Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 3037 Old 02-03-2014, 04:00 PM
Member
 
tange1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, my issue is that I get brief 'no signal' shown on my TV. It seems to happen when switching chapters during previews. Perhaps its when the audio changes or when the output resolution changes?? I notice the onkyo receiver is re-handshaking when this happens (no audio type like dolby true HD is shown during this time). Its only a few seconds but its annoying! Is there anything I can change to reduce or eliminate this?

Here's my setup:

Sony S5100 to Onkyo 706 via HDMI.
Onkyo 706 to Samsung LN52A550 via HDMI

Thoughts? Thanks
tange1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 3037 Old 02-03-2014, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Possibly caused by HDMI cable quality. You can try disable deep color to reduce the bandwidth.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2433 of 3037 Old 02-03-2014, 07:47 PM
Member
 
03Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rare-air View Post

I got had this same problem. You have to make sure to turn off BD audio mix setting to off. It seems this takes precedence over bitstreaming.

THANKS that made my Blue light--Light upon my Denon 2310CI lol! Here is the kicker though and it has me stumped. The Blue ray Im watching is called "All is Bright" I set my s5100 "Auto OR PCM" on digital audio output and the BD audio mix to OFF (because I had it on and wasnt getting true HD (My blue light) OK I set it off and tried the digital audio in both Auto and PCM and I get NO sound from my TV although my TRUE HD light is on now! I get sound from the previews leading up to the movie but when I hit Play all sound GONE. SO I tried another Blueray and everything is perfect--true HD/blue light all is well. TO get sound from the BR "All is Bright" I have to turn DB audio to ON---Ok so what gives cause it doesnt make sense to me at all.
03Cobra is offline  
post #2434 of 3037 Old 02-03-2014, 07:53 PM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone else having issues with 3d playback on netflix on the 5100? movies load and either freeze or netflix force closes back to xmb menu while netflix displays in the background.
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #2435 of 3037 Old 02-03-2014, 09:58 PM
Member
 
tmuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tange1 View Post

Hello, my issue is that I get brief 'no signal' shown on my TV. It seems to happen when switching chapters during previews. Perhaps its when the audio changes or when the output resolution changes?? I notice the onkyo receiver is re-handshaking when this happens (no audio type like dolby true HD is shown during this time). Its only a few seconds but its annoying! Is there anything I can change to reduce or eliminate this?

Here's my setup:

Sony S5100 to Onkyo 706 via HDMI.
Onkyo 706 to Samsung LN52A550 via HDMI

Thoughts? Thanks

Expect to have problems if you bitstream and only support of PCM 2.0 if you don't. Onkyo's and the Sony don't like each other. Maybe this combo works fine, not sure. My 805 didn't like bit streaming disney titles from the Sony S5100 where my Panasonic player has no issues.

-troy
tmuller is offline  
post #2436 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So, Since I'm going to stick with TV speakers, or a sound bar, then am I right in saying that it won't matter what player I have since the decoding multi track HD codecs won't be put into play ?

I think if i were to change players I'd want a new interface other then sony's XMB. It hasn't really changed in the years i've had sony players.
MacinMan is offline  
post #2437 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 05:14 AM
Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Durham, North Carolina
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ST60Chambers View Post

Anyone else having issues with 3d playback on netflix on the 5100? movies load and either freeze or netflix force closes back to xmb menu while netflix displays in the background.

Yep that same thing happens on mine too. It's frustrating as hell. It often locks up my machine requiring a hard reboot (holding power button down for 10+ seconds). Don't know if it's a bandwidth issue with TWC or on the Netflix side. Otherwise the unit functions flawlessly for me.
Cla55clown is offline  
post #2438 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 07:52 AM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post

Yep that same thing happens on mine too. It's frustrating as hell. It often locks up my machine requiring a hard reboot (holding power button down for 10+ seconds). Don't know if it's a bandwidth issue with TWC or on the Netflix side. Otherwise the unit functions flawlessly for me.
Same exact thing happens with mine on occasion. My DSL download speed tops out at 5.5Mbps and Netflix 3D doesn't work thoughout a movie w/o stopping and reloading itself. And sometimes the aforementioned necessity of a reboot is called for.
I never have a problem with any pther film on Netflix. And may of them are viewed at 1080 res.

My player is the BDP-BX510.
Cyrano is offline  
post #2439 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 08:42 AM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrano View Post

Same exact thing happens with mine on occasion. My DSL download speed tops out at 5.5Mbps and Netflix 3D doesn't work thoughout a movie w/o stopping and reloading itself. And sometimes the aforementioned necessity of a reboot is called for.
I never have a problem with any pther film on Netflix. And may of them are viewed at 1080 res.

My player is the BDP-BX510.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post

Yep that same thing happens on mine too. It's frustrating as hell. It often locks up my machine requiring a hard reboot (holding power button down for 10+ seconds). Don't know if it's a bandwidth issue with TWC or on the Netflix side. Otherwise the unit functions flawlessly for me.
It happened quite a bit last night. The other time was a couple weeks ago. Otherwise it's been flawless for me as well. I pull between 13 and 14 mbs speeds most of the times. Also the Art of Flight tells me after it starts loading in 3D that "this title is no longer available" but the 2D version still works. What gives?
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #2440 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I have listened and watched several CES recaps, and everybody is saying that 3-D is Dead. Does this mean that Sony is no longer going to support it and stop dropping support? I have seen from several videos that TV manufacturers are already stop manufacturing 3-D models. Also mention, was the only way to get it now, was to buy old models. I never invested in 3-D, now it looks like it's not worth it. Maybe I should hold on to what I have, until 4K proves to be a good investment. Any feedback?
MacinMan is offline  
post #2441 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 316
It's not dead. Lots of people enjoy it. It's just that the market isn't large enough for large profits to be made. I suspect that they're going to find that the same is true for 4K, too, although they currently don't want to believe that. Going from CRT TVs to flat panels was a sea-change, and just about everyone was happy to take advantage of it. These other technologies (3D, 4K, increased color palette, etc) are just icing on the cake, which most consumers simply don't care about one way or the other.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #2442 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I beg to differ on 4K. These days, ppl tend to buy bigger and bigger screens. 50" is now pretty much bottom of the barrel. 60" is the new normal. 70" and 80" LCD are more and more popular. With bigger screen, the flaws of 1920x1080 resolution will be quite obvious as those pixels look huge on larger screens. Beside, from CES, couple companies already target entry level 4K TV for under $1k. So, that will become a necessity for TV makers to jump to 4K instead of left behind with even less profit margin.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2443 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Some people buy bigger screens. Most don't: they simply don't have the room. I draw this conclusion from observing people I know personally, not AVS members, who are quite non-standard. wink.gif
lovemytech likes this.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #2444 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

Some people buy bigger screens. Most don't: they simply don't have the room. I draw this conclusion from observing people I know personally, not AVS members, who are quite non-standard. wink.gif

I'm someone who uses AVS to keep up with technology which i am interested in or maybe want to purchase, or find out about etc. Usually I don't have a large budge to put into things. My largest TV is a 42" panasonic plasma. I can tell you that unless i want to wall mount a tv, 42" is a good size for me that doesn't look too big or force me to cramp stuff together to fit.

I don't consider myself Average here either, Most people i see here, are average consumers, or hobbiests, I am someone who has a professional background in television and video. So when it comes to display technology I would still choose a CRT for color accuracy. I've watched people who don't know a thing about professional video and usually it drives me nuts. Cause i know i can do a better job. I'm considered legally blind, and I can make video look better then most average people i know.

I'm someone who uses what works until i'm forced to upgrade, or i have extra to upgrade, just to do something different. Then again I'm someone who doesn't see anything wrong with still going to a commercial theater, for a nice experience every now and then. Unless someone has a lot of time and money to put into a home setup, there is still a reason to go to the theater sometimes. It is nice to know what's out there though, and what's coming to have that knowledge though, so that's why i still hang around, or watch stuff from revision 3 or other tech shows, or video casts.
MacinMan is offline  
post #2445 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 12:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

I beg to differ on 4K. These days, ppl tend to buy bigger and bigger screens. 50" is now pretty much bottom of the barrel. 60" is the new normal. 70" and 80" LCD are more and more popular. With bigger screen, the flaws of 1920x1080 resolution will be quite obvious as those pixels look huge on larger screens. Beside, from CES, couple companies already target entry level 4K TV for under $1k. So, that will become a necessity for TV makers to jump to 4K instead of left behind with even less profit margin.

Most people who buy the bigger screens still sit too far away like most of the people with smaller screens.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #2446 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post

Some people buy bigger screens. Most don't: they simply don't have the room. I draw this conclusion from observing people I know personally, not AVS members, who are quite non-standard. wink.gif

Quite opposite, the ppl I know who were in the market for a new TV all picked up 60+" TVs. You can't even find anything smaller than 46" unless you want really cheap ones in 30 to 32" range. I have a small house and sit 9 feet max from TV. To me, my current 56" RP just barely in the right size. If the bulb bust again and I'm in the market for a new TV, I'll consider nothing smaller than 60". Especially, they are often sold for $699 to $1000 range (entry level). It just doesn't make any economic sense to pick up anything 50" or below.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2447 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

Quite opposite, the ppl I know who were in the market for a new TV all picked up 60+" TVs. You can't even find anything smaller than 46" unless you want really cheap ones in 30 to 32" range. I have a small house and sit 9 feet max from TV. To me, my current 56" RP just barely in the right size. If the bulb bust again and I'm in the market for a new TV, I'll consider nothing smaller than 60". Especially, they are often sold for $699 to $1000 range (entry level). It just doesn't make any economic sense to pick up anything 50" or below.

60" @ 9'? Yikes! I'd have to stock up on Excedrin.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #2448 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

60" @ 9'? Yikes! I'd have to stock up on Excedrin.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Most people who buy the bigger screens still sit too far away like most of the people with smaller screens.

^
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2449 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 02:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

60" @ 9'? Yikes! I'd have to stock up on Excedrin.

Yes, that is too far away to see the full benefit of 1080P from that size TV. I sit 9 feet away from my 82" set. I could easily go up to a 92" set at that distance.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #2450 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
D Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 1,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Yes, that is too far away to see the full benefit of 1080P from that size TV. I sit 9 feet away from my 82" set. I could easily go up to a 92" set at that distance.

Well, I guess some like to sit in the front row of a theater, others like to sit in the middle and others like to sit in the back. I'm guessing you'd be in the front row.

Samsung UN60D6420 ~ DirecTV HR-44 ~ Sony S5100 ~ Roku 3 ~ Denon X-2000 ~ HTD Level TWO Towers ~ HTD Level TWO Surrounds ~ Power Sound Audio XV15
D Bone is offline  
post #2451 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

Well, I guess some like to sit in the front row of a theater, others like to sit in the middle and others like to sit in the back. I'm guessing you'd be in the front row.

I would say on average when I lay on the couch to watch my 42" plasma it's about 5 or 6 feet away. I know it's not 9 feet.
MacinMan is offline  
post #2452 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tange1 View Post

Hello, my issue is that I get brief 'no signal' shown on my TV. It seems to happen when switching chapters during previews. Perhaps its when the audio changes or when the output resolution changes?? I notice the onkyo receiver is re-handshaking when this happens (no audio type like dolby true HD is shown during this time). Its only a few seconds but its annoying! Is there anything I can change to reduce or eliminate this?

Here's my setup:

Sony S5100 to Onkyo 706 via HDMI.
Onkyo 706 to Samsung LN52A550 via HDMI

Thoughts? Thanks

I just bought the S5100 and hooked it up to my system. Haven't noticed this yet, but haven't watched a full movie yet. Good to know if it does happen. I do, however, see this with my BH200. I just set my projector default screen to black (instead of blue) and it doesn't bother me that much.

My setup:
Sony S5100
LG BH200
Onkyo 605

Onkyo 605 to Panny Projector.
Both connected via HDMI.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2453 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Bone View Post

Well, I guess some like to sit in the front row of a theater, others like to sit in the middle and others like to sit in the back. I'm guessing you'd be in the front row.

I would never sit in the front row or front section.. With my GF we sit in the back row. If I go by myself I am around one third of the way back from the screen.

I would need to sit around two feet away from my TV to simulate sitting in the front row of the theater.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #2454 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 06:04 PM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I can gauge the best distance for me using the frames of my prescription glasses. There is a certain amount of clearance all around the screen that is the same for me at home abd at the movies. I sit 12' from a 100" screen. At the movies I am usually about midway in the main seating. I have sat too close and too far but prefer to have the whole screen within the area of my glasses.
(With contacts I still sit the same distance. wink.gif )
Cyrano is offline  
post #2455 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrano View Post

I can gauge the best distance for me using the frames of my prescription glasses. There is a certain amount of clearance all around the screen that is the same for me at home abd at the movies. I sit 12' from a 100" screen. At the movies I am usually about midway in the main seating. I have sat too close and too far but prefer to have the whole screen within the area of my glasses.
(With contacts I still sit the same distance. wink.gif )

I sit about 12.5' from a 100" screen (16:9) and 125" (2.35:1). About the perfect / size distance for me, but each person has their own tastes.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #2456 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 07:15 PM
 
Cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Northwest Boonies
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post

I sit about 12.5' from a 100" screen (16:9) and 125" (2.35:1). About the perfect / size distance for me, but each person has their own tastes.
Yup, whatever makes it happen for the viewer.
I would like go up to a 120 with my same distance. I am wanting to get into a 120" 2.35 aspect ratio screen with Constant height but I can't afford the anamorphic lens attachment. It seems the way to go. To make the big movies be big.
Cyrano is offline  
post #2457 of 3037 Old 02-04-2014, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KC-Technerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Liberty, MO
Posts: 1,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 92
KC-Technerd is offline  
post #2458 of 3037 Old 02-05-2014, 06:32 AM
Member
 
jasondjulian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55

Just received a new S5100 direct from Sony (thank you sony rewards points!).  It will connect to my Panasonic 55" S60 display via HDMI of course.  I plan to run audio form the digital coax out to my RCA RTD-217 5disc dvd surround sound HTIB (i dont use the dvd player anymore, and dont have the budget for a real 5.1 system yet).

 

I dont horribly mind the 48hz flicker when watching movies, but others I like to play in 60hz.  I see I now have more video options with this modern era BD player on the S5100.  What do I need to know about the 4:4:4 and 4:4:2, RGB and all that jazz?  What is the best configuration for the Panny S60 series?

 

Without having to go through 82 pages of posts.. can anyone run it down for me on what a new S5100 owners NEEDS to know?  Thanks everyone!


Panasonic TC-P55S60
Sony S5100 BD-Player
RCA 5 disc DVD HTIB for 5.1 Surround
jasondjulian is offline  
post #2459 of 3037 Old 02-05-2014, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,737
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 190
It's all about bandwidth usage on HDMI cable and whether or not your current HDMI cable can handle it. RGB requires most bandwidth. The movies are stored on disc as YCbCr 4:2:0 IIRC. So, 4:4:4 or 4:4:2 is like Chroma upsampling, 4:4:4 will use more bandwidth than 4:4:2 but still less than RGB. You aren't likely to notice any difference anyway unless your HDMI cable is not up to task. Your TV should be able to support all of them.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2460 of 3037 Old 02-05-2014, 08:04 AM
Member
 
jasondjulian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55

I have all high speed 1.3 compliant cables... bandwidth is a non-issue unless you're not using high-speed cables.. as if you can even buy those anymore without trying. 

 

So that being said, setting the BD player to output RGB will give the best, most accurate color and video signal? And i should ignore the rest?  Why would anyone choose to use one of the other output options over another? 


Panasonic TC-P55S60
Sony S5100 BD-Player
RCA 5 disc DVD HTIB for 5.1 Surround
jasondjulian is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off