Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 149 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4441 of 6699 Old 06-16-2014, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I use them and have had no difficulty, but I know forced subtitles are a topic of considerable anguish in the ripping threads. I haven't studied the matter but everything seems to work for me. I haven't seen Capt Phillips.

-Bill
Yeah - if it was just the forced subs that weren't working I wouldn't think as much of it, but none of the subs are working.
met_fan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4442 of 6699 Old 06-16-2014, 06:50 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by met_fan View Post
Yeah - if it was just the forced subs that weren't working I wouldn't think as much of it, but none of the subs are working.
Are Blu-ray and DVD subtitles ok? You wouldn't have them shifted off the bottom of the screen?

The OPPO has two controls for subtitles position

(1) Setup -> Video Setup -> Display Options -> Subtitle Shift

This may be for Blu-ray and DVD only. I haven't check media files recently.

(2) Option button -> Subtitle Adj.

This works for SRT subtitles in MKV, but I don't recall testing graphic formats like PGS or VOBSUB.

-Bill
cardoski likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #4443 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Roku 3400M

I was about a click away from purchasing the Roku 3400M from Oppo's website when a thought occurred to me. Is it smarter to go for the Roku 3 for a bit more or should I just stick with the 3400? If Roku still supports the 3400 (firmwares, additional channels)- it's a no call. The primary reason I'm getting it is because of the mediocre PQ of Amazon prime app on my Panasonic VT60. My 103D has spoiled me to the extent that I can't stand streaming anything anymore without it doing its thing to clean it up in the background. On the other hand I don't think I can add the Roku 3 to my chain to make it work the same way. Any thoughts?
Chere is offline  
post #4444 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 08:30 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Excuse me if this is a stupid question, but are we allowed to discuss playback of Blu-Ray iso files on the 103D, or is that forbidden?
mecmec is offline  
post #4445 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 08:33 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
Excuse me if this is a stupid question, but are we allowed to discuss playback of Blu-Ray iso files on the 103D, or is that forbidden?
ISO playback is not possible with the official firmware. If you are talking about hacked firmware, that might be against forum rules. Contact a forum moderator to ask about policy.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #4446 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 08:45 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Hence the question!
mecmec is offline  
post #4447 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 08:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post
I was about a click away from purchasing the Roku 3400M from Oppo's website when a thought occurred to me. Is it smarter to go for the Roku 3 for a bit more or should I just stick with the 3400? If Roku still supports the 3400 (firmwares, additional channels)- it's a no call. The primary reason I'm getting it is because of the mediocre PQ of Amazon prime app on my Panasonic VT60. My 103D has spoiled me to the extent that I can't stand streaming anything anymore without it doing its thing to clean it up in the background. On the other hand I don't think I can add the Roku 3 to my chain to make it work the same way. Any thoughts?
The Roku Amazon app is light-years better than what you get on a TV, and it supports the watchlist function. All the Roku devices use pretty much the same software, the main differences are processing power (in terms of performance). The Roku-3 will be much faster. Aside from that, the factors driving your choice should be the difference in the way they connect. The stick relies on wireless, the box can use Ethernet. The stick uses the Oppo remote, the box uses a Roku remote. The MHL version stick gets its power from the Oppo.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4448 of 6699 Old 06-18-2014, 10:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 213
^...and yes you can still run a Roku3 through the Oppo via one of it's 2 HDMI inputs.
You can also use the Roku3 in a different setup later if you wanted to move it, but the MHL stick must be used on a "Roku Ready" device.
There is also the newer version of the Roku stick that doesn't require it to be plugged into a "Roku Ready" device,
but must be plugged into a USB or was outlet for power.
They all have their advantages for one reason or another. You just have to decide which is best for you .

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4449 of 6699 Old 06-19-2014, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Hello everyone.

My Sony BX510 from Costco quit. It will not power on at all. It's only 6 months old and Sony wants me to ship it back for an exchange. But the thing is i think I only paid $59-$69 and it's not worth the shipping and time to exchange for a refurb.

So leads me to this thread. I have wanted an Oppo for a while now. I still have my Denon 2910 that cost me a small fortune many years ago.

So my setup is as follows:

Benq W1070
Denon 3806
100 inch elite screen
Cable box
Xbox 360

The Denon receiver cannot decode master audio either. So in everyone's opinion would the Oppo 103d be a good choice say over another Sony or $100 player?

Right now I have Hdmi going directly to the PJ for the blu ray player and digital audio to the Denon.

So what would everyone suggest?

Thank you
bluer101 is online now  
post #4450 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 07:27 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
^ You can certainly use the OPPO that way. In addition, if your Denon has HDMI Inputs that accept high bit-rate, multi-channel LPCM, then you can set the OPPO to produce HDMI LPCM audio output and the OPPO will do all the decoding for you.

As for value, that depends on how you will use the player. The OPPO handles more disc formats than the typical, inexpensive player, and also offers things like digital INPUTS -- e.g., you could feed you Cable TV through the OPPO.

In addition, it's getting harder and harder these days to find any inexpensive player that has Analog audio outputs.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4451 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ You can certainly use the OPPO that way. In addition, if your Denon has HDMI Inputs that accept high bit-rate, multi-channel LPCM, then you can set the OPPO to produce HDMI LPCM audio output and the OPPO will do all the decoding for you.

As for value, that depends on how you will use the player. The OPPO handles more disc formats than the typical, inexpensive player, and also offers things like digital INPUTS -- e.g., you could feed you Cable TV through the OPPO.

In addition, it's getting harder and harder these days to find any inexpensive player that has Analog audio outputs.
--Bob

I think my denon can do lpcm but in order to do 7.1 I need to do a firmware update to it. Right now I'm running 5.1 but changing to 7.1. Now would it be better to use the hdmi for audio or the analog out? Does audessey have any control if so?

I was going to use the oppo to feed my PJ with darbee and my 60 inch Sony behind the screen with out darbee. I
know in order to pass through the oppo needs to be on for this. Is this an issue with leaving it on all the time?

Sorry for all the questions.

This is my setup.




Last edited by bluer101; 06-20-2014 at 08:52 AM.
bluer101 is online now  
post #4452 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 09:01 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
^ Your Denon has 7.1 Analog input but only 5.1 HDMI LPCM input? That's unusual.

You'll have to ask in the Denon owner's thread for your model regarding Audyssey. Typically it would NOT be offered for multi-channel Analog input.

There's no problem leaving the player on. I suggest you remove the disc when you are done viewing it.

Generally, I recommend people use HDMI audio with the 103D if the AVR supports it. It's simpler.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4453 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Your Denon has 7.1 Analog input but only 5.1 HDMI LPCM input? That's unusual.

You'll have to ask in the Denon owner's thread for your model regarding Audyssey. Typically it would NOT be offered for multi-channel Analog input.

There's no problem leaving the player on. I suggest you remove the disc when you are done viewing it.

Generally, I recommend people use HDMI audio with the 103D if the AVR supports it. It's simpler.
--Bob

Thank you,

It supports 7.1 after a firmware update. I have not needed to update.
bluer101 is online now  
post #4454 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 12:55 PM
Member
 
StanGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello.

Has anyone else had a sync issue between the video and audio when using the split A/V setup? I ran one HDMI cable to my projector from the HDMI1 port and another HDMI cable to my AV receiver from the HDMI2 port. The dialog was out of sync with the video (no lip sync available).

Thanks.
StanGeek is offline  
post #4455 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 02:04 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 776 Post(s)
Liked: 1089
^ Is audio ahead of video or behind video?
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4456 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 05:34 PM
Member
 
CubsWin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to decide between the 103 and 103D for my family room, which will have a 50" Panasonic LED TV. Input sources will be the Oppo for blu-ray, a Roku, and a Dish Hopper DVR.

Will there be any significant advantage to buying the 103D, or with my combination of screen size and input sources will it offer limited benefit over the base 103 model?

Also, has anyone used the Roku Streaming Stick in the MHL port and, if so, can you comment on the performance?

Thanks!
CubsWin1 is offline  
post #4457 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 05:43 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubsWin1 View Post
I am trying to decide between the 103 and 103D for my family room, which will have a 50" Panasonic LED TV. Input sources will be the Oppo for blu-ray, a Roku, and a Dish Hopper DVR.

Will there be any significant advantage to buying the 103D, or with my combination of screen size and input sources will it offer limited benefit over the base 103 model?

Also, has anyone used the Roku Streaming Stick in the MHL port and, if so, can you comment on the performance?

Thanks!
The Darbee processing of the -103D is a subtle effect when used properly, but most people would say a positive one. Up to you whether that is significant or limited.

Roku: it works. What do you mean by performance?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #4458 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
CubsWin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Roku: it works. What do you mean by performance?
How responsive are the menus when being navigated with the Oppo remote vs. a dedicated Roku 3 box? I assume the Roku 3 is always going to be faster, but would you consider the Streaming Stick to be sluggish when used witht he Oppo?
CubsWin1 is offline  
post #4459 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 640 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubsWin1 View Post
How responsive are the menus when being navigated with the Oppo remote vs. a dedicated Roku 3 box? I assume the Roku 3 is always going to be faster, but would you consider the Streaming Stick to be sluggish when used witht he Oppo?
Its all relative. the Roku-3 has roughly twice the processing power and its faster. the stick is close to a Roku-2. I wouldn't call it sluggish though.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #4460 of 6699 Old 06-20-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 213
^ I wouldn't call it sluggish either. I have never used a Roku3, but one of my pet peeves is slow navigation,
and the Roku MHL pretty decent on speed. I can definitely see room for improvement, but it's not "slow".

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4461 of 6699 Old 06-21-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Just wanted to say I just got my 103D yesterday. It has been over 5 years since I enyoyed my DVD-A's. I had forgotten how much I like quality musical presentation. Frankly for the money, this device is a wonderful value.
mhobart likes this.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is online now  
post #4462 of 6699 Old 06-21-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Hey folk,

My BDP-83 died, at least the DVD part. I am planning to ship it back for repair but need another BD player in the house anyway so am looking at a 103D. My question is about CD playback delay; the previous generations have a delay before starting CD playback, and I thought that was true of the 103/105x but am not sure. Thought I'd check here. On many CDs it is not noticeable but on same it is quite annoying. The delay can be 1 - 3 seconds for the HDMI output, but is maybe only 0.5 s or so using the analog outputs on my 83.

I thought about a 105D, but it just isn't in the budget this month, and when I compared the 83/85 and 93/95 I could not tell much if any difference between HDMI and analog outputs among any of them (except for the dealy, natch).

Curious, thanks - Don

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #4463 of 6699 Old 06-21-2014, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Your Denon has 7.1 Analog input but only 5.1 HDMI LPCM input? That's unusual.

You'll have to ask in the Denon owner's thread for your model regarding Audyssey. Typically it would NOT be offered for multi-channel Analog input.

There's no problem leaving the player on. I suggest you remove the disc when you are done viewing it.

Generally, I recommend people use HDMI audio with the 103D if the AVR supports it. It's simpler.
--Bob

Thank you for your answers. I just got back from Costco to ask for a receipt so I can ship my Sony to get replaced. The lady asked what was wrong with the blu ray so I told her. She said just bring it back to get your money or exchange. The 90 day return does not apply to blu ray players. So I will return and get my money back from Costco.

Now I'm going to order the Oppo 103d in a few days.

Is it best to get it directly from Oppo?
bluer101 is online now  
post #4464 of 6699 Old 06-21-2014, 05:46 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,115
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 852 Post(s)
Liked: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
Is it best to get it directly from Oppo?
That's what most people do, or so I suppose. You can get free shipping from Amazon, although I have sometimes found their shipping to be sluggish. OPPO is always fast out the door.

If you do buy elsewhere, be sure to register the player online at OPPO. It's good luck.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #4465 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 09:35 AM
Member
 
ComradeBrehznev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Morgan Hill CA
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
Thank you for your answers. I just got back from Costco to ask for a receipt so I can ship my Sony to get replaced. The lady asked what was wrong with the blu ray so I told her. She said just bring it back to get your money or exchange. The 90 day return does not apply to blu ray players. So I will return and get my money back from Costco.

Now I'm going to order the Oppo 103d in a few days.

Is it best to get it directly from Oppo?
I believe either way the product ships from Oppo. I wish I wouldd have ordered mine through Oppo directly, though since I could have easily driven to Mountain View to pick it up in person ;-)

ComradeBrehznev

ComradeBrehznev is offline  
post #4466 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,832
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 679 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That's what most people do, or so I suppose. You can get free shipping from Amazon, although I have sometimes found their shipping to be sluggish. OPPO is always fast out the door.

If you do buy elsewhere, be sure to register the player online at OPPO. It's good luck.

-Bill
I ordered from JDSmoothie here on AVS. He sells for AV science. Got the Oppo and S & M video calibration disc. It is like 15 bucks shipping is all. But I am a veteran Amazon Prime user and the Oppo 103 is 499 and free shipping but the 103d is 599 and 18.46 shipping. So you can't get free shipping on the 103D and only the 103? I'm sure it's a Darbee thing to bump revenue ever so slightly. But hey you can order it Prime from some company called "ABC" that is fulfilled by Amazon but they charge 799 for the 103D!!! Outrageous!

PSN ID: Jlpowell84
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
My Setup Thread
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/19-ded...4-s-setup.html
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #4467 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ti-triodes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Damfino
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post
Hey folk,

My BDP-83 died, at least the DVD part. I am planning to ship it back for repair but need another BD player in the house anyway so am looking at a 103D. My question is about CD playback delay; the previous generations have a delay before starting CD playback, and I thought that was true of the 103/105x but am not sure. Thought I'd check here. On many CDs it is not noticeable but on same it is quite annoying. The delay can be 1 - 3 seconds for the HDMI output, but is maybe only 0.5 s or so using the analog outputs on my 83.

I thought about a 105D, but it just isn't in the budget this month, and when I compared the 83/85 and 93/95 I could not tell much if any difference between HDMI and analog outputs among any of them (except for the dealy, natch).

Curious, thanks - Don


If you mean the first couple of seconds get cut off on the 83, this does not happen when I press play on the 103D. That's when I press play from the Home Menu with Auto Resume and Auto Play off. It's OK with both Analog and HDMI. If you mean there's a pause before it starts playing on HDMI, I'm sure it's because HDMI is doing the usual annoying handshake permissions that it always does.
ti-triodes is offline  
post #4468 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,596
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 374 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Thanks! Yeah, I know about the HDMI handshake, but it happens with analog outputs as well on the 83 (and 93/95 per Oppo, not sure about the 103/105).

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
post #4469 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 06:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
I ordered from JDSmoothie here on AVS. He sells for AV science. Got the Oppo and S & M video calibration disc. It is like 15 bucks shipping is all. But I am a veteran Amazon Prime user and the Oppo 103 is 499 and free shipping but the 103d is 599 and 18.46 shipping. So you can't get free shipping on the 103D and only the 103? I'm sure it's a Darbee thing to bump revenue ever so slightly. But hey you can order it Prime from some company called "ABC" that is fulfilled by Amazon but they charge 799 for the 103D!!! Outrageous!
Amazon.com sells the BDP-103, and that is why you get free shipping with it.
The BDP-103D is not sold by Amazon, but sold through the Amazon Marketplace from Oppo Digital Inc.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4470 of 6699 Old 06-22-2014, 09:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Citivas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Trouble using Oppo with Soundbar

I have an Oppo 103D with HDMI out to a Vizio M801D-A3. HDMI Audio is set to bitstream (though I tried Auto as well). The Vizio can pass bitstream 5.1 to a sound bar (this is a specific feature of this TV). The sound bar is the Vizio S4251W-B4, which has a discrete 5.1 channels with a subwoofer and rear surround speakers. It can accept Bitstream from an optical cable (which is doing from the TV) and process 5.1 channels.

With my other sources I am getting 5.1. For example, DirecTV sends 5.1 to the soundbar. But the Oppo only seems to send 2.1, if that. I hear no sound from the subwoofer, and only the faintest of sound from the surrounds. When I run the Spears & Munsil disc's audio tests I get nothing discrete from the rear speakers or the subwoofer. Again, this seems to be unique to the Oppo as a source.

Any suggestions? Any obvious setting I am missing? It's a bummer right now when DirecTV programming sounds awesome but anything from the Oppo sounds not so great.
Citivas is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off