The Pioneer BDP-160 2013 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 72 Old 01-22-2014, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b curry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the way to Hell, Michigan USA
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post


So do you think that Pioneer will release any more BD/DVD-A/SACD players with PQLS via HDMI? As far as what you said about players using the same internals, remember, the Yamaha BD-A1010 and Pioneer BDP-52FD are similar, yet different. The Yamaha uses the MediaTek MT8530 CPU and sends DSD to PCM at 176.4 KHz. I don't think it has Pandora, yet it has streaming apps not found on the Pioneer. The Pioneer uses the MediaTek MT8555 CPU. It sends DSD to PCM at 88.2 KHz, and it includes PQLS via HDMI. It doesn't have as many streaming apps as the Yamaha. They were both 2011 models. I can see why you would say that they are generally the same, but the style of the GUI, the CPU, digital audio transmition, and streaming apps are different enough that it might affect someone's purchasing decision.

 

I really don't know.  I would imagine they will if I had to guess; at least PQLS to mate with their receivers as a marketing point.  DVD-A and SACD are more or less dead formats so I don't personally see a benefit in paying the licensing fee.  Even Sony has given up in this area.

 

Pioneers receivers are mostly all the same platform with small changes to amplifier power or some very small features that are more or less insignificant.  IMO Pioneer haven't really done anything significant in Blu-ray players since the BDP-51/05/09.

b curry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 72 Old 01-22-2014, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Big C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 1,336
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big C View Post

So do you think that Pioneer will release any more BD/DVD-A/SACD players with PQLS via HDMI? As far as what you said about players using the same internals, remember, the Yamaha BD-A1010 and Pioneer BDP-52FD are similar, yet different. The Yamaha uses the MediaTek MT8530 CPU and sends DSD to PCM at 176.4 KHz. I don't think it has Pandora, yet it has streaming apps not found on the Pioneer. The Pioneer uses the MediaTek MT8555 CPU. It sends DSD to PCM at 88.2 KHz, and it includes PQLS via HDMI. It doesn't have as many streaming apps as the Yamaha. They were both 2011 models. I can see why you would say that they are generally the same, but the style of the GUI, the CPU, digital audio transmition, and streaming apps are different enough that it might affect someone's purchasing decision.

I really don't know.  I would imagine they will if I had to guess; at least PQLS to mate with their receivers as a marketing point.  DVD-A and SACD are more or less dead formats so I don't personally see a benefit in paying the licensing fee.  Even Sony has given up in this area.

Pioneers receivers are mostly all the same platform with small changes to amplifier power or some very small features that are more or less insignificant.  IMO Pioneer haven't really done anything significant in Blu-ray players since the BDP-51/05/09.
Well, unless we are told otherwise, I am going to continue to have faith that Pioneer will release at least one more player with a MediaTek CPU and PQLS via HDMI. While the changes to their receivers may have been subtle, they still use good components and are DSD and PQLS compatible. I think they could make a great BD/DVD-A/SACD PQLS transport player with no problem by just including a single HDMI output, Coaxial, and optical outputs. By doing away with that second HDMI output, the Marvel processor, Component out, Composite out, stereo analog out, and multi-channel analog out, they could cut tremendous costs and afford SACD/DVD-A licensing with less difficulty. Remember while the BDP-62FD/450 had the Marvel video processor and second HDMI output, it didn't have the 32-bit stereo DAC and Composite video output of the BDP-53FD/LX55, which had an MSRP of $100 more. Also, by making these cuts, that might make more room for more Pioneer exclusive features such as Stream Smoother and Sound Retriever in the player itself, for use with older receivers. And don't forget about DSD-to-PCM at 176.4 KHz!
Big C is online now  
post #63 of 72 Old 01-25-2014, 08:41 AM
Newbie
 
zinnat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip_L View Post

Hi

Having a problem with YouTube is anyone else? Every clip after approx 30 seconds of playback starts breaking up and stutters badly. I've tried Wi-Fi and cabled Ethernet and exactly the same issue, the same clips all play fine on my PC, tablet, phone and a PVR that also has YouTube all over the same network. My broadband connection never has issues with YouTube and download speeds are consistently around 12Meg so I'm positive this isn't a problem with the network or broadband connection.

I'm on the latest version of firmware 1.05.

Regards
Phil

Same problem here. Firmware 1.05. About 1 out of 3 videos I try to reproduce starts stuttering and pixelating after a few seconds. I noticed the stuttering point are reproducible on a given video: like this video will stutter reproducibly after 21s of playback and that other video after 13s, so this excludes network issue (those would be random). What frustates me the most is that other videos plays perfectly.

Did you try to play again the same videos which used to stutter now that your player seems to work fine?
zinnat is offline  
post #64 of 72 Old 02-15-2014, 05:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Philip_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by zinnat View Post

Same problem here. Firmware 1.05. About 1 out of 3 videos I try to reproduce starts stuttering and pixelating after a few seconds. I noticed the stuttering point are reproducible on a given video: like this video will stutter reproducibly after 21s of playback and that other video after 13s, so this excludes network issue (those would be random). What frustates me the most is that other videos plays perfectly.

Did you try to play again the same videos which used to stutter now that your player seems to work fine?

Yes was still having the same issues with the same videos, however good news is Pioneer have fixed this in firmware 1.0.6, you should be able to do a Network update and install, if not head over to Pioneer's support site to download.

Best Regards

Phil
meriade likes this.
Philip_L is offline  
post #65 of 72 Old 03-02-2014, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
Avenali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Is this player (BDP-160) any better than the BDP-450?

Avenali is offline  
post #66 of 72 Old 03-30-2014, 02:27 AM
Newbie
 
JornLande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by meriade View Post
 


Hi kristoffer77, it does handle well network files, at least the ones I have,

which are mostly encoded with libx264/ac3_fixed (avconv) in Matroska

container files. The media player recognizes multiple audio and subtitle

tracks in matroska container files and allows to change between then

"on the fly", indifferently to where the video file was stored: on an attached

USB storage device or on a server (minidlna/linux) accessed thought DLNA/UPnP.

 

Cheers, Meriade


Hi! My BDP-160 only recognizes text subtitles in a MKV file, but if there are PGS subtitles embedded in the MKV file, then via DLNA (PS3 media server) he does not see the file at all (I have to go via 'transcode' option, then the file plays, but without subtitles), and when such a file is on USB storage, the player freezes completely (have to unplug the power cord). Anyway experiencing anything similar? How do you play MKVs with PGS subtitles?

 

Also text subtitles in a MKV file are always on - is there any way to set them to off by default and not every time I play such a file?

JornLande is offline  
post #67 of 72 Old 03-30-2014, 11:15 PM
Member
 
kristoffer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
There is a new fw out. 1.0.6

I haven't updated since I afraid it will break dvd region all.
kristoffer77 is offline  
post #68 of 72 Old 04-01-2014, 02:14 AM
Member
 
kristoffer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I just updated to 1.0.6
No problems at all. It seems like the drive is more quiet after the update because it doesn't spin as much up as before. cool.gif
kristoffer77 is offline  
post #69 of 72 Old 06-01-2014, 11:26 AM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi, can it plays 1080p matroska files from an USB memory?

 

The user manual specifies the limit in .mkv format is 1280x720, what happen with 1920x1080 at 24fps?.

 

Thanks.

gymnos is offline  
post #70 of 72 Old 06-03-2014, 04:46 AM
Member
 
kristoffer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok. I have played 1080p files from my nas.

Ever since I upgraded to 1.0.6 the player will occasionally spin the disc up and just lock completely up. frown.gif
The only thing that helps is to unplug it.
gymnos likes this.
kristoffer77 is offline  
post #71 of 72 Old 06-03-2014, 07:45 AM
Member
 
gymnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristoffer77 View Post

Ok. I have played 1080p files from my nas.

Ever since I upgraded to 1.0.6 the player will occasionally spin the disc up and just lock completely up. frown.gif
The only thing that helps is to unplug it.

 

Ok, thanks.

 

Have you noticed this error before the firmware upgrade?.

gymnos is offline  
post #72 of 72 Old 06-06-2014, 02:45 AM
Member
 
kristoffer77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Not really.
gymnos likes this.
kristoffer77 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Brand , Pioneer Electronics

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off