Blu Ray disc issue or player issue? (Panasonic BD35) Some discs not loading properly... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2013, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
6SpeedTA95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've been having issues with newer Blu Ray discs in my Panasonic BD35. First and foremost the player still plays my BD discs, DVD and CD's without a problem.

However, 3 of the last 4 netflix movies have had issues playing. You put the disc in, it gets through a preview and then just basically stops. It's like it goes to load up the next scene/preview etc and it just doesn't load. This happened on "Rock of Ages" (terrible movie), another that I can't remember the name of, and most recently Taken 2 last night. A google search revealed both of those movies have issues on numerous types of players so I doubt it's the player.

I noticed in all three cases, I could NOT skip previews, it was like it couldn't see the track table. I could fast forward, fast forwarding always resulted in the player locking up. Additionally, I have to power off the unit several times and eventually it just works. Again, this doesn't happen on every title, but seems to be more prevalent on the newer titles. I'm wondering if it has something to do with BD live content getting corrupted?

Any thoughts or tips would be appreciated.

Edit: I should probably clarify, these netflix discs have looked brand new, no visible scratching or anything.
6SpeedTA95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2013, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Zenyatto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
There's a thread dedicated to the Panasonic DMP-BD35.

Home Theater Aficionado
Zenyatto is online now  
Old 05-08-2013, 11:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Does your Panny DMP-BD35 have the latest firmware installed?

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
Old 05-14-2013, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
6SpeedTA95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa area
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post

Does your Panny DMP-BD35 have the latest firmware installed?
No. I read about several people bricking their BD players by updating the firmware. So I have not done that.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
6SpeedTA95 is offline  
Old 05-14-2013, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6SpeedTA95 View Post

No. I read about several people bricking their BD players by updating the firmware. So I have not done that.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Well, it IS possible to brick your player during a firmware update if you have incorrectly created the update disc, or interrupt the update process . . but the price for never updating is that it is possible that some newer titles will not play correctly due to changes needed to handle newer copy protection/drm implementations by the movie studios. You surely need to know what you are doing and do it carefully.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is online now  
 

Tags
Panasonic Dmp Bd35k 1080p Blu Ray Player
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off