Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I have been using for years Netgear powerline hd adapters. They work perfect without running wires all over the house.
bluer101 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
I still can't get the crosstalk to disappear when watching 3D movies.

Using my PT-AE7000 set screen size to 140" and Pioneer BDP-62 3D set to "on" (there is no TV size adjustment on the BDP-62) there is hardly any crosstalk.

However when connected to Oppo BDP-103D the crosstalk is unbearable. I tried various the screen size setting on the player but the crosstalk remains insanely high.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #4533 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 04:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
^ The Screen Size setting has nothing to do with Crosstalk. You are talking about the image intended for one eye penetrating the shutter glasses and being viewed by the other eye. The player only sends out one image for each eye -- they aren't mixed. And there's no settings mistake you can make which will CAUSE them to be mixed.

Crosstalk is almost always due to a problem in the setup of the Display itself or its control of the shutter glasses.

However, if you feel you've exhausted all options in fixing the Display setup there are only a couple other things you can try.

1) Take the OPPO to a friend's house or store and connect it to a different 3D display and see if the same thing happens

2) Send the player to OPPO to be checked out.

When testing this, keep all Picture Adjustment settings in the OPPO at their factory default (0) values. You could also try setting 3D Output to FORCED in the OPPO in case your Display is having trouble recognizing the input as 3D video.

You could try re-installing the OPPO firmware, followed by a Reset Factory Defaults but I'd be surprised if that changed what you are seeing.
--Bob
David Susilo likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4534 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
Thank you, Bob! I'll try everything you mentioned above.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #4535 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 06:13 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
^ David, there's one other thing I'd like you to try. I'm assuming you are using the HDMI 1 output of the OPPO for video. (Double check that you haven't confused which OPPO socket you are plugged into for that cable.)

The default setting for HDMI Options > HDMI 1 Color Space is AUTO. Try changing that to YCbCr 4:4:4

If *THAT* cures your problem, go back to AUTO (which should make the problem come back) and see if you can find a status screen on your Display that says what format of video is coming into the Display. If it happens to be RGB instead of YCbCr, I think I may know what's going on here.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4536 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 429
My output is at 4:4:4 30-bit dithered. The projector also sees the input accordingly. Weird

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #4537 of 6063 Old 06-28-2014, 06:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
^ Oh well. There's a bug with RGB Video Level and Source Direct on the 103D and 105D that I thought might be related to your problem (because 3D output is treated rather like Source Direct). But if the OPPO is already sending YCbCr 4:4:4 then that can't be it. Back to the suggestions in my prior post.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4538 of 6063 Old 06-29-2014, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
hatlesschimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I got a problem.

I put a blu-ray in the drive and I watched the movie then when I opened the draw there was no disc and the draw only opened half way then shut again. I cant get the disc out at all or the drive fully open????

TV: SONY 65" 4K X900 - AVR: DENON AVR x4000 - AMP: ROTEL RMB 1585 5Ch 200w - OPPO 103D BD PLAYER
CENTRE: KEF Q600c - FRONT L/R: KEF Q900
SURROUND L/R: KEF Q300 - SURROUND BACK L/R: KEF Q900
SUB: SVS PC13-ULTRA
hatlesschimp is offline  
post #4539 of 6063 Old 06-29-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
^ Is it a rental disc? It probably has some sticky residue on the top of the disc that is making it stick to the drive hardware.
With the tray closed, try lightly smacking the top of the player and see it the disc will nudge loose in the player.
Then open it and see if the disc will come out.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4540 of 6063 Old 06-29-2014, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post
Yes , all 4 ports are taken on my router !!

The wireless cards they put in non computer stuff isn`t that great , IMO !!

Later ,

G. 
Wifi cards aren't that great in computers either, they just have more raw porcessor power available for error correction and often older protocolls with more error correction implemented.

As for maxing out your ports on your router, or why they don't make routers with more ports is because its more flexible and cost saving to use switches for this task.

For most AV gear 100Mb/s switches are fine, but for wired desktops I would go with Gigabit/s.

For example probably any if these would work fine http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...twork%20switch
Should also be readily available in any store selling computer or networking gear as well.
TorTorden is offline  
post #4541 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 03:34 PM
Member
 
They_call_me_Roto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Oppo BDP-103D

Got one. Love it. Use this just for movies and the streaming services.

JR

Packing a lot of sound into a small room.
266 square feet/2128 cubic feet
7.2 with 9 driven speakers
They_call_me_Roto is offline  
post #4542 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Old hookup question I'm sure. My 103D will have the video connected direct to the display. Which is the best, or preferred, audio connection to a pre/pro or receiver? HDMI or the set of analog connections?
elphillips is offline  
post #4543 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 05:55 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,045
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 1018
^ HDMI.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #4544 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 05:58 PM
Senior Member
 
elphillips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Goodyear AZ.
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 69
^ Thank you for your prompt reply and all of your help here on the forum.
elphillips is offline  
post #4545 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I have a quick question. Does the 103d playback both dsd formats like the 105d? Or is it limited like the 105? Thanx for any help
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4546 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 212
^ Do you mean DSD64 and DSD128? If so, only the 105D supports those two DSD formats thru its usb dac input, which the 103D does not have.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #4547 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Yes thats what I was talking about. Thank you for the very quick reply. Even late like this. You folks simply amaze me.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4548 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

^West coaster...[emoji6]
DanF8500 is offline  
post #4549 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Now can I stream dsd through the 103d?
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4550 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Ahh that explains it.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4551 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Now can I stream dsd through the 103d?

Yes, you can. Just like all the other 10x players. One cautionary feature was added to the latest firmware with regards to sacd/dsd playback for the 103/103D players. I will include it here for you.

"Added a safety feature for BDP-103/103D: the "SACD Output" format is set to "PCM" by default. The reason is that the digital-to-analog converter (DAC) used on these two models cannot adjust the volume for DSD signals, so the analog volume level could automatically switch back to 100 when a DSD stream is detected. This safety feature will force the DSD stream to be decoded as a PCM stream before sending it to the DAC, which can help control the volume when loading SACD disc(s)."
DanF8500 is offline  
post #4552 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Ok thank you again.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4553 of 6063 Old 06-30-2014, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
One more question. Can I stream all forms of dsd on these oppo players? If not which ones can I stream?
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4554 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

^ Forms of DSD? Again, do you mean dsd64/128? Only single rate dsd (stereo and multi-ch) is supported, and can be streamed only on the hdmi outputs.

Last edited by DanF8500; 07-01-2014 at 12:07 AM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #4555 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Yes again thats what I meant. So the only way to get double rate dsd is to get the 105d, regardless of the playback method.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4556 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
Yes again thats what I meant. So the only way to get double rate dsd is to get the 105d, regardless of the playback method.
The HA-1 also supports DSD128 and DSD256 too.
A 103D + HA-1 combo would be a pretty sweet combo.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4557 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
The HA-1 also supports DSD128 and DSD256 too.
A 103D + HA-1 combo would be a pretty sweet combo.
I don't believe there's any way to output DSD128+ from the 103 models. So in that regard the DAC wouldn't be of any help.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4558 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Amherst,OH
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I would be running this all through a Krell Foundation which with the new upgrade does Multichannel Dsd128 . I was thinking of the HA-1 or the Marantz 11si with the 103d. I really wanted the Krell Connect but as of now it doesn't support dsd either.
rhale64L7 is offline  
post #4559 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 12:03 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,693
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
I would be running this all through a Krell Foundation which with the new upgrade does Multichannel Dsd128 . I was thinking of the HA-1 or the Marantz 11si with the 103d. I really wanted the Krell Connect but as of now it doesn't support dsd either.
The HA-1 will not output DSD in a digital form. It will accept DSD as an input, but all of it's outputs are analog.
gsr is offline  
post #4560 of 6063 Old 07-01-2014, 12:07 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
I would be running this all through a Krell Foundation which with the new upgrade does Multichannel Dsd128 . I was thinking of the HA-1 or the Marantz 11si with the 103d. I really wanted the Krell Connect but as of now it doesn't support dsd either.
I hope you realize that the difference between these different flavors of DSD is comparable to the difference between you (in Ohio) hearing a gnat fart in California vs a gnat fart in Hawaii. Unless you've spent more on your speakers and hardware than most people spend on their houses, you can't hear it either way.
DanF8500 likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off