Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 736 Old 09-13-2013, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
Kevin Kemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, first post here. I am finally adding a Blu Ray player to my HT after no ugrades in many years. At this stage I want to add a budget Blu Ray player and think I've settled on the Panasonic 230. My question is, how will this player compare to my Oppo 981 for all my standard DVDs? Should I still use my Oppo or will the Panasonic be better for audio and video. My current system is below. Thanks for the help.


HDTV - Westinghouse 47"
Receiver - Integra 7.2 (Next upgrade after adding BRP)
DVD - Oppo 981HD
Cable - Verizon FIOS
Apple TV
Mains - NHT Super 2, Powered by Parasound HCA1500A
Center - NHT Super 1
Rears - NHT Super 1
Sides - NHT Super 1
Subs - NHT 1259s in Homemade Cabinets, Powered by Rotel RB 991
Kevin Kemp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 736 Old 09-13-2013, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,079
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4012
The current Mediatek chip is actually doing a good job on DVD. The 981 has the Faroudja chip, so Id not be surprised if you were plenty happy with the Panasonic.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #333 of 736 Old 09-13-2013, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,655
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 339
Looking at a new 79 for $55. Just need it to spin discs for my outdoor thater...nothing fancy.

That said can some one tell me if it will downmix all multi channel codecs to 2 channel PCM over optical or coax? Absolutely have to have this for my Denon 4311 to push it to my zones.

thanks! ...checking online manual but someone will prolly beat me to it.

James

My Parlor and Theatre: "Jimbo's Dugout" : http://www.avsforum.com/forum/15-gen...re-parlor.html

Actual phone call (see pic to left):
 Tech (responding to laughter): "I'm sorry sir, did I miss something?"
Me: "Yeah, a case of Diet Mountain Dew walking across my living room."
mastermaybe is offline  
 
post #334 of 736 Old 09-13-2013, 09:39 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
All players will take MCPCM and convert it to two channel over coax/optical. It is mandatory.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #335 of 736 Old 09-13-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowBudget5.1 View Post

New firmware 1.54

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/bd/download/bdt230/bdt230_na.html
Thanks for the info.
Chise is offline  
post #336 of 736 Old 09-14-2013, 09:10 AM
Newbie
 
makeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wondering if anyone else has seen this - Purchased about 3 weeks ago, worked fine, upgraded the firmware to 1.48 (?) and after a few hours just lost my network connection. Went to run setup again and no wireless networks found. When I go to the Network menu and search for wireless, it says 'wireless adapter not installed'. Network -> wireless settings -> no adaptor. Sent it back to Amazon for a replacement and the new one has identical behavior. Worked for 6 days until firmware update. Have done the menu reset with no luck. Have Panasonic TV, Apple TV, Roku and laptops and such, all working fine on a relatively normal Linksys WiFi network. Just did a firmware update to 1.54 off a DVD and no change. Hard time believing I got two bad payers so adjusted network to be as simple as possible and still nothing. I seem to recall there was a hardware reset using the remote and would be willing to try if someone can pass it along.

Any help appreciated else this one goes back too.

Bob
makeit is offline  
post #337 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 02:18 PM
Member
 
BriCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Advice: I need a new 3D Blu-Ray player and narrowed it to the BDT330 or BDT500. The 330 supports 4K (future possibility, I know), but the 500 is stiil the "flagship", even though it's a 2012 model. Both remotes use IR (not RF); both have dual HDMI out. Why did you folks choose 330 over 500? Thx.
BriCo is offline  
post #338 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriCo View Post

Advice: I need a new 3D Blu-Ray player and narrowed it to the BDT330 or BDT500. The 330 supports 4K (future possibility, I know), but the 500 is stiil the "flagship", even though it's a 2012 model. Both remotes use IR (not RF); both have dual HDMI out. Why did you folks choose 330 over 500? Thx.
The 500 has analog audio which many people don't need, so it's a waste of money. Many don't even need dual HDMI (primarily for AVR's that can't handle 3D), so even the 330 is overkill. If you have a modern AVR, the 230 is all you need.
mdavej is online now  
post #339 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 02:47 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriCo View Post

Advice: I need a new 3D Blu-Ray player and narrowed it to the BDT330 or BDT500. The 330 supports 4K (future possibility, I know), but the 500 is stiil the "flagship", even though it's a 2012 model. Both remotes use IR (not RF); both have dual HDMI out. Why did you folks choose 330 over 500? Thx.
The 330 only upscales to UHD. It will not handle UHD/4K native content. So, as MDaveJ said, If your receiver handles 3D, you only need the 230. If your receiver does not, then you will need the 330 or 500. Exactly what I did.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #340 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 02:57 PM
Member
 
BriCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MDaveJ: You say the dual HDMI is for AVRs which don't support 3D; my understanding is the 2nd HDMI is for either a 2nd display, OR for audio out for home theater 5.1 sound (I'm confused why the 1st HDMI doesn't provide 5.1). Can you elaborate?
BriCo is offline  
post #341 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriCo View Post

MDaveJ: You say the dual HDMI is for AVRs which don't support 3D; my understanding is the 2nd HDMI is for either a 2nd display, OR for audio out for home theater 5.1 sound (I'm confused why the 1st HDMI doesn't provide 5.1). Can you elaborate?
This is not the case with Panasonic. AFAIK, the 2nd HDMI will not pass video so is useless for a 2nd display. Either HDMI will pass 5.1 if configured to do so. Older HDMI 1.3 AVRs that cannot handle 3D video and audio require one HDMI directly from player to display and another for audio only from player to AVR. This is what Panasonic's press releases said when they released their first dual HDMI 3D player. I think Oppo passes video on both ports, if that's what you want. HDMI splitters will accomplish the same thing.
mdavej is online now  
post #342 of 736 Old 09-16-2013, 07:21 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Quote:
Originally Posted by BriCo View Post

MDaveJ: You say the dual HDMI is for AVRs which don't support 3D; my understanding is the 2nd HDMI is for either a 2nd display, OR for audio out for home theater 5.1 sound (I'm confused why the 1st HDMI doesn't provide 5.1). Can you elaborate?
How are you planning to run the player? That might help us.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #343 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 01:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

The 500 has analog audio which many people don't need, so it's a waste of money. Many don't even need dual HDMI (primarily for AVR's that can't handle 3D), so even the 330 is overkill. If you have a modern AVR, the 230 is all you need.
I guess I have overkill,I have both.
Chise is offline  
post #344 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

Congratulations for another misleading post wink.gif

There is no region free firmware for Panasonic Blu-ray players based on Mediatek chipsets...
Sorry about that. Original post corrected.

What happened to the firmwareinfo site? I can't get to it anymore.
mdavej is online now  
post #345 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

I guess that's because you can only remeber your remote control names smile.gif

http://www.firmwareinfo.com
At least I can remember how to spell. rolleyes.gif
mdavej is online now  
post #346 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

It's time to press the "Off" button on one of your remote controls tongue.gif
If only it worked on you smile.gif
mdavej is online now  
post #347 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi guys,

Just got my 230, can someone list what the best audio/video settings are? thanks
Devin1886 is offline  
post #348 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 01:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Help! just downloaded the latest firmware update and the player is all distorted and displaying a stretched double image?? I had to restore it to factory settings to fix it. anyone know why it did that? Thanks
Devin1886 is offline  
post #349 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wow! Really not impressed here. I did a firmware update and now the screen is totally f*#!ed. I'm getting a stretched, blurred, double image. I can barely navigate through the main menu. I have to restore it to factory settings to get it back to normal but as soon as I turn off the system and turn it back on, it goes right back to the stretched double image. Do I send it back? any input would be appreciated. Thanks
Devin1886 is offline  
post #350 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 02:44 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
How are you run? Try directly into the TV. Stretched and double images sounds like you have 3D settings enabled. I have never seen that before in the past 6-7 years of owning BD players.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #351 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes. just realized that when the unit is turned on, the 3D setting on my TV is automatically enabled. I have to disable it from the TV remote every time i turn on the BD player? Not sure if that's an issue with the TV or the player??
Devin1886 is offline  
post #352 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Devin1886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 11
okay. after a few deep breaths and a little trouble shooting with the TV it seems that the problem is solved! my TV was set to engage 3D when a 3D device was detected. a simple "switch to off" was all it took. Thanks techsac for your quick reply. now, back to my original question for the settings. would be able to tell me what the best setting are for audio/video on this unit? Thanks.
Devin1886 is offline  
post #353 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 75
do these have MLB.tv?
thanks
nezff is offline  
post #354 of 736 Old 09-17-2013, 05:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
Yes.

S~
nezff likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #355 of 736 Old 09-20-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 75
trying to decide between the sony 3100 vs the panny 230?

any advice?
nezff is offline  
post #356 of 736 Old 09-20-2013, 03:50 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
What are your requirements? Both are really good players.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #357 of 736 Old 09-20-2013, 04:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,458
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

What are your requirements? Both are really good players.

S~

I mainly need something to play my movie files from my external HDD. Im sure it plays most all formats.
My current sony s580 plays m2ts files fine. I would love to have mlb.tv.
nezff is offline  
post #358 of 736 Old 09-20-2013, 06:34 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,653
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1363
For streaming, the Sony would be much better. Panasonic does not support as many file formats. Thought of just getting a dedicated streaming device? I got tired of different manufacturers carrying different apps, so I got a ROKU.

S~
nezff likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #359 of 736 Old 09-21-2013, 01:00 PM
Newbie
 
gomirage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have the BDT230. It comes with Viera Connect apdated. I thought it had the NBA game time, but apparently not. Does any one know how to get this app ? If not which player has it ?


Thanks.
gomirage is offline  
post #360 of 736 Old 09-23-2013, 09:35 PM
Member
 
cardinal4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just bought a Panasonic BDT-330 and configured it to pass audio only over the HDMI (Sub) by setting V.OFF. The HDMI Audio Output setting is ON. The video works just fine on my 3D TV but I cannot get my Pioneer VSX01 AVR to play the audio. I tried the BD input, no dice. I configured the DVD input on the AVR to use HDMI 1 and 2 and tried those as well. No dice, either. Any ideas? Anyone have any luck getting non HDMI 1.4 Pioneer AVR's to work this way?
cardinal4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off