Samsung BD-F7500 Blu-ray Player. - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 259 Old 11-27-2015, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky3RD View Post
Are you playing a DVD or Bluray disc?
I use both, Blu Ray and DVD... But the disc I tried was a Blu Ray.. And I also just noticed that the player is actually a BD-J7500, not BD-F7500... if that matters.
Sound & Vision is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 259 Old 11-27-2015, 08:13 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 8,152
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Very old discussion. Resume feature for Blu-ray is controlled by the disc authoring and not the player. Many do not allow it. Many you will have to set a bookmark (Universal). Disney has always been good with the resume function. You should be able to resume DVDs.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #243 of 259 Old 11-27-2015, 08:44 AM
 
Rocky3RD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I have the same Samsung model and that only happens with regular DVDs. With Bluray discs it gives me the option to resume from wherever I left off
Rocky3RD is offline  
 
post #244 of 259 Old 11-27-2015, 08:58 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 8,152
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Depends on the disc authoring. Some do allow it. Some don't.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Oppo UDP-203 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #245 of 259 Old 11-27-2015, 09:03 AM
 
Rocky3RD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Depends on the disc authoring. Some do allow it. Some don't.
A small price to pay for the awesomeness that this player offers
Tiki Steve likes this.
Rocky3RD is offline  
post #246 of 259 Old 12-10-2015, 05:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
2 channel stereo

Hi, I'm installing an F7500 and need to take an analogue 2 ch stereo output to feed into an Audio Matrix.

Is it possible to get the F7500 to output analogue audio on 2 channels only instead of 7.1/5.1
Integr8 is offline  
post #247 of 259 Old 12-10-2015, 06:18 AM
 
Rocky3RD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Is the J7500 model the only bluray player out there where you get most of the popular streaming apps and can even upload those apps that dont not come with the player out of the box?
Even Oppo players seem to have limited apps and no option to add more apps like the Samsung J7500.
What would the difference be between using the BD-J7500 for streaming and a Roku 4, for example?

Last edited by Rocky3RD; 12-10-2015 at 06:36 AM.
Rocky3RD is offline  
post #248 of 259 Old 12-12-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,269
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 142
For DOLBY Atmos, instructions are to turn on "Bitstream" and turn off "secondary audio". I can find the "bitstream" selection, but not the "secondary audio". Is it hidden somewhere and I'm too stupid to find it? Did a search of this thread, but didn't find anything.

Samsung UN75HU8550FXZA, SEK 3500 OCB in den, Sony XBR79X900B in LR, JVC RS600, Grandview 120" 1.3g curved screen in Batcave Mancave
Polk LSiM703 fronts, RTi-12 rears, LsiC and LSiM 706 centers, T-15 RH, Monitor 60 FW, CSiA1 FH, AT DA-44 TM, ED A6t sides
Two Emotiva XPA-5's for the Beds and TC, BasX-7 for the tops, Marantz AV7702MKII in Mancave until consumer-grade 9.2.6(or better) Pre-pro is available.
Ted99 is offline  
post #249 of 259 Old 12-12-2015, 06:30 PM
Member
 
swallan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: w.terre haute indiana
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Help Please! Went to play a blue ray disc tonight and when we turned the player on all it said on the front was load, then off. It kept doing that. We tried unplugging it and plugging it back in. The remote control is not doing anything. I have checked the batteries and that's not it. Can anyone assist us?
swallan is offline  
post #250 of 259 Old 01-03-2016, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 954
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
For DOLBY Atmos, instructions are to turn on "Bitstream" and turn off "secondary audio". I can find the "bitstream" selection, but not the "secondary audio". Is it hidden somewhere and I'm too stupid to find it? Did a search of this thread, but didn't find anything.
I have a j6300 and cannot stream Atmos from my HD...has anyone been able to stream Atmos files with the 7500? I have bit steaming turned on but cannot find where to turn secondary audio off...I get the message "this file format is not supported:audio codec:TrueHD" when trying to stream an Atmos file. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks folks.
asharma is offline  
post #251 of 259 Old 03-04-2016, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
spuchniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1021 firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckenisell View Post
Any idea what firmware ver. 1021 adds? Samsung's Web site does a HORRIBLE job with their release notes.
I am not sure exactly. However after updating to this firmware version, I get a "no signal" what I first start up that never happened before. I have the blu ray connected to my receiver and the receiver to the TV. Everything else is working fine. I broke the cardinal rule - if it is working fine, do not update firmware

Does anyone else have issues with this firmware 1021?
spuchniak is offline  
post #252 of 259 Old 03-04-2016, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Tiki Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rodney Ontario Canada
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I'll have to check later and see if it updated (auto) or need do manual, but haven't noticed any changes

Samsung 60" F8500
Samsung BD-F7500
Pioneer 1024K
PSB Image 8C,5T,2B,Alpha
Polk PSW10 (x 2)
Monster HTS5100mkII
Tiki Steve is offline  
post #253 of 259 Old 03-05-2016, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Tiki Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Rodney Ontario Canada
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by spuchniak View Post
Does anyone else have issues with this firmware 1021?
Looked today and I'm at ver 1021, and no problems

Samsung 60" F8500
Samsung BD-F7500
Pioneer 1024K
PSB Image 8C,5T,2B,Alpha
Polk PSW10 (x 2)
Monster HTS5100mkII
Tiki Steve is offline  
post #254 of 259 Old 03-05-2016, 08:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 13732
Quote:
Originally Posted by spuchniak View Post
I am not sure exactly. However after updating to this firmware version, I get a "no signal" what I first start up that never happened before. I have the blu ray connected to my receiver and the receiver to the TV. Everything else is working fine. I broke the cardinal rule - if it is working fine, do not update firmware

Does anyone else have issues with this firmware 1021?
I had a Blu-ray that I had watched before with Ver 1020. I recently wanted to watch it and it wouldn't play, a head scratcher for me since it was a movie I had watched previously, more than once. I got a warning that something was wrong so I decided to see if any updates were available and, yup, 1021 was available which I had it download and once again the disc played as before.

Otherwise no known issues.

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000 & BD-F7500; L/R SVS Ultra BS, Ultra Center;
RS Celestion 5; FH & SS Polk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nakamichi RE-1, CDC-4A, CR7A, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is offline  
post #255 of 259 Old 08-27-2016, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I've had this player, the Samsung BD-F7500, for a couple years now. It has its issues, from missing certain features of classic DVD players to frequently losing connection with the wifi, so I rarely use it for BluRays but have really enjoyed it as a smart platform (when it's not doing the connection hiccups, anyways). First tv it was used on was a Samsung T260HD (mainly a monitor), then the LG 47LK520, both basic (non-smart) tv's.

Now I finally got a 4K, the LG 65UF9500. And for some reason, literally nothing will show up as such, from this player. Not upscaled OR original source (from YT or Amz; I only have a 1080p sub on NF). YT was always rather problematic on this BRP, never even going above 720p. Still doesn't. And my connection is fine, the LG itself (ie, via its own smart platform) plays 4K material from both YT & Amz without any issues.

So far I've tried ~3 different HDMi cords, including one recently bought via Amz "just in case". They are also all supposed to be 4K-compatible, & it seems that the BRP ~does know that a 4K TV is hooked up as the UHD setting became un-greyed out & I was allowed to set all of the relevant options to "AUTO". That is supposed to enable the BRP to send a 4K signal to the tv. But the highest it seems to go is just 1080p. What gives?

If I only wanted a 1080p player, I'd have just chosen a different one, lol. Could have saved a lot $$ too. Is this fixable? I also tried checking the manual.. no info. But I really would prefer sticking with the BRP for using apps as the control is much better designed, etc.

What to do? Googling only brings up reviews, most which only mention the reviewers ~not having a 4K TV at the time to even test out that particular feature. And what good is that? Few others mention 4K & upscaling being actually great. Did I miss something??

4K via F7500 BRP ~> HDMI cord ~> 4K HDTV = 1080p ??
SimbiAni is offline  
post #256 of 259 Old 10-22-2016, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Swederic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Prince Rupert BC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I bought this player a few years ago and it's now pretty much going in the garbage. It started to have trouble reading BD's and gradually got worse over the course of a few months to the point where it wouldn't read any discs at all. The service center was no help and since it was a few months passed warranty there was no coverage. I did some research on this issue and it turns out that you can fiddle with a couple of pots on the disc drive and get it to work again but it was hit or miss. I chose this player due to the multi-channel outputs, 3-D, and up-scaling which it seems is next to impossible to find in a single unit.

So... my dilemma now is what to replace it with? I'm tempted to buy, against my better judgement mind you, the Samsung BD-J7500. Which has everything I need. I just hope that Samsung fixed the problems that people are having with this unit and not just change the colour scheme and relabeled it.
Swederic is offline  
post #257 of 259 Old 10-22-2016, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 13732
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swederic View Post
So I bought this player a few years ago and it's now pretty much going in the garbage. It started to have trouble reading BD's and gradually got worse over the course of a few months to the point where it wouldn't read any discs at all. The service center was no help and since it was a few months passed warranty there was no coverage. I did some research on this issue and it turns out that you can fiddle with a couple of pots on the disc drive and get it to work again but it was hit or miss. I chose this player due to the multi-channel outputs, 3-D, and up-scaling which it seems is next to impossible to find in a single unit.

So... my dilemma now is what to replace it with? I'm tempted to buy, against my better judgement mind you, the Samsung BD-J7500. Which has everything I need. I just hope that Samsung fixed the problems that people are having with this unit and not just change the colour scheme and relabeled it.
So far my only problem with reading Blu-ray disc was when it needed a software update. Hope it stays that way, really don't want to purchase another one anytime soon It may just be because mine doesn't get heavy usage...

Hope you find a reliable replacement
Swederic likes this.

Regards, Ken (Retired)
9.1) Denon 4520CI; Samsung 55H8000 & BD-F7500; L/R SVS Ultra BS, Ultra Center;
RS Celestion 5; FH & SS Polk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nakamichi RE-1, CDC-4A, CR7A, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is offline  
post #258 of 259 Old 10-23-2016, 10:21 PM
Member
 
Swederic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Prince Rupert BC
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This one has the latest updates and it wasn't used very heavily either, maybe 1 movie a week. Anyway's I ended up ordering the Samsung BD-J7500. Hope I didn't make a big mistake
Matt2026 likes this.
Swederic is offline  
post #259 of 259 Old 02-07-2017, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Digging Up this Thread, I own this player and a Xbox One S. I just purchased a Samsung 65" KS8000. Comparing the two players I ZGive the Edge to standard Blu Rays with the 7500, it's slight but it looks better. I have the 7500 upconverting using the 24fps settings on Auto and auto set to the UHD upconverting option. Am I better upconverting at the player or should i shut that all off and let the tv upconvert ... anyone who owns this player and a 4K TV care to comment ?
Scarpad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Samsung Electronics Bd F7500 Blu Ray Disc Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off