Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnarbi View Post
If your display was off, that's totally possible, if not, you should hear it without trying to.
It's also possible that the display hooked up on the HDMIs via its handshake and the negotiated settings on the HDMI link make the player behave differently.
The display was on, the HDMI handshake theory may be right as there wasn't a skip in audio playback like there is with source direct, rgb video level, and down mix.
guzz46 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2014, 01:59 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I've got another tweak, try connecting a composite cable to the diagnostic video out, and disconnect the HDMI cable, it sounds better with the HDMI cable disconnected.
I guess I'll have to disconnect the HDMI cable when listening to music, and reconnect it when watching a movie or music bluray.

Interestingly the audio still skips when making changes like source direct, even when there is no HDMI cable connected to the TV.
guzz46 is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 02:08 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
From what I've found out since the beginning, every setting on the menus that drops audio when changed, will have the sound behave differently.

I tested again a LX91/09FD, well... I think there just isn't any player out there that is capable to sound that way... lol. Outstanding machine, too bad it's outdated.
lnarbi is offline  
Old 09-28-2014, 01:58 AM
Newbie
 
as1serge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I've connected a media player HIMEDIA HD 900 to 752 back HDMI - video stucks, music tracks flac. mt2s mp3 are slowed to the unrecognizable level of digital noise evidently HDMI connection is the cause of it (handshake?) Any ideas how this could be mended or improved, please ..??

thank you

Sergey
as1serge is offline  
Old 09-28-2014, 03:04 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by as1serge View Post
Hello

I've connected a media player HIMEDIA HD 900 to 752 back HDMI - video stucks, music tracks flac. mt2s mp3 are slowed to the unrecognizable level of digital noise evidently HDMI connection is the cause of it (handshake?) Any ideas how this could be mended or improved, please ..??

thank you

Sergey

Please can you provide more details. Also what do you mean by "video stucks, music tracks flac"? Are you using an HDMI 1.4a cable and does the device work using your current cable straight to the TV? How are you sourcing the material and could there be network interference if you are using Wifi?

Last edited by TripleFun; 09-28-2014 at 03:05 AM. Reason: grammar
TripleFun is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
les3547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sebastopol CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I would appreciate hearing opinions on a mod for the Cambridge's AC connection available on Ebay (since I have fewer than 5 posts I can't post a link, but here's the title: Oppo BDP-93, 95, 103, 105 Mod Kit - Furutech IEC, Mundorf Silver Gold Wire—also fits Cambridge Audio 751BD / 752BD). Price is $145 and requires no soldering so warranty remains intact. Wondering how much difference to sound such an improvement might make. Here's the description:

Quote:
Furutech Inlet (R) - Rhodium Plated.

(Alpha) Eutectic (Low Temperature) cast copper alloy Conductor.

Mundorf 99% Silver 1% Gold Wire 1.0mm - Double Run.

- Twist cable consisting of a pair 1.0mm of Mundorf silver gold wire, sleeved with white PTFE.

Cables are soldered using Mundorf 9.5% silver solder supreme - (Mundorf's top of the range solder).

-9.5% Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities with 0.1% gold added.

Les
les3547 is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Why would the last few cm of a power supply cable have any impact on electrical supply given the quality of the house wiring system behind it? However if you don't have one then I suppose you will never know.
TripleFun is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 65
"Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities"

Nice try. AC inlets and power cables don't carry audio signals. They carry AC power which is then converted to DC by the unit's power supply.

Besides, a filtered IEC can be dropped in for less than $10 (that is if the player doesn't already have one) for those who are paranoid about RFI noise getting into the unit.

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/filter.html

Last edited by AVfile; 09-30-2014 at 09:57 PM.
AVfile is offline  
Old 09-30-2014, 10:48 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
"Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities"

Nice try. AC inlets and power cables don't carry audio signals. They carry AC power which is then converted to DC by the unit's power supply.

Besides, a filtered IEC can be dropped in for less than $10 (that is if the player doesn't already have one) for those who are paranoid about RFI noise getting into the unit.

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/filter.html

Better still, depending on where you live and the quality of your power supply (voltage and phase consistency) , you may be better off with a power regulator - see http://www.aliexpress.com/item/0-5KV...618105052.html. I have a 500w regulator in front of my sources (preamp, dac, cd, t/table, 752bd) with some improvement to the sound. It also supplies 110v and 220v which gives me options on my sources. I don't bother with the power amp - too expensive.
TripleFun is offline  
Old 10-12-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by les3547 View Post
I would appreciate hearing opinions on a mod for the Cambridge's AC connection available on Ebay (since I have fewer than 5 posts I can't post a link, but here's the title: Oppo BDP-93, 95, 103, 105 Mod Kit - Furutech IEC, Mundorf Silver Gold Wire—also fits Cambridge Audio 751BD / 752BD). Price is $145 and requires no soldering so warranty remains intact. Wondering how much difference to sound such an improvement might make. Here's the description:

Like most things, only 1 way to find out. Personally I doubt it would have any impact.

Loving my 752BD

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Pioneer LX55 / Dual CS506 / Sky + HD / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Isotek Mira / QED Cables
Cloverleaf is offline  
Old 11-22-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd appreciate any and all opinions on this idea I 'm considering to make the 752BD my a/v hub.
I am currently running the 752bd as a BR player with two additional HDMI sources connected (Xbox 360 and Minix Neo-8H). I also have an external HDD with only hi-res files connected to one of the USB inputs at the back. For my other music files (all flac or wav), I'm currently running a CAPS v.2 Lagoon mini-PC with JRiver 17 (via Gizmo on my android tablet) , a modded MHDT Havana DACwith Ar-t Legato usb-spdif converter and all of this goes into a Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum integrated tube amp. I also have a Rega Apollo cdp going into the amp but recent issues with it have got me thinking about simplifying my setup.
My idea is to purchase a NAS storage unit, move all my music files to it and connect it to the 752bd, using Minimserver to serve the files and control it all using an Android app (BubbleUpnp?) on my tablet. This would eliminate the need for a screen to use the 752bsd.

I love the sound of the 752bd and am thinking that it might be suitable for this role as an a/v hub. I'm a bit of a noob at networking but I'm hoping I can get this all to work together.

Can anyone see any flaws in this reasoning?
Alexdad54 is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
BillyNedwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
I'd appreciate any and all opinions on this idea I 'm considering to make the 752BD my a/v hub.
I am currently running the 752bd as a BR player with two additional HDMI sources connected (Xbox 360 and Minix Neo-8H). I also have an external HDD with only hi-res files connected to one of the USB inputs at the back. For my other music files (all flac or wav), I'm currently running a CAPS v.2 Lagoon mini-PC with JRiver 17 (via Gizmo on my android tablet) , a modded MHDT Havana DACwith Ar-t Legato usb-spdif converter and all of this goes into a Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum integrated tube amp. I also have a Rega Apollo cdp going into the amp but recent issues with it have got me thinking about simplifying my setup.
My idea is to purchase a NAS storage unit, move all my music files to it and connect it to the 752bd, using Minimserver to serve the files and control it all using an Android app (BubbleUpnp?) on my tablet. This would eliminate the need for a screen to use the 752bsd.

I love the sound of the 752bd and am thinking that it might be suitable for this role as an a/v hub. I'm a bit of a noob at networking but I'm hoping I can get this all to work together.

Can anyone see any flaws in this reasoning?
I have that setup. Using BubbleUpnp app on my tablet with Wdmycloud 3tb NAS. I would recommend connecting the 752bd to the router by usb as some of the larger flac files I listen to break up when connecting with wifi. I originally placed the wifi dongle very close to the router which helped but still not ideal. Once connected by usb to the router the transfer reliability was 100%.
BillyNedwell is online now  
Old 11-29-2014, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyNedwell View Post
Using BubbleUpnp
Would you kindly post the list of supported media formats that BubbleUPNP reports for the 752BD? I've found that the manufacturer's claims about supported media and what is actually supported over DLNA as reported by BubbleUPNP aren't necessarily the same.

To show this information, IIRC, you click the device info button.

TIA!
artur9 is offline  
Old 11-29-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
BillyNedwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Would you kindly post the list of supported media formats that BubbleUPNP reports for the 752BD?
AAC, AIFF, FLAC, LPCM, M4A, MP1, MP2, MP3, RA, Vorbis, WAV, MWA

I am using the licensed version.
BillyNedwell is online now  
Old 12-02-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyNedwell View Post
I have that setup. Using BubbleUpnp app on my tablet with Wdmycloud 3tb NAS. I would recommend connecting the 752bd to the router by usb as some of the larger flac files I listen to break up when connecting with wifi. I originally placed the wifi dongle very close to the router which helped but still not ideal. Once connected by usb to the router the transfer reliability was 100%.
Thanks for the info, I was actually planning on connecting using only ethernet and usb. I am only using wireless for the tablets. Do you know if the 752bd now play gapless flacs, both cd and high-res files? Also which format (NTFS or FAT32) do the new HDD's in the Synology need to be in for the 752BD? Cheers.
Alexdad54 is offline  
Old 12-17-2014, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware - Dec. 10, 2014

Features of the new update (version 752BD(CU)-19-1009) include;
  1. Resolved a Picture Adjustment issue found on V18 firmware. Customers reported that after changing the Picture Adjustment parameters for HDMI 1, the value of Contrast Enhancement would automatically go back to 0. It has been fixed in this firmware.
  2. Resolved a playback issue with regular DVD discs found on V18 firmware. Customers reported that if the "DVD 24p Conversion" was set to "On", pressing the REV (rewind) button within the DVD playback could cause the player to immediately freeze up. This issue has been resolved in this firmware.
  3. Resolved a HDMI Audio issue with some 2L Blu-ray Music discs. Customers reported that if the AV Sync was set to 90ms and above, there might be no audio signal from both HDMI outputs.
  4. Modified the RS-232 serial control protocol: fixed an issue with "#SZM" that could not change the Aspect Ratio.
  5. Improved the Gapless Playback feature, and resolved an issue where the gapless mode could not be enabled for some 96 kHz / 24-bit WAV files.
  6. Improved support for CUE files, specifically for CUE files that point to multiple WAV files.
  7. General disc compatibility improvements based on recent and upcoming Blu-ray releases as well as user-submitted disc samples.
  8. Add a feature that when streaming in 5.1 channel or 7.1 channel LPCM in bitstream mode, the 752BD can output Dolby digital or DTS (multichannel) through S/PDIF.
All features and improvements of the previous firmware are also included in this version.
Alexdad54 is offline  
Old 12-26-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with the latest firmware when I do a reset everything is ok via multichannel and cd playback via 2 channel but as soon as I adjust my levels with a calibration disk and then play music via cd or flac files I get distortion through my tweeters more on the right hand side has anyone else experienced this thanks?
It is doing my head in and I am desperate for help thanks. :-(
halcs is offline  
Old 12-27-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At CEDIA the rep was hinting this player is getting long in the tooth.

Maybe something new at CES.

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is online now  
Old 12-27-2014, 05:01 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What so that applies to the oppo 103 etc as well then?
halcs is offline  
Old 12-29-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not really different companies.

Same video as 103 but completely different approach to audio.

Not sure how long 752,has been out. 3 years?

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is online now  
Old 01-01-2015, 01:16 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it launched early 2013 and so did the oppo 105 so I suppose it would be a good time for a new machine to come out but no leaks as yet as far as I can see.
halcs is offline  
 

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off