Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 633Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 04:55 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,337
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1279 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
I like to think that I know a lot about this hobby, but the deeper I get into it, the more I realize just how much I don't know. Now with that being said, here's my question. What is the advantage of connecting the oppo via analog cables? Will the sound be better than connecting via hdmi? I can hardly wait to get this player. I hope FedEx comes early on Tuesday.
It depends on what you're connect it to. A HDMI connection will use the DAC in the device you have connected the Oppo to. Using the analog outputs will use the DAC in the Oppo. So assuming no other processing is involved (see below), it comes down to whether the Oppo or the AVR has the better DAC.

If you want to use things like room correction in your AVR, then using the analog outputs doesn't make sense because they would need to be converted back to digital in the AVR, processed, and then run through the AVR's DAC. Most AVR's can't do this on multichannel analog inputs, only on stereo analog inputs.

Note that "DAC" as used above is referring to both the DAC chip itself and the implementation of it.
gsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
It depends on what you're connect it to. A HDMI connection will use the DAC in the device you have connected the Oppo to. Using the analog outputs will use the DAC in the Oppo. So assuming no other processing is involved (see below), it comes down to whether the Oppo or the AVR has the better DAC.

If you want to use things like room correction in your AVR, then using the analog outputs doesn't make sense because they would need to be converted back to digital in the AVR, processed, and then run through the AVR's DAC. Most AVR's can't do this on multichannel analog inputs, only on stereo analog inputs.

Note that "DAC" as used above is referring to both the DAC chip itself and the implementation of it.
I'm going to run it through my Yamaha 2010. Since I do use the room correction I guess HDMI is the best way to go. I wasn't sure if there was some other reason to use analog. Thanks for your reply gsr.
pappaduke is offline  
post #5793 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Hey Guy`s ,

Please don`t take this the wrong way , but... why buy a 103D if you are just going to use it as a video processor , why not buy a Darblet ?

That way you could save extra wear and tear on your 103D.

I have one , and just use as a dvd/BD player and cd/sacd player.

It`s just I have been following this thread and read how some of you folks are hooking up HDMI cables to even the front input .

Anyway , I wish you all a :

Safe and Happy Holiday Season.

Have fun , but live

G. 
jedi29 is offline  
 
post #5794 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 10:21 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 9,337
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1279 Post(s)
Liked: 1345
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post
Hey Guy`s ,

Please don`t take this the wrong way , but... why buy a 103D if you are just going to use it as a video processor , why not buy a Darblet ?

That way you could save extra wear and tear on your 103D.

I have one , and just use as a dvd/BD player and cd/sacd player.

It`s just I have been following this thread and read how some of you folks are hooking up HDMI cables to even the front input .
One answer is that a BDP-103 + a standalone Darblet costs a lot more than a BDP-103D.
gsr is offline  
post #5795 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,907
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Another reason is that it is more stable in terms of HDMI handshaking than a Darblet.

Last edited by curlyjive; 11-24-2014 at 11:10 AM.
curlyjive is offline  
post #5796 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 10:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Ok , thanks for answering my question !!

HH

Gary 
jedi29 is offline  
post #5797 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 12:28 PM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Problem: No rewind capability with dvds.
Am a proud owner of a 103D, 103 and a 95. My 103D freezes up if I try to rewind a dvd. Have to open the drawer to get it to work.
With blu rays it rewinds fine. All other functions work with dvds. Replaced the remote batteries and unplugged it but to no avail. Haven't called OPPO. Has anyone else had this problem?
jedi29 likes this.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #5798 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Paul H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elk Grove, California,USA
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post
Problem: No rewind capability with dvds.
Am a proud owner of a 103D, 103 and a 95. My 103D freezes up if I try to rewind a dvd. Have to open the drawer to get it to work.
With blu rays it rewinds fine. All other functions work with dvds. Replaced the remote batteries and unplugged it but to no avail. Haven't called OPPO. Has anyone else had this problem?
Rewind capability is only possible with video tape. You mean play DVD's in reverse.

Avatar: IMAX Header
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection
Paul H is offline  
post #5799 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 12:54 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,409
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3399 Post(s)
Liked: 2652
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post
Problem: No rewind capability with dvds.
Am a proud owner of a 103D, 103 and a 95. My 103D freezes up if I try to rewind a dvd. Have to open the drawer to get it to work.
With blu rays it rewinds fine. All other functions work with dvds. Replaced the remote batteries and unplugged it but to no avail. Haven't called OPPO. Has anyone else had this problem?
Have you updated firmware recently? This was reported fixed in 77-0827:

Quote:
Resolved a playback issue with regular DVD discs found on 75-0515 firmware. Customers reported that if the "DVD 24p Conversion" was set to "On", pressing the REV (rewind) button within the DVD playback could cause the player to immediately freeze up. This issue has been resolved in this firmware.
-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5800 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
storman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just want to provide an update to the post I submitted on 11/20 wherein I said my 103D stopped outputting sound over HDMI only when playing SACDs. I had the day off today so I took it to my local dealer. He connected it to several systems and it was able to play the SACDs that I had brought along from home. So he proved that my 103D was able to output SACD sound decoded to multi channel PCM.

We then talked about the rest of my system and I mentioned that I had also been trying to upload a new ARC2 measurement to my MRX510 receiver but the upload had been failing. He suggested that might be the root cause of not getting any sound from a SACD (my MRX510 would display "no signal detected" while a SACD was playing). Long story short, it was the ARC2 upload issues. My solution there was to unplug the MRX510 from the wall outlet, wait a few minutes, plug it back in and then turn it on. Basically a AC power on reset or hard reboot. With that done, I was able to complete the ARC2 upload to the MRX510. I'm getting sound now from SACDs and I'm a happy camper once again.

Bill
storman is offline  
post #5801 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry for the OT! but.....

I'm absolutely astounded by OPPO's customer service.

Just last month I received an OPPO region free DVD in the mail with a letter saying "Thank you very much for being part of the OPPO revolution and making it what it is today. Please find enclosed a DVD which unlocks your player for DVD multi region. When you upgrade your firmware you may lose the multi region function, if you do, put this DVD in your disc drive and it will unlock it again" How cool is that!

And then today I receive this in the mail, a little OPPO figurine, for completing an online survey on the OPPO 103D.
I'm seriously impressed!

Anyone with any doubts on the customer service offered by OPPO, disregard them.
OPPO has, without a doubt, got the best customer service I have ever received from a company.

obagley is offline  
post #5802 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,574
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 501 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by obagley View Post
And then today I receive this in the mail, a little OPPO figurine, for completing an online survey on the OPPO 103D.
Damn shame I live in Euroland

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #5803 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhale64L7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NE OH
Posts: 2,854
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 355
I want one

JVC RS4810 projector Stewart Cima 115" 2.35 screen, ATI 523 and 528 amps
7 mirror imaged 2 way DIY monitors. All matched to within 1db. All parts matched, 1 SVS SB16 ultra subwoofer
Emotiva XMC-1 processor Marantz UD5007 Bluray player
Furman sequencer ran off of a double 50amp breaker,Furman power conditioner
All in a dedicated 15x22x8 foot dedicated home theater.
rhale64L7 is online now  
post #5804 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 271 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
I am sorry for asking this question as I'm sure it has been asked before many times. I am getting a 3D Tv but my Pioneer SC 25 is not 3D. How do I hook this up using HDMI. I want to run my Directv Genie through my 103D. Thank you
Can anyone help me with this question? Thanks

SAMSUNG UN607150- OPPO BDP 103D- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR7008 - APPLE TV -MONSTER POWER HTS2600MK -DIRECTV GENIE -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG UN466500- ENERGY 50'S L/R -PSA S1801- DENON-AVR-3311CI- PS3 -APPLETV- MINI GENIE
tang7969 is offline  
post #5805 of 9273 Old 11-24-2014, 03:50 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,409
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3399 Post(s)
Liked: 2652
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
Can anyone help me with this question? Thanks
I'm pretty sure this is in the manual. Connect HDMI1 to the display, HDMI2 to the receiver, and set the player to SPLIT A/V. The display will get 3D video and the receiver will get audio.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5806 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 08:52 AM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Have you updated firmware recently? This was reported fixed in 77-0827:



-Bill
Bill,
Thanks so much. Thought I had the latest firmware but mine is 05-15. Turned dvd 24p conversion "off" and it works fine. Thanks again.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #5807 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Now that you mention it , I always wondered why I had to manually rewind my SACD`s?

Regular CD / DVD / Bd_DVD`s all work fine.

Hopefully the next firmware will take care of it .

Later

Me 





_________LLLLOL
jedi29 is offline  
post #5808 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
sworth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hollywood, U.S.A.
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
What is the advantage of connecting the oppo via analog cables? Will the sound be better than connecting via hdmi?
The reason to use analogue outputs is if your amp doesn't have a DAC built in and you need to use the one in the player. I have an AV Receiver so I output through HDMI and pass the signal through the DAC in the receiver. If I had a bare bones amp, I would need to do it the other way. Either way, the results are pretty much the same.
sworth is offline  
post #5809 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys need help...my oppo 103d is acting up.....not sure what is the issue but nothing is wrong from hdmi 1....no video or audio is coming from hdmi1..
it was working fine with cdmi 1 to denon x4000 receiver but all a sudden nothing works...just to troubleshoot i tried connecting hdmi1 to projector and tv but it doesn't work but hdmi2 out works....please advise

Definitive bp7002 l/r-clr 2500 center-bp2x rear-supercube 1
AV8801/Emotiva xpa-5/oppo 103d, butterkicker BK-KIT-4
rocksarkar is offline  
post #5810 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 02:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,627
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3780 Post(s)
Liked: 4922
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocksarkar View Post
Guys need help...my oppo 103d is acting up.....not sure what is the issue but nothing is wrong from hdmi 1....no video or audio is coming from hdmi1..
it was working fine with cdmi 1 to denon x4000 receiver but all a sudden nothing works...just to troubleshoot i tried connecting hdmi1 to projector and tv but it doesn't work but hdmi2 out works....please advise
The most common reason for loss of HDMI signal is simply that the plug has come loose in the socket at one end or the other. HDMI is only friction fit, and it just takes a small shift of the plug to screw things up.

Next, make sure you are using the correct sockets. You may have the HDMI 1 output on the back panel confused with the HDMI BACK Input socket for example.

If no easy answer there, use the Resolution button on the remote, along with the Up/Down Arrows an Enter to change the output Resolution to 480p. 480p (not 480i) is the simplest HDMI signal. You'll see the Resolution offered in the Front Panel Display. If that works, then try 1080i, then 1080p again. If only 1080p is failing, then check your HDMI settings for HDMI 1 (using video on the HDMI 2 output). Turn Deep Color OFF, and set Color Space to YCbCr 4:4:4 (the normal, default settings for HDMI).

I'm assuming you are testing the HDMI 2 output to the SAME TV. If testing to a different TV, then also check the 1080p/24 Output setting, the 4K Output setting and the TV System setting. You may have one of those set to something that works with one TV but not the other.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 11-25-2014 at 02:19 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5811 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,584
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2480 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocksarkar View Post
Guys need help...my oppo 103d is acting up.....not sure what is the issue but nothing is wrong from hdmi 1....no video or audio is coming from hdmi1..
it was working fine with cdmi 1 to denon x4000 receiver but all a sudden nothing works...just to troubleshoot i tried connecting hdmi1 to projector and tv but it doesn't work but hdmi2 out works....please advise
If all else fails, unplug the player for a minute.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #5812 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 05:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
I'm pretty sure this is in the manual. Connect HDMI1 to the display, HDMI2 to the receiver, and set the player to SPLIT A/V. The display will get 3D video and the receiver will get audio.

-Bill
Thanks for the response...i did try that but forgot to mention and no luck

Definitive bp7002 l/r-clr 2500 center-bp2x rear-supercube 1
AV8801/Emotiva xpa-5/oppo 103d, butterkicker BK-KIT-4
rocksarkar is offline  
post #5813 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 06:32 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,627
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3780 Post(s)
Liked: 4922
Double check that you have not confused the HDMI 1 and HDMI 2 sockets. It is easy to do.

If that gets you audio but no *3D* video (where regular video is OK), try setting 3D Output to Forced.
--Bob

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 11-25-2014 at 06:34 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #5814 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 07:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Just received my Oppo 103D today. When I set it up everything appeared to be working fine. Once I set up my Harmony one to operate everything I started receiving an error message about not getting an ARC signal. Long story short, the Harmony set the power on for the Oppo to 25000ms. This caused the player to get confused about the signal. Once I changed the setting to 500ms all is well. I spent a good two hours figuring that out. If I didn't read forums, I would have been completely lost. I wonder how the average consumer deals with all of this technology.

Last edited by pappaduke; 11-27-2014 at 02:57 AM.
pappaduke is offline  
post #5815 of 9273 Old 11-25-2014, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Thanks for the replies about my analog versus HDMI question. Again, these forums are a huge help.
pappaduke is offline  
post #5816 of 9273 Old 11-26-2014, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Badgerdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitewater, Wisconsin
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oppo 103 or 103D for me?

Live in the country and have Directv. My equipement is Pioneer PRO 151FD,calibrated by Chad, and Directv box HR24/500 and a older DVD player. I use HDMI for my connections to my
Pioneer Elite VSX-33 AVR. To get the best picture from my DTV box should I go with the
103 or the 103D?
I'm 65 and not that tech savvy, so appreciate all the help the forum can give me. Also can you help with the proper way to route my HDMI cables. I use Monoprice cables and see they now offer a HDMI cable called Redmire, should I purchase those also.
Will there be a big improvement in picture quality from my DTV box routed through the OPPO?

Thank you in advance for all your help and input, Brad

Last edited by Badgerdawg; 11-26-2014 at 08:58 AM.
Badgerdawg is offline  
post #5817 of 9273 Old 11-26-2014, 08:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,409
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3399 Post(s)
Liked: 2652
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badgerdawg View Post
Live in the country and have Directv. My equipement is Pioneer PRO 151FD,calibrated by Chad, and Directv box HR24/500 and a older DVD player. I use HDMI for my connections to my
Pioneer Elite VSX-33 AVR. To get the best picture from my DTV box should I go with the
103 or the 103D?
I'm 65 and not that tech savvy, so appreciate all the help the forum can give me. Also can you help with the proper way to route my HDMI cables. I use Monoprice cables and see they now offer a HDMI cable called Redmire, should I purchase those also.


Thank you in advance for all your help and input, Brad
The "D" is the Darbee model, which has special video processing capability. Whether you would want it is a matter of taste; it is a subtle effect when used properly. See the first post in this thread for reviews on the technology.

Cable routing: the manual for the player is available online. See if that answers your questions first.

Redmere: useful if you have very long cable runs. Else, what you already have is fine if they are working for you. HDMI pretty much "does or doesn't"; new cables do not give a quality boost.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #5818 of 9273 Old 11-26-2014, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badgerdawg View Post
Live in the country and have Directv. My equipement is Pioneer PRO 151FD,calibrated by Chad, and Directv box HR24/500 and a older DVD player. I use HDMI for my connections to my
Pioneer Elite VSX-33 AVR. To get the best picture from my DTV box should I go with the
103 or the 103D?
I'm 65 and not that tech savvy, so appreciate all the help the forum can give me. Also can you help with the proper way to route my HDMI cables. I use Monoprice cables and see they now offer a HDMI cable called Redmire, should I purchase those also.


Thank you in advance for all your help and input, Brad
Get the 103D. I have DISH. Run the HDMI from DirectTV to the rear HDMI IN on the 103D. Then run HDMI OUT from the 103D to the Pioneer HDMI IN for whatever input you want(BD/DVD ?). For me, DARBEE makes a big/subtle difference to the DISH picture. I have DARBEE set on around 35. For the extra $100, the 103D is a no brainer IMO. I use monoprice cables too, but I have not purchased the RedMere cables. The cables I have work just fine.
badgerpilot is offline  
post #5819 of 9273 Old 11-26-2014, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Badgerdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Whitewater, Wisconsin
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
The "D" is the Darbee model, which has special video processing capability. Whether you would want it is a matter of taste; it is a subtle effect when used properly. See the first post in this thread for reviews on the technology.

Cable routing: the manual for the player is available online. See if that answers your questions first.

Redmere: useful if you have very long cable runs. Else, what you already have is fine if they are working for you. HDMI pretty much "does or doesn't"; new cables do not give a quality boost.

-Bill
Will I see a noticeable difference ro
uting my DTV box through the OPPO?
Badgerdawg is offline  
post #5820 of 9273 Old 11-26-2014, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NoVA
Posts: 1,722
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badgerdawg View Post
Live in the country and have Directv. My equipement is Pioneer PRO 151FD,calibrated by Chad, and Directv box HR24/500 and a older DVD player. I use HDMI for my connections to my
Pioneer Elite VSX-33 AVR. To get the best picture from my DTV box should I go with the
103 or the 103D?
I'm 65 and not that tech savvy, so appreciate all the help the forum can give me. Also can you help with the proper way to route my HDMI cables. I use Monoprice cables and see they now offer a HDMI cable called Redmire, should I purchase those also.
Will there be a big improvement in picture quality from my DTV box routed through the OPPO?

Thank you in advance for all your help and input, Brad
Consider the 103D. The Darbee can be turned off and adjusted to taste as others advised. Would you miss it if you don't have it? Not really...this is where ignorance is bliss comes into play. However, when you're A/B'ing how it looks with and without, you'll notice the difference in contrast and will see the detail advantage, especially when the image size is 60" or larger.

Monoprice is the best place for cables, without a doubt. Just keep in mind the 103D comes with a 6' ft hdmi included. I would add that the lighter the cable, the better...heavier hdmi cables place more weight on the connector itself, and this can cause issues at times with the HDMI input being bent slightly in the avr. Just a word of caution to keep in mind in general.
asoofi1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off