Flashing a player with firm from a different model of the same brand - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-23-2013, 02:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zerorigin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, have any of your gurus tried flashing a player with a firmware from a different model of the same brand?
For instance, I have a low-end Philips player (BDP-2930), which does have network support but no youtube/network player capability. So I just wonder what if I flash the player with a higher end model's firmware .... what would happen? I mean technically, all these youtube/network playing are all software only stuffs, unless the processor, and hardware are significantly different of course.

So anybody has any experience in that?
zerorigin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-23-2013, 02:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 850
No. But I wouldnt recommend it. If you could buy the bottom line model and update the firmware to the highest end model and get those features everyone would be doing it.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-24-2013, 05:53 AM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerorigin View Post

Hi all, have any of your gurus tried flashing a player with a firmware from a different model of the same brand?
For instance, I have a low-end Philips player (BDP-2930), which does have network support but no youtube/network player capability. So I just wonder what if I flash the player with a higher end model's firmware .... what would happen? I mean technically, all these youtube/network playing are all software only stuffs, unless the processor, and hardware are significantly different of course.

So anybody has any experience in that?

the final product is normally called "a brick". the recovery process is painful and often does not work. you may need to open a player, locate EPROM on PCB, put in USB stick with your original FW, power player, short circuit some specific legs on the EPROM to interrupt UBoot. It may force the original FW flash process from USB. Very entertaining process and may require 100 attempts before it works.
borland is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Philips

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off