Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 337 Old 09-03-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnarbi View Post
Hi,

I have done intensive testings in that regard, I recently bought a Pioneer LX08 BDP for testing purposes (same as LX71 and close enough to the LX91 and 09FD I teted too).
The 7.1 speaker downmix is NOT the right mode.
I have managed to have the cambridge sound almost like the Pioneers, which sounded better prior the right adjustments in the cambridge.

My setup is stereo only and I noticed these huge differences in the downmix modes on stereo signals too.

The right settings are these ones :

- HDMI color space to auto on both, deep color off
- set it to PAL if you have a PAL compatible TV, NTSC is off on mine (but maybe on the US models it's the opposite, I don't know). Don't use multi system.
- 1080p/24 to forced
- resolution to source direct
- HDMI audio to bitstream
- speakers settings to 5.1, subwoofer on (even if you don't use one), and all speakers to large

If you use analog audio, use the Front Left/right terminals for stereo not the dedicated stereo ones.

HDMI Audio sound like crap (really), so if you use digital, use the optical out, you will loose the HD formats, but still have the DTS core or DD compatibility track which is about as good, and the gain in SQ is pretty substantial, pretty much the best SQ out of the unit. Analog has a little more punch, but soundstage is worse.

All these settings have audible effects on analog AND digital audio.

Something isn't right in the mediatek board, and I'm glad to have been able to compare the cambridge to other good sounding players (same DACs in the pioneers), to get the best out of it.

Edit : I just tested with digital coax, and it's slightly better than optical, I couldn't try before I was waiting for my Mogami cable to be delivered.
I'll try the other settings you mentioned tonight, but I use to run it in 5.1, and 7.1 definitely sounds better to me.
guzz46 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 337 Old 09-03-2014, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"If you use analog audio, use the Front Left/right terminals for stereo not the dedicated stereo ones."
I use only stereo so I'll try this but (noob question) will this imply any changes to the Wolfson DAC configuration?
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #333 of 337 Old 09-04-2014, 01:15 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well I tried those other settings, but found they didn't have any effect, so I've stuck with what I think sounds best, down mix to 7.1, source direct, and color space to rgb video level.
guzz46 is online now  
post #334 of 337 Old 09-04-2014, 07:29 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If your display was off, that's totally possible, if not, you should hear it without trying to.
It's also possible that the display hooked up on the HDMIs via its handshake and the negotiated settings on the HDMI link make the player behave differently.
lnarbi is offline  
post #335 of 337 Old 09-04-2014, 11:06 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnarbi View Post
If your display was off, that's totally possible, if not, you should hear it without trying to.
It's also possible that the display hooked up on the HDMIs via its handshake and the negotiated settings on the HDMI link make the player behave differently.
The display was on, the HDMI handshake theory may be right as there wasn't a skip in audio playback like there is with source direct, rgb video level, and down mix.
guzz46 is online now  
post #336 of 337 Old 09-05-2014, 12:59 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I've got another tweak, try connecting a composite cable to the diagnostic video out, and disconnect the HDMI cable, it sounds better with the HDMI cable disconnected.
I guess I'll have to disconnect the HDMI cable when listening to music, and reconnect it when watching a movie or music bluray.

Interestingly the audio still skips when making changes like source direct, even when there is no HDMI cable connected to the TV.
guzz46 is online now  
post #337 of 337 Old 09-05-2014, 01:08 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
From what I've found out since the beginning, every setting on the menus that drops audio when changed, will have the sound behave differently.

I tested again a LX91/09FD, well... I think there just isn't any player out there that is capable to sound that way... lol. Outstanding machine, too bad it's outdated.
lnarbi is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Gear in this thread - 751bd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off