Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #301 of 324 Old 07-23-2014, 05:36 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
^ Set Cache Media Info to OFF
kellybob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 324 Old 07-24-2014, 12:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post
^ Set Cache Media Info to OFF
I don't see this option
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #303 of 324 Old 07-24-2014, 11:09 AM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am assuming this player is based on the Oppo BDP-103. For the 103, this item is in Device Setup. Scroll down to see it.
kellybob is offline  
post #304 of 324 Old 07-24-2014, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellybob View Post
I am assuming this player is based on the Oppo BDP-103. For the 103, this item is in Device Setup. Scroll down to see it.
Sorry, there isn't
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #305 of 324 Old 07-24-2014, 06:53 PM
Member
 
kellybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do you have the latest firmware? I am not sure if this was always there for the 103 or not.

I did check the the 752 manual and this is not in there, auto power off is there instead. Sorry for misleading you. You could contact Cambridge Audio and ask them to add this since the Oppo it is based on has it.
kellybob is offline  
post #306 of 324 Old 07-24-2014, 10:20 PM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
It is mediatek based not Oppo based
But it could definitely be asked, I'd like the downmix stereo/FL-FR option Oppo has for the dedicated stereo out too.
lnarbi is online now  
post #307 of 324 Old 07-28-2014, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, I've updated the player with the latest firmware which should support gapless playback, but my CDs ripped in flac jumps from one track to another.
How is it possible? Something wrong?
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #308 of 324 Old 07-28-2014, 10:59 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you're playing across the network there's nothing wrong, gapless won't work with network access. On an USB drive it should work.
lnarbi is online now  
post #309 of 324 Old 07-28-2014, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnarbi View Post
If you're playing across the network there's nothing wrong, gapless won't work with network access. On an USB drive it should work.




The problem also occurs with USB drives and also with mp3..
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #310 of 324 Old 07-28-2014, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
hotjt133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 30
So I was shot off by Oppo US, I may have an interest in this Cambridge model. I understand it is based on 103 without the D. How much video quality difference would you think between the 2? And when it comes to SD contents like DVD or even lower, will this Cambridge player produce better images than other blu ray players?

There should be no question of the audio improvement, and Cambridge AU price is more "reasonable" and "fair" than Oppo AU. (so this also ruled out 105D which is a $1600 steal!)

The other question I have is how much heat does it produce? The Cambridge is 0.5cm higher than 103 so it is more close to the top board (already quite close). Heat dissipation will be more of a problem.

Last edited by hotjt133; 07-28-2014 at 08:58 PM.
hotjt133 is offline  
post #311 of 324 Old 07-28-2014, 10:25 PM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Cambridge and Oppo are mediatek based, none of them is based on the other one, they share the same mainboard and firmware software.
Image quality will be exactly the same.
Mine remains cold, no matter what.
lnarbi is online now  
post #312 of 324 Old 07-29-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an update, I changed my network connection from wireless to Ethernet and while it streams flawlessly now, the 752 can't see a number of folders/files in the main folder on my laptop.
Previously it could see and play all the types of files in there (H264, mkv, mp4, etc.) but now it doesn't even see half of them.
Is there a setting on either my laptop or the 752 that can correct this?
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #313 of 324 Old 07-31-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I just purchased one of these and so far it's great but how do I playback music from my 1tb hard drive using my android phone is there a app I can use? I had an oppo bdp 95 and it obviously had the oppo app but is there a work around for the bd752 I have tried the free version of bubble unup but can only send media from my phone and not view the hard drive etc?
halcs is offline  
post #314 of 324 Old 07-31-2014, 10:26 PM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Nope, nothing you can do
UPNP software for media streaming, but no app to play from USB.
halcs likes this.
lnarbi is online now  
post #315 of 324 Old 08-01-2014, 10:39 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix161081 View Post
Hi guys, I've updated the player with the latest firmware which should support gapless playback, but my CDs ripped in flac jumps from one track to another.
How is it possible? Something wrong?
You're not alone, I have all my music ripped to WAV on an external HDD, and gapless playback doesn't work for me either.
guzz46 is online now  
post #316 of 324 Old 08-02-2014, 04:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
You're not alone, I have all my music ripped to WAV on an external HDD, and gapless playback doesn't work for me either.
So how do we solve the problem?
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #317 of 324 Unread 08-03-2014, 08:20 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix161081 View Post
So how do we solve the problem?
We don't, I e-mailed Cambridge and got this response

"Dear Sir, sorry to hear this.
Can you confirm if streaming the files over network (something like Twonky would allow your computer to act as a server) has better gapless operation or the same? Can you also confirm you are running the latest firmware?"

I replied that I was running the latest firmware, and that network streaming wasn't really an option for me as just switching between songs takes a few seconds or more, I haven't received a response yet.
guzz46 is online now  
post #318 of 324 Unread 08-04-2014, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
We don't, I e-mailed Cambridge and got this response

"Dear Sir, sorry to hear this.
Can you confirm if streaming the files over network (something like Twonky would allow your computer to act as a server) has better gapless operation or the same? Can you also confirm you are running the latest firmware?"

I replied that I was running the latest firmware, and that network streaming wasn't really an option for me as just switching between songs takes a few seconds or more, I haven't received a response yet.
Ok thanks, keep us updated if there are any developments.
This thing has me very disappointed
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #319 of 324 Unread 08-04-2014, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't see how hard this can be to upgrade the software to include gapless playback from an attached HDD.
If they did manage this then I could unload my pc/DAC combination (especially given that my CAPS V3 pc just had a W8 fail!) and play both audio and video via 2 attached HDD's to the 752....fingers crossed....
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #320 of 324 Unread 08-05-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone tried there contrast enhancement since the last upgrade?If I adjust mine and go out of the setting and if I go back on it always resorts back to 0?
halcs is offline  
post #321 of 324 Unread 08-11-2014, 01:40 PM
Member
 
RalphoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can this player be modified for region free capabilities? If so does anyone know how this is done? I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of stuff. Thanks.
RalphoR is offline  
post #322 of 324 Unread Yesterday, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 40
My prepro doesn't do HDMI so I'm looking to get excellent playback of movies, music (including DSD) through the 752BD.

I am currently using my current blu ray player as a DMR (digital media renderer) with bubble upnp. Works awesome but I'm feeling the itch for a player that can do DSD files and/or can eliminate by video streamer

  • Can the 752BD play DSD files over DLNA or SMB?
  • Can the 752BD play video mkv over DLNA? I use XBMC on my server to feed my current streamer.
  • If the 752BD can play mkv over the network can it decode the Dolby-TrueHD and DTA-MA when it does?

For playing mkv, am I better off taking my streamer's HDMI output into the 752BD inputs? Can it decode TrueHD/MA that way?
artur9 is offline  
post #323 of 324 Unread Yesterday, 03:07 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
DSD files

The 752bd does not play networked DSD files from both DLNA (ums - I will need to look at the config file and see if I can get it to do a DSD transcode) and SMB (Windows 8.1).
TripleFun is offline  
post #324 of 324 Unread Yesterday, 03:11 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Mkv

Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
My prepro doesn't do HDMI so I'm looking to get excellent playback of movies, music (including DSD) through the 752BD.

I am currently using my current blu ray player as a DMR (digital media renderer) with bubble upnp. Works awesome but I'm feeling the itch for a player that can do DSD files and/or can eliminate by video streamer

  • Can the 752BD play DSD files over DLNA or SMB?
  • Can the 752BD play video mkv over DLNA? I use XBMC on my server to feed my current streamer.
  • If the 752BD can play mkv over the network can it decode the Dolby-TrueHD and DTA-MA when it does?
For playing mkv, am I better off taking my streamer's HDMI output into the 752BD inputs? Can it decode TrueHD/MA that way?

The 752BD will play MKV over SMB and DLNA. DLNA does not require a transcode requirement - I use Universal Media Server. Dolby-TrueHD and DTA-MA are both supported.
TripleFun is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Gear in this thread - 751bd by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off