Oppo 103 front panel operation - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 06-22-2013, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quick question, is it possible to do basic operations on the 103 without the remote? Start a disc playing for example. Basically, does it have an "enter" button and navigation buttons on the front panel?

thanks,
mk
Montekay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-22-2013, 09:02 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Yes. By the way, you can download the manual from the OPPO Digital web site.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi Bob, it's been a long time! Well, a long time since I've been on these forums.

Yes, I looked at the 103 user manual but didn't see anything to suggest it could be operated without the remote. I must be missing the "enter" button. Most DVD/Blu-ray disc will not respond to the "play" button. Perhaps the play button is dual function?

thanks,
mk
Montekay is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-23-2013, 09:36 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 796
^ Yes, it is dual function.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-03-2013, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Bob, it doesn't work! It depends on the disc, if it requires "play" be highlighted and then "enter" pressed, you're just SOL. Some disc will accept a "play" command but others require the "enter" command. Looks like the NAD T-567 can do it...

Excerpt from the NAD manual...

The front panel 9/0, 7/8 and ENTER buttons respectively simulate the same functions of the A/S/D/F and ENTER buttons of the BR 2 remote control under the following conditions or options only
• Navigating through the HOME menu and SETUP menu.
• Browsing DivX or PHOTO files on a disc or USB device.

I'll probably just ship the OPPO back and get the T-567. Oh well!

mk
Montekay is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-03-2013, 07:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 796
The 4 front panel buttons surrounding Play should function as the 4 Arrow buttons for navigating to the Play choice on the disc's menu when you are viewing a menu. If you've found a disc where that does not work, call or email OPPO tech support. Works for me in the discs I've checked.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-03-2013, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Ok, that would be great if they can fix it with a firmware update. The disc I put in was "Land of the Lost" (Blu-Ray) The Play button just gives you that red circle with a cross through it. Stop works... it stops it. The others have the same result as play, just the red circle.

thanks,
Monte
Montekay is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-04-2013, 02:37 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Are you actually on Top Menu for that disc? Or is it asking if you want to Resume playback from where you last left off? (You can discard the Resume Play Point in Setup by Erasing Persistent Storage.)

I'm not sure why you want to use the front panel buttons for this, so I'll just mention another way to do things without using the remote is via a USB keyboard (either directly attached or via a wireless adapter). The Arrow and Enter keys on that should do the trick.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-04-2013, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
It was top menu. Yeah the keyboard idea might work even better, never thought of that. It would be nice to keep the Oppo and not swap for the NAD, even though it's about $100 more I'm not so sure the NAD is as good as the Oppo.

thanks,
mk
Montekay is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-04-2013, 12:48 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Yes the keyboard works. Maybe not completely ideal but good enough. If your working on a bench and using a player for what ever testing the remote is just in the way and constantly lost. Front panel controls like the NAD are perfect. Thing is, 99.99% of the time I won't need this because it will just be used as a normal player. I was just expecting it to be a more common feature than it turns out to be. The front panel controls do work for navigation inside the menus so that proves it's possible. I'm canceling my return request.

Edit: Response from Oppo...

PLAY acts like ENTER. Please be aware that the front panel buttons will work for specific contents only, and will not work with most Blu-rays as the BD-JAVA does not allow the front panel buttons to be used to navigate menus.

Best Regards,

Customer Service
OPPO Digital, Inc.


thanks again for the help, I'm still keeping it:-)
mk
Montekay is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-05-2013, 10:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Montekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Austin TX Area
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Hi Bob

Why didn't I think of this earlier... I just picked up a Sony portable BluRay player with HDMI output. Being portable it has all the controls on the unit itself. Now the new Oppo can stay right where it is in the equipment rack and the portable Sony can be for testing and can even have a dual purpose... travel, like it's designed for. Anyway, now it's irrelevant that the Oppo can't do it. I really like the Oppo btw, they live up to all the hype! Great player!

thanks again for all your help
Monte
Montekay is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off