Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 186 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5551 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by obagley View Post
Agreed. But unfortunately I have no cable on that side of the room
Sorry to hear that , I had the same problem with my F8000 , wireless was doing nothing , so I hard wired it and it gave me about 3 ~ 4 times the speed.

I can YT / AIV / Vudu . all at highest res { 1080p ) with hardly any drop outs , I have Comcast , so the occasional drop in speed is why I am so... very happy to be a Comcast customer { not the extreme sarcasm that is so rightfully deserved }

Best of luck ,

Me 

BTW , anyone have an opinion in reference to the new VUDU app on Sammy tv`s ? , they are really selling the fact that they are Walmart.
jedi29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5552 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 01:44 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by sworth View Post
That's very easy to do, because the HDMI outputs are backwards on the back. HDMI 2 is on the left and HDMI 1 is on the right. That messed me up when I was first starting out.
Or they are the correct way around if you are reaching over the player from the front!
--Bob
RayWK likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5553 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 01:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Or they are the correct way around if you are reaching over the player from the front!
--Bob
Good point!
asere is offline  
post #5554 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Bill
It's the digital output through the HDMI connection. I never use the analog outputs, preferring my Bryston SP3 to act as a preamp. That's mostly since I don't use CDs for music, but instead a Mac Mini as a music server.
David
David Shapiro is offline  
post #5555 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 05:26 PM
Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Or they are the correct way around if you are reaching over the player from the front!
--Bob
Or standing on your head!
sworth is offline  
post #5556 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 06:25 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Shapiro View Post
Hi Bill
It's the digital output through the HDMI connection. I never use the analog outputs, preferring my Bryston SP3 to act as a preamp. That's mostly since I don't use CDs for music, but instead a Mac Mini as a music server.
David
You're getting video over HDMI but audio has failed? That is very odd.

You've tried swapping cables, resetting the player to factory defaults, double checking the receiver settings?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5557 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You're getting video over HDMI but audio has failed? That is very odd.



You've tried swapping cables, resetting the player to factory defaults, double checking the receiver settings?



-Bill

I don't think David is too motivated to try and solve his Oppo 93 malfunction. He's thinking about that new 103D arriving in the mail soon! [emoji23]
DanF8500 is online now  
post #5558 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 06:55 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Shapiro View Post
I have a setup question. I have a 4 year old Oppo 93 where the sound just failed. It's fine, it owes me nothing. I'm taking the opportunity to upgrade to the 103D. . . . .

David
The most common reasons for loss of HDMI Audio (but not Video) on a 93 are: (1) You've mistakenly set HDMI Audio OFF, and (2) You've mistakenly muted audio either via the Mute button or by setting Volume to 0 with the buttons on the remote.

Much less common is you've mistakenly plugged the HDMI cable into the "DVI compatible" input of an older AVR. Such an input would expect audio to be coming in via some other connection, such as a Stereo RCA cable pair, since DVI source devices do not output audio on the DVI connection.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 10-22-2014 at 06:59 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5559 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 07:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
I don't think David is too motivated to try and solve his Oppo 93 malfunction. He's thinking about that new 103D arriving in the mail soon! [emoji23]
Even with a shiny new 103D on the way, a working 93 will fetch more in the used gear market.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5560 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't use the remote, either for the Oppo or the receiver. I did swap the cables, do a hard reboot and try different inputs on the Bryston. I don't use either the Oppo or Bryston remote, since everything is run by control4.
Finally, I am happily contacting my new 103D, due on Friday.
David
David Shapiro is offline  
post #5561 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 07:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
That's "contemplating". Damn Iphone and fat fingers.
David Shapiro is offline  
post #5562 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 07:20 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
^ Sure, but that will leave all the REST of us wondering what happened to your 93!

Seriously, it's actually quite rare for the hardware to fail in a way that causes just loss of HDMI Audio while HDMI Video remains good. HDMI audio is embedded inside the video signal, so it is the same wires and digital signal timing. And the processing hardware for decoding the source and forming the output signal is also common. So odds are it really is either a settings error or a setup error that you just haven't spotted yet.

Have you been playing any religious-themed content? Perhaps the 93 has decided to take a vow of silence?
--Bob
RayWK likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5563 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 07:59 PM
Member
 
manfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Possibly dumb question time...


I just picked up a Samsung un65H7150 (1080p TV) will getting the oppo 103D make the blu-ray picture even better, or do I need a 4K TV to display what the Darbee edition of the 103 is putting out?


Sorry I couldn't find the answer (I tried here and google)...so maybe nobody has asked this dumb question yet


Please be nice...haha
manfrog is offline  
post #5564 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 08:05 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
^ The Darbee stuff works at all output Resolutions. It's likely MOST people here are using it at 1080p.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5565 of 5579 Old 10-22-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
manfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ The Darbee stuff works at all output Resolutions. It's likely MOST people here are using it at 1080p.
--Bob
First of...thanks Bob!


That's what I thought but then it talks about 4k resolution output and I wondered if it was essentially up scaling current 1080 content to 4k (for a 4k TV).


Anyways thanks again!
manfrog is offline  
post #5566 of 5579 Old 10-23-2014, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by obagley View Post
Agreed. But unfortunately I have no cable on that side of the room
  1. You could use the extender to find a better position for the dongle. You may be getting interference.
  2. Scan the room (I use WiFi Analyzer on my cell phone), select a different range of WiFi channels on your router for your access - it may be overcrowded and again getting interference. Just log into your router and select where it's least crowded. Most routers are set to one range and that's where most people sit.
  3. Run an ethernet cable to your 103D. I have runs all along my apartment, use cord protectors / concealers along the baseboard . In the past, I've used quarter round as a REALLY inexpensive way to permanently conceal cable runs on the baseboard.

The least expensive and most reliable way for streaming is to run an ethernet cable if you're otherwise happy with your router.

I've upgraded my router mainly because I wanted to, have an Asus RT66. Didn't go to an AC yet, since most of my devices don't support it, and the RT is plenty fast for my laptop.

But for streaming, since the 103D even wired only supports 100 Mbit, you're likely to get the best bang for your buck with a wired connection.

If you WANT to get an AC router, by all means do so, but you'll still have to select your channels, probably use the extender and will sometimes have issues. You'll still only get N speeds, since the dongle is not AC.

How is your NAS or hard drive connected to the router?
hernanu is online now  
post #5567 of 5579 Old 10-23-2014, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The most likely thing is that you've simply got the HDMI sockets confused. Double check your wiring. Use the HDMI 1 *OUTPUT* of the OPPO to go to your TV (or through your AVR if that's your normal wiring). Make sure the player works with the TV -- i.e., that you can view the Home Menu and play discs.

Once you know that works, then power down and hook up the DiecTV HDMI to the HDMI *INPUT* on the back of the OPPO. Don't confuse that with the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 *OUTPUTS*.

Make sure the DirecTV box is actually turned on.

Power up the OPPO, press Input on the remote, select the HDMI BACK Input from the list (Up/Down arrow to highlight the line and then Enter to select it) and wait a few seconds for the HDMI handshake to happen.

If still nothing, press Info on the OPPO remote to bring up the on-screen display. The top line will show you what's coming in on the HDMI BACK Input -- presuming you've actually selected that Input. The bottom line will show you what is going out on the Outputs of the OPPO.

If there's nothing coming in on the Input, check again that the DirecTV box is actually turned on.
--Bob
Thanks for the help. I finally was able to watch Directv through the Oppo. I did not see any improvement though. Yes with Darbee on there was but off the image was the same to my eyes.
asere is offline  
post #5568 of 5579 Old 10-23-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by asere View Post
Thanks for the help. I finally was able to watch Directv through the Oppo. I did not see any improvement though. Yes with Darbee on there was but off the image was the same to my eyes.
Does your Directv box support native HDMI output? If so, you may want to turn that on, that lets the Oppo do any upscaling needed.
hernanu is online now  
post #5569 of 5579 Old 10-23-2014, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Does your Directv box support native HDMI output? If so, you may want to turn that on, that lets the Oppo do any upscaling needed.
Not sure but thanks for the info. I will look into it.
asere is offline  
post #5570 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egrady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've had my 103D for a few months and it has performed flawlessly, until last night. When I put in the Criterion blu ray of My Darling Clementine I got no audio. I tried a few blu rays I played before, with no problem, and some had audio and some didn't. I tried going from bitstream to LPCM and no change. I watched a blu ray that had audio and then tried My Darling Clementine again. This time it had audio!

The Oppo is connected to my Marantz AV8801 via HDMI. I didn't hit any buttons, like mute, or change any settings on the Oppo or the Marantz. Other than the failed LPCM experiment. I have the last official firmware, not the new beta.

Any thoughts? I've already notified Oppo.
egrady is offline  
post #5571 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 08:54 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post
Any thoughts?
Either the player or the AVR was temporarily insane. I like to think it was the AVR.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5572 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
David Shapiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Highland Park,Illinois,U.S.A
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So, in the end, the problem was an issue with the settings in my processor. Doesn't matter, I'm still upgrading.:smiley:

David
David Shapiro is offline  
post #5573 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 12:27 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 907
^ "Things were finally back to normal on Cannery Row. Once more, the world was spinning in greased grooves." Cannery Row, John Steinbeck
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5574 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
mgagneur1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post
I've had my 103D for a few months and it has performed flawlessly, until last night. When I put in the Criterion blu ray of My Darling Clementine I got no audio. I tried a few blu rays I played before, with no problem, and some had audio and some didn't. I tried going from bitstream to LPCM and no change. I watched a blu ray that had audio and then tried My Darling Clementine again. This time it had audio!

The Oppo is connected to my Marantz AV8801 via HDMI. I didn't hit any buttons, like mute, or change any settings on the Oppo or the Marantz. Other than the failed LPCM experiment. I have the last official firmware, not the new beta.

Any thoughts? I've already notified Oppo.
Hello,

I have had this happen with both discs and TV when feeding my AVR and using the TV without the AVR. The good news is it does not happen very often. What I have noticed with TV is if I change the channel the audio works and then changing back the original silent channel now has audio as well and may work fine for a long while.

Having reported some of these type of issues before and basically having OPPO tell me I'm mistaken I've just learned to live with the bugs because the improvement in the picture is worth the minor frustrations for me.

Good luck,

Marty
mgagneur1 is online now  
post #5575 of 5579 Old Yesterday, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Release date: October 24, 2014
Category: Latest Official Release
Main Version: BDP10X-77-0827
Loader Version: 6U1000 or 7B1300 (BDP-103), 7B1300 (BDP-105, BDP-105D, BDP-103D)
Sub Version: MCU103-05-0916 (BDP-103), MCU105-04-1113 (BDP-105), MCU13D-01-0618 (BDP-103D), MCU15D-01-0930 (BDP-105D), DB10X 131030 (BDP-103D, 105D)

1. Resolved a Color Space issue for the HDMI 1 Out in BDP-103D/105D. Customers reported that if the Resolution was set to Source Direct and the Color Space was set to RGB Video Level, the actual color space sent out was RGB PC Level. This issue has been fixed in this firmware.
2. Resolved a Picture Adjustment issue found on 75-0515 firmware. Customers reported that after changing the Picture Adjustment parameters for HDMI 1, the value of Contrast Enhancement would automatically go back to 0. It has been fixed in this firmware.
3. Resolved a playback issue with regular DVD discs found on 75-0515 firmware. Customers reported that if the "DVD 24p Conversion" was set to "On", pressing the REV (rewind) button within the DVD playback could cause the player to immediately freeze up. This issue has been resolved in this firmware.
4. Resolved a HDMI Audio issue with some 2L Blu-ray Music discs. Customers reported that if the AV Sync was set to 90ms and above, there might be no audio signal from both HDMI outputs.
5. Modified the RS-232 serial control protocol: we eliminated the "#APP FFR" due to the removal of Film Fresh service, added the "#APP BER" to enable access to the Berlin Philharmoniker concert service, also fixed an issue with "#SZM" that could not change the Aspect Ratio.
6. Added support for the “Pandora Premiers” station in Pandora.
7. Improved the Gapless Playback feature, and resolved an issue where the gapless mode could not be enabled for some 96 kHz / 24-bit WAV files.
8. Improved support for CUE files, specifically for CUE files that point to multiple WAV files.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #5576 of 5579 Old Today, 07:34 AM
Member
 
nic66718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is it listed as Beta on page one. Is this the official release that can be had via network?
nic66718 is online now  
post #5577 of 5579 Old Today, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by nic66718 View Post
Why is it listed as Beta on page one. Is this the official release that can be had via network?

There were no changes made in this official release from the previous beta. So, if you had installed the recent beta firmware on your Oppo player, your player will have the latest firmware. I had the previous beta installed on my Oppo player, and when I turned it on to download this latest official release, the player told me that I already have the latest release, even though my fw ver on my player ends with the letter "B".
DanF8500 is online now  
post #5578 of 5579 Old Today, 08:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,514
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
There were no changes made in this official release from the previous beta. So, if you had installed the recent beta firmware on your Oppo player, your player will have the latest firmware. I had the previous beta installed on my Oppo player, and when I turned it on to download this latest official release, the player told me that I already have the latest release, even though my fw ver on my player ends with the letter "B".
Beta and production are different servers. Beta firmware only checks the beta server, etc. If you want to switch between beta and production firmware, you have to do it via USB or CD update.

(I don't know if production includes updates that were not in beta).

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #5579 of 5579 Old Today, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Beta and production are different servers. Beta firmware only checks the beta server, etc. If you want to switch between beta and production firmware, you have to do it via USB or CD update.



(I don't know if production includes updates that were not in beta).



-Bill

Bill, is this something new? I never had to do this before. I always updated my Oppo player as follows: beta fw via usb, and Official release via the internet. I've loaded beta fw on my Oppo in the past, and when I update with the latest official release via ethernet, my Oppo player always updated in the past. This is the first time it didn't update. This time, the only difference between the Beta fw ver and the official fw ver is the letter "B" (i.e. BDP10X-77-0827 or BDP10X-77-0827B).

Last edited by DanF8500; Today at 08:24 AM.
DanF8500 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off