Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - Page 23 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #661 of 682 Old 10-06-2014, 09:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackN View Post
Is this happening after using streaming services or network functions? If you don't already--as the disc operations seem to be more stable on these units--you could try exiting any application and returning to the main system menu before powering down. Also: Be sure you're not leaving a disc in the unit, as I've read about other instances of freezing on shut-down in such cases. See if that helps...

It was happening after Netflix streaming. I reset the player to factory settings, and it hasn't happened since. So far, so good.
Jim McC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 682 Old 11-01-2014, 02:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbfleming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I bought the DMP-BDT330 as a spare player, thinking I'd better grab one while the UniPhier processor was still available. I was dissappointed to read in this thread it uses the MediaTek 5590 chip, so I took the cover off to see if it was true.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_5588_small.JPG
Views:	744
Size:	271.7 KB
ID:	344546  
mbfleming is offline  
post #663 of 682 Old 11-09-2014, 09:36 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbfleming View Post
I bought the DMP-BDT330 as a spare player, thinking I'd better grab one while the UniPhier processor was still available. I was dissappointed to read in this thread it uses the MediaTek 5590 chip, so I took the cover off to see if it was true.


It's gone, MacReady! Did you look under the heat sink? Otherwise, all I'm coming up with is handful of Samsung chips.

Last edited by JackN; 11-09-2014 at 09:48 PM.
JackN is offline  
post #664 of 682 Old 11-10-2014, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbfleming View Post
I bought the DMP-BDT330 as a spare player, thinking I'd better grab one while the UniPhier processor was still available. I was dissappointed to read in this thread it uses the MediaTek 5590 chip, so I took the cover off to see if it was true.

So what wrong with that chip.
Chise is offline  
post #665 of 682 Old 11-10-2014, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbfleming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 44
The heat sink appears to be glued on so I didn't remove it. I'm currently using a DMP-BDT220 which does have the UniPhier processor, so my spare player not having it is only an annoyance. I'm just trying to plan ahead. I have thousands of dollars in blu-ray discs, and I realized that could all be lost if I didn't have a player. You can easily rip DVDs and play them from a file server, but I don't know of a solution for blu-rays that preserves their full functionality.

I bought two 330's as spares, and hopefully they'll still work ten or twenty years from now. I have a CD player that I paid $600 for in 1990 that still works, so I hope these units live that long. However, there's a tendency for capacitors to fail in modern electronics. I've had to get a friend to solder new capacitors into some of my other electronics to keep them running.

I tried the 330 in the photo, and I couldn't tell the difference in picture quality from my 220, so I guess it's not a big deal. I updated the firmware and put it back in its original packaging.
mbfleming is offline  
post #666 of 682 Old 11-11-2014, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
JackN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbfleming View Post
The heat sink appears to be glued on so I didn't remove it. I'm currently using a DMP-BDT220 which does have the UniPhier processor, so my spare player not having it is only an annoyance. I'm just trying to plan ahead. I have thousands of dollars in blu-ray discs, and I realized that could all be lost if I didn't have a player. You can easily rip DVDs and play them from a file server, but I don't know of a solution for blu-rays that preserves their full functionality.

I bought two 330's as spares, and hopefully they'll still work ten or twenty years from now. I have a CD player that I paid $600 for in 1990 that still works, so I hope these units live that long. However, there's a tendency for capacitors to fail in modern electronics. I've had to get a friend to solder new capacitors into some of my other electronics to keep them running.

I tried the 330 in the photo, and I couldn't tell the difference in picture quality from my 220, so I guess it's not a big deal. I updated the firmware and put it back in its original packaging.

I understand the urge to hoard components, especially well made ones, but--so far--I've resisted it. Hopefully, physical media has enough life left in it so we'll see when the end is really freaking nigh such that we can grab a few extra players on demand. That said, while smart functions and the odd bell or whistle will continue to evolve, quality and workmanship will probably continue to take a hit with all the cost cutting. What we get then won't be as nice as, say, the bdt220/bdt230. I mean, metal chassis! Imagine that.

I still have a couple of Panasonic's cream of the crop DVD recorders in service after years of heavy use (and careful maintenance), so maybe there's hope I could get under the hoods of these BDTs and lube, clean and eke out a few more years from them as well.

Last edited by JackN; 11-12-2014 at 01:10 AM.
JackN is offline  
post #667 of 682 Old 01-24-2015, 09:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,844
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Does the BDT230 have full multichannel PCM output via HDMI when decoding HD audio? Not clear from the manual, and I know some blu-ray players only do 2 channel PCM now, and I've got an older Dolby Digital era Denon AVR-888 that doesn't do HD audio decoding.

And if you guys are now recommending a newer Panasonic model over the BDT230 for ~$100, please let me know. Not interested in 4K, DLNA, 3D, or streaming apps. Just good audio/video and wifi for doing firmware updates

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is offline  
post #668 of 682 Old 01-24-2015, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
cel4145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 11,844
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by cel4145 View Post
Does the BDT230 have full multichannel PCM output via HDMI when decoding HD audio? Not clear from the manual, and I know some blu-ray players only do 2 channel PCM now, and I've got an older Dolby Digital era Denon AVR-888 that doesn't do HD audio decoding.

And if you guys are now recommending a newer Panasonic model over the BDT230 for ~$100, please let me know. Not interested in 4K, DLNA, 3D, or streaming apps. Just good audio/video and wifi for doing firmware updates
Nevermind. I found the information in the back of the manual. It does decode to multichannel PCM.

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ
HT: Energy RC-50, RC-LCR, Veritas VS Surrounds | Dual CHT SS 18.1s | Denon AVR-888 | modified Dayton SA1000 | Antimode 8033C
Desktop: CBM-170 SE | SVS SB-1000 | Audio-GD NFB-11 | HK 3390
Headphone & Portable HE-400 | K612 Pro | HP150 | DX50 | E12
cel4145 is offline  
post #669 of 682 Old 01-30-2015, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Leafs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
I contacted Panasonic Canada and gave them all the information. Hopefully I'll hear back from them and we'll get a fix soon.


Mike
Did you ever get a fix for this? I watched Fury last night and came across this issue for the first time. Makes the movie pretty close to being unwatchable.
Leafs17 is offline  
post #670 of 682 Old 01-30-2015, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
No. They wanted me to send them 2 $30 BD disks so they could test their $130 player. Seriously, they can't get a couple of disks themselves and save their customers the headache? Apparently not. So I said, and I quote, "To hell with them."


It's still a good player, but I will be upgrading sometime. If you change the output to RGB (details fuzzy, see above) it seems to work reliably for me. (But that might be because I have a Panasonic projector and the two might work better together than two unrelated devices.)


Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #671 of 682 Old 01-30-2015, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Leafs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a panny ST60. When I changed to an older model panny plasma that was sitting right beside it, the movie played fine. So I guess it has something to do with the TV as well.
Leafs17 is offline  
post #672 of 682 Old 02-03-2015, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
gingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On my player, the sound is cutting in and out in one second intervals continually. I have tried this on three separate BD discs and it happens on the BluRay menu as well as when the movie is playing. While playing DVDs it functions fine. The firmware is up to date. Anyone else encountered this and found any fixes?
gingus is offline  
post #673 of 682 Old 02-03-2015, 10:28 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,311
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Try changing your HDMI cable.
gingus likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #674 of 682 Old 02-03-2015, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Try changing your HDMI cable.
I'll change it tonight, as well as reset it, to be safe. I think the cables are the monoprice 28 guage. would they need to be a thicker guage wire. It is connected as follows: BR > AVR> TV / Projector.
gingus is offline  
post #675 of 682 Old 02-03-2015, 12:32 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,311
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Make sure your cables are high speed. There are some movies that cause audio drops. Some Disney and some Mastered in 4K. These happen on multiple brands.
gingus likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #676 of 682 Old 03-03-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I recently purchased a BDT330 factory refurbished. I am very pleased with the overall performance. I have the SMART feature set up for both Netflix and Amazon. I tried to add on Pandora and TuneIn which it shows as optional APPS that are available. I have accounts with both and have used them with a Roku device without a hitch.
When I try to sign on to either one it does not recognize my logon on credentials, even though it did with Amazon and NF.
If I need a Viera Connect account where do I sign on to that?
Any suggestions are appreciated.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #677 of 682 Old 03-04-2015, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
gingus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Make sure your cables are high speed. There are some movies that cause audio drops. Some Disney and some Mastered in 4K. These happen on multiple brands.
I got the redmere cable from monprice for 10.2 gbs and it is workingn great. The only problm is I forgot to measure my cable. I ordered 15' and the old cable that goes through the wall is 25'. I guess I'll have a spare one now.
gingus is offline  
post #678 of 682 Old 04-10-2015, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BDT 230 Network Drive: number of folders and files exceeds limit

Anyone has a workaround for the annoying number of folders and files exceeds limit message? The network drive feature is far better than the DLNA implementation in the BDT230 and also plays almost all formats off the network drive. I have about 200 movies in one of my NAS folders and about half of them are not displayed due to the file limitation. THis is an otherwise good feature with poor implementation from Panasonic.

Cheers
Harsha

Quote:
Originally Posted by minghi View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by colour

You have to go to the player settings and turn on network drive. Then go to network shares not DLNA. You also have to setup your shared folders.


wow.. for a sec i was happy and felt stupid for missing this. but once i added my network drive ip address and folder name it starts searching and then says 'some videos cannot be played since the total number of folders exceeds the limit'

then i tried giving the complete path for the video folder:
ip address: 192.168.1.120
shared folder name: wdgreen1\\video

also tried the other slash /
then it couldn't find the network drive

i then moved a bunch of folders from the root drive to another folder so only five folders would show up on the shared drive when accessed. even then i get the same error... thinking of getting the lg bd670 now if i can't get this to work. too bad it would have been one hell of a deal with the avatar 3d disc giveaway
shriharsha.p is online now  
post #679 of 682 Old 04-11-2015, 03:41 PM
Member
 
jwatavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My workaround was simply to create multiple shared folders with a limited number of video files (80 max).

Quote:
Originally Posted by shriharsha.p View Post
Anyone has a workaround for the annoying number of folders and files exceeds limit message? The network drive feature is far better than the DLNA implementation in the BDT230 and also plays almost all formats off the network drive. I have about 200 movies in one of my NAS folders and about half of them are not displayed due to the file limitation. THis is an otherwise good feature with poor implementation from Panasonic.

Cheers
Harsha
jwatavs is offline  
post #680 of 682 Old 04-12-2015, 05:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BDT 230 folders and files exceed limit

Thanks, seems doable. Currently, I see pages 1 to 20 while scrolling with each page displaying about 7 movies. I had estimated an upper limit of around 125 movie subfolders in each main folder. Using the same logic, that would allow me to do a logical grouping of up to say 125 main folders such as Movies - 1980 to 1990, Movies - 1990 to 2000 and so on, allowing me to create a folder structure that would easily fill my 3TB NAS with all files being visible. Do let me know if this works as I will begin the task of reorganizing my files shortly.

Cheers
Harsha

Quote:
Originally Posted by shriharsha.p View Post
Anyone has a workaround for the annoying number of folders and files exceeds limit message? The network drive feature is far better than the DLNA implementation in the BDT230 and also plays almost all formats off the network drive. I have about 200 movies in one of my NAS folders and about half of them are not displayed due to the file limitation. THis is an otherwise good feature with poor implementation from Panasonic.

Cheers
Harsha
shriharsha.p is online now  
post #681 of 682 Old 04-12-2015, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 94
It would be easier to find things if you started with 27 folders, named A through Z and Other. That would allow you to store them alphabetically, which will make finding a movie much easier. If there are too many titles for a single folder, you can then break it down further with things like A-AtoE, A-FtoM, A-NtoR, and A-StoZ, etc.

But honestly, for the effort and the low cost of your player, it might be easier and cheaper to just find a BR player that handles things without the artificial restrictions of the 230. It's not a bad player, I have one, but it really needs one more good firmware update and I doubt we are going to see that.

Mike
shriharsha.p likes this.
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #682 of 682 Unread Today, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
BDT 230 Subtitle Option on DLNA

Quote:
Originally Posted by kraftytwo View Post
Can anyone post a MKV/MP4 photo shot of the SRT subtitles in action? Can be from any recent Panasonic of these series....
Wanted to know what is the default size for playing back these files.
Also, is there any option to synchronize the subtitles in movie, by delaying or forwarding it ahead, or make the subtitle font bigger, etc?
I have a similar query. When I am streaming videos (any format) using DLNA, pressing the 'options" button only shows the sound and reception choices. There is no subtitle option at all even and I have my bases covered on the SRT being named in the same way as the movie file and placed in the same folder. This is a disappointing omission. The network drive feature works as expected in every and the subtitle option is also there but the implementation is very clunky with the file structure limitations not allowing display of all files.

Any help on the DLNA subtitle front would be much appreciated,

Thanks
Harsha
shriharsha.p is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off