Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 05:29 AM
Member
 
dhobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gadgtfreek, Do you like your 103 D PQ over 103 Need your personal opinion ...I do have 103 and got 103D yesterday
dhobi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I havent been able to use it for blu-ray yet (other than Spears and Munsil, WOW and DVE patterns), too busy. Ill be honest, I dont expect to see a lot there even though I felt the 103 wasnt as crisp as some other players Ive seen. Maybe thats the Marvell issue, maybe Im just seeing things smile.gif

As far as video processing an input it seems to work the same, granted thats pretty subjective but I think it does a good job. The Darbee implementation is well thought out IMO and much better than a Darblet remote, if you like the Darbee tech.

Unless wanting Darbee, Id probably say there is no real reason to upgrade. Unless they have some other goodie we do not know about planned for the future.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #363 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blee0120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Merillville, IN 46410
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

I havent been able to use it for blu-ray yet (other than Spears and Munsil, WOW and DVE patterns), too busy. Ill be honest, I dont expect to see a lot there even though I felt the 103 wasnt as crisp as some other players Ive seen. Maybe thats the Marvell issue, maybe Im just seeing things smile.gif

As far as video processing an input it seems to work the same, granted thats pretty subjective but I think it does a good job. The Darbee implementation is well thought out IMO and much better than a Darblet remote, if you like the Darbee tech.

Unless wanting Darbee, Id probably say there is no real reason to upgrade. Unless they have some other goodie we do not know about planned for the future.

The Marvell did suck imo last year on the 103.
blee0120 is offline  
post #364 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I never tried the HDMI 2 out really, so I guess it's tough to comment for me. I did feel my BDT500 offered a slightly more crisp image. None of this was side by side of course, so it's highly subjective.

It seems like the handshakes are already better on this 103D for me, vs HDMI 1 on the 103.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #365 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:05 AM
Member
 
MagnoliaMOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can the 103D be used as a preamp like the 105. 103D has volume control so I am assuming it can be but want to make sure.

MagMo
Elite 70" (PRO70X5FD), Oppo BDP-105, Marantz AV-8801, Marantz MM-7055, PS4, PS3 (Fatty SACD), MartinLogan Theos, MartinLogan Stage, MartinLogan Montage, MartinLogan Descent-i
MagnoliaMOE is offline  
post #366 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
calgaryphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

 

I think that is what is happening. How do i set my Oppo to 1080p/24 vs 1080p/60?

 

 

 

Thanks!

calgaryphoenix is offline  
post #367 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:31 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnoliaMOE View Post

Can the 103D be used as a preamp like the 105. 103D has volume control so I am assuming it can be but want to make sure.
It can be used as a preamp with the same potential issues the 103 has (some people have run into compatibility issues with some amps - check the 103 thread for specifics) - the 105 uses a better DAC which also has a better volume control.
gsr is online now  
post #368 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:32 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,490
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Put another way, how does the Roamio processing compare to the Roamio processing?
One would hope those 2 scenarios would produce identical results. Sorry, just couldn't pass that one up biggrin.gif.
gsr is online now  
post #369 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:34 AM
Member
 
MagnoliaMOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

It can be used as a preamp with the same potential issues the 103 has (some people have run into compatibility issues with some amps - check the 103 thread for specifics) - the 105 uses a better DAC which also has a better volume control.

Thank you.

MagMo
Elite 70" (PRO70X5FD), Oppo BDP-105, Marantz AV-8801, Marantz MM-7055, PS4, PS3 (Fatty SACD), MartinLogan Theos, MartinLogan Stage, MartinLogan Montage, MartinLogan Descent-i
MagnoliaMOE is offline  
post #370 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 07:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,091
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post

Would appreciate it if you would try the "3D TV Size" setting again with a BD 3D comparing the display screen size setting and the optimum 999 setting. It makes a drastic difference for my 3D perception on both my 65" plasma and HMD headset.

I don't think I ever tried it that high. I will give another look the next time I have a chance. I have the latest Spears & Munsil disc with 3D test patterns now, so that should prove useful as well.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
)
Curator,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #371 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 09:01 AM
Member
 
dubusduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I have the standard version of the 103. Coming from a Sony BDP-S5000ES, I find the Oppo's 103's picture to be soft on blurays and only average on DVD upscaling. However, I really like the colors the 103 produces which is superior IMO to the Sony and I understand this is due to the Marvell chip. I really do miss the sharpness of the Sony, however, and I can't tweak the sharpness setting of the 103 to my liking. I think the Darbee version of the 103 my be what I am after. Anyway, my question is this...is the beauty of the colors in the 103 Marvell chip lost in the 103D? If anybody that has seen both can answer my question, I would appreciate it!

Samsung PN64F8500: Oppo 105D; Onkyo TX-SR805; Polk LSI x 5; Kimber Kable 12TC Speaker Cable; Monnster Cable Speaker Cable; Shunyata Research Aries interconnects; Shunyata Research Anaconda CX Power Cord; Monster Cable 700 and 1000 HDX HDMI Cables; John 3:16;
dubusduck is offline  
post #372 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: earth -alpha quadrant - france
Posts: 1,367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 65
kraine is offline  
post #373 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 09:20 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by calgaryphoenix View Post

Hi,

I think that is what is happening. How do i set my Oppo to 1080p/24 vs 1080p/60?



Thanks!

It would help us a lot if you read the manual and had a look at the FAQ before posting here.

Setup -> Video Setup -> 1080p24 Output

ON produces 1080p24 from Blu-ray (unless the disc itself is 1080i60). OFF will produce 1080p60. Make sure your output resolution is set to 1080p.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is offline  
post #374 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

I don't think I ever tried it that high. I will give another look the next time I have a chance. I have the latest Spears & Munsil disc with 3D test patterns now, so that should prove useful as well.
After some extensive testing of the "3D TV Size" setting while using the Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition, I've come to the conclusion that the "3D TV Size" setting is actually a Stereoscopic 3D visible depth setting. The Default "46 inches" is approximately @ 15% Depth-of-field and is set for what is considered as the consumer adjusted stereoscopic 3D viewing comfort level. The optimum 999 setting allows 100% Depth-of-field for actual real-world 3D depth ability. 100% is also what I apply in my NVIDIA Control panel on my 3D laptop and is why I recognize the real-world range difference changes for closest to farthest objects in a scene.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

As best I've been able to figure out, the 3D screen size setting has to do with insuring the 0 depth plane of the 3D image aligns with the surface of the displays screen and is not in front or in back of that.

This is necessary to minimize eye strain. The 3D effect is not "real" 3D of course -- the imagery is being generated on the surface of the display. That means the eyes need to focus at the distance of the display screen.
You are right that the comfort for the majority of consumers is the key reason, but the Spears & Munsil Stereoscopic test confirms that at 999 = 100% depth-of-field, stereoscopic position is 0% at the surface of the display screen, just as accurate as the default setting.

Paul


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #375 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubusduck View Post

I have the standard version of the 103. Coming from a Sony BDP-S5000ES, I find the Oppo's 103's picture to be soft on blurays and only average on DVD upscaling. However, I really like the colors the 103 produces which is superior IMO to the Sony and I understand this is due to the Marvell chip. I really do miss the sharpness of the Sony, however, and I can't tweak the sharpness setting of the 103 to my liking. I think the Darbee version of the 103 my be what I am after. Anyway, my question is this...is the beauty of the colors in the 103 Marvell chip lost in the 103D? If anybody that has seen both can answer my question, I would appreciate it!

I would suggest you first try using HDMI-2 from your 103 for a while, this will give you a slightly sharper image as it bypasses the "softness" of the Qdeo chip. As for "colors", both the players are identical on both HDMI outputs, and it has nothing to do with the Qdeo chip.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #376 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
And shouldnt HDMI 2 on the 103 be the same as HDMI 1 and 2 on the 103D?

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #377 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post

One would hope those 2 scenarios would produce identical results. Sorry, just couldn't pass that one up biggrin.gif.

Oh, bummer. biggrin.gif

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #378 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Chere,


Would like to ask. I too have a Roamio and have thought about getting the 103D . Do you see much of a difference with the Oppo over having the Roamio set to 1080p output? Put another way, how does the Roamio processing compare to the Oppo processing? Do you have to freeze the picture or can you pick up on it during motion. ......sometimes we can only see certain things on a paused picture that doesn't show up in normal viewing.

Lets try it this way. smile.gif

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #379 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

And shouldnt HDMI 2 on the 103 be the same as HDMI 1 and 2 on the 103D?

Correct, they are indistinguishable, given default settings in each case.
gadgtfreek likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #380 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:33 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

I don't think I ever tried it that high. I will give another look the next time I have a chance. I have the latest Spears & Munsil disc with 3D test patterns now, so that should prove useful as well.
After some extensive testing of the "3D TV Size" setting while using the Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark 2nd Edition, I've come to the conclusion that the "3D TV Size" setting is actually a Stereoscopic 3D visible depth setting. The Default "46 inches" is approximately @ 15% Depth-of-field and is set for what is considered as the consumer adjusted stereoscopic 3D viewing comfort level. The optimum 999 setting allows 100% Depth-of-field for actual real-world 3D depth ability. 100% is also what I apply in my NVIDIA Control panel on my 3D laptop and is why I recognize the real-world range difference changes for closest to farthest objects in a scene.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

As best I've been able to figure out, the 3D screen size setting has to do with insuring the 0 depth plane of the 3D image aligns with the surface of the displays screen and is not in front or in back of that.

This is necessary to minimize eye strain. The 3D effect is not "real" 3D of course -- the imagery is being generated on the surface of the display. That means the eyes need to focus at the distance of the display screen.
You are right that the comfort for the majority of consumers is the key reason, but the Spears & Munsil Stereoscopic test confirms that at 999 = 100% depth-of-field, stereoscopic position is 0% at the surface of the display screen, just as accurate as the default setting.

Paul

An interesting result, but I wonder why that would have any connection with "screen size"??

And of course, it begs the question, which setting more "accurately" renders the 3D content according to what the filmmakers intended?
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #381 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:42 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

And shouldnt HDMI 2 on the 103 be the same as HDMI 1 and 2 on the 103D?

Same as HDMI 2 on the 103D. Should be same as HDMI 1 on the 103D if the Darbee and VRS adjustments are all at their default (0) values.

I've seen testing reports that HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 on the 103D are close enough to identical that no difference can be spotted up to 1080p output, but comparison of either against the HDMI 2 output of the original 103 is tougher due to the practical testing complexities. We EXPECT them to be the same and so far I don't think anyone has spotted any differences.
--Bob
gadgtfreek likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #382 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

An interesting result, but I wonder why that would have any connection with "screen size"??
--Bob
My guess would be that a bigger screen increases seating distance which proportionately maintains the comfort level.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #383 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

An interesting result, but I wonder why that would have any connection with "screen size"??

And of course, it begs the question, which setting more "accurately" renders the 3D content according to what the filmmakers intended?
--Bob

Thats me. I'll just stay at 65" setting for my display size until I hear something different. Very odd for sure.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #384 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Can anyone get subtitles to work with MKV files?

I think oppo needs to fix this as well.

Both my PC (XBMC) and netgear NTV550 media streamer work fine with subtitles, not the oppo.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is offline  
post #385 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 10:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

Can anyone get subtitles to work with MKV files?

What format? VOBSUB, SRT and other text formats are supported, but not PGS/SUP.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is offline  
post #386 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SOWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wauwatosa, WI
Posts: 4,016
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Thank you Bill.

Why. Does the oppo have so many little issues... Guess nothing's perfect... smile.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


SOWK is offline  
post #387 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 11:03 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

Thank you Bill.

Why. Does the oppo have so many little issues... Guess nothing's perfect... smile.gif

Well, no, nothing is.

Media file support all comes from Mediatek. Sometimes they do good things, sometimes you have to be patient. Or live without.

PGS/SUP subtitles can be converted to hidef VOBSUB. Look for a utility called BDSup2Sub.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is offline  
post #388 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 11:09 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 867
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOWK View Post

Thank you Bill.

Why. Does the oppo have so many little issues... Guess nothing's perfect... smile.gif

If it were easy, everyone would be doing it.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #389 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 11:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

And of course, it begs the question, which setting more "accurately" renders the 3D content according to what the filmmakers intended?
--Bob
IMO, For native-3D a filmmaker's intention would be to mimic a true-to-life experience and that would be exactly what you would get comfortably for the majority of consumers with a 999 inch screen.wink.gif


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #390 of 5287 Old 10-11-2013, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
While they have had more disc based issues (new releases) than say Panasonic, their support, reliability and reference output make it well worth the minor tweaks IMO. Of course you pay for it smile.gif

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off