Official Sony BDP-S1100, BDP-S3100, BDP-S4100 and BDP-S5100 - Page 85 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post

What does the 6200 do that the 5100 doesn't for a $100 premium?

Going by the retail price, it is only a $40 difference. The S5100 is discounted here because it is an old model. The main difference with the S6200 is that it has a dual core processor and 4K upconversion. And also IP Noise Reduction Pro. Although I have no idea what the difference is between IP Noise Reduction Pro and the non-pro IP Noise Reduction in the S5100.

The S5200 is really the successor to the S5100. But the S5200 did away with a built in display and has a smaller enclosure.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Going by the retail price, it is only a $40 difference. The S5100 is discounted here because it is an old model. The main difference with the S6200 is that it has a dual core processor and 4K upconversion. And also IP Noise Reduction Pro. Although I have no idea what the difference is between IP Noise Reduction Pro and the non-pro IP Noise Reduction in the S5100.

The S5200 is really the successor to the S5100. But the S5200 did away with a built in display and has a smaller enclosure.

IP Noise reduction Pro has more settings and from experience I've found it more effective than the "standard" version. Also combined with SBM-V, it does a good job cleaning up internet video.

Interestingly, Sony have moved the IP NR Pro settting to the video settings on the 6200, so I assume its effective for ANY internet video. In the past the setting was only available for Apps that used the standard Sony apps framework (such as Crackle, Amazon, etc)
apw2607 is offline  
post #2523 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraftytwo View Post

Can anyone confirm the following:

- Does this model play ID3Tags from MP3, including embedded album art ?
- Does this model also display embedded album art for AAC/M4A files ?
- Since this players are not gapless with these formats, how long is the gap between tracks? Less than one second? More?

Would like to see a shot when playing a MP3 File with album art (if it's supported).

Thanks.

1)Yes, to ID3 tags but no embedded art work
2)Might be a bit longer. Definitely a gap
3)Perhaps someone else can post something. Its pretty basic. Artist name, Album name and song name

Note, album art is supported if you use a regular CD and have gracenote enabled.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2524 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazarusIV View Post

Hey guys, quick question! I have some mkv files that I've muxed to m2ts for play on our Sony S3100. We get random freezing / pausing of playback sometimes and we're not sure why. It doesn't pause like the pause button's been hit, it will freeze. To get it playing again I hit the back button (Not chapter skip, the two back arrows alone) and the play button and it'll skip back a bit and continue playing. Also, every once in a while I get a hard freeze so I have to hold down the power button on the player to reset it. Any ideas on what that's about? Thanks all!

Whats serving the files to the player? DLNA server? USB drive directly plugged into the player?

Generally speaking M2TS is very reliable on these Sony players, even for high bit rate content.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2525 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
LazarusIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazarusIV View Post

Hey guys, quick question! I have some mkv files that I've muxed to m2ts for play on our Sony S3100. We get random freezing / pausing of playback sometimes and we're not sure why. It doesn't pause like the pause button's been hit, it will freeze. To get it playing again I hit the back button (Not chapter skip, the two back arrows alone) and the play button and it'll skip back a bit and continue playing. Also, every once in a while I get a hard freeze so I have to hold down the power button on the player to reset it. Any ideas on what that's about? Thanks all!

Whats serving the files to the player? DLNA server? USB drive directly plugged into the player?

Generally speaking M2TS is very reliable on these Sony players, even for high bit rate content.

I've got the files loaded on a 16GB USB 3.0 stick. In the original format they are .mkv then I use tsMuxerGUI to turn them into .m2ts files to play.
LazarusIV is offline  
post #2526 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 05:19 PM
Member
 
tt08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys, Is there a way to display subtitles (.srt) with DLNA streaming using the S3100? If not, can the S3100 see the NAS drive as the network drive and play the video files directly with the srt subtitle? TIA
tt08 is offline  
post #2527 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
It can display subtitles if they are embedded in the mkv files. No to network drive access. DLNA is the only way for network access.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2528 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazarusIV View Post

I've got the files loaded on a 16GB USB 3.0 stick. In the original format they are .mkv then I use tsMuxerGUI to turn them into .m2ts files to play.

Note the USB port on the player is 2.0 not 3. USB sticks can be a problem for continuous high bit rate video. Can you try it on a regular external hard drive ? Think you will find that will fix the issue.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2529 of 3056 Old 02-10-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

Note the USB port on the player is 2.0 not 3. USB sticks can be a problem for continuous high bit rate video. Can you try it on a regular external hard drive ? Think you will find that will fix the issue.

It's only a problem on crappy USB sticks.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #2530 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 06:42 AM
Member
 
Zaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

Going by the retail price, it is only a $40 difference. The S5100 is discounted here because it is an old model. The main difference with the S6200 is that it has a dual core processor and 4K upconversion. And also IP Noise Reduction Pro. Although I have no idea what the difference is between IP Noise Reduction Pro and the non-pro IP Noise Reduction in the S5100.

The S5200 is really the successor to the S5100. But the S5200 did away with a built in display and has a smaller enclosure.

I've only just noticed this on the 4200, Why would they remove the display, can't understand that.
Zaim is offline  
post #2531 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
A penny saved is a penny earned. Sony desperately needs it as its entire company's financial status is not looking good (has been ranked junk bond status recently). It just sold off its entire PC business. The CE business isn't making enough money for them either.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2532 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 06:43 PM
Member
 
greenpathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

other than a tablet or smartphone is there another way i can use a keyboard to type when i'm searching for something on the youtube app?    when i use my girls iphone it does not show what i'm typing on the search function when on youtube, so i'm not sure if its streaming from her phone to the blu ray  or what, just wish the controller had a keyboard or some other way to type ..

greenpathy is offline  
post #2533 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Have you tried plugging in a USB keyboard into the Blu-ray player? They work in some circumstances.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #2534 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 08:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 314
The last Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse I tried worked fine with my player.
mdavej is offline  
post #2535 of 3056 Old 02-11-2014, 09:26 PM
Newbie
 
Sladerade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

It doesn't matter what data disc it is. Your video can be on BD disc, DVD disc, USB flash driver, USB HDD or stream over the network via DLNA. It may not support all internet downloaded mkvs. So YMMV. And it is known to freeze up the player on some DTS-HD MA audio tracks in nkv files but m2ts files of the same track will work (but you loss subtitles and chapter points)..

 

So there's no way to convert an MKV + DTS-HD MA + subtitles to work on this player? Is it that the m2ts files can't contain embedded srts once you've converted the mkvs, or the player can't recognize subtitles under that file type...?

 

I'm trying to find a blu-ray player that can also play those files at a decent price point, and was pretty much settled on this one. I can handle converting MKVs to m2ts to avoid the freezing problem with DTS-HD MA, but being unable to use subtitles would be a deal breaker...

Sladerade is offline  
post #2536 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
It can play those files, just not 100% working. Some tracks will lock up the player.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2537 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 12:57 PM
Newbie
 
Sladerade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Can it play subtitles on m2ts files, or is it just not possible to have internal subtitles with m2ts (which is a requirement for subtitles to be read by this player)?

 

Hopefully the new Sony players have fixed the DTS-HD MA freezing problem, then all of this mess can be avoided.

Sladerade is offline  
post #2538 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 
jeajea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Treasure Island, Florida
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the 3100 and 5100 support NTFS formatted USB drives?
jeajea is offline  
post #2539 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sladerade View Post

Can it play subtitles on m2ts files, or is it just not possible to have internal subtitles with m2ts (which is a requirement for subtitles to be read by this player)?

Hopefully the new Sony players have fixed the DTS-HD MA freezing problem, then all of this mess can be avoided.
No subtitles or chapter point support on m2ts files.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeajea View Post

Do the 3100 and 5100 support NTFS formatted USB drives?

Yes.
Sladerade likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #2540 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
Sladerade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post


No subtitles or chapter point support on m2ts files.

 

Ah, bummer. Thanks for the info. I'd really like to have no issues watching foreign movies in HD, so I guess I'll wait and see how the new Sony players work out with the MKV/DTS freezing problem. My TV can handle everything but subtitles through USB if I jump through a few hoops, so it's a bit of a deal breaker for me.

Sladerade is offline  
post #2541 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeajea View Post

Do the 3100 and 5100 support NTFS formatted USB drives?

Yes, but single partition only. The drive can have multiple partitions but the player only sees the first.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2542 of 3056 Old 02-12-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
jeajea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Treasure Island, Florida
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
I ordered a 5100 from Bestbuy.com for store pickup for $79.99. It is $89.99 in there Sunday add.
jeajea is offline  
post #2543 of 3056 Old 02-13-2014, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hey all, I was curious if 4300kbps would look any worse on a 42" plasma then 5800kbps, I'm considering putting the 590 back in the living room so i can reconnect the sound bar. it's the only player left that has compatible connections and the sound bar works better with the larger TV as far as space goes.

Thanks
MacinMan is offline  
post #2544 of 3056 Old 02-13-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Yes, it will look worse. Will you notice? Probably not. I imagine you've been happily streaming NF at less than 4300k for years. At the end of the day, having a good solution with a few compromises is better than no solution at all.
mdavej is offline  
post #2545 of 3056 Old 02-13-2014, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Well .. actually Netflix only started the higher bit rate 5800kbps stream at the beginning of 2013 ... and at that time x90 players could show that higher bit rate stream

Roll on 3 months, and someone broke something ... and it never got above 4300kbps ever since. I certainly can tell the difference between the two. The 4300kbps version looks softer than 5800kbps for sure.
apw2607 is offline  
post #2546 of 3056 Old 02-13-2014, 03:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 645
But the 4300kbps stream still looks better than the 3800kbs(or is it 3600?) one which is below SUperHD

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #2547 of 3056 Old 02-14-2014, 09:02 AM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry if this has been asked already but I didn't have time to search for it. Is there any apps for the 5100 that you can rent 3D movies? I already use Netflix but I want recent movies. Thanks.
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #2548 of 3056 Old 02-14-2014, 09:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Vudu has some 3D movies, as does HBO (if you subscribe) as well as local cable companies and Verizon Fios On-Demand.
BillP is offline  
post #2549 of 3056 Old 02-14-2014, 09:33 AM
Member
 
ST60Chambers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sioux City, IA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the reply. I was looking at the SEN website and it says there's 3D movies. Is it worth a crap that anyone knows of?
ST60Chambers is offline  
post #2550 of 3056 Old 02-14-2014, 12:25 PM
Member
 
greenpathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: N.C.
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

 

 

greenpathy is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Bdp S1100 Blu Ray Disc Player , Sony Bdp S3100 Blu Ray Player , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread - S790 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off