Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 203 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 6066 Old 12-18-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,436
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarHorse View Post
Shouldn't power down the whole house too?
Not necessary. Only power off any/all devices using wired and wireless networking.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 6066 Old 12-18-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post
Does this really depend on your TVs de-interlacing and scaling capabilities compared to the 103D?

If your TV already does a good job with native resolutions, then no need to pass through the OPPO. On the other hand it you are getting a messy image, then the 103D might help.

If you like the Darbee processing then that is yet another reason to pass through the 103D.
Either way, whether you're sending the native signal thru the Oppo or bypassing it, and going direct to your tv, you'll still be hit with the annyoing 2-3 second hdmi handshake. For this, I chose not to output native video from my fios dvr. I don't know about you, but I prefer snappy/quick channel changes, and I constantly flip channels at night. If you don't switch often between 720p, 1080i, or 480i broadcasts while watching network tv, then sending native video thru your Oppo or bypassing it direct to your tv is a choice only you can decide. Pick what looks best to you. My tv does a great job at upscaling/deinterlacing, and I don't have the Darbee version Oppo player, so I chose to bypass my 105, and send 1080i video direct to my tv. The only reason I need to turn on my Oppo player is either for playing audio or popping in a shiny disk to watch a flick. I like Netflix, but use my tv's smarthub Flix app to watch movies.

Last edited by DanF8500; 12-18-2014 at 05:13 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6063 of 6066 Old Today, 01:32 AM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is cinavia enforced on either of the two HDMI inputs on the 103d? Let's say I have my ISO capable BDP-93 plugged into the front HDMI input on the 103d and load an ISO infected with cinavia. Will the 103d detect the cinavia watermark and mute the audio? Sorry if this has been answered already; I tried searching and found someone asking a similar question last year but I don't think it was ever answered.

edit: question #2 : Does the netflix app play content at the original framerate?

Last edited by kaibrok; Today at 03:24 AM.
kaibrok is offline  
post #6064 of 6066 Old Today, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input? In other words, is there a pass through capability like on my receiver?
ArthurL is online now  
post #6065 of 6066 Old Today, 07:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,784
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurL View Post
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input?
Yes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6066 of 6066 Old Today, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Yes.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. It makes sense now that I think about it...the Darbee circuitry needs power in order to work. Back to bed for me.
ArthurL is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off