Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 5629 Old 08-17-2014, 11:58 AM
Member
 
johnchalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me what kind of files oppo plays? Only mkv?
johnchalt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 5629 Old 08-17-2014, 12:07 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnchalt View Post
Can someone tell me what kind of files oppo plays? Only mkv?
See the FAQ: What are the supported media container and file types?

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #4953 of 5629 Old 08-17-2014, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Oppo is the best!!!

I just have to say Oppo's customer service is top notch!!!

I sent Oppo an email yesterday morning. Even on the weekends they responded back at around 11 pm pst, that's customer service.

After a few back and forth emails while trying all sorts of tests with cables, tv's, resolutions, inputs, etc. they have decided to do a Advance Replacement!!!

All I can say is WOW.
mhobart likes this.

Last edited by bluer101; 08-18-2014 at 05:19 AM.
bluer101 is online now  
post #4954 of 5629 Old 08-17-2014, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluer101 View Post
I just have to say Oppo's customer service is top notch so far.
Great report Blu, but to save time, you can probably go ahead and edit out those last two words. It's just plain top notch. 👍
mhobart likes this.
mogrub is online now  
post #4955 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 12:39 AM
Member
 
RocknRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to take the plunge and order a 103D to replace my 103.

So far I love it, but I'm having a slight issue where once or twice during blu-ray playback, the screen will randomly turn into white noise/static for about half a second and then go back to the normal picture. The audio stays the same and it's never happened more than twice during a single movie -- most of the time in the first 10 minutes or so of playback.

I'm running split AV with HDMI 1 going directly to my projector. I never had this issue with my 103 and was curious if anybody has any idea what it could be?
RocknRolla is online now  
post #4956 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 04:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocknRolla View Post
I decided to take the plunge and order a 103D to replace my 103.

So far I love it, but I'm having a slight issue where once or twice during blu-ray playback, the screen will randomly turn into white noise/static for about half a second and then go back to the normal picture. The audio stays the same and it's never happened more than twice during a single movie -- most of the time in the first 10 minutes or so of playback.

I'm running split AV with HDMI 1 going directly to my projector. I never had this issue with my 103 and was curious if anybody has any idea what it could be?
Its a failed HDCP handshake, possibly due to a bad HDMI cable/connection.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #4957 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 05:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocknRolla View Post
I decided to take the plunge and order a 103D to replace my 103. So far I love it, but I'm having a slight issue where once or twice during blu-ray playback, the screen will randomly turn into white noise/static for about half a second and then go back to the normal picture. The audio stays the same and it's never happened more than twice during a single movie -- most of the time in the first 10 minutes or so of playback.
If RDG is right and it's a handshake issue, take a look at post 4051 on this thread, it's a great Handshake 101 summary. Make sure all your HDMI connections are tight, properly seated, and all your cables are high speed. Unplug and replug each of them, checking each for fit. Avoid external HDMI switches, splitters and wall plates. Turn off Deep Color on all devices.

The Darblet thread is filled with handshake troubles. But usually not here on the 103D thread. Since you just installed your new device, that means all your HDMI cables got wiggled and bumped and moved, so start there.

Do you ever get a color shift to pink or green when this happens?


Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is online now  
post #4958 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Great report Blu, but to save time, you can probably go ahead and edit out those last two words. It's just plain top notch. 👍
Yep, and the best part it's a Brand New replacement since mine is so new!!!

I still can't believe the emails back and fourth on a weekend late also at night, that's customer service.
bluer101 is online now  
post #4959 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 05:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 35
has anyone had problems with the Spears and Munsil v2 disc. I've been through 3 discs, all play fine on my Sony and Panasonic BR's but hang up on my Oppo in the gamma section. Oppo tech support claims its a poorly mastered disc, and the other players have better error handling.

IMO logic tells me the Oppo has a problem with this discs navigation. Are there any other discs that have created problems with the Oppo? Any way to test the Oppo to see if its defective?

I have let the unit download the latest firmware and still have the same problem.

thanks in advance
vega509 is offline  
post #4960 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
has anyone had problems with the Spears and Munsil v2 disc. I've been through 3 discs, all play fine on my Sony and Panasonic BR's but hang up on my Oppo in the gamma section. Oppo tech support claims its a poorly mastered disc, and the other players have better error handling.

IMO logic tells me the Oppo has a problem with this discs navigation. Are there any other discs that have created problems with the Oppo? Any way to test the Oppo to see if its defective?

I have let the unit download the latest firmware and still have the same problem.

thanks in advance
I have not had any issues with that disk what is the exact pattern that you get hung up on so I can test it out myself.
PlayNice is offline  
post #4961 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 35
thanks for the reply

anything beyond the Equal Energy Gamma hangs my Oppo. I can get into the menu, but choosing any pattern will either bring up the pattern and hag up, or just hag up on the selection. At this point I either have to stop the disc playing, or power off the Oppo.
vega509 is offline  
post #4962 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
thanks for the reply

anything beyond the Equal Energy Gamma hangs my Oppo. I can get into the menu, but choosing any pattern will either bring up the pattern and hag up, or just hag up on the selection. At this point I either have to stop the disc playing, or power off the Oppo.
I just ran a quick test where I went I to both 1x1 and 2x2 of the Equal Energy Gamma patterns and cycled through them both twice. I did not have any issues as you mentioned thing were functioning as normal.

I would try to do a firmware reinstall via USB or CD not WiFi to see if that helps.
PlayNice is offline  
post #4963 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Not sure if this is an Oppo question, or a Disney WOW blu-ray question, but here goes:

In the Disney WOW disc, whenever I select "Instructions", the screen goes blank for several seconds, I get a warning message that says "No signal...", then the instructions come up but the first few seconds are cut off. I have to click the back button on the Oppo remote to re-start the chapter, at which time it starts perfectly from the beginning. This happens in every single section of the WOW disc.

It's like it's losing the connection for a few seconds, and by the time it finds it again, the chapter has already started playing.

To give an example of how much is getting cut off:

When first selecting the instructions for the Purity section, it starts with:

"LCD, OLED, DLP, Plasma and others..."

After pressing the back button to re-start the chapter:

"In the case of digital displays, such as LCD, OLED, DLP, Plasma and others..."

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is online now  
post #4964 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 04:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 152
^Sounds like a handshaking issue between the player and your display.
I couple of things to try is first, make sure you are using the latest firmware.
Also, try eliminating some of the picture settings that are not necessary, like deep color, gracenote, and dvd 24p,
and options that can be made explicit, like color space to 4:4:4 instead of auto, try to make them explicit where possible.
Make sure you are also using quality high speed hdmi cables.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4965 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
^Sounds like a handshaking issue between the player and your display.
I couple of things to try is first, make sure you are using the latest firmware.
Also, try eliminating some of the picture settings that are not necessary, like deep color, gracenote, and dvd 24p,
and options that can be made explicit, like color space to 4:4:4 instead of auto, try to make them explicit where possible.
Make sure you are also using quality high speed hdmi cables.
Ok, thanks. I'll give those a try.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is online now  
post #4966 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 04:57 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
Ok, thanks. I'll give those a try.
A different frame rate in those sections will cause a new handshake too. Are you using Source Direct or 1080p with 1080p24 turned ON? Try 1080p with 24hz turned OFF and see if that makes a difference.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #4967 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
A different frame rate in those sections will cause a new handshake too. Are you using Source Direct or 1080p with 1080p24 turned ON? Try 1080p with 24hz turned OFF and see if that makes a difference.

-Bill
I'm using Auto for both Output Resolution and 1080p24 Output.

I'll try 1080p for Output Resolution, and 1080p24 Output set to off.

What are the tradeoffs (if any) of doing so?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is online now  
post #4968 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gecko85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
I'm using Auto for both Output Resolution and 1080p24 Output.

I'll try 1080p for Output Resolution, and 1080p24 Output set to off.

What are the tradeoffs (if any) of doing so?
Well, that worked, so...no more handshake issues!

Still wonder what the tradeoffs are.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60, Pioneer SC-1523-K, Oppo BDP-103D, Pioneer PL-550 + Cambridge Audio Azur 640P, B&W CM1 (fronts), B&W CM Centre, Athena Point 5 Mk II (rears), Hsu VTF-2
----------------------------------------
Sony 34XBR960, Onkyo TX-NR414, Sony PS3, Athena Point 5 Mk II (center and fronts), Wharfedale WH-2 (rears), Polk PSW10
Gecko85 is online now  
post #4969 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Bob & the others that answered you guys are simply incomparable. That was it exactly. I can't even imagine how I turned that on. C'est la vie.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #4970 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 06:59 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,539
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 545 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gecko85 View Post
Well, that worked, so...no more handshake issues!

Still wonder what the tradeoffs are.
It's an issue of eliminating 3:2 pulldown judder. Some people are sensitive to it, and some (like me) are not.

When 24hz sources (like most Blu-ray) at converted to 60hz you can get jerky motion in some cases.

You can always turn 1080p24 on and off as needed. On normal Blu-rays you'll get varying frame rates and resolutions only during startup: previews and logos and such. Once the feature starts it doesn't change and so handshakes should not be an issue.

-Bill
wmcclain is offline  
post #4971 of 5629 Old 08-18-2014, 08:38 PM
Member
 
CubsWin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased the 103D and it is really driving me nuts that I can't seem to get the audio consistently in sync. I have a relatively simple setup... the 103D connected by HDMI to my Panasonic LED TV (using TV speakers for sound) and a Dish Network Hopper receiver connected to HDMI in on the 103D.

Audio from the blu-ray player and the MHL Roku seem to be in sync, but I just can't get the Hopper where I want it. Just when I think I have the AV Sync set where I need it, someone else speaks and is out of sync again. Are there other settings I can adjust to try to resolve this problem?

I would be grateful for any suggestions. Thanks!
CubsWin1 is offline  
post #4972 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 12:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,828
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by CubsWin1 View Post
I recently purchased the 103D and it is really driving me nuts that I can't seem to get the audio consistently in sync. I have a relatively simple setup... the 103D connected by HDMI to my Panasonic LED TV (using TV speakers for sound) and a Dish Network Hopper receiver connected to HDMI in on the 103D.

Audio from the blu-ray player and the MHL Roku seem to be in sync, but I just can't get the Hopper where I want it. Just when I think I have the AV Sync set where I need it, someone else speaks and is out of sync again. Are there other settings I can adjust to try to resolve this problem?

I would be grateful for any suggestions. Thanks!
Based on what you've written, it sounds like your problem is in the Hopper because you're not having trouble with the OPPO as a player or with your Roku. What adjustments are you making changes to?
htwaits is online now  
post #4973 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 09:51 AM
Member
 
orleans704's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Loud, static pop from DirecTV Genie input

Since Mid-May's DirecTV Genie software update I continue to hear a loud, static pop when I resume play from pause (not every time, about 25% of the time). DirecTV made me start disconnecting HDMI cables to "prove" it isn't them. To my surprise when I removed the Oppo 103D from the chain, the problem went away. My Genie feeds the Oppo which feeds a Denon AVR. I contacted Oppo today and got this surprising response:

"We have confirmed similar reports and are working with our engineers to resolve them in a future firmware update. However, do to no know when this firmware may be released."
orleans704 is offline  
post #4974 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bluer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by orleans704 View Post
Since Mid-May's DirecTV Genie software update I continue to hear a loud, static pop when I resume play from pause (not every time, about 25% of the time). DirecTV made me start disconnecting HDMI cables to "prove" it isn't them. To my surprise when I removed the Oppo 103D from the chain, the problem went away. My Genie feeds the Oppo which feeds a Denon AVR. I contacted Oppo today and got this surprising response:

"We have confirmed similar reports and are working with our engineers to resolve them in a future firmware update. However, do to no know when this firmware may be released."
In the audio setup in the oppo do you have secondary audio set
Off? If it's off then idk if it's on turn it off.
bluer101 is online now  
post #4975 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 12:32 PM
Member
 
RocknRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
If RDG is right and it's a handshake issue, take a look at post 4051 on this thread, it's a great Handshake 101 summary. Make sure all your HDMI connections are tight, properly seated, and all your cables are high speed. Unplug and replug each of them, checking each for fit. Avoid external HDMI switches, splitters and wall plates. Turn off Deep Color on all devices.

The Darblet thread is filled with handshake troubles. But usually not here on the 103D thread. Since you just installed your new device, that means all your HDMI cables got wiggled and bumped and moved, so start there.

Do you ever get a color shift to pink or green when this happens?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its a failed HDCP handshake, possibly due to a bad HDMI cable/connection.
Thanks for your assistance!

When I started to play around with the HDMI cable going into the projector from the 103D, the signal died completely. I plugged my old 103 directly in with the same cable and it displayed, but any time the cable was wiggled, it the picture would go out until wiggled again.

So I'm hoping the issue is merely the HDMI cable (although it's a bit concerning that it's dying completely on the 103d and just until re-wiggled on the 103). I decided to order a replacement HDMI cable as well as a right angle adapter from BJC. It bugs me having to pass the HDMI cable through something instead of it going directly from player to projector; is having a passthrough something that could effect the image quality?
RocknRolla is online now  
post #4976 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocknRolla View Post
Thanks for your assistance!

When I started to play around with the HDMI cable going into the projector from the 103D, the signal died completely. I plugged my old 103 directly in with the same cable and it displayed, but any time the cable was wiggled, it the picture would go out until wiggled again.

So I'm hoping the issue is merely the HDMI cable (although it's a bit concerning that it's dying completely on the 103d and just until re-wiggled on the 103). I decided to order a replacement HDMI cable as well as a right angle adapter from BJC. It bugs me having to pass the HDMI cable through something instead of it going directly from player to projector; is having a passthrough something that could effect the image quality?
If you didn't have the adapter before, then why do you need it now?
I have used such adapters before though, and it didn't effect the picture quality that I could tell.
It's possible that it may screw with stuff like 3D. You never really know until you try to use it and see what happens.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4977 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 12:48 PM
Member
 
RocknRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
If you didn't have the adapter before, then why do you need it now?
I have used such adapters before though, and it didn't effect the picture quality that I could tell.
It's possible that it may screw with stuff like 3D. You never really know until you try to use it and see what happens.
Sorry, I should have stated in my original post that I had a tight bend in the HDMI cable right before the projector as it's on a shelf against the wall (I can't move it up any further).

I suspect that this bend over time damaged the cable.
RocknRolla is online now  
post #4978 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 01:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 152
^ ok, probably a good idea to try the adapter. I suspect it will work just fine.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4979 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Got my 103D refurb today...looks brand new....and will be connecting it tonight.

I'm trying to decide if I should run split mode or not (as my AVR does not support 3D....though I don't use 3D currently).



Do I need to worry about HDMI loops?

If I run split, I’ll be sending audio from HDMI 2 to my AVR and video to a matrix switcher which feeds a projector and a TV. The AVR will have a hdmi cable to the matrix switch as well, however I have been careful to program the activities so that if a display is seeing video from the oppo hdmi port, the other display “Sees” a different input port on the switcher. Since it is a true matrix switch, the AVR input and the oppo input should not be seen by the same display as long as the switch is programmed to so that only one displays sees one input and the other input is routed to the other display, even if it is off.

I am going to run my directv box into the oppo, and I have the roku stick on using the MHL port. So I could also run everything out of HDMI 1 to the AVR and have the AVR pass video only to the matrix switcher, as i currently do. I would lose the ability to pass 3D if I wanted to use it in the future.


Anyone else run a setup like this and have or not have issues with HDMI loops or handshake issues?
curlyjive is offline  
post #4980 of 5629 Old 08-19-2014, 07:53 PM
Senior Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think I know the answer to this, but...
I'm using the variable analog outputs on the Oppo as my pre-amp. Is there any way to turn off the graphic that appears on the television when adjusting the volume? The visual feedback on the unit itself is adequate and I (and more so, other viewers) find it distracting when watching a movie and the volume display comes on the screen.
meli is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off