Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 148 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4411 of 4777 Old 06-13-2014, 08:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
^ "Should" is hard to answer. Just try it both ways and see which you like better.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4412 of 4777 Old 06-13-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by StanGeek View Post
Just getting my first Oppo today. Since my display is not a "true" 4K display (it's a JVC e-shift 3 projector), should I still opt for letting the Oppo do the upscaling?

I have tried using my old blu-ray player (Sony S790) do the upscaling in the past and was not too thrilled. Will the Oppo be better at that job?

Thanks.
There's only one way to answer this, which is to try both ways and use whatever looks best. Some 4K supporting displays tend to look better with 1080p input due to their own internal processing quirks. As yet, 4K support is more of a marketing tool than a pathway to superior image quality. If you're really serious, consider a pro calibration.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4413 of 4777 Old 06-13-2014, 12:00 PM
Member
 
StanGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks! I will try the Oppo first and see how it looks.
StanGeek is offline  
post #4414 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 11:08 AM
Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is the BDP-103D worth it?

Is the Oppo 103D going to have that much of a difference between perhaps a $200 Samsung, Panasonic, or Sony blu-ray player or is it for true videophiles where the layperson wouldn't notice?

I'd be pairing it with a Vizio R or P series OR a panny AX900 or something else very good reviews in late 2014 early 2015.

Thanks,
JOe K.
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #4415 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 11:20 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,969
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Is the Oppo 103D going to have that much of a difference between perhaps a $200 Samsung, Panasonic, or Sony blu-ray player or is it for true videophiles where the layperson wouldn't notice?

I'd be pairing it with a Vizio R or P series OR a panny AX900 or something else very good reviews in late 2014 early 2015.

Thanks,
JOe K.
I'll go with videophile.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #4416 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 11:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,721
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Is the Oppo 103D going to have that much of a difference between perhaps a $200 Samsung, Panasonic, or Sony blu-ray player or is it for true videophiles where the layperson wouldn't notice?

I'd be pairing it with a Vizio R or P series OR a panny AX900 or something else very good reviews in late 2014 early 2015.

Thanks,
JOe K.
That depends on what features you're interested in. For Blu-ray discs you would be fine with last years Sony or Panasonic players at sub $100 prices.

If you have a big collections of DVD movies you would probably find that the OPPO does a better job of converting 480i to 1080p. But maybe not.
htwaits is offline  
post #4417 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 12:05 PM
Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
That depends on what features you're interested in. For Blu-ray discs you would be fine with last years Sony or Panasonic players at sub $100 prices.

If you have a big collections of DVD movies you would probably find that the OPPO does a better job of converting 480i to 1080p. But maybe not.
yeah, it would be Blu-Ray discs. The reason I'm curious is because in 2009 I went from a cheap Phillips DVD player to an Oppo and the difference was strikingly noticeable. I don't know if that would be the case anymore considering the quality of blu-ray discs. But that said, I never would have expected such a difference when I shelled out the extra for a quality DVD player (back in the day).

Considering I'll be rolling 4k, perhaps the upconvert for 1080p BR to 4k MIGHT be worth it. If there is an increase in color depth, that would be a selling point as well (perhaps a newer OPPO model, after all it's gonna be 2015 when I pull the trigger).

Any further advice/experience appreciated,
JOe K.
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #4418 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
That depends on what features you're interested in. For Blu-ray discs you would be fine with last years Sony or Panasonic players at sub $100 prices.

If you have a big collections of DVD movies you would probably find that the OPPO does a better job of converting 480i to 1080p. But maybe not.
yeah, it would be Blu-Ray discs. The reason I'm curious is because in 2009 I went from a cheap Phillips DVD player to an Oppo and the difference was strikingly noticeable. I don't know if that would be the case anymore considering the quality of blu-ray discs. But that said, I never would have expected such a difference when I shelled out the extra for a quality DVD player (back in the day).

Considering I'll be rolling 4k, perhaps the upconvert for 1080p BR to 4k MIGHT be worth it. If there is an increase in color depth, that would be a selling point as well (perhaps a newer OPPO model, after all it's gonna be 2015 when I pull the trigger).

Any further advice/experience appreciated,
JOe K.
Well I would say a big factor would be if you want to use the Darbee processing right? I just made the jump on a simple 50 inch Panasonic plasma and the difference is stunning! Also the quality factor of the Oppo equipment is very nice as well
jlpowell84 is online now  
post #4419 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post

Well I would say a big factor would be if you want to use the Darbee processing right? I just made the jump on a simple 50 inch Panasonic plasma and the difference is stunning! Also the quality factor of the Oppo equipment is very nice as well
yes, If I'm shelling out $500+ for a blu ray player I'm going big with it.

Curious if playing it through MadVr as opposed to the Oppo with Darbee would yield better results (this is an HTPC with a beefy GPU). Too bad I can't get a demo of one of these
tjcinnamon is offline  
post #4420 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post

Well I would say a big factor would be if you want to use the Darbee processing right? I just made the jump on a simple 50 inch Panasonic plasma and the difference is stunning! Also the quality factor of the Oppo equipment is very nice as well
yes, If I'm shelling out $500+ for a blu ray player I'm going big with it.

Curious if playing it through MadVr as opposed to the Oppo with Darbee would yield better results (this is an HTPC with a beefy GPU). Too bad I can't get a demo of one of these
Well it's not a demo but the return policy is good - if you don't like it, you are just out return shipping.
hernanu is offline  
post #4421 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Benje2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was tweaking my OPPO 103d (AU) and got unnecessarily confused (I think).

I run into a Denon 3808a via hdmi, and generally bitstream the dsd for decoding by the denon 3808a. It has worked well on my previous 83 and 93, and seemed to be working on my 103d.

I then saw on the FAQ and on here (and read in the manual) that the oppo 103d won't output dsd over hdmi 1, so you should use hdmi 2. I didn't like this answer as it introduces extra complexity into my set-up. But then I thought - I am already using hdmi 1, and am getting dsd output (at least I think I am). How can this be?

Then I read a little further and I see that DSD and the Marvell Qdeo video processor chip are incompatible. So, I can understand why I might have an issue with an OPPO 103. But I have a 103D which does not have a Qdeo video chip - it has the Darbee Visual Presence and the Silicon Image VRS ClearView video processors. So, perhaps that is why I get to receive DSD over hdmi 1 as I thought I was receiving (and as my denon 388a was telling me.

If this is so, perhaps a clarifying comment in the unofficial FAQ would be good to explain the difference on the 103 and the 103D, and the next OPPO manual update could amend the note to SACD DSD Output (point 4 on Audio Format Setup, page 64?

Or I could just be imagining things.

Benje
Benje2 is offline  
post #4422 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 03:46 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
^ Nope, you figured it out.

The 103D and 105D relax this restriction. HDMI DSD is available on both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs of those, if connected to an AVR that can accept that.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4423 of 4777 Old 06-14-2014, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Benje2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Nope, you figured it out.

The 103D and 105D relax this restriction. HDMI DSD is available on both the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 outputs of those, if connected to an AVR that can accept that.
--Bob
thanks Bob, reassuring to know - I haven't lost all of my marbles! Yet.
Benje2 is offline  
post #4424 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 12:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
cardoski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Beyond The Wall.
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjcinnamon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post

Well I would say a big factor would be if you want to use the Darbee processing right? I just made the jump on a simple 50 inch Panasonic plasma and the difference is stunning! Also the quality factor of the Oppo equipment is very nice as well
yes, If I'm shelling out $500+ for a blu ray player I'm going big with it.

Curious if playing it through MadVr as opposed to the Oppo with Darbee would yield better results (this is an HTPC with a beefy GPU). Too bad I can't get a demo of one of these

MadVr looks better in my opinion, the OPPO is no better at blu-ray playback then a cheap BD player. It is nice build quality and the darbee is ok but a HTPC offers a lot of customization and tweaking.

James Reid:D
cardoski is online now  
post #4425 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 03:19 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio Return Chaneel

I would like to use my 103d as a video post processor and I was hoping that I could use ARC so that I only needed one cable from AVR to OPPO to Display.

Has anyone gotten that to work?
vodil is offline  
post #4426 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 03:47 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
I would like to use my 103d as a video post processor and I was hoping that I could use ARC so that I only needed one cable from AVR to OPPO to Display.

Has anyone gotten that to work?
When you are using Audio Return Channel (i.e., digital audio coming back into the OPPO along the HDMI cable that is normally the OUTPUT to the Display) there is no video content going through the OPPO. So if your plan was to do both at the same time, the answer is that won't work.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4427 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 05:22 PM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Bob Pariseau;24992058]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
When you are using Audio Return Channel (i.e., digital audio coming back into the OPPO along the HDMI cable that is normally the OUTPUT to the Display) there is no video content going through the OPPO. So if your plan was to do both at the same time, the answer is that won't work.
--Bob
Sorry. I was unclear. I want to use the Audio Return from the OPPO to the AVR for when the OPPO is working. In other words I would like the AVR to think the OPPO is the "TV" and its getting its sounds from ARC. If it works it saves a lot of cabling and obviates HDMI loops.
vodil is offline  
post #4428 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 05:34 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
^ Nope. The OPPO only implements ARC for audio INPUT, not OUTPUT. Just use a regular HDMI output of the OPPO to your AVR.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4429 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 05:34 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,377
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
Sorry. I was unclear. I want to use the Audio Return from the OPPO to the AVR for when the OPPO is working. In other words I would like the AVR to think the OPPO is the "TV" and its getting its sounds from ARC. If it works it saves a lot of cabling and obviates HDMI loops.
ARC only works for getting audio INTO the Oppo, the Oppo won't send audio from the Oppo's HDMI inputs back to your AVR.
gsr is online now  
post #4430 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So I could change the input on the tv to send the audio through the hdmi and back out to the avr on the hdmi 2 output?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #4431 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 06:39 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
So I could change the input on the tv to send the audio through the hdmi and back out to the avr on the hdmi 2 output?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Yes, if your TV also implements Audio Return Channel (may only be on one TV input).

The idea is that when you are watching via the internal channel tuner of the TV, you can use the existing (but unused for this type of viewing) HDMI input cable into the TV to instead send that TV Chanel's audio back OUT of the TV. Normally this would go back to the AVR, but in this case it would become an audio-only Input of the OPPO. It saves having to run another cable out of the TV for that audio.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4432 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyOmega View Post
So I could change the input on the tv to send the audio through the hdmi and back out to the avr on the hdmi 2 output?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Yes, if your TV also implements Audio Return Channel (may only be on one TV input).

The idea is that when you are watching via the internal channel tuner of the TV, you can use the existing (but unused for this type of viewing) HDMI input cable into the TV to instead send that TV Chanel's audio back OUT of the TV. Normally this would go back to the AVR, but in this case it would become an audio-only Input of the OPPO. It saves having to run another cable out of the TV for that audio.
--Bob
Wouldn't it just be easier to have the one hdmi going from the oppo to an avr then on to the TV. Provided the avr supports 4k of course. I would however run my sky box through the oppo on the way to the avr for the darbee.


It certainly becomes a cloudy mess when lots of inputs and outputs are involved

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #4433 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 06:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
^ Of course. Like I said, Audio Return Channel is designed for use with the TV's *INTERNAL* channel tuner -- or perhaps its built in Internet apps. No SkyTV box involved.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 06-16-2014 at 10:32 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4434 of 4777 Old 06-15-2014, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
WhiskeyOmega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yea I'm trying to work out my system for optimal results that I'll be installing this week. It also includes a ps4 but as video processing including darbee I'm sure causes lag I think it's best to go direct from ps4 to TV

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LG 55LA970W - Oppo 103D - Denon Avr - Kef Q2,5,6 speakers and Rel 150 sub
WhiskeyOmega is offline  
post #4435 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 10:27 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess its a suggestion for next Darbee model

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Of course. Like I said, Audio Return Channel is designed for use with the TV's *INTERNAL* channel tuner -- or perhaps it's built in Internet apps.
--Bob
Too bad. OPPO should consider adding ARC to the HDMI-in in-back so that the the wiring is greatly simplified. One HDMI cable between the OPPO-AVR; one HDMI cable between OPPO-DISPLAY. For Disks, the audio from the OPPO goes back on ARC to AVR and Video to Displays. All other video sources go through AVR and video goes through OPPO (for processing) and on to displays.
vodil is offline  
post #4436 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 10:33 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Modern AVR with OPPO quality

When I get my Onkyo 3009 back from warranty work, I am giving up on Onkyos after a dozen years and 4 different models. The reliability has just been too bad.

So my question for the people who can appreciate (and of course afford) the quality of OPPO, what is the modern AVR of choice. I'd like to not have to think about replacing it for the rest of the decade.
vodil is offline  
post #4437 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 10:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 817
Quote:
Originally Posted by vodil View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Of course. Like I said, Audio Return Channel is designed for use with the TV's *INTERNAL* channel tuner -- or perhaps it's built in Internet apps.
--Bob
Too bad. OPPO should consider adding ARC to the HDMI-in in-back so that the the wiring is greatly simplified. One HDMI cable between the OPPO-AVR; one HDMI cable between OPPO-DISPLAY. For Disks, the audio from the OPPO goes back on ARC to AVR and Video to Displays. All other video sources go through AVR and video goes through OPPO (for processing) and on to displays.
Nope. Audio Return Channel is too limited in the audio formats it carries. Audiophiles need not apply. It's like Optical/COAX (S/PDif) cabling. Lossy DD and DTS (up to 5.1) and stereo (only) LPCM.

It's really just another, typical half-measure from HDMI.ORG to gussy up the spec. Not particularly well thought out for any sort of general use.

It is for TV channel audio. That's it.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #4438 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
anybody ever hear their player make a momentary squeal?
I heard the sound twice in the last month, it could also be my Cable DVR or the plumbing in my house...

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is offline  
post #4439 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I started watching Captain Phillips on my 103D the other night, but could not get the subtitles to show. I was watching via an mkv file (made with MakeMKV) from an NAS on my local network. The file has three PGS subtitles to choose from and I cycled through all of them trying to find the forced subs for when the pirates were speaking. None of the subtitle choices showed any subs for me. I switched over to playing the file on my Boxee Box and all three subtitle choices worked and I was able to select the option that only showed when the pirates spoke. This was the first time I had tried to watch subs with my Oppo, so the next day I tried out some other movies on my NAS to see if any worked. On some movies the subs would show, but for others I couldn't get anything to show (everything showed on the Boxee). From what I've been able to find, it seems PGS subtitles should work on the Oppo - am I wrong?
met_fan is offline  
post #4440 of 4777 Old 06-16-2014, 04:47 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,969
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
From what I've been able to find, it seems PGS subtitles should work on the Oppo - am I wrong?
I use them and have had no difficulty, but I know forced subtitles are a topic of considerable anguish in the ripping threads. I haven't studied the matter but everything seems to work for me. I haven't seen Capt Phillips.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off