Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - Page 24 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 719 Old 06-07-2015, 05:02 PM
Member
 
recorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
I use tversity and mkvs do not play.
TVersity Media Server is a DLNA media server !!
It won't work! read my post above.
Use Network Share NOT Media Server.
bori likes this.
recorder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 719 Old 06-09-2015, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by recorder View Post
TVersity Media Server is a DLNA media server !!
It won't work! read my post above.
Use Network Share NOT Media Server.
I set the folders to network drive and set player to discover network drive. Still does not see folders.
bori is offline  
post #693 of 719 Old 06-11-2015, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Like I said above USB has been the only reliable way for me to play files.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Samsung 32" LCD, Oppo BDP-83, Pioneer Elite BDP-62, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Pioneer Elite CLD-95, DirecTV H21-100, PS3, Pioneer Elite SC-85, Def Tech; SM 450, CLR 2002, BP2X, Klipsch KSB 1.1(X4), Pro Sub 100, Polk PSW125
Old School, Realistic Lab-400, R1000ED, Sansui SR-4050c, Denon 103r & AU-320 SUT, Bykoz Audio preamp, Sony STR-V4, Polk Monitor 10A
bguzman is offline  
post #694 of 719 Old 06-20-2015, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
niccolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 39
My friend has a BDT-230 bluray player with up to date firmware that's missing an Amazon Instant Video app, though it's got Netflix and some others. I'm baffled, anyone have pointers on how to fix this? Appreciated!
niccolo is offline  
post #695 of 719 Old 06-27-2015, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
Zombiefan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bough a 330 last week for the dual HDMI so I can watch 3D very satisfied the image is very nice a lot better then when I was using my PS3. There's just one problem and maybe someone can help me sorry if this as been address before but don't have time to read through all 24 pages. Every time I start the player I change the input on my TV to HDMI 2 but as soon as I touch the DVD remote it changes back to HDMI 1 I have to do this 2-3 time before I can start the movie my receiver does the same Thing I put my receiver on HDMI (rename to player) and it goes to TV/SAT and the thing is there is nothing hook up in TV/SAT.


Here's what I have
Receiver Pioneer VSX-919-AH-K 7.1
TV Panasonic TC-P60UT50
Player Panasonic DMP-BDT330
Zombiefan76 is offline  
post #696 of 719 Old 06-29-2015, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Sounds like a HDMI Control issue to me. Try turning that feature off and see if the problem goes away.

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Samsung 32" LCD, Oppo BDP-83, Pioneer Elite BDP-62, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Pioneer Elite CLD-95, DirecTV H21-100, PS3, Pioneer Elite SC-85, Def Tech; SM 450, CLR 2002, BP2X, Klipsch KSB 1.1(X4), Pro Sub 100, Polk PSW125
Old School, Realistic Lab-400, R1000ED, Sansui SR-4050c, Denon 103r & AU-320 SUT, Bykoz Audio preamp, Sony STR-V4, Polk Monitor 10A
bguzman is offline  
post #697 of 719 Old 07-03-2015, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Zombiefan76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bguzman View Post
Sounds like a HDMI Control issue to me. Try turning that feature off and see if the problem goes away.
thank you I turn off the HDMI Cec hdavi control and it seem to be working properly now my wife and kids will be glad hehe thank again
Zombiefan76 is offline  
post #698 of 719 Old 07-09-2015, 06:19 AM
Member
 
gentlejax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
which panosonics had the uniphier chips in the blue ray players ?

I read some article and I thought that it was multiple ones not just the DMP-BDT500

I have a 330 and a 361 but curious on the older models that had the chip in it.
gentlejax is offline  
post #699 of 719 Old 07-09-2015, 06:30 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
The last were the X20/500 series. The BDT700, never released in the US, also uses a uniphier chip.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
post #700 of 719 Old 07-09-2015, 08:24 AM
Member
 
gentlejax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So 320 220? Correct?
gentlejax is offline  
post #701 of 719 Old 07-09-2015, 08:44 AM
Member
 
andipavel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gentlejax View Post
So 320 220? Correct?

All the BD Panasonic players featuring Adaptive Chroma Processing in their menu will have Uniphier.

Personally, after owning lots of blu ray players I consider Uniphier an amazing chip. For instance, I own Sony's S790, S6200 and S5100 and I can say that Sony does not have a chip in their blu ray players matching the Uniphier.
andipavel is offline  
post #702 of 719 Old 07-12-2015, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Did anyone ever solve definitively the issue with dropouts in the Sony "mastered in 4K" titles playing back on the BDT230? I have the same problem and got little help from Panasonic live-chat. "It must be the disk, not the player, if your other discs play correctly."

Well, not necessarily...

In my case, the offending titles were "Fury" and "The Equalizer."

I've read most of this thread and it looks like most of this topic peters out before and after page 23 of posts.

Be really happy to hear any workarounds that have worked for folks. Now that I see the problem is limited to a specific disc release type, I will contact Panasonic again and see if we can get a firmware update.
kindway is offline  
post #703 of 719 Old 08-03-2015, 05:37 PM
Member
 
peka j.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by andipavel View Post
All the BD Panasonic players featuring Adaptive Chroma Processing in their menu will have Uniphier.

Personally, after owning lots of blu ray players I consider Uniphier an amazing chip. For instance, I own Sony's S790, S6200 and S5100 and I can say that Sony does not have a chip in their blu ray players matching the Uniphier.
Do you know why Panasonic stopped using it after the x20 series?
peka j. is offline  
post #704 of 719 Old 08-03-2015, 06:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Cost.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
post #705 of 719 Old 08-04-2015, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by kindway View Post
Be really happy to hear any workarounds that have worked for folks. Now that I see the problem is limited to a specific disc release type, I will contact Panasonic again and see if we can get a firmware update.
When I contacted Panasonic in Canada, they wanted me to send them two Blu-Ray disks (say > $60) so they can test their $130 player. I declined. I let them know that many people were having these problems, but they didn't seem to be interested enough in fixing the issue to go out and by a disk or two. So, if it gets fixed, it gets fixed. If it doesn't, my next player will NOT be a Panasonic.

As for the workarounds, I had set player out to RGB and that worked well for months, and then one day I played a disk that had problems when set to RGB so I had to go back to Automatic(?). I haven't had another disk fail (yet) so I haven't reset it (yet).

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #706 of 719 Old 08-11-2015, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Leafs17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kindway View Post
Did anyone ever solve definitively the issue with dropouts in the Sony "mastered in 4K" titles playing back on the BDT230? I have the same problem and got little help from Panasonic live-chat. "It must be the disk, not the player, if your other discs play correctly."

Well, not necessarily...

In my case, the offending titles were "Fury" and "The Equalizer."

I've read most of this thread and it looks like most of this topic peters out before and after page 23 of posts.

Be really happy to hear any workarounds that have worked for folks. Now that I see the problem is limited to a specific disc release type, I will contact Panasonic again and see if we can get a firmware update.

Just came back here to see if there was any news.

The problem happened to me again last week while watching Chappie. Panasonic is dropping the ball here. I am pretty loyal to them but this is getting ridiculous.

It's clearly not the discs, it's the "mastered in 4k".
Leafs17 is offline  
post #707 of 719 Old 08-11-2015, 11:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
This is an issue with all players that use this version of the mediatek chipset. Nothing they can do. Later versions do not have this problem. Oppo 93 also has issues with seamless branching titles. Easy fix is to change audio to PCM and change HDMI video to 4:2:2 output.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
post #708 of 719 Old 08-19-2015, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Teachsac, for me that quick fix did not work. What did work was changing HDMI output to RGB, but, as a previous poster mentioned, that's not a true fix because that setting noticeably degraded the color quality. Panasonic techs suggested I turn on 24p, but that didn't work either. They claim that if that didn't work they will "further research the problem." Will let you know what happens next.
Leafs17 likes this.
kindway is offline  
post #709 of 719 Old 08-20-2015, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,244
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Does anyone know how to bypass the copy protection on this BD player? I tried my backup BDs and they all say copyright protection.
bori is offline  
post #710 of 719 Old 08-21-2015, 04:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
As always, no hacking chat.
Moderator request: please read BEFORE you Post

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is online now  
post #711 of 719 Old 09-16-2015, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
benjosevilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my 330 last night and hooked up the HDMI to the OnKyo for the audio and the other to the Samsung 4K. I configured the v.off so I only get audio to the Onkyo and I had to turn off HDMI control on the Samsung to stop it from switching video input as my Onkyo is also connected to the Samsung 4K. I turned on 4K upscaling and I can see that the resolution is being received as "4K" from the TV info display. I know it is just an upscale. I have a 2014 DTS sample BD and watched a clip of Pi and it was very good. My son says it was almost 3D like, my Sammy is not 3D. The firmware was updated as soon as I plugged it in.

Any Tips?
benjosevilla is offline  
post #712 of 719 Old 11-25-2015, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Checkerboard

Does the DMP-BDT230 support checkerboard output?
Doctor is offline  
post #713 of 719 Old 11-25-2015, 04:03 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 7,127
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Did a little research on it. Evidently the X20 line was the last.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Samsung UBD-K8500 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.

Last edited by teachsac; 11-25-2015 at 04:32 PM.
teachsac is online now  
post #714 of 719 Old 11-25-2015, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Did a little research on it. Evidently the X20 line was the last.
Thank you for checking that.
Doctor is offline  
post #715 of 719 Old 12-07-2015, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
erick granato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: toronto area
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just a quick question for the 330 owners out there. I am just starting to get into high Rez audio and realize that the USB port on the 330 will decode the lossless files upto and including 24/128, has anybody tested the dac's in the unit compared to a better quality dac with these high Rez files? In other words, is it worth spending the extra money on a dedicated dac/streamer? I know you can use a thumb stick in the USB socket, but can you plug in a terabyte external hard drive into the USB socket and play these same high Rez files?
erick granato is offline  
post #716 of 719 Old 12-16-2015, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
erick granato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: toronto area
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by erick granato View Post
Just a quick question for the 330 owners out there. I am just starting to get into high Rez audio and realize that the USB port on the 330 will decode the lossless files upto and including 24/128, has anybody tested the dac's in the unit compared to a better quality dac with these high Rez files? In other words, is it worth spending the extra money on a dedicated dac/streamer? I know you can use a thumb stick in the USB socket, but can you plug in a terabyte external hard drive into the USB socket and play these same high Rez files?
Bump. Any thoughts for above?
erick granato is offline  
post #717 of 719 Old 03-10-2016, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 149
I got email that Bai Shen has posted a new message, but it's not showing up for me. It may show up once I post, so I won't repeat his message, but just offer some help.


These BR players don't really shut down when you turn them "off". They do go to a lower power state, but for a fast restart they stay running. You have to pull the plug (literally, since there's no real power switch) to get the player to actually reboot.


That's my suggestion: force a cold reboot (pull the power plug, wait 10 seconds, plug it back in, turn it "on"). That may help with your issues.


Mike


P.S. I do recommend applying any firmware updates. They did some which really helped reliability.
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #718 of 719 Old 03-13-2016, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Bai Shen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post
I got email that Bai Shen has posted a new message, but it's not showing up for me. It may show up once I post, so I won't repeat his message, but just offer some help.


These BR players don't really shut down when you turn them "off". They do go to a lower power state, but for a fast restart they stay running. You have to pull the plug (literally, since there's no real power switch) to get the player to actually reboot.


That's my suggestion: force a cold reboot (pull the power plug, wait 10 seconds, plug it back in, turn it "on"). That may help with your issues.


Mike


P.S. I do recommend applying any firmware updates. They did some which really helped reliability.
I deleted the message because I ended up fixing the problem shortly after I posted.

I had pulled the plug on the player but I ended up having to power off the receiver and tv too in order to get things working again.

I'll take a look at the firmware updates. Since I have Roku I never bothered plugging the BR player in to the network.
Bai Shen is offline  
post #719 of 719 Old 03-13-2016, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bai Shen View Post
I deleted the message because I ended up fixing the problem shortly after I posted.

I had pulled the plug on the player but I ended up having to power off the receiver and tv too in order to get things working again.

I'll take a look at the firmware updates. Since I have Roku I never bothered plugging the BR player in to the network.
Thanks for letting us know what happened.

I was beginning to think that the voices in my head had learned to type.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off