Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 118 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
 
ron hawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering an oppo 103 or 105 but also considering the cambridge 651 or 752

Why did you choose the oppo?

I currently run the cambridge 751r which has great music sound and uses cirrus logic DAC and for video uses the ANchor bay. Don't want redundancy for internals. So which blu ray would work best?

Thanks
R
ron hawaii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2014, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,677
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron hawaii View Post

I am considering an oppo 103 or 105 but also considering the cambridge 651 or 752

Why did you choose the oppo?

I currently run the cambridge 751r which has great music sound and uses cirrus logic DAC and for video uses the ANchor bay. Don't want redundancy for internals. So which blu ray would work best?

Thanks
R

This is one reason

Their service is great. I haven't had to use it (have an 83 for four years and a new 103D).

As to the units, the internals are essentially the same, with tweaking by both companies. The 752 lacks the 105's async USB by all accounts, and the 651 is equivalent to the 93 if I'm not wrong.

I would choose the Oppo, with everything else being equal on the responsiveness of the company and their commitment to good firmware upgrades.
hernanu is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
THe_Flash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

I am watching some TV shows on Netflix. In the episode description it says he show audio format is 5.1.
However, my Yamaha AVR is reporting it is only receiving a PCM 2.0 signal.
I had the same issue all last weekend. PQ was great, but audio was 2.0, even after selecting the 5.1 track. Settings on the Oppo are correct and I tried various shows/films with the same result. I had assumed it was a Netflix issue. I'll hook up my other player later today and see if I can get 5.1 through the LG, which has the same Netflix app.
THe_Flash is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
crussell1492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks.
I called Netflix, they said they have a known issue with AppleTV on 5.1 (I tested with Apple TV and have the same issues as the Oppo) they said they are working on it. Then to fix the issue on the Oppo, they told me to reverse the HDMI cable, so I said "thanks" and hung up.
crussell1492 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 12:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

Thanks.
I called Netflix, they said they have a known issue with AppleTV on 5.1 (I tested with Apple TV and have the same issues as the Oppo) they said they are working on it. Then to fix the issue on the Oppo, they told me to reverse the HDMI cable, so I said "thanks" and hung up.

Its not uncommon to find programs on Netflix that list 5.1 but only have 2.0. TV series in particular, where one season has 5.1 but another doesn't.
rdgrimes is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 12:24 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 1013
^ Netflix does have errors in their database like that, as well. Try a program that's "important" to them, like an episode of "Breaking Bad", and then you'll know that 5.1 is really working.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Old 04-04-2014, 01:47 PM
Member
 
emmat2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm the owner of an oppo 103, I've been thinking about upgrading to a 103d but was wondering if I'll be able to see the Darbee enhancement on my 55 inch tv. I read that unless you have a projector or a 60+ inch tv you can't see the difference.

Emmat2011
emmat2011 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 01:52 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I'm the owner of an oppo 103, I've been thinking about upgrading to a 103d but was wondering if I'll be able to see the Darbee enhancement on my 55 inch tv. I read that unless you have a projector or a 60+ inch tv you can't see the difference.

Projector owners are the biggest fans of Darbee, but you can see the effect on any size screen (presuming you are not too far away, of course: with a small viewing angle no adjustment is visible).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:05 PM
Member
 
emmat2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Projector owners are the biggest fans of Darbee, but you can see the effect on any size screen (presuming you are not too far away, of course: with a small viewing angle no adjustment is visible).

-Bill
I sit about 10 feet away from the TV, I have a 4k display and I can see all the details from that distance. I really like the 103 and it's features, how does the Darbee video proceeding compared to the Marvell Qdeo chip when it comes to up converting DVDs to 1080p and 4k upscaling?

Emmat2011
emmat2011 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 02:19 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I sit about 10 feet away from the TV, I have a 4k display and I can see all the details from that distance. I really like the 103 and it's features, how does the Darbee video proceeding compared to the Marvell Qdeo chip when it comes to up converting DVDs to 1080p and 4k upscaling?

They are different. Darbee adjust the luminence per pixel to increase perceived contrast. Nothing else works like that. It is best for images that are already good quality. It does not necessarily improve poor images.

QDEO has sharpening and noise reduction that can be used to improve poor quality images. On the good images those controls will cause smearing and loss of fine detail; that's just the nature of noise reduction and edge enhancement.

OPPO offers a 30 day return. It might be best to try it yourself rather than reply on other people's eyes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 03:15 PM
Member
 
emmat2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

They are different. Darbee adjust the luminence per pixel to increase perceived contrast. Nothing else works like that. It is best for images that are already good quality. It does not necessarily improve poor images.

QDEO has sharpening and noise reduction that can be used to improve poor quality images. On the good images those controls will cause smearing and loss of fine detail; that's just the nature of noise reduction and edge enhancement.

OPPO offers a 30 day return. It might be best to try it yourself rather than reply on other people's eyes.

-Bill
That's why I come and ask here because I know I'll get an answer like that, thank you. I ordered the 103d since I still have 2 more to return the 103 to amazon. Thanks.

Emmat2011
emmat2011 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I sit about 10 feet away from the TV, I have a 4k display and I can see all the details from that distance. I really like the 103 and it's features, how does the Darbee video proceeding compared to the Marvell Qdeo chip when it comes to up converting DVDs to 1080p and 4k upscaling?

From what I remember reading the upscaler is done precisely as with the regular 103, the darbee chip does as posted earlier enhance depth by fiddling with the luminescence in a supposedly very clever way.

I was sort of sceptic of darbee myself at first but now I wouldn't want to watch a movie without it if possible.
Granted since I run the hdmi 1 output directly to the projector I only get it when playing bluerays.
TorTorden is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I have definitely gotten used to the enhancement and I am still enjoying my 103D. smile.gif

______________________________________________
Joe = LFE Addict
Joe's LOWARHORN build
Dual LMS-5400 Ultra Endtables build
jpmst3 is online now  
Old 04-04-2014, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jpeter1093's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 573
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post

From what I remember reading the upscaler is done precisely as with the regular 103, the darbee chip does as posted earlier enhance depth by fiddling with the luminescence in a supposedly very clever way.

I was sort of sceptic of darbee myself at first but now I wouldn't want to watch a movie without it if possible.
Granted since I run the hdmi 1 output directly to the projector I only get it when playing bluerays.

Could you elaborate on that last sentence? Don't your run anything else through the Oppo? DVDs, cable box, Netflix?
jpeter1093 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I'm the owner of an oppo 103, I've been thinking about upgrading to a 103d but was wondering if I'll be able to see the Darbee enhancement on my 55 inch tv. I read that unless you have a projector or a 60+ inch tv you can't see the difference.

I bought both models last month, i decided to keep the 103D and return the regular 103. what kind of tv do you have? if u are looking for the oppo to give you a sharper picture with more detail, using the edge enhancement setting on the 103D can actually work better than the darbee setting.

TV; SONY XBR65X850B 4k, previous was SAMSUNG 65 7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is online now  
Old 04-04-2014, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chalugadp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 5,686
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1250 Post(s)
Liked: 1182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by emmat2011 View Post

I'm the owner of an oppo 103, I've been thinking about upgrading to a 103d but was wondering if I'll be able to see the Darbee enhancement on my 55 inch tv. I read that unless you have a projector or a 60+ inch tv you can't see the difference.

I bought both models last month, i decided to keep the 103D and return the regular 103. what kind of tv do you have? if u are looking for the oppo to give you a sharper picture with more detail, using the edge enhancement setting on the 103D can actually work better than the darbee setting.

That wasn't my experience. The darbee made a big difference with. Sharp 70". The edge and detail enhancement made only slight difference for me.
chalugadp is online now  
Old 04-04-2014, 09:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalugadp View Post

That wasn't my experience. The darbee made a big difference with. Sharp 70". The edge and detail enhancement made only slight difference for me.

what setting did you have each set at?

TV; SONY XBR65X850B 4k, previous was SAMSUNG 65 7100
AVR: Sony 7.2 1040
Blu Ray: Oppo 103D
ray0414 is online now  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Second time 103D Freezing since the lastest Firmware Update 0218 ,Grrrrr

Happened 1.5 hours into "Wolf of Wallstreet" ....Nothing , no FF ,RW ,Eject,... Had to reboot ?

Got the latest Update to have "Last Input" function, now having these troubles since then , Why would it freeze 1.5 hours into a movie ??

Did not expect this from a 700.00 dollar BP !
jjnbos likes this.
randyc1 is offline  
Old 04-04-2014, 11:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

Second time 103D Freezing since the lastest Firmware Update 0218 ,Grrrrr

Happened 1.5 hours into "Wolf of Wallstreet" ....Nothing , no FF ,RW ,Eject,... Had to reboot ?

Got the latest Update to have "Last Input" function, now having these troubles since then , Why would it freeze 1.5 hours into a movie ??

Did not expect this from a 700.00 dollar BP !

Did you do a reset to factory default settings after the update?
If your fw was old enough that you didn't have the "last input" feature, then you probably should have done a reset.
It could also just be an issue with the disc, or you may have acquired some kind of dirt or dust on the lens, there could be lots of reasons.
FWIW, I haven't had any freezing issues while playing Blu-ray discs.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 12:23 AM
Member
 
ron hawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hernanu,
Thank you for the info
Ron
ron hawaii is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 12:27 AM
Member
 
ron hawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am wondering how the darbee does on improving PQ on dvds. I have a lot of older dvds, not in blu ray format. If darbee makes a plain dvd look great I'd buy. I usually use netflix streaming nowadays if not watching my old dvds. I use an 80" led tv.

Thanks
R
ron hawaii is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 12:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
NAIM101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I am interested w dvd as well. Anyone?
NAIM101 is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 01:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,868
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron hawaii View Post

I am wondering how the darbee does on improving PQ on dvds. I have a lot of older dvds, not in blu ray format. If darbee makes a plain dvd look great I'd buy. I usually use netflix streaming nowadays if not watching my old dvds. I use an 80" led tv.

Thanks
R

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAIM101 View Post

I am interested w dvd as well. Anyone?
The consensus seems to be that the Darbee makes the most difference with the best source material. That would be Blu-ray, not DVD.

All OPPO Blu-ray players to an outstanding job converting 480i DVD material to 1080p. The Darbee process isn't related to that.
htwaits is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 01:40 AM
Member
 
ron hawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Htwaits
Thanks. I actually saw poster that said he heard the same. Higher the source the better but he felt it did best for lower sources. Oh well. Anyone else have opinion on darbee with dvds?
ron hawaii is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 03:48 AM
Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I agree darbee really shines with high quality material and even then on larger screens. However, I only have a 55 inch led and there is still improvement so worthwhile to me. Split screen shows it's doing something.

Anthem MRX 710 : Monitor Audio Apex 5-A40 : Paradigm Seismic 110 : Panasonic TX-P65VT65B : Oppo 103D
sutton8 is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeter1093 View Post

Could you elaborate on that last sentence? Don't your run anything else through the Oppo? DVDs, cable box, Netflix?

Of course i hardly do antything without the oppo now, but all the mentioned goes through hdmi 2 to my avr and plasma TV.

I first hooked it up with hdm1 directly to the sony hw50 since I have an occasional handshake hiccup in my avr and was hoping this would sort it, it hasn't but I'm still too lazy to run the new 30' hdmi cable to the avr, my old one wasn't 10.2 gbps capable.

I will probably move it all to hdmi 1 eventually, but it's not really a burning need what comes out of hdmi 2 is rather good too :-)
TorTorden is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 06:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron hawaii View Post

Htwaits
Thanks. I actually saw poster that said he heard the same. Higher the source the better but he felt it did best for lower sources. Oh well. Anyone else have opinion on darbee with dvds?

It's hard to answer that without knowing what you are expecting. Two people will look at the same adjustment and say "that's amazing!" vs "I don't see anything". It depends on what you are looking for and how sensitive you are to the subtleties. My own perception of video images has changed over the years, so time and experience is an element as well. But: mostly I'm just watching the movie, not evaluating the video processing.

What we always say: Darbee is a subtle effect when used properly. Some say it is a dramatic effect; either they have super-sensitivity, or have it cranked up to ugly, or are imagining things. (Or have display technology that reveals the effect more clearly -- I don't have a projector and so can't comment on that).

I don't see how Darbee can make a plain DVD into an amazing DVD. That said, I think we hit the wall on DVD performance a few years ago with OPPO's ABT players: the 983H and BDP-83. There is only so much you can do with 720x480i video. The -103D matches the DVD performance of those older players, to my eyes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

Second time 103D Freezing since the lastest Firmware Update 0218 ,Grrrrr

Happened 1.5 hours into "Wolf of Wallstreet" ....Nothing , no FF ,RW ,Eject,... Had to reboot ?

Got the latest Update to have "Last Input" function, now having these troubles since then , Why would it freeze 1.5 hours into a movie ??

Did not expect this from a 700.00 dollar BP !

Did you do a reset to factory default settings after the update?
If your fw was old enough that you didn't have the "last input" feature, then you probably should have done a reset.
It could also just be an issue with the disc, or you may have acquired some kind of dirt or dust on the lens, there could be lots of reasons.
FWIW, I haven't had any freezing issues while playing Blu-ray discs.

Did the update for the "last input" feature and did the factory default , dust ??...103d has less than 10hrs of use?

Oppo is connected to AVR,..Cable box is connected to Back HDMI .
randyc1 is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by randyc1 View Post

Why would it freeze 1.5 hours into a movie ??

You're describing what happens with a dirty, defective or damaged disc. If you continue to have issues playing discs, contact Oppo support. But one or 2 instances does not make a crisis.
rdgrimes is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
randyc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Disc was scratch free,..2nd freeze since update in about 4 hrs of use .
randyc1 is offline  
 

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off