompressed PGS (native Blu-ray) subtitles or even compressed PGS, but maybe we'll see that in a future software upgrade. In the meantime, I will look for some kind of PGS to UTF-8 converter and report back.
DukeNukem1967 is offline  
post #1541 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,209
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 279 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by DukeNukem1967 View Post

You're right, the 5100 doesn't support PGS subtitles, compressed or not. My apologies. I mistook the TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles as compressed PGS. Last night I ripped a Blu-ray with MakeMKV using the WDTV profile and tried to play the compressed PGS subtitles. No success. Here is my updated review.

Model: BDP-S5100
Tested: USB functionality on September 25, 2013

Software version: M15.R.0093 (out of the box)
Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: No
Supports VC1 MKV: No
Supports uncompressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports compressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles: Yes

Then I upgraded the software to version M15.R.0163.

Supports 4TB HDD: Yes
Supports AVC MKV: Yes
Supports MPEG2 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports VC1 MKV: Yes !!!
Supports uncompressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports compressed PGS subtitles: No
Supports TEXT/UTF-8 subtitles: Yes

In a nutshell, Sony has finally made available to us a stellar Blu-ray/media player. I tried other players from Samsung and LG and they all fell short (i.e. no support for HDDs greater than 2TB, didn't play all formats, etc.). I had a WD Live, but it got hot and kept freezing so I returned it. The picture quality on the 5100 is perfect, the interface looks slick, and it has 2 USB ports (1 front, 1 back), Wi-Fi, 3D, and a bunch of other features. I wish it supported uncompressed PGS (native Blu-ray) subtitles or even compressed PGS, but maybe we'll see that in a future software upgrade. In the meantime, I will look for some kind of PGS to UTF-8 converter and report back.


It is one of the best Sony Blu ray players I have had the pleasure of owning that's for sure smile.gif. I had the S590 but that was sort of a let down due to it being slow loading disc's and streaming wasn't all that great. Since I have had the S5100 that's all changed for the better.
marctronixx likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1542 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 58
yeah Duke please report back as I, along with many other i'm assuming are also interested.

mijotter is offline  
post #1543 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Converting graphical PSG into textural subtitle won't be easy because of the OCR process required. You can easily find the SRT subtitle files on the internet for the movie you are interested in. BUT most of them do not necessary line up correctly with the movie track. A lot of try and error.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1544 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 08:52 AM
Newbie
 
DukeNukem1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, I see online that it's a real pain in the ass. I've emailed Sony to see if they have any plans for PGS support in future software updates for the 5100. I'll post their reply. PGS support would make the 5100 the best Blu-ray/media player on the friggin' planet. Sony would make a killing, and by all accounts they could use a financial miracle. For years I avoided Sony products because they made what they wanted to sell, not what customers wanted to buy. It's like Sony hated their customers, like a band hating their fans. LOL.
marctronixx likes this.
DukeNukem1967 is offline  
post #1545 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
alan026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Can anyone assist me with manually changing the DNS settings on the BDP-S3100?

alan026 is offline  
post #1546 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 04:10 PM
Member
 
kamgol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

No issues here with Amazon on my S5100, but I run wireless on a 6Mbps U-verse connection.

It's interesting, I don't have connectivity issues per se, but I do have the issue where the app won't find my watch list or it says it's empty (I know it's not) and I don't have a separate account tied to it. Anyone else experience this?

BTW, I have a similar U-verse setup but with 11Mbps and the wireless signal has full bars on the player.
kamgol is offline  
post #1547 of 3173 Old 09-27-2013, 09:03 PM
Newbie
 
DukeNukem1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here is the reply from Sony...

"Thank you for contacting Sony Support.

I understand that you want to know if we can integrate PGS subtitle.
We appreciate your feedback, Sony has plans to support PGS in future, we may include this in future update.

Thank you for understanding."


Well, the 5100 plays everything but PGS subs, and that might happen down the road. Looks like it's a keeper. smile.gif
DukeNukem1967 is offline  
post #1548 of 3173 Old 09-28-2013, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Just got this player and I love it but I can NOT get it to put out a DTS 5.1 signal through coaxial to my receiver when playing blu-ray rips off my external hard drive.

When I switch to a physical blu-ray disc I get 5.1 DTS just fine through coaxial.

My old Netgear media player put out a 5.1 from these very same rips no problem so I know it's possible ...

Is this some bull$hit copy protection issue with newer players? If I can't solve this I'll have to take the player back which is a shame because I love it otherwise ...

Any input will be greatly appreciated!.

EDIT: I've discovered that all other ripped 5.1 files will put out 5.1 audio through coaxial with this player, so it is just ripped .m2ts files that won't. They get downmixed to Dolby Prologic. According to the player it is putting out a DTS HD 7.1 signal so maybe it is my receiver screwing things up? It might be converting the DTS signal incorrectly ... strange since again it works fine when outputting from the Netgear player ...
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #1549 of 3173 Old 09-28-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Not sure about coaxial output (I don't use it) but this player does output DTS-HD MA through HDMI for ripped files (mkv or m2ts) which I don't know any other brands of players out there can do. DTS-HD MA can't be outputted through coax. The player is supposed to output DTS 5.1 instead. But as I said, I use HDMI and never really cared to test coax output.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1550 of 3173 Old 09-28-2013, 03:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tangled Cable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Thanks for responding, Foxbat121!

According to the player it IS outputting DTS-HD 7.1 .. I wonder if it is sending it through the HDMI cable to my (muted) projector? But then I probably wouldn't get any sound at all through the coaxial ...

I've looked through the Sony's settings and can see no option to select DTS 5.1 output. It is either PCM or Auto and that is it ....
Tangled Cable is offline  
post #1551 of 3173 Old 09-28-2013, 04:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
The player only displays what audio track it is playing, not what it is outputting. The HDMI output format is auto-negotiated. If you play a disc and DTS 5.1 comes out fine, that means your settings are probably fine. The problem here is probably software related. There is no settings for that. Report to Sony and hopefully they will fix it next time.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1552 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 12:12 AM
Newbie
 
amyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, I do not have a technical bone in my body so please be kind. My blu ray player only has HDMI & digital coaxial outputs. My old, but beautiful TV has, F connector (coaxial not sure if digital), DVI and analog (red & white) inputs for audio. I have the HDMI port going to the DVI port for video, looks lovely but how do I get sound? I do not have an AVR (whatever that is) but my TV does have a receiver box with the ports I described above. I just want it to play sound. Can I use the coax to coax or do I need to buy a conver for coax to analog? Thanks so much !!

amyl is offline  
post #1553 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 35
watched a discovery ID flick and it was in Super HD. had the icon on the title. didnt see this prior to the update.

also netflix has stated they are allowing all isp's to jump on the higher bandwidth bandwagon now, which is cool. i use Fios and they were not a part of the elite isp's who had access to super hd content initially....
marctronixx is offline  
post #1554 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 02:10 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,263
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by amyl View Post

Hi, I do not have a technical bone in my body so please be kind. My blu ray player only has HDMI & digital coaxial outputs. My old, but beautiful TV has, F connector (coaxial not sure if digital), DVI and analog (red & white) inputs for audio. I have the HDMI port going to the DVI port for video, looks lovely but how do I get sound? I do not have an AVR (whatever that is) but my TV does have a receiver box with the ports I described above. I just want it to play sound. Can I use the coax to coax or do I need to buy a conver for coax to analog? Thanks so much !!

Welcome to AVSForum.

DVI doesn't carry audio so you need another connection for that.

I'm not sure how the receiver box for your setup works, whether the coax would be a match for the player. Have you tried it?

Does the player have the stereo L/R outputs? If so that would be a sensible route. Again, have you tried it and is it not working?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #1555 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Unfortunately, your TV can only accept analog audio inputs but your 3100 doesn't have any analog outputs. So unless you purchase an HDMI receiver, you are SOL.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #1556 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,592
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by amyl View Post

Hi, I do not have a technical bone in my body so please be kind. My blu ray player only has HDMI & digital coaxial outputs. My old, but beautiful TV has, F connector (coaxial not sure if digital), DVI and analog (red & white) inputs for audio. I have the HDMI port going to the DVI port for video, looks lovely but how do I get sound? I do not have an AVR (whatever that is) but my TV does have a receiver box with the ports I described above. I just want it to play sound. Can I use the coax to coax or do I need to buy a conver for coax to analog? Thanks so much !!

Indeed one or your options is to get a coax-to-stereo converter. Here's one. There are many others. They should be available at a local electronics store like Radio Shack or Best Buy. They cost about $30 or so.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?seq=1&format=2&p_id=6884&CAWELAID=1329453854&catargetid=320013720000010661&cadevice=c&cagpspn=pla&gclid=CIyD_LnW8LkCFeXMtAod3wgACA

Don't forget to get the cables to connect them together. Don't let the sales people persuade you to spend more than about $30 for all of three of them: video coax for player audio to converter, stereo audio from converter to TV.

Another option is to replace the Blu-ray player, getting one which has analog audio outputs. The ones that I'm aware of cost about $200-$250. e.g. Sony's BDP-S790.

A more expensive option is to get a "soundbar" which has both a coax and optical digital audio input -- optical from the TV, coax from the Blue-ray player. A side-effect is that it is likely to provide better sound than your current TV speakers. They'd cost about $300 or so. Here's one example. There are many others. http://www.bestbuy.com/site/vizio-5-1-channel-soundbar-system-with-6-wireless-subwoofer/8761077.p?id=1218890758277&skuId=8761077&ref=06&loc=01&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=8761077&extensionType={adtype}:{network}&s_kwcid=PTC!pla!{keyword}!{matchtype}!{adwords_producttargetid}!{network}!{ifmobile:M}!{creative}&kpid=8761077&k_clickid=4c105a12-ab7f-7468-e3d9-00004bbc9a78&gclid=CPrClbTX8LkCFcmV3god0xAABw

The next step up would be a Home-Theater-In-a-Box (commonly abbreviated HTIB) at about $500-1000.

And above that woudl be an Audio-Video-Receiver (commonly abbreviated AVR) plus a separate set of speakers. With speakers, that'd be about $700 or more -- as much more as you're willing to spend.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1557 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 06:20 AM
Newbie
 
amyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Unfortunately, my player does not have any connections for L/R audio cables. I am going to get a digital coax and and F connector and try to get sound. I'd really like to make this work because the picture is amazing. The only other option is to return it and get a model (Sony doesn't make one) with the L/R audio ports in the back. Thanks for responding :) Here is a link to what I have available on my tv:

http://www.hdtvsolutions.com/pdf/sony_KDLxxXBR950_user.pdf

amyl is offline  
post #1558 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 07:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,161
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1075 Post(s)
Liked: 589
confused.gif
That's not going to work. The first device Selden linked will work. Or get one of last year's Sony, the x90 series.
mdavej is offline  
post #1559 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 8,592
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1264 Post(s)
Liked: 676
Sony's BDP-S790 is still current: it's the top of their line of BD players, which is refreshed only every other year. It has composite video and stereo analog outputs.

If you've had your 3100 for less than a month, you should be able to exchange it for little, if any, surcharge. I.e. the total additional cost of a 790 would be only slightly more than the additional cost of a digital-to-analog-stereo adapter with cables.

Selden

Marantz SR7009+MM9000/Atmos 7.1.4 (FH+TM:DefTech PM1000)/LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1560 of 3173 Old 09-29-2013, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,356
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 426 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Given that S790 is 2012 player (yes, it is current but it is still old) and the added features, 3D and dual HDMI outputs, will have no use for OP because of the old TV and costs $250. Plus the fact that more and more devices these days are HDMI. IMO, this is a bad investment. I'd suggest save the money towards either an AVR or new TV.
marctronixx likes this.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
bx510 , dolby , m2ts , Sony , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , truehd
Gear in this thread - bx510 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off