PS4 Blu-ray Expected Technology - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 03-22-2013, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This thread is motivated by the fact that I will only be buying a PS4 if the Blu-ray technology is worth it. I play videogames a bit, but nothing beats a great movie!

Has anyone seen any indicators that would lead them to believe that the PS4 will have Blu-ray technology worth buying say over a hifi Blu-ray player?

I am definitely not well versed in the tech speak, but I have seen the difference between a 30$ and a 700$ blu-ray player.

Only thing I have found is that PS4 games will be primarily Blu-ray which would lead me to think they are going to be using some nice hardware.

All thoughts would be great!!! even if its to tell me I am a NEWB.

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-22-2013, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter

In doing a bit of research I found that the PS4 will have 6X rate vs a 2X. I assume this means a rate for how fast information can be read off the disc. Would this help with image/audio quality?
post #3 of 10 Old 03-23-2013, 07:19 AM
sa

Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Peterson View Post

Would this help with image/audio quality?

No, it only means games on disc will have faster load times and faster installs.
post #4 of 10 Old 03-23-2013, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 273
I think blue ray either works or not it's a digital output ones and zeros. PS 3 plays B/R as well as anything out there it just loads slow
just not as bad as the Sony DVD player in my bedroom or my 5 disk Sony DVD /SACD Spinner I won't even get into the old PS2 that thing takes days .

The Soviet people feared the KGB was watching them through their TV's ........or listening to them through their radios, so they kept them turned off often when they wanted privacy .