Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 12 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 360 Old 09-04-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lnarbi View Post
If your display was off, that's totally possible, if not, you should hear it without trying to.
It's also possible that the display hooked up on the HDMIs via its handshake and the negotiated settings on the HDMI link make the player behave differently.
The display was on, the HDMI handshake theory may be right as there wasn't a skip in audio playback like there is with source direct, rgb video level, and down mix.
guzz46 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 360 Old 09-05-2014, 01:59 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I've got another tweak, try connecting a composite cable to the diagnostic video out, and disconnect the HDMI cable, it sounds better with the HDMI cable disconnected.
I guess I'll have to disconnect the HDMI cable when listening to music, and reconnect it when watching a movie or music bluray.

Interestingly the audio still skips when making changes like source direct, even when there is no HDMI cable connected to the TV.
guzz46 is online now  
post #333 of 360 Old 09-05-2014, 02:08 AM
Member
 
lnarbi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: France
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 19
From what I've found out since the beginning, every setting on the menus that drops audio when changed, will have the sound behave differently.

I tested again a LX91/09FD, well... I think there just isn't any player out there that is capable to sound that way... lol. Outstanding machine, too bad it's outdated.
lnarbi is offline  
post #334 of 360 Old 09-28-2014, 01:58 AM
Newbie
 
as1serge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I've connected a media player HIMEDIA HD 900 to 752 back HDMI - video stucks, music tracks flac. mt2s mp3 are slowed to the unrecognizable level of digital noise evidently HDMI connection is the cause of it (handshake?) Any ideas how this could be mended or improved, please ..??

thank you

Sergey
as1serge is offline  
post #335 of 360 Old 09-28-2014, 03:04 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by as1serge View Post
Hello

I've connected a media player HIMEDIA HD 900 to 752 back HDMI - video stucks, music tracks flac. mt2s mp3 are slowed to the unrecognizable level of digital noise evidently HDMI connection is the cause of it (handshake?) Any ideas how this could be mended or improved, please ..??

thank you

Sergey

Please can you provide more details. Also what do you mean by "video stucks, music tracks flac"? Are you using an HDMI 1.4a cable and does the device work using your current cable straight to the TV? How are you sourcing the material and could there be network interference if you are using Wifi?

Last edited by TripleFun; 09-28-2014 at 03:05 AM. Reason: grammar
TripleFun is offline  
post #336 of 360 Old 09-30-2014, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
les3547's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sebastopol CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I would appreciate hearing opinions on a mod for the Cambridge's AC connection available on Ebay (since I have fewer than 5 posts I can't post a link, but here's the title: Oppo BDP-93, 95, 103, 105 Mod Kit - Furutech IEC, Mundorf Silver Gold Wire—also fits Cambridge Audio 751BD / 752BD). Price is $145 and requires no soldering so warranty remains intact. Wondering how much difference to sound such an improvement might make. Here's the description:

Quote:
Furutech Inlet (R) - Rhodium Plated.

(Alpha) Eutectic (Low Temperature) cast copper alloy Conductor.

Mundorf 99% Silver 1% Gold Wire 1.0mm - Double Run.

- Twist cable consisting of a pair 1.0mm of Mundorf silver gold wire, sleeved with white PTFE.

Cables are soldered using Mundorf 9.5% silver solder supreme - (Mundorf's top of the range solder).

-9.5% Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities with 0.1% gold added.

Les
les3547 is offline  
post #337 of 360 Old 09-30-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Why would the last few cm of a power supply cable have any impact on electrical supply given the quality of the house wiring system behind it? However if you don't have one then I suppose you will never know.
TripleFun is offline  
post #338 of 360 Old 09-30-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 70
"Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities"

Nice try. AC inlets and power cables don't carry audio signals. They carry AC power which is then converted to DC by the unit's power supply.

Besides, a filtered IEC can be dropped in for less than $10 (that is if the player doesn't already have one) for those who are paranoid about RFI noise getting into the unit.

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/filter.html

Last edited by AVfile; 09-30-2014 at 09:57 PM.
AVfile is online now  
post #339 of 360 Old 09-30-2014, 10:48 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
"Silver is used for better conductivity and retaining superior sound qualities"

Nice try. AC inlets and power cables don't carry audio signals. They carry AC power which is then converted to DC by the unit's power supply.

Besides, a filtered IEC can be dropped in for less than $10 (that is if the player doesn't already have one) for those who are paranoid about RFI noise getting into the unit.

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/filter.html

Better still, depending on where you live and the quality of your power supply (voltage and phase consistency) , you may be better off with a power regulator - see http://www.aliexpress.com/item/0-5KV...618105052.html. I have a 500w regulator in front of my sources (preamp, dac, cd, t/table, 752bd) with some improvement to the sound. It also supplies 110v and 220v which gives me options on my sources. I don't bother with the power amp - too expensive.
TripleFun is offline  
post #340 of 360 Old 10-12-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by les3547 View Post
I would appreciate hearing opinions on a mod for the Cambridge's AC connection available on Ebay (since I have fewer than 5 posts I can't post a link, but here's the title: Oppo BDP-93, 95, 103, 105 Mod Kit - Furutech IEC, Mundorf Silver Gold Wire—also fits Cambridge Audio 751BD / 752BD). Price is $145 and requires no soldering so warranty remains intact. Wondering how much difference to sound such an improvement might make. Here's the description:

Like most things, only 1 way to find out. Personally I doubt it would have any impact.

Loving my 752BD

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Pioneer LX55 / Dual CS506 / Sky + HD / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Isotek Mira / QED Cables
Cloverleaf is offline  
post #341 of 360 Old 11-22-2014, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd appreciate any and all opinions on this idea I 'm considering to make the 752BD my a/v hub.
I am currently running the 752bd as a BR player with two additional HDMI sources connected (Xbox 360 and Minix Neo-8H). I also have an external HDD with only hi-res files connected to one of the USB inputs at the back. For my other music files (all flac or wav), I'm currently running a CAPS v.2 Lagoon mini-PC with JRiver 17 (via Gizmo on my android tablet) , a modded MHDT Havana DACwith Ar-t Legato usb-spdif converter and all of this goes into a Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum integrated tube amp. I also have a Rega Apollo cdp going into the amp but recent issues with it have got me thinking about simplifying my setup.
My idea is to purchase a NAS storage unit, move all my music files to it and connect it to the 752bd, using Minimserver to serve the files and control it all using an Android app (BubbleUpnp?) on my tablet. This would eliminate the need for a screen to use the 752bsd.

I love the sound of the 752bd and am thinking that it might be suitable for this role as an a/v hub. I'm a bit of a noob at networking but I'm hoping I can get this all to work together.

Can anyone see any flaws in this reasoning?
Alexdad54 is online now  
post #342 of 360 Old 11-29-2014, 10:09 AM
Member
 
BillyNedwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
I'd appreciate any and all opinions on this idea I 'm considering to make the 752BD my a/v hub.
I am currently running the 752bd as a BR player with two additional HDMI sources connected (Xbox 360 and Minix Neo-8H). I also have an external HDD with only hi-res files connected to one of the USB inputs at the back. For my other music files (all flac or wav), I'm currently running a CAPS v.2 Lagoon mini-PC with JRiver 17 (via Gizmo on my android tablet) , a modded MHDT Havana DACwith Ar-t Legato usb-spdif converter and all of this goes into a Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum integrated tube amp. I also have a Rega Apollo cdp going into the amp but recent issues with it have got me thinking about simplifying my setup.
My idea is to purchase a NAS storage unit, move all my music files to it and connect it to the 752bd, using Minimserver to serve the files and control it all using an Android app (BubbleUpnp?) on my tablet. This would eliminate the need for a screen to use the 752bsd.

I love the sound of the 752bd and am thinking that it might be suitable for this role as an a/v hub. I'm a bit of a noob at networking but I'm hoping I can get this all to work together.

Can anyone see any flaws in this reasoning?
I have that setup. Using BubbleUpnp app on my tablet with Wdmycloud 3tb NAS. I would recommend connecting the 752bd to the router by usb as some of the larger flac files I listen to break up when connecting with wifi. I originally placed the wifi dongle very close to the router which helped but still not ideal. Once connected by usb to the router the transfer reliability was 100%.
BillyNedwell is offline  
post #343 of 360 Old 11-29-2014, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyNedwell View Post
Using BubbleUpnp
Would you kindly post the list of supported media formats that BubbleUPNP reports for the 752BD? I've found that the manufacturer's claims about supported media and what is actually supported over DLNA as reported by BubbleUPNP aren't necessarily the same.

To show this information, IIRC, you click the device info button.

TIA!
artur9 is offline  
post #344 of 360 Old 11-29-2014, 02:09 PM
Member
 
BillyNedwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
Would you kindly post the list of supported media formats that BubbleUPNP reports for the 752BD?
AAC, AIFF, FLAC, LPCM, M4A, MP1, MP2, MP3, RA, Vorbis, WAV, MWA

I am using the licensed version.
BillyNedwell is offline  
post #345 of 360 Old 12-02-2014, 06:30 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyNedwell View Post
I have that setup. Using BubbleUpnp app on my tablet with Wdmycloud 3tb NAS. I would recommend connecting the 752bd to the router by usb as some of the larger flac files I listen to break up when connecting with wifi. I originally placed the wifi dongle very close to the router which helped but still not ideal. Once connected by usb to the router the transfer reliability was 100%.
Thanks for the info, I was actually planning on connecting using only ethernet and usb. I am only using wireless for the tablets. Do you know if the 752bd now play gapless flacs, both cd and high-res files? Also which format (NTFS or FAT32) do the new HDD's in the Synology need to be in for the 752BD? Cheers.
Alexdad54 is online now  
post #346 of 360 Old 12-17-2014, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Firmware - Dec. 10, 2014

Features of the new update (version 752BD(CU)-19-1009) include;
  1. Resolved a Picture Adjustment issue found on V18 firmware. Customers reported that after changing the Picture Adjustment parameters for HDMI 1, the value of Contrast Enhancement would automatically go back to 0. It has been fixed in this firmware.
  2. Resolved a playback issue with regular DVD discs found on V18 firmware. Customers reported that if the "DVD 24p Conversion" was set to "On", pressing the REV (rewind) button within the DVD playback could cause the player to immediately freeze up. This issue has been resolved in this firmware.
  3. Resolved a HDMI Audio issue with some 2L Blu-ray Music discs. Customers reported that if the AV Sync was set to 90ms and above, there might be no audio signal from both HDMI outputs.
  4. Modified the RS-232 serial control protocol: fixed an issue with "#SZM" that could not change the Aspect Ratio.
  5. Improved the Gapless Playback feature, and resolved an issue where the gapless mode could not be enabled for some 96 kHz / 24-bit WAV files.
  6. Improved support for CUE files, specifically for CUE files that point to multiple WAV files.
  7. General disc compatibility improvements based on recent and upcoming Blu-ray releases as well as user-submitted disc samples.
  8. Add a feature that when streaming in 5.1 channel or 7.1 channel LPCM in bitstream mode, the 752BD can output Dolby digital or DTS (multichannel) through S/PDIF.
All features and improvements of the previous firmware are also included in this version.
Alexdad54 is online now  
post #347 of 360 Old 12-26-2014, 05:38 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a problem with the latest firmware when I do a reset everything is ok via multichannel and cd playback via 2 channel but as soon as I adjust my levels with a calibration disk and then play music via cd or flac files I get distortion through my tweeters more on the right hand side has anyone else experienced this thanks?
It is doing my head in and I am desperate for help thanks. :-(
halcs is offline  
post #348 of 360 Old 12-27-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
At CEDIA the rep was hinting this player is getting long in the tooth.

Maybe something new at CES.

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #349 of 360 Old 12-27-2014, 05:01 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What so that applies to the oppo 103 etc as well then?
halcs is offline  
post #350 of 360 Old 12-29-2014, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mmiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,975
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not really different companies.

Same video as 103 but completely different approach to audio.

Not sure how long 752,has been out. 3 years?

Mike Miles

ICR [ Sales Consulting and Small Part-Time AV shop, very small...  ]

Process Integration, Inc. [ contract sales consultant ]

Eastern Shore of Maryland

mmiles is offline  
post #351 of 360 Old 01-01-2015, 01:16 PM
Member
 
halcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it launched early 2013 and so did the oppo 105 so I suppose it would be a good time for a new machine to come out but no leaks as yet as far as I can see.
halcs is offline  
post #352 of 360 Old 02-04-2015, 04:23 PM
Member
 
InfinityBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The Cambridge Audio Azur 752BD seems more comparable the Oppo 103. It does not have a fully balanced stereo stage. This is the biggest difference between the 105 and 103, along with more DACs with the two channel section of the 105. This player may have that dual DAC feture, thus besting the 103, but is not a fully balanced player.



The Cambridge CD player does have this and why it is not offered on the Bluray may be one reason some many embrace the Oppo? The Oppo 105 and 95 are both so good, I have to say they came close to both Accuphase and Esoteric on two channel, and would be undetectable on any system where the preamplifier was unbalanced, and many differentially input balanced power amplifiers.
linger63 likes this.
InfinityBob is offline  
post #353 of 360 Old 02-04-2015, 04:37 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinityBob View Post
The Cambridge Audio Azur 752BD seems more comparable the Oppo 103. It does not have a fully balanced stereo stage. This is the biggest difference between the 105 and 103, along with more DACs with the two channel section of the 105. This player may have that dual DAC feture, thus besting the 103, but is not a fully balanced player.



The Cambridge CD player does have this and why it is not offered on the Bluray may be one reason some many embrace the Oppo? The Oppo 105 and 95 are both so good, I have to say they came close to both Accuphase and Esoteric on two channel, and would be undetectable on any system where the preamplifier was unbalanced, and many differentially input balanced power amplifiers.

The Oppo 103 and 105 also have Darbee options for enhanced video playback.
TripleFun is offline  
post #354 of 360 Old 02-04-2015, 08:01 PM
Member
 
InfinityBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
The Oppo 103 and 105 also have Darbee options for enhanced video playback.
yes, both have it
InfinityBob is offline  
post #355 of 360 Old 02-06-2015, 01:33 AM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinityBob View Post
The Cambridge Audio Azur 752BD seems more comparable the Oppo 103. It does not have a fully balanced stereo stage. This is the biggest difference between the 105 and 103, along with more DACs with the two channel section of the 105. This player may have that dual DAC feture, thus besting the 103, but is not a fully balanced player.

The Cambridge CD player does have this and why it is not offered on the Bluray may be one reason some many embrace the Oppo? The Oppo 105 and 95 are both so good, I have to say they came close to both Accuphase and Esoteric on two channel, and would be undetectable on any system where the preamplifier was unbalanced, and many differentially input balanced power amplifiers.

Careful mate.......mentioning the "O" word on a Cambridge thread is asking for it!!!

I have a 105 but still enjoy reading about other Brands and Models just to keep informed!!

If something from ANYONE comes out that does all the things "I" want better than my OPPO.........I want one.....END OF STORY
linger63 is offline  
post #356 of 360 Old 02-08-2015, 11:03 AM
Member
 
InfinityBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
Careful mate.......mentioning the "O" word on a Cambridge thread is asking for it!!!

I have a 105 but still enjoy reading about other Brands and Models just to keep informed!!

If something from ANYONE comes out that does all the things "I" want better than my OPPO.........I want one.....END OF STORY
sorry mate. I like what I hear about Cambridge, wish it had the stereo balanced outputs, yet if it had a nicer sound with the analogue outputs, I might pick one up.

I could mention an E word, but I am not willing to shell out the cost for that one.
linger63 likes this.
InfinityBob is offline  
post #357 of 360 Old 02-11-2015, 07:04 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I had the Oppo 95 (which I realise is not as evolved as the 105) and I much prefer the sound of the 752BD to that of the 95 in the same system single-ended outs only). The addition of a linear psu from Oppo Mods has also improved its sound even more. Perhaps I just prefer the Wolfson DAC sound...
I also have a Darbee Darblet that I originally bought for the 95. I'm going to hook it up this weekend to see if it makes a discernible diffference....
Alexdad54 is online now  
post #358 of 360 Old Today, 01:46 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
Well, I had the Oppo 95 (which I realise is not as evolved as the 105) and I much prefer the sound of the 752BD to that of the 95 in the same system single-ended outs only). The addition of a linear psu from Oppo Mods has also improved its sound even more. Perhaps I just prefer the Wolfson DAC sound...
I also have a Darbee Darblet that I originally bought for the 95. I'm going to hook it up this weekend to see if it makes a discernible diffference....
I have to agree with you, I haven't heard the 103 or 105, but I did audition a 95 a while ago both on RCA and XLR outputs, and I used to have a Nuforce 93-NXE, which more or less sounded the same as the 93 and 95, and I much prefer the sound of the Cambridge, it's warmer but still detailed, the treble and mid range is nice and smooth, plus the digital filters are handy too, if I was buying a player mainly for movies then I would go with the Oppo, but for music I think the Cambridge sounds better, assuming Oppo keeps the same sonic signature with future models I don't think I could go back to an Oppo now.
guzz46 is online now  
post #359 of 360 Old Today, 06:46 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
I have to agree with you, I haven't heard the 103 or 105, but I did audition a 95 a while ago both on RCA and XLR outputs, and I used to have a Nuforce 93-NXE, which more or less sounded the same as the 93 and 95, and I much prefer the sound of the Cambridge, it's warmer but still detailed, the treble and mid range is nice and smooth, plus the digital filters are handy too, if I was buying a player mainly for movies then I would go with the Oppo, but for music I think the Cambridge sounds better, assuming Oppo keeps the same sonic signature with future models I don't think I could go back to an Oppo now.
I've also just retired my DAC setup and am feeding my files on a NAS straight to the 752 and it sounds great!
BTW, you mentioned that the filters are handy, what do you use them for? I have to confess that I haven't played with them much because I haven't seen any clear definition of what they're useful for.....
Alexdad54 is online now  
post #360 of 360 Old Today, 06:59 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
I've also just retired my DAC setup and am feeding my files on a NAS straight to the 752 and it sounds great!
BTW, you mentioned that the filters are handy, what do you use them for? I have to confess that I haven't played with them much because I haven't seen any clear definition of what they're useful for.....
Just for fine tuning the sound of your system, for example I thought it sounded best on min when I owned a pair of Jamo C809's, but when I upgraded to the Legacy's I thought it sounded best on lin, then after some minor tweaks to my system, like using Cardas Clear RCA to XLR adapters, and unplugging the HDMI cable when listening to music I thought it sounded best on steep.

The differences are only slight, particularly between lin and min, and only noticeable on certain material, steep has the most noticeable difference in my opinion, it sounds like it knocks the treble extension back ever so slightly, handy on bad or bright recordings, or if you have very reveling speakers.
guzz46 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off