Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 130 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3871 of 5353 Old 05-04-2014, 05:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 880
^ My guess is that the app makers are more paranoid about unintended side-effects in a player (stuff that might slip through their certification testing) because the player outputs their content -- which of course a TV does not do.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3872 of 5353 Old 05-04-2014, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post

Can this player stream music from a Mac?

Sure. Just set up a NFS share.
apw2607 is offline  
post #3873 of 5353 Old 05-04-2014, 11:06 PM
Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm tempted to keep my 103d but have a few niggles:

1) lip sync issues on some discs
2) hdmi handshake issue which leads to occasional flashes. Direct to TV has helped but not totally cured.
3) no thumbnail preview of files from my PC, just text. I'm using servilio.

Anyone else have the same?

Anthem MRX 710 : Monitor Audio Apex 5-A40 : Paradigm Seismic 110 : Panasonic TX-P65VT65B : Oppo 103D
sutton8 is offline  
post #3874 of 5353 Old 05-04-2014, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Try turning off all processing on the display such as Noise Reduction, 120/240Hz, LED Motion Plus, and so forth, as these will negatively impact your A/V Sync. Try setting a generic sync like 90ms, as things currently in sync will still look like they are in sync while things out of sync will now be in proper synchronization.

Try an alternative HDMI cable. A bad HDMI cable can cause the issues that you have described.

Try using an alternative DLNA server and enabled Gracenote Lookup.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #3875 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 03:06 AM
Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Try turning off all processing on the display such as Noise Reduction, 120/240Hz, LED Motion Plus, and so forth, as these will negatively impact your A/V Sync. Try setting a generic sync like 90ms, as things currently in sync will still look like they are in sync while things out of sync will now be in proper synchronization.

Try an alternative HDMI cable. A bad HDMI cable can cause the issues that you have described.

Try using an alternative DLNA server and enabled Gracenote Lookup.

Just a shame there is lip sync error. Its the first player for a while where I have had to adjust and the most expensive. Even my $70 Panasonic has no issue.

All processing is off on the TV, a Panasonic VT65. It helps to connect the video directly to the TV and send audio to the receiver but does not completely cure the problem. I've tried numerous cables.

Gracenote is enabled and I've tried Twonky and Serviio. The Oppo just doesn't have the thumbnail preview functionality unless anyone can tell me different.

Anthem MRX 710 : Monitor Audio Apex 5-A40 : Paradigm Seismic 110 : Panasonic TX-P65VT65B : Oppo 103D
sutton8 is offline  
post #3876 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 06:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by sutton8 View Post

I'm tempted to keep my 103d but have a few niggles:

1) lip sync issues on some discs

. . . .

Start by checking that you have up to date firmware. Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The Main firmware version should end "0218", which is the current Official firmware. Even better is the just released Public Beta firmware which will show as "0430B". You can download that for install via USB stick from the OPPO Support page:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-bdp-103/blu-ray-BDP-103-Support.aspx?prodID=BDP103D

If the player offers a Recommended Reset on the first power up after the firmware install, then you SHOULD do that.



Next, understand that with current firmware installed, the player has CORRECT A/V Sync on its outputs. And so if you are seeing sync errors, we have to look elsewhere to figure out what's happening.

The first thing to check is that you are using test material of known sync quality. That means testing with a calibration disc. Good A/V Sync tests are available on "Spears & Munsil - V2", Blu-ray, available from OPPO, and on Disney's "WOW World of Wonder", Blu-ray, available from Amazon.

Attempting to test sync using real movie content is fraught with difficulty, because many movie discs actually have inherent sync error IN THE CONTENT. In particular, if you are seeing sync error that varies scene by scene you are almost certainly seeing sync error in the content. There are lots of reasons why discs get released this way, but the most common is that the sync error actually dates back to the theatrical original.



If you see sync error when testing with the calibration disc, then check whether audio is early (too little audio delay) or late (too much audio delay).

If there is too MUCH audio delay (audio late), and you are using dual HDMI cabling -- HDMI 1 to the display for video and HDMI 2 to the AVR for audio -- you may be suffering the "helpful AVR" problem. What that means is that the AVR is not aware it has been bypassed for video, and so it adds a chunk of audio delay to compensate for its own, unused, video processing time -- just to be "helpful". This happens even if you have the AVR's sync adjustment set to 0. The cure for this is to convince the AVR that it is not being used for video processing. Check for settings in the AVR that either turn off its video output, or that set it to HDMI pass-through, i.e., unprocessed output.

If there is too LITTLE audio delay (audio early) then something in your video path is doing time consuming video processing which is not being compensated. This could be the AVR (if you are sending video through the AVR) or the Display or both. You may be able to learn more from the Owner's Threads here for your model of AVR and Display. But common time wasters are "motion smoothing" algorithms and handling of 1080p/24 input. That last is pretty ridiculous, but unfortunately true. Some displays take excessively long time to handle 1080p/24 input.

For that last, you can easily check by setting 1080p/24 Output to OFF in the 103D while using an explicit output resolution setting of 1080p -- i.e., not Source Direct and not Auto.

For video "enhancement" processing in the Display, such as out of control motion smoothing algorithms, there's nothing for it but to find out what settings in the Display disable that.

If you can't eliminate excessive video processing time in the AVR or Display, you can use the A/V Sync setting in the 103D to compensate -- i.e., to add audio delay to match. Just be sure you set this using the sync chart from a calibration disc so that you are not chasing inherent sync error in the content itself.

Another thing to watch out for is an "Automatic Lip-sync Correction" option in your AVR. This does nothing more than read a desired audio delay value from your Display during the HDMI handshake. The PROBLEM is that the values proffered by the Displays are often INCORRECT. For example, some Displays return the same value regardless of the video input format and how they are set to process that. It is almost always best to turn off this Automatic Lip-sync feature in your AVR and do any adjustment need to correct for the TRUE video processing time in the Display manually. Just make sure you are checking (with the calibration disc) by sending out audio and video the way you want to do it while watching real movies.
--Bob
mrw1zard and Wayne Charlton like this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3877 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 07:29 AM
Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I do have the latest firmware. Unfortunately the current beta is not available to EU users. Only North American.

Anthem MRX 710 : Monitor Audio Apex 5-A40 : Paradigm Seismic 110 : Panasonic TX-P65VT65B : Oppo 103D
sutton8 is offline  
post #3878 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
crussell1492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi
I bought a Roku STreaming Stick from Amazon, same prices as the Oppo bundle that has been out of stock since I bought my 103D.
The Oppo web site says :
"Does not include the Roku remote - use the OPPO remote instead."

I cant get the Oppo remote to control the Roku, how do you do that?
crussell1492 is offline  
post #3879 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
crussell1492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi
I figured this out, I bought the wrong Roku Stream Stick, I bought the HDMO version, what I needed was the MHL version (which is not available from Amazon, but is available direct from Roku)
crussell1492 is offline  
post #3880 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

Hi
I bought a Roku STreaming Stick from Amazon, same prices as the Oppo bundle that has been out of stock since I bought my 103D.
The Oppo web site says :
"Does not include the Roku remote - use the OPPO remote instead."

I cant get the Oppo remote to control the Roku, how do you do that?

Are you sure you bought the MHL stick, or the newer one that doesn't work with the Oppo remote?
THIS is the new version that probably won't work with the remote.
THIS is the older MHL version that can be used with the Oppo remote.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3881 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 07:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

Hi
I figured this out, I bought the wrong Roku Stream Stick, I bought the HDMO version, what I needed was the MHL version (which is not available from Amazon, but is available direct from Roku)

I see you posted that as I was making my last post.
At least you confirmed what we suspected, and that is that the new version won't work with the Oppo remote.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3882 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
wesslan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is a 103EU but I can't see a 103D EU on Oppo UK. It is still different to US model?
wesslan1 is offline  
post #3883 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 11:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesslan1 View Post

There is a 103EU but I can't see a 103D EU on Oppo UK. It is still different to US model?
Hmm, I am not sure why they labled the 103 and 105 models as "EU", but not the 103D and 105D also as "EU".
I never noticed that until now. I did find this article, but it still doesn't explain why the "D" players are not labeled as "EU" models.
http://www.oppo-bluray.co.uk/customer-services/faq/differences-between-103d-and-103eu.aspx

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3884 of 5353 Old 05-05-2014, 11:57 PM
Member
 
sutton8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
We certainly have a different model over here. Flat refused to do the beta and others are reporting the same. Your 103D is different than our 103D, regardless of how they have labelled this series.

Anthem MRX 710 : Monitor Audio Apex 5-A40 : Paradigm Seismic 110 : Panasonic TX-P65VT65B : Oppo 103D
sutton8 is offline  
post #3885 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 02:52 PM
Member
 
orleans704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’ve had the 103D for a few months and my biggest complaint is the remote. At best about 50% of the button presses register a response on the first press. Otherwise it takes 2-3 hard presses to get feedback. I wrote to Oppo and they had me switch codes to 2 and then 3 using the dip switch next to the batteries. But that didn’t help. By chance I left the cabinet door open and found the remote to work flawlessly. The cabinet door has smoked glass, but I’ve owned it for many years. I’ve had at least 6 pieces of gear in there from DirecTV, Pioneer, Panasonic, Denon, and Yamaha. I’ve not had this trouble until I got the Oppo.

Anyone else have trouble with the remote? Anyone using an IR repeater with it?

Thanks,
Chris
orleans704 is offline  
post #3886 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by orleans704 View Post

I’ve had the 103D for a few months and my biggest complaint is the remote. At best about 50% of the button presses register a response on the first press. Otherwise it takes 2-3 hard presses to get feedback. I wrote to Oppo and they had me switch codes to 2 and then 3 using the dip switch next to the batteries. But that didn’t help. By chance I left the cabinet door open and found the remote to work flawlessly. The cabinet door has smoked glass, but I’ve owned it for many years. I’ve had at least 6 pieces of gear in there from DirecTV, Pioneer, Panasonic, Denon, and Yamaha. I’ve not had this trouble until I got the Oppo.

Anyone else have trouble with the remote? Anyone using an IR repeater with it?

Thanks,
Chris

I don't recall anyone here having the same issue, but based on your description, you seem to have found the problem.
If you have had success with other gear in the same cabinet, I would suggest possibly moving the player to a different shelf or something.
I actually have my player in the back of my theater room and sitting at an angle and the remote signal still bounces off the white screen and controls the player ok,
so I don't think it's a problem of the remote or IR sensor being weak, BUT... it is possible that there could be something wrong with the sensor in your player or remote,
but again, if it works fine with the cabinet door open, then it's probably ok.
The player does also have an IR connection on the back of the player for using an IR extension if you want to try that.
The details on how to use it are in the user manual.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3887 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by orleans704 View Post

Anyone else have trouble with the remote?

Works fine for me through glass doors. You probably tried it, but there's always the chance that you just need fresh batteries
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #3888 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 05:01 PM
Newbie
 
Buster3669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Fella's,

 

Whats the best way to hook up the oppo BDP103d and get all the best benifits?

 

1. HDMI through a Sony strda3400ES then to the PJ?

2. HDMI to the PJ and an audio out from the oppo (optical?) to the receiver?

3. HDMI to the PJ and then back to the receiver via HDMI 1.4a to the receiver? Is this possible?

 

Go easy on me!

Buster3669 is offline  
post #3889 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 05:03 PM
Newbie
 
Buster3669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Option 4. component cables somehow?

Buster3669 is offline  
post #3890 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 07:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buster3669 View Post

Fella's,

Whats the best way to hook up the oppo BDP103d and get all the best benifits?

1. HDMI through a Sony strda3400ES then to the PJ?
2. HDMI to the PJ and an audio out from the oppo (optical?) to the receiver?
3. HDMI to the PJ and then back to the receiver via HDMI 1.4a to the receiver? Is this possible?

Go easy on me!

Best way should be to just run HDMI to your AVR and then HDMi from the AVR to your display.
Unless your AVR somehow mucks with the video signal and degrades it. If that is the case, then you can run the HDMI-1 output from the player directly to the display for video, and then run the HDMI-2 output from the player into the AVR for sound.
( Component doesn't really need to be an option, plus the fact that the player doesn't even have component output wink.gif )

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3891 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 07:41 PM
Member
 
soprano_777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking of of the 103D have pioneer elite 05 and pioneer 65 in plasma with i see see a difference in picture quality and how would i hook up Verizon Hd dvd and X box one , thank you for your time and response
soprano_777 is offline  
post #3892 of 5353 Old 05-06-2014, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Hey guys, I'm thinking to get Oppo 103D, I want to ask you if anyone have experiance with region free one. How it is work? Thanks.

Denon X4000
Klipsch RF-82II's , RC-62II , RS-52II's , RB-81II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses
Emotiva XPA-3
Sony KDF-60XS955
Apple Mac mini, Sony PS3
retro124 is online now  
post #3893 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gene9p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 1,304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by soprano_777 View Post

Thinking of of the 103D have pioneer elite 05 and pioneer 65 in plasma with i see see a difference in picture quality and how would i hook up Verizon Hd dvd and X box one , thank you for your time and response

I preferred my 83 over my 05 to my panny 65vt60. Both are gone now and I have a 103..not a D as I have 2 Darbee Darblets. Both the 83 and the 05 were also passed through the darbees. Both offer excellent picture but the 83 and now the 103 are so fast loading and off much more adjustments and on the fly menu access than the 05. The 05 is no slouch, especially paired with now also gone Elite 111fd plasma but the Panny and Oppo are a great combo biggrin.gif
gene9p is offline  
post #3894 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 06:43 AM
Member
 
orleans704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

The player does also have an IR connection on the back of the player for using an IR extension if you want to try that.
The details on how to use it are in the user manual.
Thanks. In the manual it says use only an Oppo remote sensor for their IR IN port. I find no such item on their website. Has anyone used the IR IN port?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

Works fine for me through glass doors. You probably tried it, but there's always the chance that you just need fresh batteries
That was the first thing I did was put in new Duracells.
orleans704 is offline  
post #3895 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 06:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by orleans704 View Post

Thanks. In the manual it says use only an Oppo remote sensor for their IR IN port. I find no such item on their website. Has anyone used the IR IN port?
That was the first thing I did was put in new Duracells.

They used to sell an external IR extension, but I haven't seen it on their website for a long time.
Perhaps they stopped selling them due to low sales or lack of supplies, but if you are more curious,
I would recommend calling them or sending them an email to inquire.
Perhaps they have one on hand they will sell you, or they can recommend any known compatible 3rd party hardware that will work with their players.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #3896 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 155
According to the 103D manual the IR input now uses the more standard mono plug with tip=IR signal and sleeve=ground. It's different from older models (like the 83) that needed the non-standard external IR sensor from Oppo.
kriktsemaj99 is online now  
post #3897 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 08:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 880
*** OPPO UK has now posted firmware 0430B as a Public Beta for the European, 10x family of players: ***

http://www.oppo-bluray.co.uk/customer-services/firmware-updates/bdp-103d-105d-beta-firmware.aspx

--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #3898 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 09:07 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by kriktsemaj99 View Post

According to the 103D manual the IR input now uses the more standard mono plug with tip=IR signal and sleeve=ground. It's different from older models (like the 83) that needed the non-standard external IR sensor from Oppo.
The older models used a 3 pin plug where the 3rd pin provided power to the external IR sensor. The 2 pin plug the newer models use is compatible with most IR emitter outputs, such as those used by Xantech, Crestron, etc. The catch is that you can't just plug in a remote IR receiver. But you could get a Xantech IR receiver, a Xantech IR connecting block that works with the receiver and then hook one of the IR outputs from the block into the IR input on the Oppo. There are a number of preconfigured kits available that come with all the needed parts to make this happen from various brands.
gsr is online now  
post #3899 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 10:07 AM
Member
 
orleans704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

They used to sell an external IR extension, but I haven't seen it on their website for a long time.
Perhaps they stopped selling them due to low sales or lack of supplies, but if you are more curious,
I would recommend calling them or sending them an email to inquire.
Perhaps they have one on hand they will sell you, or they can recommend any known compatible 3rd party hardware that will work with their players.

Oppo's short and sweet response is:
"We are temporarily out of the IR-ES2, so you would need to connect the player a universal remote that has a IR base station or a IR repeater such as those by Xantech or Niles."

Does anybody ever used one of these?
orleans704 is offline  
post #3900 of 5353 Old 05-07-2014, 05:00 PM
Member
 
WestCDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by orleans704 View Post

Oppo's short and sweet response is:
"We are temporarily out of the IR-ES2, so you would need to connect the player a universal remote that has a IR base station or a IR repeater such as those by Xantech or Niles."

Does anybody ever used one of these?
I purchased a generic wired IR remote module off Ebay for 'whole home' IR control of an HT stack, which has three IR receiver input jacks and six outputs. They are relatively inexpensive, come with remote IR receivers that connect to the inputs, and also IR flashers that plug in to the outputs. The flashers can be adhered over the IR input window on the front of components. As the Oppo has an IR input, I used a direct M-M 3.5mm stereo audio patch cable instead, as with my Yamaha RX-V1800 receiver - it works great with both of them. My other components I use the adhesive flashers, as they don't have IR inputs. Previously I used an RF remote control, but find this a much more reliable solution - it does require low voltage wiring to the rooms with the remote IR receivers, but it works with no problems. My longest distance to a remote IR receiver is currently about 50 feet, and I upgraded the power supply from 1 amp to 5 amp to ensure it had lots of current available for longer runs and multiple receivers.

I used cat 5 cabling and RJ45 jacks/faceplates for the remote room extension runs (already had it in the master bedroom for a TV network connection), and made RJ-45 to 3.5mm phone jack adapters for each end from a short piece of cat 5 patch cable. The IR receivers plug into the adapter cable, and a M-M analog cable connects the other end adapter cable to the IR module in the HT stack. You can add additional receivers to the IR module for additional rooms, using Y cables on the three available inputs.
WestCDA is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off