Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 203 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 6072 Old 12-18-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 245 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarHorse View Post
Shouldn't power down the whole house too?
Not necessary. Only power off any/all devices using wired and wireless networking.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 6072 Old 12-18-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 305 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post
Does this really depend on your TVs de-interlacing and scaling capabilities compared to the 103D?

If your TV already does a good job with native resolutions, then no need to pass through the OPPO. On the other hand it you are getting a messy image, then the 103D might help.

If you like the Darbee processing then that is yet another reason to pass through the 103D.
Either way, whether you're sending the native signal thru the Oppo or bypassing it, and going direct to your tv, you'll still be hit with the annyoing 2-3 second hdmi handshake. For this, I chose not to output native video from my fios dvr. I don't know about you, but I prefer snappy/quick channel changes, and I constantly flip channels at night. If you don't switch often between 720p, 1080i, or 480i broadcasts while watching network tv, then sending native video thru your Oppo or bypassing it direct to your tv is a choice only you can decide. Pick what looks best to you. My tv does a great job at upscaling/deinterlacing, and I don't have the Darbee version Oppo player, so I chose to bypass my 105, and send 1080i video direct to my tv. The only reason I need to turn on my Oppo player is either for playing audio or popping in a shiny disk to watch a flick. I like Netflix, but use my tv's smarthub Flix app to watch movies.

Last edited by DanF8500; 12-18-2014 at 05:13 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6063 of 6072 Old 12-21-2014, 01:32 AM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is cinavia enforced on either of the two HDMI inputs on the 103d? Let's say I have my ISO capable BDP-93 plugged into the front HDMI input on the 103d and load an ISO infected with cinavia. Will the 103d detect the cinavia watermark and mute the audio? Sorry if this has been answered already; I tried searching and found someone asking a similar question last year but I don't think it was ever answered.

edit: question #2 : Does the netflix app play content at the original framerate?

Last edited by kaibrok; 12-21-2014 at 03:24 AM.
kaibrok is offline  
post #6064 of 6072 Old 12-21-2014, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input? In other words, is there a pass through capability like on my receiver?
ArthurL is offline  
post #6065 of 6072 Old 12-21-2014, 07:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurL View Post
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input?
Yes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6066 of 6072 Old 12-21-2014, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Yes.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. It makes sense now that I think about it...the Darbee circuitry needs power in order to work. Back to bed for me.
ArthurL is offline  
post #6067 of 6072 Old 12-21-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I finally got a 4K TV to test everything out with routing components with my old AVC with basic HDMI. I ended up eliminating three components in the process and get a much better image all around. This might be helpful for others who want new capabilities like 3D and ARC without buying a new AVR.

So, a little convoluted, but here is what I did...

1) I use split AV on the 103D. First, I connect the 103D directly to the TV via HDMI out 1. I connect the AVR via HDMI 2. But I also connect the HDMI out from the AVR into the rear HDMI in of the 103D.

2) I connect my Dish Network STB and my AppleTV to the HDMI inputs of the AVR -- as well as an old VCR with analog inputs that get output as digital by the AVR

3) Because I ran out of inputs on my AVR I needed to route another component, an HD DVD player, to the front HDMI input on the 103D.

So, I was able to eliminate the ROKU box that I was only really using for NetFlix - using the 103D now. I can use the ARC from my TV to route audio to my AVR -- so one HDMI cable to the TV. I can use Darbee processing as well as 4K upscaling for all inputs.

I was able to program activities with with my Harmony ONE remote. I still need to tweak a few things after rerouting everything.

I'm still having trouble with my Toshiba HD A30 HD-DVD player to work properly. I get audio -- but a green screen on the video. I'll have to play with that some more. I may have to try my other, XA2 player, to see if that works better.
miata is online now  
post #6068 of 6072 Old 12-22-2014, 08:52 PM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaibrok View Post
Is cinavia enforced on either of the two HDMI inputs on the 103d? Let's say I have my ISO capable BDP-93 plugged into the front HDMI input on the 103d and load an ISO infected with cinavia. Will the 103d detect the cinavia watermark and mute the audio? Sorry if this has been answered already; I tried searching and found someone asking a similar question last year but I don't think it was ever answered.

edit: question #2 : Does the netflix app play content at the original framerate?
I emailed OPPO and asked them about cinavia on the HDMI inputs and this is what they said:

Quote:
Cinavia at this time is only enforced on physical discs. It is not enforced on USB, DLNA and SMB, or HDMI inputs.
kaibrok is offline  
post #6069 of 6072 Old 12-23-2014, 01:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 65
I was listening to my Eagles Hotel California DVD-A disc in 5.1 with no problems and finished the discs tracks.

I wanted to hear what it sounded like in 2 channel but once I selected 2 channel it would switch but never would start playing the disc.
I tried reloading the disc and a few other things to no avail.

Am I missing something from way back?
I'm connected via HDMI to my Denon 4520 receiver.

Thanks for any help.

Edit ***

Happens with my Oppo 83 as well.

Last edited by laserjock II; 12-23-2014 at 09:22 PM.
laserjock II is offline  
post #6070 of 6072 Old Today, 01:19 PM
Newbie
 
glabelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, just got an Oppo 103D for our home theater for Christmas ;-)

Got it all setup and working. However, when I tried to reverse on a DVD, the player hung. I found out that this was fixed in the latest October firmware release, so I attempted to upgrade.

My network is working fine, I can go to YouTube, NetFlix, etc. But when I select Network as the upgrade path, it immediately (suspiciously fast) comes back with "cannot connect to server".

Anyone?

Thanks, George in Aloha Oregon
glabelle is online now  
post #6071 of 6072 Old Today, 01:37 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,796
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 684 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by glabelle View Post
Ok, just got an Oppo 103D for our home theater for Christmas ;-)

Got it all setup and working. However, when I tried to reverse on a DVD, the player hung. I found out that this was fixed in the latest October firmware release, so I attempted to upgrade.

My network is working fine, I can go to YouTube, NetFlix, etc. But when I select Network as the upgrade path, it immediately (suspiciously fast) comes back with "cannot connect to server".

Anyone?

Thanks, George in Aloha Oregon
There is also a "Connection Test" under Network in Setup, which goes to OPPO's servers. Is that working?

You can also download firmware to a USB stick and update that way. It will get you going until the network is straightened out.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6072 of 6072 Unread Today, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I bought my 103D a few months ago, but just turned it on for the first time today. I'm running wireless through my home network and also received the "cannot connect to server" message when I try to update my firmware.
StevenC56 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off