Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 652 Old 03-17-2013, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/130(UK)/225/230/330 Owners Thread 2013

Official Panasonic DMP 79/89/230/330 Owners Thread 2013











Please do NOT quote this post thank you.

CalebLevArn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 652 Old 03-17-2013, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wonder if theres going to be a replacement model for the DMP-BDT500 later on this year?

CalebLevArn is offline  
post #3 of 652 Old 03-17-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Probably not. Panasonic website says Flagship BDT500 returns this year (2013). Mine has a build date of July 2012.
Bob7145 is offline  
post #4 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does anybody know if the 230 is compatible with the skype camera ? Thanks.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #5 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 11:03 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Even though the 230 is not showing up on BB's website, it is in stock. At least in my area.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #6 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 11:09 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Are you frickin' kidding? Still no DD 5.1 support with Amazon.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #7 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's Amazon's fault.

Either way Netflix is still better as far as PQ and SQ goes.

And Hulu Plus is retarded they shove ads in your face even when you are a paying member.

CalebLevArn is offline  
post #8 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 12:19 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
How is that Amazon's fault? Panasonic pays a fee for the app. My Sony supports it. Also, I can confirm that 24p is no longer supported in streaming apps. DVD is still supported.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #9 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
CalebLevArn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

How is that Amazon's fault? Panasonic pays a fee for the app. My Sony supports it. Also, I can confirm that 24p is no longer supported in streaming apps. DVD is still supported.

S~


I was thinking that amazon didn't offer DD 5.1 based on all these complaints.

http://www.amazon.com/forum/amazon%20video%20on%20demand?_encoding=UTF8&cdForum=Fx3EQAX98ED5WQ3&cdPage=1&cdSort=newest&cdThread=Tx29NB502SPQA5N

CalebLevArn is offline  
post #10 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
Shimey013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw 1 on the shelves at my local bestbuy yesterday.
Shimey013 is offline  
post #11 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Even though the 230 is not showing up on BB's website, it is in stock. At least in my area.

S~

did you buy the new player?

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #12 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:24 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

did you buy the new player?

Jacob
Yes, not there, though. If you're thinking of upgrading to upgrade, don't.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #13 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Yes, not there, though. If you're thinking of upgrading to upgrade, don't.

S~

I had the 210 model. I never got the 220 one
I just have the oppo 93 and the ps3 slim.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #14 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:43 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
It's a nice player, it's just the little things that really bug me. PQ was nice, even DVD scaling is terrific.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #15 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

It's a nice player, it's just the little things that really bug me. PQ was nice, even DVD scaling is terrific.

S~

I understand that. I had some issues with the 210 model. the 210 model had issues playing the terminator 2 skynet edition. does this new edition have the same issue? it would not surprise me if it did still have it.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #16 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 02:21 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacob305 View Post

I understand that. I had some issues with the 210 model. the 210 model had issues playing the terminator 2 skynet edition. does this new edition have the same issue? it would not surprise me if it did still have it.

Jacob
I remember going through this with you in the 210 thread. It played for me. I'll try it on the 230 later.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #17 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

I remember going through this with you in the 210 thread. It played for me. I'll try it on the 230 later.

S~

thanks. when you have a chance.. can you give an overall review?

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
post #18 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 02:45 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Picked up the BDT230 today. If you have upgraditis, don't bother. It is not much more than the last generation.

Features: Added Miracast connectivity for Android and a Web Browser. 3D support. 330 adds twin HDMI and 4K scaling. emote is the typical push button remote for those that are wondering.

Hook up: Connected to a Marantz SR6005 to the Sharp 844. Setup was painless as always with Panasonic players. Typical settings, Secondary audio off, bitstream, etc. Network hooked up wired using a powerline adapter. Quick. Updated the software to the latest version. Seemed to go quicker than previous players.

BD/3D/DVD Playback: I won't comment too much on BD and 3D. Playback is terrific as always. I will comment on DVD scaling as rumor has it, they are using the mediatek chipset with the new players. I am quite pleased with DVD scaling. I put in SW Ep. 2: Attack of the Clones. Wow. Does it look great! No jaggies, excellent color. No halos and no edge enhancements. 24p is still supported with DVDs.

Apps/Streaming: Same supported streaming apps: NF, Amazon (Prime Supported), VUD, Hulu+, etc. 24p for apps is no longer supported. Amazon app still does not support DD 5.1 when available. Disappointing. DLNA still offers only limited file support, no .avi, Divx. Oppo plays everything. It was resonsive, though.

Impressions: Overall it is a very good player. I was quite surprised with the DVD scaling. I am disappointed with the lack of DD 5.1 support with Amazon.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #19 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Thanks teachsac. Is it safe to assume the DVD upscaling is the same quality as the 220? Or do you think it's better?

Can you tell us more about the web browser? Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #20 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Does anybody know if the 230 is compatible with the skype camera ? Thanks.


Please, I can't find this information anywhere, including the user manual.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #21 of 652 Old 03-18-2013, 09:10 PM
Member
 
timmay77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can not find images of the rear of the BDT230, and the manual is not very helpful. Is there a rear USB?
timmay77 is offline  
post #22 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 05:38 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay77 View Post

I can not find images of the rear of the BDT230, and the manual is not very helpful. Is there a rear USB?
No. There is only one on the front behind a small pull-down door with the SD card slot.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #23 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 05:40 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

Please, I can't find this information anywhere, including the user manual.
Is it Panasonic's Skype camera? If not, I don't think it will work. Panasonic has used a proprietary camera with all of it's players.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #24 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Is it Panasonic's Skype camera? If not, I don't think it will work. Panasonic has used a proprietary camera with all of it's players.

S~

Yes, it is but I can't see a rear USB port on the 230 and the app Skype must be on the Viera Connect or whatever name they gave to the new series. On previous models (210,220) there was a port on the rear for the camera.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #25 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 10:32 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
There's just one USB port that will accept connected devices.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #26 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
HatchetMechanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the Sony BDP-S5100. The grand kids were here the week and we needed a new DVD player and the PAN BDP230 I wanted wasn't around yet. So today I tried browsing the internet and I find that the remote doesn't have a keyboard, you must use the direction keys to use the on screen keyboard and it's sooo slooow. Does the BDP230 have a good remote? Is there another solution anyone knows of?
On the Sony I typed in GOOGLE, the page opened but I can't type into it and there is no on screen keyboard. I plugged in an old Apple keyboard and wireless mouse but only the mouse works and I got the curser blinking. Tried a Microsoft keyboard too, no go either. Is the BDP230 better because if it shows up at BestBuy before the 30 days I'll switch as I wanted the Skype anyway.
HatchetMechanic is offline  
post #27 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

There's just one USB port that will accept connected devices.

S~

Including the Panasonic Skype camera ? Can you tell me if there is a Skype app under Viera ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #28 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by HatchetMechanic View Post

Just got the Sony BDP-S5100. The grand kids were here the week and we needed a new DVD player and the PAN BDP230 I wanted wasn't around yet. So today I tried browsing the internet and I find that the remote doesn't have a keyboard, you must use the direction keys to use the on screen keyboard and it's sooo slooow. Does the BDP230 have a good remote? Is there another solution anyone knows of?
On the Sony I typed in GOOGLE, the page opened but I can't type into it and there is no on screen keyboard. I plugged in an old Apple keyboard and wireless mouse but only the mouse works and I got the curser blinking. Tried a Microsoft keyboard too, no go either. Is the BDP230 better because if it shows up at BestBuy before the 30 days I'll switch as I wanted the Skype anyway.
As I said in another thread, the Logitech K400 (K400r) works fine for me on sony (haven't tried panasonic).

You do realize panasonic's skype camera is nearly $100, right. I think I would rather use a PC web cam or Skype on my iPhone. It's a lot less expensive. Also, since the Skype button has been removed from the new remote and there is no mention of it in the manual, it may not even work.
mdavej is offline  
post #29 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I already have the Skype camera but sold my Panasonic Bluray player. Now I need Skype in my bedroom and I'm looking for another Panny player. If the 230 can't handle Skype, I will get another 220.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #30 of 652 Old 03-19-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,447
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

I already have the Skype camera but sold my Panasonic Bluray player. Now I need Skype in my bedroom and I'm looking for another Panny player. If the 230 can't handle Skype, I will get another 220.
I don't know for sure, but the evidence so far points to no. You should probably contact Panasonic to be certain.
mdavej is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd79 Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmp Bd89 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt230 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player , Panasonic Dmpbdt330 Wi Fi Blu Ray Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off