Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 13 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #361 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 03:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi, I using MakeMKV to create MKV's of my Blu-Rays collection but have some problems with the Cambridge 752BD:
- first the player reported all the "Dolby true HD" tracks stored in a MKV file as MLP.
- also if a MKV file has two or more "DTS-HD MA" tracks, the first is recognized correctly, all others are recognized as simple DTS. No problem if there is only one DTS-HD MA track, or if any other track using other codecs.


I want to clarify that by opening this mkv files with PC software (MPC, mediainfo, mkinfo) all the track are recognized correctly!
phoenix161081 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 04:27 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Ripping questions should go here.


Ripping Blu-Rays II


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #363 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 05:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It isn't a ripping problem, the problem is that Cambridge 752BD not recognize properly hd-tracks in mkv files
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #364 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 05:36 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
TrueHD is based on MLP lossless.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #365 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
TrueHD is based on MLP lossless.
It's true, but with the original blu ray the Cambridge sees the TrueHD track, instead with corresponding mkv don't...
However the quality is not affected, the real problem are DTS-HD MA tracks recognized as simple DTS
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #366 of 376 Old 04-13-2015, 07:46 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
It could be that when streaming or through USB it reads it as TrueHD. I've seen this mentioned before. Don't remember if it was in this thread or another player's thread. I'd try CA if you haven't already to see what they have to say.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #367 of 376 Old 04-14-2015, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
I'd try CA if you haven't already to see what they have to say.

Dear Sir, Thank you for contacting Cambridge Audio. The following video formats are supported on the 752BD
MPEG2, MPEG 2 HD, MPEG4, MPEG4 HD, AVC, VC-1, DIVX, XVID, VCD, AVI, AVC, MKV (4.1), DAT, VOB, WMV, MOV, MP4, MPEG-PS, FLV, MTS, M2TS, M2T, M4V

Whilst we strive to maintain maximum file compatibility, because of inconsistencies in how some file formats are generated and a constantly changing industry we CANNOT guarantee the playability of all file formats above.
We cannot support issues in relation to files ripped from official discs. We can only support issues with the original disc itself.


phoenix161081 is offline  
post #368 of 376 Old 04-14-2015, 05:44 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Are you getting 5.1/7.1 with these files when it says MLP?


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #369 of 376 Old 04-14-2015, 04:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Are you getting 5.1/7.1 with these files when it says MLP?


S~
Yes
However, the real problem are DTS-HD MA tracks recognized as simple DTS
phoenix161081 is offline  
post #370 of 376 Unread 04-21-2015, 06:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had a 752BD - just sold it.

Good sound. Great picture. Responsive remote.

Only issues:
No Netflix app
No mute (I use it as a pre direct to my amp)

Switching to Oppo 105
Pepperinca is online now  
post #371 of 376 Unread 04-21-2015, 07:51 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepperinca View Post
I had a 752BD - just sold it.

Good sound. Great picture. Responsive remote.

Only issues:
No Netflix app
No mute (I use it as a pre direct to my amp)

Switching to Oppo 105
Please reply in the ways you find the 105 different. In particular, assuming you used 7.1 out on the 752bd, do you notice a difference between the 752bd wolfson and the 105 sabre DACS. Also, do you intend to use the 105 USB DAC processing?
TripleFun is offline  
post #372 of 376 Unread 04-23-2015, 09:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I am waiting on my BDP-105. I will update after I've had a chance to use it for a while.
Pepperinca is online now  
post #373 of 376 Unread 04-23-2015, 01:49 PM
kta
Newbie
 
kta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I put a Chromcast into the HDMI input of my 752 and it works a treat- gives me Netflix as well as all the other stuff Chromcast streams. I have just acquired an Oppo HA-1 instead which it seems, from an audio perspective, to have a better spec than the 105D.
I also run a Azur 851N so I will be interested in the comparison.

Last edited by kta; 04-23-2015 at 02:46 PM.
kta is offline  
post #374 of 376 Unread 04-24-2015, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepperinca View Post
I had a 752BD - just sold it.

Good sound. Great picture. Responsive remote.

Only issues:
No Netflix app
No mute (I use it as a pre direct to my amp)

Switching to Oppo 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
Please reply in the ways you find the 105 different. In particular, assuming you used 7.1 out on the 752bd, do you notice a difference between the 752bd wolfson and the 105 sabre DACS. Also, do you intend to use the 105 USB DAC processing?
Yeah, be interested in the comparison. General opinion seems to be that video performance is identical, while the 752BD is better for audio ? Did you get the Oppo for the Darbee ?

Each to their own, but personally I wouldn't swap - I don't like Darbee, and the Oppo 105 is about £500/$760 more here than the 752BD !

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is offline  
post #375 of 376 Unread 04-25-2015, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Paddington Blu Ray does not load

Hi Guys,
Bought the Paddington Blu Ray for my daughter from Amazon and it didn't load. Obviously thought it was problem with disc, but same thing happened with replacement. Tried the disc in my old Sony player and it worked fine. Wrote to CA and they concluded that a firmware update was required to rectify the problem and to be patient while this is sorted. All my other blu rays have worked fine, but now while playing Horrible Bosses the picture froze a few times while watching. Starting to wonder if it is a problem with my particular player and nothing to do with a firmware update. What do you think?
Jason Ason Son On N is offline  
post #376 of 376 Unread Today, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Ason Son On N View Post
Hi Guys,
Bought the Paddington Blu Ray for my daughter from Amazon and it didn't load. Obviously thought it was problem with disc, but same thing happened with replacement. Tried the disc in my old Sony player and it worked fine. Wrote to CA and they concluded that a firmware update was required to rectify the problem and to be patient while this is sorted. All my other blu rays have worked fine, but now while playing Horrible Bosses the picture froze a few times while watching. Starting to wonder if it is a problem with my particular player and nothing to do with a firmware update. What do you think?
Sounds like cobblers, to be honest. Why would a mainstream BD need a firmware upate in order to play it ? Never come across one that hasn't played on the CA, the only time I had trouble once was trying to play a BD that someone had left greasy fingerprints all over. Quick wipe clean and all was well.

To be fair I have found that if you e mail the support site , they are usually helpful, if a tad slow to reply.

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Gear in this thread - 751bd by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off