Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 177 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5281 of 5304 Old 09-18-2014, 10:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 868
^ Yes, but you have to select your Darbee settings before launching Netflix. (The app provided to OPPO by Netflix seizes control of the User Interface, so you can't get to the Settings while Netflix is running.)

To prove it to yourself, set a ridiculously high Darbee processing value and also turn on either of the Demo modes for Darbee. Then launch Netflix. The portion of the screen to the left of the Demo divider line will be the processed portion.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5282 of 5304 Old 09-18-2014, 10:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Yes, but you have to select your Darbee settings before launching Netflix. (The app provided to OPPO by Netflix seizes control of the User Interface, so you can't get to the Settings while Netflix is running.)

To prove it to yourself, set a ridiculously high Darbee processing value and also turn on either of the Demo modes for Darbee. Then launch Netflix. The portion of the screen to the left of the Demo divider line will be the processed portion.
--Bob
Thanks Bob you rock!!!

So are you saying that the Darbee button should work at the main home menu splash page?

When/where should the Darbee button work? Thanks again!

Last edited by PlayNice; 09-18-2014 at 10:14 PM.
PlayNice is offline  
post #5283 of 5304 Old 09-18-2014, 10:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 133
^Yes, the Darbee button/popup/settings should be easily visible when the Oppo home screen showing.
Set your Darbee settings at that time, then launch the Netflix app, and while Netflix is playing your Darbee settings will be in effect.
You won't be able to change them again though until you exit Netflix.
The Netflix app does not allow you to make any type of changes to the player while it is engaged.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #5284 of 5304 Old 09-19-2014, 07:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
^Yes, the Darbee button/popup/settings should be easily visible when the Oppo home screen showing.
Set your Darbee settings at that time, then launch the Netflix app, and while Netflix is playing your Darbee settings will be in effect.
You won't be able to change them again though until you exit Netflix.
The Netflix app does not allow you to make any type of changes to the player while it is engaged.
Thank, now I get it.
PlayNice is offline  
post #5285 of 5304 Old 09-19-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Where would I find "Bookmark" information in the 103D manual?

While watching a Blu-ray I pressed the green color button on the remote and a display came up saying I have too many bookmarks and to please delete them... Need to find information on specifics. Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #5286 of 5304 Old 09-19-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Where would I find "Bookmark" information in the 103D manual?

While watching a Blu-ray I pressed the green color button on the remote and a display came up saying I have too many bookmarks and to please delete them... Need to find information on specifics. Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #5287 of 5304 Old 09-19-2014, 05:01 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,313
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 413 Post(s)
Liked: 349
That sounds like disc programming, not a player function. At least I've never heard of it before.

Presumably you can free up space by erasing persistent storage, but that deletes you existing information.

-Bill
Paul H likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #5288 of 5304 Old 09-20-2014, 10:52 PM
Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
audio video dropouts

Hi
Is anyone experiencing audio and video dropouts when watching 3D content?

Thank you,
Rob
RobDec is online now  
post #5289 of 5304 Old 09-20-2014, 11:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
PlayNice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hi
Is anyone experiencing audio and video dropouts when watching 3D content?

Thank you,
Rob
Just watched Godzilla 3D and then Pacific Rim 3D and none.
PlayNice is offline  
post #5290 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 12:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,809
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Hi
Is anyone experiencing audio and video dropouts when watching 3D content?

Thank you,
Rob
You need to provide more detail like how long are the dropouts, how is your setup wired, and what settings are you using.

More than likely you are experiencing excessive hand shakes due to your cables and/or settings.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #5291 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 05:30 AM
Newbie
 
cristisabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Beta Test Release vs last official release

Which one should I install?The beta or the last official release?Thanks
cristisabo is offline  
post #5292 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 07:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by cristisabo View Post
Which one should I install?The beta or the last official release?Thanks
I trust OPPO so I always do the BETA - but if you are having no problems nothing wrong with waiting for the official release.

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #5293 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 09:16 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul H View Post
Where would I find "Bookmark" information in the 103D manual?

While watching a Blu-ray I pressed the green color button on the remote and a display came up saying I have too many bookmarks and to please delete them... Need to find information on specifics. Thanks.
"Bookmarks" for Blu-ray are not a player function. They are implemented by the BD-Java program which is part of the content on the Blu-ray disc -- which is why many discs don't have them at all. (Some discs don't even have a BD-Java program to begin with.) To manage your Bookmarks for a disc you need to go to its own, on-disc menus and find the Bookmarks stuff there. The studios can program this any way they want, so there's no standardization for how this is done across different discs -- even from the same studio.

Bookmarks data is retained in the player's Persistent Storage. So if you Erase Persistent Storage all your Bookmarks will go away, along with any other saved data put in there by ANY discs you've played. If you've already got a ton of stuff in Persistent Storage it is possible there would be no more space for a new Bookmark, even though you don't have any saved yet for that particular disc. It's also possible the BD-Java program on a disc is simply written poorly, and thus is getting confused about what space is available. In both cases, Erasing Persistent Storage may be the only solution.

(The OPPO lets you switch to using an attached, USB hard drive for Persistent Storage if you really REALLY don't want to delete older stuff. But you'll have to switch back to using Internal storage if you want to access that older stuff.)
--Bob
Paul H likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; Yesterday at 09:21 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5294 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Is anyone experiencing audio and video dropouts when watching 3D content?
Nope, knock on wood. Agree on the possible handshake issue. Describe more precisely what happens when this occurs to you.

Every once in a while, quite inexplicably, things actually go according to plan.
mogrub is offline  
post #5295 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 09:28 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by cristisabo View Post
Which one should I install?The beta or the last official release?Thanks
The Beta Testers (like me) will usually post a warning here if we know of any significant gotchas in a Public Beta firmware release.

All firmware will come with both fixes and new bugs (some yet to be discovered). That's just life. Personally, I'd choose the current Public Beta.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5296 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 1,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobDec View Post
Is anyone experiencing audio and video dropouts when watching 3D content?
Out of interest, what's your 3D source?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 |
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #5297 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 09:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
"Bookmarks" for Blu-ray are not a player function. They are implemented by the BD-Java program which is part of the content on the Blu-ray disc -- which is why many discs don't have them at all. (Some discs don't even have a BD-Java program to begin with.) To manage your Bookmarks for a disc you need to go to its own, on-disc menus and find the Bookmarks stuff there. The studios can program this any way they want, so there's no standardization for how this is done across different discs -- even from the same studio.

Bookmarks data is retained in the player's Persistent Storage. So if you Erase Persistent Storage all your Bookmarks will go away, along with any other saved data put in there by ANY discs you've played. If you've already got a ton of stuff in Persistent Storage it is possible there would be no more space for a new Bookmark, even though you don't have any saved yet for that particular disc. It's also possible the BD-Java program on a disc is simply written poorly, and thus is getting confused about what space is available. In both cases, Erasing Persistent Storage may be the only solution.

(The OPPO lets you switch to using an attached, USB hard drive for Persistent Storage if you really REALLY don't want to delete older stuff. But you'll have to switch back to using Internal storage if you want to access that older stuff.)
--Bob
This information is very useful for me. Was at a loss to find any "bookmark" information anywhere on my own. Blu-ray's are the dominant media format I use with my Oppo's, so I will definitely save this for future reference. Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Paul H is offline  
post #5298 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 10:13 AM
Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi
I have a Anthem AVM 50 v 3d processor, and Sharp 844 display. Im setting it up as follows Oppo HDMI #1 out to to Anthem HDMI #1 in and Anthem HDMI #1 out to display.
Rob
RobDec is online now  
post #5299 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 10:26 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 868
^ Either Anthem or OPPO Tech Support should be able to help you sort this out. They both have each other's gear in their test lab.

First try connecting the OPPO direct to the display to see if that works or if this is some problem with the Display's HDMI implementation.

As usual with HDMI connectivity issues, the first thing to do is see to it that you've got good enough cables, hooked up properly.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5300 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 01:45 PM
Member
 
RobDec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everybody
I hope I have come across the solution. I changed the HDMI Input on both the Anthem and Sharp display. I had problems with Godzilla 3d and Into the Darkness Star Trek. And it played fine. I realize the is not a Oppo problem ,but thank you for everyones concern.

Rob
RobDec is online now  
post #5301 of 5304 Old Yesterday, 04:45 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 327 Post(s)
Liked: 868
^ It may turn out that all that was needed was to reseat the HDMI plugs in their sockets.
--Bob


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. -- Need personal consultation/training?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #5302 of 5304 Old Today, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Will the Oppo D improve video through an Apple TV?

I am considering a new Blu Ray player.
The Oppo might be worth the $$$ if I can patch the Apple TV through it and use the Darbee to increase picture quality.

I use the Apple Tv for streaming Netflix and HD downloads and rips in iTunes.

TV is a Pioneer Kuro.
bokes is offline  
post #5303 of 5304 Old Today, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 225
^^^
Darbee does not improve image quality. It highlights existing quality. GIGO. Based on your stated sources of video, its not likely that Darbee will generate much perceived improvement.

That said, either the 103 or 103D might offer some modest improvements in scaling and processing streamed video. Also true that the Oppo has a pretty good Netflix interface and improved streaming speeds.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #5304 of 5304 Old Today, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
Volpar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got the oppo 103d not really seeing much improvement n blue ray. I have a pioneer plasma.
Volpar is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off