Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - Page 11 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 736 Old 08-27-2013, 06:35 AM
Member
 
CybrSlydr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

The Klipsch won't handle DTS audio which is one reason you needed to select PCM. I take it you have your BD running into the TV and audio out of the TV to the soundbar. Most TVs will only pass 2 channel audio out from an external HDMI source over HDMI. Same setup with the VT60?

S~

Actually, I don't have the TV yet. I was testing everything to see of it worked. I had the sound bar plugged into the BD player and my PC monitor plugged into the BD player via HDMI.
CybrSlydr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 736 Old 08-28-2013, 11:01 AM
Newbie
 
bradipolpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokra View Post

Just noticed that Panasonic has released a new firmware for all regions:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/bd/

This should fix the HDMI-SUB 1080i-issue and more, according to Panasonic:
any news about the HDMI 1080i issue on the DMP-BDT330? does this fw fix it? any other issue?
bradipolpo is offline  
post #303 of 736 Old 08-28-2013, 11:27 AM
Member
 
Scott101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I was wondering if someone could provide me info on the specifics on the new Chipset that the dmp-bdt230 is using and answer my questions. I have a GT30 Panasonic TV and have moved from a Sony s780 blu-ray player to a DMP-BDT230 deck (Sony did not provide 5.1 and 1080P in Netflix).

1) I have read that Panasonic has moved to a new chipset for the 230/330 models?
a) Does anyone know what the chipset is? Mediatek?
b) How does the 2013 chipset compare to the chipset in the 210/220 models? Is the picture and sound quality the same or better in the 2013 models?
c) Looking at the Canadian feature page for Panasonic 230, that info is incorrect. Are we loosing anything in 2013 models by not having the Adaptive Chroma Processing feature? https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/bluray/features.asp


2) I know that this has been debated way too many times but based on what I read, the Panasonic GT30 models prefer 4:2:2 instead of 4:4:4… due to a slight color decoding issue when using 4:4:4. Can anyone confirm this?

3) Is the picture and sound quality the same in the 330 compared to the 230 (2013 model)? Same Chipset?

I called Panasonic but they had no idea of the info on the chipset!


Ultimately, I am curious to know how the picture and sound quality compares in the 2013 models to the 2011/2012 models…since Panasonic has moved away from the LSI – UniPhier chipset. I realize that the old chipset has received years of firmware updates to improve the stability of the product.

Thank you for your time.
Scott101 is offline  
 
post #304 of 736 Old 08-28-2013, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott101 View Post

Hi,

I was wondering if someone could provide me info on the specifics on the new Chipset that the dmp-bdt230 is using and answer my questions. I have a GT30 Panasonic TV and have moved from a Sony s780 blu-ray player to a DMP-BDT230 deck (Sony did not provide 5.1 and 1080P in Netflix).

1) I have read that Panasonic has moved to a new chipset for the 230/330 models?
a) Does anyone know what the chipset is? Mediatek?
b) How does the 2013 chipset compare to the chipset in the 210/220 models? Is the picture and sound quality the same or better in the 2013 models?
c) Looking at the Canadian feature page for Panasonic 230, that info is incorrect. Are we loosing anything in 2013 models by not having the Adaptive Chroma Processing feature? https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/bluray/features.asp


2) I know that this has been debated way too many times but based on what I read, the Panasonic GT30 models prefer 4:2:2 instead of 4:4:4… due to a slight color decoding issue when using 4:4:4. Can anyone confirm this?

3) Is the picture and sound quality the same in the 330 compared to the 230 (2013 model)? Same Chipset?

I called Panasonic but they had no idea of the info on the chipset!


Ultimately, I am curious to know how the picture and sound quality compares in the 2013 models to the 2011/2012 models…since Panasonic has moved away from the LSI – UniPhier chipset. I realize that the old chipset has received years of firmware updates to improve the stability of the product.

Thank you for your time.
I have 330 Panasonic it's show better detail then previous model,maybe because it has 4k processor or chip inside,for bluray performance it's outstanding.
Chise is offline  
post #305 of 736 Old 08-29-2013, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Scott101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chise View Post

I have 330 Panasonic it's show better detail then previous model,maybe because it has 4k processor or chip inside,for bluray performance it's outstanding.

I had the understanding that for the 4k processor to be utilized, you have to have a 4k TV? Can anyone confirm if the 230 & 330 models have the same 2k processing for Image and Sound? thanks.
Scott101 is offline  
post #306 of 736 Old 08-29-2013, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Scott101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott101 View Post

Hi,

I was wondering if someone could provide me info on the specifics on the new Chipset that the dmp-bdt230 is using and answer my questions. I have a GT30 Panasonic TV and have moved from a Sony s780 blu-ray player to a DMP-BDT230 deck (Sony did not provide 5.1 and 1080P in Netflix).

1) I have read that Panasonic has moved to a new chipset for the 230/330 models?
a) Does anyone know what the chipset is? Mediatek?
b) How does the 2013 chipset compare to the chipset in the 210/220 models? Is the picture and sound quality the same or better in the 2013 models?
c) Looking at the Canadian feature page for Panasonic 230, that info is incorrect. Are we loosing anything in 2013 models by not having the Adaptive Chroma Processing feature? https://panasonic.ca/english/audiovideo/bluray/features.asp


2) I know that this has been debated way too many times but based on what I read, the Panasonic GT30 models prefer 4:2:2 instead of 4:4:4… due to a slight color decoding issue when using 4:4:4. Can anyone confirm this?

3) Is the picture and sound quality the same in the 330 compared to the 230 (2013 model)? Same Chipset?

I called Panasonic but they had no idea of the info on the chipset!


Ultimately, I am curious to know how the picture and sound quality compares in the 2013 models to the 2011/2012 models…since Panasonic has moved away from the LSI – UniPhier chipset. I realize that the old chipset has received years of firmware updates to improve the stability of the product.

Thank you for your time.

Anyone have any answers to the other questions. Thanks in advance.
Scott101 is offline  
post #307 of 736 Old 08-29-2013, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott101 View Post

Anyone have any answers to the other questions. Thanks in advance.
Sorry Scott I don't have 230,but 330 does good job on 1080p performance or 2k .
Chise is offline  
post #308 of 736 Old 08-31-2013, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Scott101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chise View Post

Sorry Scott I don't have 230,but 330 does good job on 1080p performance or 2k .

Thanks. Does anyone know if the 230 has the same chipset as the 330? More specifically, do both models have the same picture (2k) and sound performance/quality?
Thanks!
Scott101 is offline  
post #309 of 736 Old 08-31-2013, 05:02 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott101 View Post

Thanks. Does anyone know if the 230 has the same chipset as the 330? More specifically, do both models have the same picture (2k) and sound performance/quality?
Thanks!
The 230 and 330 are identical in PQ on BD and DVD scaling.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #310 of 736 Old 09-01-2013, 07:15 AM
Member
 
david12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watch a lot of Vudu, hdx quality and I wonder if anyone can comment on the wireless performance of the 230/330. I assume it is the same for both models.

And any opinions on how the panasonic players compare to the Sony S5100 as far as wireless performance is concerned (I have a strong wireless signal).

Thanks
david12 is offline  
post #311 of 736 Old 09-01-2013, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mactavish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradipolpo View Post

any news about the HDMI 1080i issue on the DMP-BDT330? does this fw fix it? any other issue?

Indeed, I have NOT seen it posted in this thread, but finally got around to testing my 330 with the new firmware update, and the 1080i issue has been FIXED, so I no longer need to use my "workaround" posted earlier.
Mactavish is offline  
post #312 of 736 Old 09-04-2013, 05:36 AM
Newbie
 
HockeyCoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone who owns a DMP BD-89 tell me how it does with Netflix streaming? I'm looking at this as a possible replacement for a 3 year old Sony S370 that sucks something awful at Netflix streaming (it was decent for the first 18 months but lately it's been infuriatingly bad).
HockeyCoach is offline  
post #313 of 736 Old 09-04-2013, 07:17 AM
Member
 
Shreve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Have they fixed the HD Audio on HDMI 2 yet?

Case: 1080p on HDMI 1 to the TV and HD Audio on HDMI 2 to the Receiver
Shreve is offline  
post #314 of 736 Old 09-04-2013, 07:34 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Read up two posts.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #315 of 736 Old 09-04-2013, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Shreve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Teach, but I was referring to an earlier poster saying that the 1080p piece was fixed but the sound was downgraded on the 2nd HDMI

I'm looking to buy this unit for the functionality described
Shreve is offline  
post #316 of 736 Old 09-04-2013, 08:34 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shreve View Post

Thanks Teach, but I was referring to an earlier poster saying that the 1080p piece was fixed but the sound was downgraded on the 2nd HDMI

I'm looking to buy this unit for the functionality described
That was his problem. 2nd HDMI audio. The workaround was to set the player to 1080i. He says it is fixed.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #317 of 736 Old 09-05-2013, 12:59 PM
Member
 
BriCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spoke with Dane B. @ Panasonic today who confirmed BOTH the 230 and 330 WILL have a firmware update for Skype, but NO date when.
BriCo is offline  
post #318 of 736 Old 09-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Member
 
dfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope someone can help me here.I purchased the DMP-BDT330 specifically for the duel HDMI outputs due to the fact I don't have a 3D receiver.Problem is I get no sound with my set-up.I have the HDMI AV OUT SUB going to my receiver and the HDMI AV OUT MAIN going to the VIDEO 2 of my TV(Benq W7000 Projector).In this configuration I get video but no audio.The strange thing is while its playing if I dis-connect the HDMI 1 from the back of the TV(W7000) the audio works,plug it back in and the audio goes missing??The HDMI 1 goes from the main out of my receiver to the HDMI 1 of the TV.Please help if you can offer any thoughts:)
dfarina is offline  
post #319 of 736 Old 09-08-2013, 05:41 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfarina View Post

I hope someone can help me here.I purchased the DMP-BDT330 specifically for the duel HDMI outputs due to the fact I don't have a 3D receiver.Problem is I get no sound with my set-up.I have the HDMI AV OUT SUB going to my receiver and the HDMI AV OUT MAIN going to the VIDEO 2 of my TV(Benq W7000 Projector).In this configuration I get video but no audio.The strange thing is while its playing if I dis-connect the HDMI 1 from the back of the TV(W7000) the audio works,plug it back in and the audio goes missing??The HDMI 1 goes from the main out of my receiver to the HDMI 1 of the TV.Please help if you can offer any thoughts:)
Page 11 and 30 of the owner's maual. Did you set the HDMI Sub Output mode to "V.Off"

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #320 of 736 Old 09-08-2013, 06:49 PM
Member
 
dfarina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Page 11 and 30 of the owner's maual. Did you set the HDMI Sub Output mode to "V.Off"

S~
Hi,yes I did,tried every which combos and option i could think of.My only work around now is using the optical out from the DMP to my receiver.This is not what i purchased this unit for:mad:
dfarina is offline  
post #321 of 736 Old 09-09-2013, 07:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Try a reset and start over.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #322 of 736 Old 09-10-2013, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,070
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4008
In case anyone still had doubts about the chip in these, I had a conversation with avjunkie (Panasonic employee) month's back were he was almost certain the 330 had a different chip from the lower models (I assume for the 4K side of things), but they all were from a new manufacturer this year (except the carried over BDT500). I realized yesterday I had not followed up with him. His comment to me this morning was "it's Mediatek".
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #323 of 736 Old 09-10-2013, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
cacete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

I just got a BDT230PK in the USA but I live in Brazil. I just need to free the DVD regions in the player. Anyone knows how? I got a Sony RM-V210 universal remote but can't program it to use with a hack I found here in the blog.

Help will be MUCH appreciated!
cacete is offline  
post #324 of 736 Old 09-10-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,401
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 986
You need a remote made by UEI to do the hack. Cable TV remotes and One-for-all are usually UEI. If you can find such a remote, post the model, and I can tell you if it will work.

However, I have never gotten the hack to work on a US player. You will probably have to buy the region free firmware.

Here are some one-for-all remotes available in Brazil: http://www.oneforall.com/lp_BR/productline/29/39/controle-remoto
Radio Shack also sells some One-For-All remotes, if you have those.
Not all are able to do the hack.

EDIT: Correction. There is no region free firmware for this model.
mdavej is online now  
post #325 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
Mproduz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On a 230, anyone figured out how to navigate fw/bw in a MKV file via USB ??
Can't believe it's impossible!
When I hit skip or try to navigate with the arrows, It always says something like "unable to do that"
Mproduz is offline  
post #326 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 08:08 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,634
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 840 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Can't.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #327 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
Mproduz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow,
That's really annoying
Thanks
Mproduz is offline  
post #328 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
cacete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks mate! I will stay in the US for 2 weeks, so I must have plenty of time, and there are radioshack and bestbuys around the corner.
I already have the DirecTV remote, and a universal remote from Sony,model RM-V210.

Can I use those?
cacete is offline  
post #329 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
LowBudget5.1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: D/FW, Texas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
LowBudget5.1 is offline  
post #330 of 736 Old 09-11-2013, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,070
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4008
I fired up a brand new 330 yesterday afternoon and thats what it got, I figured it had been out awhile.
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off