Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 14 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #391 of 401 Old 05-11-2015, 10:34 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloverleaf View Post
That's a bit harsh IMHO. The 752BD has a completely different analogue stage, which is actually the most important differentiator between units. After all if you are just going to output bitstream over HDMI you may as well save your cash and buy a budget player. Furthermore, most independent reviewers have come out in favour of the 752BD sound over the Oppo 105. I can't be bothered to link them, but they are easily found.

The Oppo provides XLR outputs and usb2 input from a PC with native DSD 64/128 support. Main difference is the Sabre DAC in the Oppo vs Wolfson in the 752bd. The Oppo streams native DSD 64/128; the 752BD streams DSD 64 via PCM. For a home theatre both are an exceptional addition providing a range of options to complement the receiver.
TripleFun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 401 Old 05-11-2015, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
Hi Cloverleaf,


MUST agree....... that is a SERIOUS difference in RRP!!!!

At least you have cheaper UK stuff.

I am in Australia and we get shafted by EVERYONE!!!


Cheers
Hi Linger

Well, if it's any consolation, we usually get shafted here as well, particularly on electricals, and most items here are priced in £'s for US$. The Oppo is a typical example, being priced here at circa £1000, while it's $1000 in the States I believe. With the exchange rate, that obviously costs us.

I think the CA is unusual in that it is a UK company, and perhaps the US distribution is a bit limited which inflates the price over there ?

I'm not looking forward to the cricket by the way !
linger63 likes this.

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED + Audioquest Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is online now  
post #393 of 401 Old 05-11-2015, 01:23 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knight7m View Post
Does 752 have audio delay option (same option In Oppo 105)? And does reduce P & S quality if increased high ? And thank you for answer.
You are right, it's not in the manual. Go to setup menu - audio format setup and its the last item "AV Sync". This should be on page 27 of the manual.
TripleFun is offline  
post #394 of 401 Old 05-11-2015, 11:26 PM
Member
 
linger63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 28
OT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloverleaf View Post
Hi Linger

Well, if it's any consolation, we usually get shafted here as well, particularly on electricals, and most items here are priced in £'s for US$. The Oppo is a typical example, being priced here at circa £1000, while it's $1000 in the States I believe. With the exchange rate, that obviously costs us.

I think the CA is unusual in that it is a UK company, and perhaps the US distribution is a bit limited which inflates the price over there ?

I'm not looking forward to the cricket by the way !



Cloverleaf,


LOL...based on recent events however it may be a wise move to extend the olive branch to a certain Mr Pieterson!!!!


By the way ....you don't want to know what ATC gear costs here!!!


Cheers
linger63 is offline  
post #395 of 401 Old 05-12-2015, 01:38 AM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by linger63 View Post
Cloverleaf,


LOL...based on recent events however it may be a wise move to extend the olive branch to a certain Mr Pieterson!!!!


By the way ....you don't want to know what ATC gear costs here!!!


Cheers
Yeah I think you are right about KP, but as long as Andrew Strauss has a hole in his bottom, it ain't going to happen !

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED + Audioquest Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is online now  
post #396 of 401 Old 05-13-2015, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This may be a dumb question but would there be any sonic advantage to splitting the audio out from an HDMI source going into one of the 752's inputs and using optical to connect it to the optical input on the 752?
I have a spare HDMI/Analog audio splitter lying around (from another project) and was wondering if extracting the audio and using the optical input would be treated the same as the HDMI audio input i.e. no routing through the Wolfson DAC's?
I have an Android TV box and would love to be able to improve the sound on video files played through it without using a DAC. Note: I don't use an AVR, just the 752 into an integrated amp for 2-channel audio.
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #397 of 401 Old 05-13-2015, 02:43 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
This may be a dumb question but would there be any sonic advantage to splitting the audio out from an HDMI source going into one of the 752's inputs and using optical to connect it to the optical input on the 752?
I have a spare HDMI/Analog audio splitter lying around (from another project) and was wondering if extracting the audio and using the optical input would be treated the same as the HDMI audio input i.e. no routing through the Wolfson DAC's?
I have an Android TV box and would love to be able to improve the sound on video files played through it without using a DAC. Note: I don't use an AVR, just the 752 into an integrated amp for 2-channel audio.
How do you stream the audio from the Android TV over HDMI - is it bitstream or lpcm. If the former then you will need to use the 752bd wolfson dac to generate the analogue; if LPCM then it should be straight pass through. I also think you need to use the MCH enabled HDMI input on the front of the 752.
TripleFun is offline  
post #398 of 401 Old 05-15-2015, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
How do you stream the audio from the Android TV over HDMI - is it bitstream or lpcm. If the former then you will need to use the 752bd wolfson dac to generate the analogue; if LPCM then it should be straight pass through. I also think you need to use the MCH enabled HDMI input on the front of the 752.
There are only 3 settings for both the HDMI and SPDIF outputs: Auto, RAW and LPCM.
I have it on Auto. I assume that RAW means Bitstream....
My question is whether the feed via HDMI runs through the Wolfson DAC's (I thought I had read somewhere that it doesn't) and, if not, whether it might be a good idea to run the audio via SPDIF to the 752's optical input. If the HDMI audio is indeed processed and upsampled by the 752 through the Wolfson DAC's then I guess the point is moot.....
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #399 of 401 Unread Yesterday, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I'm having trouble streaming mkv files via Windows 8 to my 752BD. The player is supposed to accept mkv files, however I just get an error message The file is otherwise fine, it will play direct on my laptop, and will also stream direct to my ZT60 no problem. I should add that I downloaded Sharks codecs in order to activate the "Play to" function in Windows. Anyone come across this at all ?

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED + Audioquest Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is online now  
post #400 of 401 Unread Today, 01:06 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cloverleaf View Post
I'm having trouble streaming mkv files via Windows 8 to my 752BD. The player is supposed to accept mkv files, however I just get an error message The file is otherwise fine, it will play direct on my laptop, and will also stream direct to my ZT60 no problem. I should add that I downloaded Sharks codecs in order to activate the "Play to" function in Windows. Anyone come across this at all ?
I can stream mkv files in windows 8.1 to the 752bd with no issues. Please use mediainfo to show the video characteristics. Please also confirm you are not using a dlna player (eg. Ums) ?
TripleFun is offline  
post #401 of 401 Unread Today, 03:57 AM
Member
 
Cloverleaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London UK
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
I can stream mkv files in windows 8.1 to the 752bd with no issues. Please use mediainfo to show the video characteristics. Please also confirm you are not using a dlna player (eg. Ums) ?
Hi Triple

I'm not to hot on digital files, but the file is a "VLC media file (.mkv)". I am just using an Acer laptop to stream from. I have in the past streamed m2ts files from my laptop to the CA without issue, using the "Play to" function. it just seems to dislike the mkv file for some reason. I have downloaded the mkv files from http://www.demo-world.eu/

Panasonic ZT65 (isf calibrated) / Cambridge Audio 752BD / Sky+ HD / Pioneer LX55 / Tannoy Arena 5.1 / Dual CS506 / Rega Mini Fono / Isotek Mira / Antimode 8033 / QED + Audioquest Cables / Virgin Media 50MB Network /
Cloverleaf is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black
Gear in this thread - 751bd by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off