Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 736 Old 11-13-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
They probably mean 7.1 digital, not analog. The 230 most definitely does not have 7.1 analog. I think 5.1 over optical is good enough. You'll have to spend substantially more to get analog outs.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 736 Old 11-13-2013, 12:08 PM
Member
 
Jiggyg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah....I thought the price was too good to be true. Like I said, most of the players with analog outputs are between the $200-$250 price point.

Guess I'll just have to keep looking around.

That is unless you guys can suggest some not-so-crazy-expensive players!
Jiggyg1 is offline  
post #423 of 736 Old 11-13-2013, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiggyg1 View Post

I'm looking to purchase a new BR player with 7.1 analog outputs and came across this player which is currently going for only $120 bucks at bestbuy. I've read the specs sheet and everything sounds great and has some cool features but was wondering a few things:


a) does that 2D to 3D converter really work? Do you need a 3D tv for this? I'm assuming you don't since it's converting a non-3d movie. Has anyone experienced this and does it look good or is it a gimmick?

b) I don't own a new receiver with hdmi and was wondering how good the audio quality would be if I hooked up this player via the 7.1 analog channels. I own a Pioneer VSX 309 and it has the 5.1 analog input at the back. Would I still be getting DD True HD and DTS MA from this hookup? If so, do I really need to invest in good cables or are regular rca's enough?

c) I'd like to be able to stream Netflix in 5.1 from this setup. My amp doesn't support DD+ but was told that as long as the player has it, my amp would downgrade the signal to a plain Dolby Digital. Is this true? Or would it just give me a 2.1 sound?


I don't own a 3D tv and probably never will but this price is really good and this machine has lots of nice features like a web browser, Miracast technology, streaming content and has Wi-Fi built in.


I'm specifically looking for 3 things in a player: Netflix app, DD+ for 5.1 Netflix audio and analog outputs. I'm sure there's lots of other players out there but I doubt they'll be at this price. Most I saw were hovering around the $200 mark.

Please answer the questions as best as possible. I've read lots of posts where people have given 100% false information to someone. If you're not sure about something please do not guess. I'm looking to buy this player very soon and need some guidance with correct responses.

Thanks.
Maybe its time upgrade your receiver
Chise is offline  
 
post #424 of 736 Old 11-13-2013, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Jiggyg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was considering it at some point but then found out about analog inputs and decided it's the cheaper way to go. A decent amp will set me back at least $300 bucks or more. BR players are cheaper than that and to be honest, my Pioneer sounds really good.

Another reason for going the BR player route is that my current machine (LG 555) is giving me problems. Video keeps freezing when rewinding/fast forwarding, reboots for no reason sometimes and doesn't play MKV's too well (video struggles to play--choppy). I've had it for nearly 3 years and figured it's time for an upgrade. wink.gif
Jiggyg1 is offline  
post #425 of 736 Old 11-26-2013, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
BigGuy219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokra View Post

Just noticed that Panasonic has released a new firmware for all regions:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/bd/

This should fix the HDMI-SUB 1080i-issue and more, according to Panasonic:

Did this end up fixing the loss of Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio? Does anyone know?

I've seen multiple replies stating you can now get 1080p picture, but no one 100% confirming 1080p picture and the HD audio when using both HDMI outputs.

And as an aside, does the 330 support Netflix 3D streaming?

My ideal device would have two HDMI outputs - one for 1080p/24 and 3D and one for Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. I have an older Onkyo receiver and can't afford to upgrade there, but I can afford a $200ish player. I'd also love 3D Netflix streaming, but I'm not sure if anything other than PS3 do that. Mainly looking at the Panny player because I have a Panny TV.
BigGuy219 is offline  
post #426 of 736 Old 11-28-2013, 08:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Digitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any of these Panasonic players pause for a reasonable amount of time - like twenty minutes or more with a screen saver? Also, will they remember your last position after stopping play? I'm looking for a 3D player and these features are very important to me. I had a Samsung that would reboot the disc before I could barely finish a bathroom break. Never again.
Digitude is offline  
post #427 of 736 Old 11-29-2013, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 175
I have the 230 and it will remember the position of DVDs when turned off. But the Blu-Ray spec (apparently) makes that almost impossible for BDs.

I have never noticed it doing anything untoward when paused. I'm sure I have paused it for a longish time (phone calls, etc.) and it's never been a problem.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #428 of 736 Old 11-29-2013, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
oatmeal769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
It'll just sit there for quite a while and pop a screen saver. I'm sure eventually it will shut down on it's own, but I've never had it happen.
I've also noticed that some BR's will remember where you left off, and even ask you if you'd like to resume there, and some won't. I'm guessing it may be the way each disc is coded, not the player.
oatmeal769 is offline  
post #429 of 736 Old 11-30-2013, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Beastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 330 turns itself off if it's been paused for too long. Today a played a incorrect authored disc, which made the player think it was stuck on the top menu when it was actually playing. Halfway through it powered off.

When powering on it says off-timer was activated, but contrary to previous models, I can't see anywhere I can deactivate (or prolong) the off-timer function. If this is something that cannot be changed, what an idiotic move by Panasonic. Been happy with the player so far, but I fear if this continues, I'll end up throwing this out the window. tongue.gif

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Beastus is offline  
post #430 of 736 Old 12-04-2013, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
I have the bdt 225. I don't seem to have the 1080p/24 option in the submenu. I have it turned on in settings, but Vudu is doing 1080p/60 and I can't find the 24 option in the submenu. Can you tell me is it supposed to be in the last menu option with the box icon? Thanks.
korsjs likes this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP
ahro is offline  
post #431 of 736 Old 12-04-2013, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
seqiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I just bought a 230 player and the first thing I put into it didn't work: the brand new 2013 World Series blu-ray.  I tried each disc and the same thing happens:  The disc loads, shows ads (which you can skip past) but when it gets to the menu, all of the buttons are either disallowed or do nothing.  I can't select any menu item with the arrow keys and I can't just hit play to play the disc as it.  Just... dead.  

 

Has anyone else encountered this?  The discs work on my computer's blu-ray drive and other discs seem to work fine in the Panasonic.  I assume it's an incompatibility that will have to be resolved with a firmware update.  This is my first Panasonic product in years, so I don't know how quickly they update their firmware.  Do they have a place to report problems?  Starting to think I should have gotten the Sony.

 

It's rather disappointing.  Almost as disappointing as the fact that Best Buy delayed my new Panny plasma delivery by 2 weeks.  :( 

seqiro is offline  
post #432 of 736 Old 12-04-2013, 11:13 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by seqiro View Post

I just bought a 230 player and the first thing I put into it didn't work: the brand new 2013 World Series blu-ray.  I tried each disc and the same thing happens:  The disc loads, shows ads (which you can skip past) but when it gets to the menu, all of the buttons are either disallowed or do nothing.  I can't select any menu item with the arrow keys and I can't just hit play to play the disc as it.  Just... dead.  

Has anyone else encountered this?  The discs work on my computer's blu-ray drive and other discs seem to work fine in the Panasonic.  I assume it's an incompatibility that will have to be resolved with a firmware update.  This is my first Panasonic product in years, so I don't know how quickly they update their firmware.  Do they have a place to report problems?  Starting to think I should have gotten the Sony.

It's rather disappointing.  Almost as disappointing as the fact that Best Buy delayed my new Panny plasma delivery by 2 weeks.  frown.gif  


Sounds like firmware. Try a variety of discs, see if the problem persists. Have you tried pressing the play button on the unit itself as a long-shot workaround?

Another long shot: Try the 800 number for Panasonic on the front of the manual. Customer service is rarely forthcoming these days, but maybe someone there could point you in the direction of firmware issue reporting program.
JackN is offline  
post #433 of 736 Old 12-04-2013, 11:18 PM
Newbie
 
seqiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackN View Post


Sounds like firmware. Try a variety of discs, see if the problem persists. Have you tried pressing the play button on the unit itself as a long-shot workaround?

Another long shot: Try the 800 number for Panasonic on the front of the manual. Customer service is rarely forthcoming these days, but maybe someone there could point you in the direction of firmware issue reporting program.

It's only the World Series discs that I've found to cause the problem.  On both my 3 year old Samsung unit and my Mac, when it gets to the menu there are three options on the bottom that you can highlight to make a selection (play, choose inning, audio selection).  The first option is highlighted in red by default.  On the Panasonic, there's nothing highlighted on the screen.  I did try the play button on the unit and that also had no effect.  It's really odd.

 

It's got to be an incompatibility between these particular discs and this particular player.  I just hope Panasonic fixes it.  I sent a support e-mail via the web, so I guess we'll see what happens with that.

seqiro is offline  
post #434 of 736 Old 12-05-2013, 04:54 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

There is no such thing as a "bdt 225".
Yes there is.

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMP-BDT225-Smart-Blu-Ray-Player/dp/B00F6B3ULE

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #435 of 736 Old 12-05-2013, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
oatmeal769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
As I use my 230, I'm starting to become dissatisfied - and recognize some of the same things happening as with my former Panasonic Blu-Ray. As a player, I have absolutely no issues with it at all. As a Streaming Network Player, it's extremely poor.
- The Network interface is slow and clunky, and often takes several minutes to become responsive or even to display the main menu.
- Whenever I am in the Amazon Prime portion, the player freezes completely - I have to remove/replace the power cord to regain control.
- I have a state of the art wireless N network, and plenty of bandwidth, yet the player can't seem to lock on and maintain a signal. It drops it completely at least once a movie, and pauses for re-buffering frequently.

At this point I wish I could exchange it, but it's two months old, and Best Buy only allows 15 days return policy.
oatmeal769 is offline  
post #436 of 736 Old 12-05-2013, 05:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

There is no such thing as a "bdt 225".

I bought it as an Amazon deal. The manual has the BDT225, BDT230 and the BDT330. So clearly there is a BDT225. My problem is there doesn't seem to be a 24p on/off in the submenu. I do have it on my other panasonic, but that one doesn't do 2D to 3D. Do you or anyone know why there is no option in the video icon submenu for turning 24p on?

I think the 225 is distinguished by ads on the splash screen, BUT I really need help in finding the 24p somewhere in the submenu or maybe it's somewhere else. I have it turned on in the main menu. I can't figure out what's going on.
korsjs likes this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP
ahro is offline  
post #437 of 736 Old 12-05-2013, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1516
Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by antivirus View Post

There is no such thing as a "bdt 225".
Yes there is.

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-DMP-BDT225-Smart-Blu-Ray-Player/dp/B00F6B3ULE

S~

Interesting... I didn't even know about this variation...

Anyway, that's not one of the 2012 Uniphier based models which this topic is all about.

It would seem to be a variation of the 2013 BDT230 so yeah, wrong thread.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #438 of 736 Old 12-05-2013, 04:38 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
Added BDT225 to thread title.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #439 of 736 Old 12-06-2013, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Alarsen77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys. So I just bought a Panasonic 50" S60 plasma and want to upgrade my blu ray player. I'm looking at these two players my one dilemma is that the bd89 doesn't have an optical out and I have a proceed surround preamp that doesn't have hdmi so I need something with an optical out unless I can run hdmi to the tv and use the optical out on the tv for audio to the surround preamp? My question is, will the bdt230 be a better player than the bd89 if the optical out on the tv is sufficient and are there any other players you guys recommend in that price range?
Alarsen77 is offline  
post #440 of 736 Old 12-06-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
FreddyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA.
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI Gang,

I did try searching, but I will just ask. (and I did post this is the 3D thread)

I am looking for a Bluray player that has dual HDMI oututs. This is for 2 monitors. One is a 1080p 3D TV, and the other HDMI goes to a Denon AVR to a 2D 1080p projector. It seems the 330 can do this?

Looking for the full/audio video to both, basically.

Thanks!
FreddyW is offline  
post #441 of 736 Old 12-08-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Beastus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same setup and it works perfectly for me. Not sure if you'll get full audio to the TV though, but I assume that won't matter.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Beastus is offline  
post #442 of 736 Old 12-08-2013, 11:25 AM
Newbie
 
seqiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Well I found out how to get the World Series discs to work in the 230.  After the first few ads, there is a three minute or so long baseball world series montage.  If you skip the ads but NOT the montage (which the Panny will let you skip), the menus will work.  If you skip the montage, they won't.  On my Samsung, the montage can't be skipped.  You don't get the "Not Allowed" message, it just doesn't work.

 

Sounds like some sketchy authoring.

seqiro is offline  
post #443 of 736 Old 12-10-2013, 09:27 PM
Newbie
 
CharlieOU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished reading several reviews on a Blue- Ray player (DMP-BDT230) that I picked up for $87 at Costco.
Almost without exception, everyone thought the touchpad remote is totally worthless, too hard to use, and that the overall unit was too difficult to set-up and operate, and on top of all that, constantly dropping the Wifi signals!
Now, I am almost tempted to return it even without attempting to set it up, and finding out for myself.
Are these reviews right?
I had hoped I could use this Blue-Ray player in-lieu of my laptop to stream YouTube movies through my JVC HDTV during the holidays. The box also claimed the player could allow me beam content from phone or tablet device through the player to my TV. Which of these claims are right, and which are wrong?
Thanks in advance for your opinions and suggestions.
CharlieOU is offline  
post #444 of 736 Old 12-11-2013, 05:36 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 9,662
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 844 Post(s)
Liked: 1364
The 230 doesn't have the touchpad remote. The 330 does. The 230 uses the standard button remote.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #445 of 736 Old 12-11-2013, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,405
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2257 Post(s)
Liked: 989
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieOU View Post

I just finished reading several reviews on a Blue- Ray player (DMP-BDT230) that I picked up for $87 at Costco.
Almost without exception, everyone thought the touchpad remote is totally worthless, too hard to use, and that the overall unit was too difficult to set-up and operate, and on top of all that, constantly dropping the Wifi signals!
Now, I am almost tempted to return it even without attempting to set it up, and finding out for myself.
Are these reviews right?
I had hoped I could use this Blue-Ray player in-lieu of my laptop to stream YouTube movies through my JVC HDTV during the holidays. The box also claimed the player could allow me beam content from phone or tablet device through the player to my TV. Which of these claims are right, and which are wrong?
Thanks in advance for your opinions and suggestions.
That's a good price. The only way you're going to know if the wifi is going to work in your situation is to try it yourself. Youtube on all players is clunky. I don't think Panasonic handles Youtube in HD either. It's a much better experience on Sony, and integrated with your phone so you can do searches on your phone and "cast" them to the player, in HD if available.

Other things I don't like about Panny are very limited support of different streaming video formats, useless Hulu app, and low picture quality Amazon app. Sony's Amazon and Hulu apps are marginally better, but I have yet to find really good ones on any player.

Not sure about beaming content on the Panny, I've never tried it, and I don't have an Pannys in my house anymore.

Remote issue has already been discussed (the 230 doesn't have a touchpad remote). But honestly, I haven't used an OEM remote on any device my whole adult life, so it doesn't matter to me how good or bad the remote is. All Pannys use the same codes, so take your pick of any universal or any Panasonic remote made in the past 15 years, if you don't like the remote, touchpad or otherwise.

Bottom line is, Costco has a very generous return policy, so just try it, and if it does what you want, keep it.
mdavej is offline  
post #446 of 736 Old 12-12-2013, 07:14 PM
Member
 
AntonH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Hi,

I just got this player and hooked to Panasonic Plasma TV thru Anthem MRX500.

Seem to work well but there is one thing I wonder, is it possible to read foreign

language on web pages while browsing? Like if I visit Japanese web site contents

is all Japanese which shows garbled. If it is not possible, I hope future f/w update

will address this issue.

AntonH is offline  
post #447 of 736 Old 12-12-2013, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
1mjblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alarsen77 View Post

Hi guys. So I just bought a Panasonic 50" S60 plasma and want to upgrade my blu ray player. I'm looking at these two players my one dilemma is that the bd89 doesn't have an optical out and I have a proceed surround preamp that doesn't have hdmi so I need something with an optical out unless I can run hdmi to the tv and use the optical out on the tv for audio to the surround preamp? My question is, will the bdt230 be a better player than the bd89 if the optical out on the tv is sufficient and are there any other players you guys recommend in that price range?

 

 

I own the TC-P50S60 and recently purchased the BDT230. The audio setting in the 230 allows for bitstream by suppressing secondary audio but the S60 passes that back out as PCM. I don't have an AVR but from what my soundbar is telling me the PCM is neither True Dolby nor DTS-HD. I've tried many setting combinations but none seem to work to get bitstream out from the S60's optical connection. However, the S60 does hint at the fact that the 330 (having Viera Link) may give you more audio control.

1mjblack is offline  
post #448 of 736 Old 12-13-2013, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Alarsen77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mjblack View Post


Thanks for the reply! If I end up buying the 230 I will just run the optical straight to my surround processor from the player instead if from the tv. I was just curious if there would be any difference in audio quality doing it that way vs the hdmi off the bd89 and using the optical out from the tv? Also is their a big difference in picture quality from the bd89 to the bdt230?

I own the TC-P50S60 and recently purchased the BDT230. The audio setting in the 230 allows for bitstream by suppressing secondary audio but the S60 passes that back out as PCM. I don't have an AVR but from what my soundbar is telling me the PCM is neither True Dolby nor DTS-HD. I've tried many setting combinations but none seem to work to get bitstream out from the S60's optical connection. However, the S60 does hint at the fact that the 330 (having Viera Link) may give you more audio control.
Alarsen77 is offline  
post #449 of 736 Old 12-14-2013, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Thanks for the reply! If I end up buying the 230 I will just run the optical straight to my surround processor from the player instead if from the tv. I was just curious if there would be any difference in audio quality doing it that way vs the hdmi off the bd89 and using the optical out from the tv? Also is their a big difference in picture quality from the bd89 to the bdt230?


Your TV may not allow for passing Dolby Digital or DTS through, and will instead down-mix those formats to PCM (often just 2-channel).

If you connect directly from Blu-ray via optical to your sound processor, you'll at least get DD and DTS...though--from what I understand--HD audio codecs like Dolby True HD and DTS Master Audio are not compatible with optical; they, in turn, are down-mixed to DD and DTS in the process.

I think you'll need to turn off HDMI Audio Out in order to enable the digital optical out on the 230 in system settings...

I plan to use this same setup when my new TV arrives with an older sound bar that doesn't have 3D pass-through or HD audio codec processing.
JackN is offline  
post #450 of 736 Old 12-25-2013, 04:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
erick granato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: toronto area
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy219 View Post

Did this end up fixing the loss of Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio? Does anyone know?

I've seen multiple replies stating you can now get 1080p picture, but no one 100% confirming 1080p picture and the HD audio when using both HDMI outputs.

And as an aside, does the 330 support Netflix 3D streaming?

My ideal device would have two HDMI outputs - one for 1080p/24 and 3D and one for Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio. I have an older Onkyo receiver and can't afford to upgrade there, but I can afford a $200ish player. I'd also love 3D Netflix streaming, but I'm not sure if anything other than PS3 do that. Mainly looking at the Panny player because I have a Panny TV.
Anybody answered?
erick granato is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off