Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 223 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 6678 Old 02-26-2015, 02:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by tym2relax View Post
Hello to 103D owners, I have a question for you.

I recently got a 103, and while I love it, I wish I had the Darbee processing. So, my options are, return the 103 and get a 103D, or add the Darbee Darblet.

Say the added cost is the same. Is there any real advantage of the 103D over the 103 with Darblet?
I had the Darbee Darblet before getting the 103D and agree with everything Bill said above. While I did have some handshake problems with the Darblet what was more problematic for me was the remote control, it was very unreliable, often having to be right on top of the unit to get it to respond. The Darbee feature built-in to the Oppo has operated perfectly without issue.

As far as cost, you should be able to get at least $150 for the Darblet and that will more than cover the extra cost of the 103D over the 103.
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 6678 Old 02-26-2015, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
That was an EXTRA benefit of using the Redmere cables as well. I used to have a rats nest of big ass firehouse cables coming out the back of my receiver and things have tidied up considerably using Redmere cables, AND IT WORKS BETTER!
A lot of cable boxes will still be problematic (especially at NATIVE) but that is to be expected with HDMI..
Do remember they are TRULY directional (unlike bs Monster cable cables) If you have them hooked up the wrong way they will NOT work..Also, you can not "daisy chain" them...
Hmm, I am using Redmere cables from all of my source devices to my prepro (Yamaha CX-A5000) and then another Redmere cable from the prepro to my projector w/o any handshake issues. So, my question is, what exactly do you mean by "you can not daisy chain them". I suspect the CX-A5000 is re-driving the output HDMI signal to the projector, but don't really know that.
bwillcox is online now  
post #6663 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 08:11 AM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Hmm, I am using Redmere cables from all of my source devices to my prepro (Yamaha CX-A5000) and then another Redmere cable from the prepro to my projector w/o any handshake issues. So, my question is, what exactly do you mean by "you can not daisy chain them". I suspect the CX-A5000 is re-driving the output HDMI signal to the projector, but don't really know that.
I meant two redmere cables in a row. Your set up is fine. I have 9 hdmi redmere for my sources to my marantz, one redmere from my marantz to another darblet, then a redmere cable to my Panny 8000. Has been very reliable so far.
mecmec is online now  
post #6664 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mecmec View Post
I meant two redmere cables in a row. Your set up is fine. I have 9 hdmi redmere for my sources to my marantz, one redmere from my marantz to another darblet, then a redmere cable to my Panny 8000. Has been very reliable so far.
That's what I thought you may have meant. It never even occurred to me that anyone would try that, even with normal HDMI cables. HDMI is flaky enough w/o adding extra risk such as that.
bwillcox is online now  
post #6665 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 11:51 AM
Member
 
tym2relax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using the Roku stick sold by Oppo? If so, I was wondering if adding a right angle adapter or any other HDML adapter/cable would have an effect on the MHL powering the stick.
tym2relax is offline  
post #6666 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 11:57 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,852
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by tym2relax View Post
Is anyone using the Roku stick sold by Oppo? If so, I was wondering if adding a right angle adapter or any other HDML adapter/cable would have an effect on the MHL powering the stick.
There's no need to post the same question in multiple threads. At least give people a chance to respond first...

To answer your quest, plenty of us are using right angle adapters from Monoprice without any problems. Just make sure you get the one that points it in the direction you desire as there are several options.
gsr is online now  
post #6667 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 11:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 28,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 664 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by tym2relax View Post
Is anyone using the Roku stick sold by Oppo? If so, I was wondering if adding a right angle adapter or any other HDML adapter/cable would have an effect on the MHL powering the stick.
I use this one here and it works fine.
Keenan is online now  
post #6668 of 6678 Old Yesterday, 04:07 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,326
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 773 Post(s)
Liked: 1087
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwillcox View Post
Hmm, I am using Redmere cables from all of my source devices to my prepro (Yamaha CX-A5000) and then another Redmere cable from the prepro to my projector w/o any handshake issues. So, my question is, what exactly do you mean by "you can not daisy chain them". I suspect the CX-A5000 is re-driving the output HDMI signal to the projector, but don't really know that.
The active circuit in the Redmere cables make each cable act like it is a 6 foot cable, regardless of its actual length, as far as signal re-equalization goes. 6 foot length is the design center for "normal" HDMI cables. Either shorter or longer HDMI cables will degrade the signal differently than the transmitter/receiver chips in the devices at either end assume.

If you daisy chain Redmere cables, it is like daisy chaining a set of 6 foot cables. So (1) you lose the advantage the active circuit is trying to provide, and (2) you gain all the problems caused by the EXTRA signal degradation that happens due to the fan out / fan in of wires at each connection point.

As with any case of things that degrade HDMI signals, some folks won't have any problems. But a single, 20 foot, Redmere cable (for example) is likely to work more reliably than two 10 foot Redmere cables daisy chained, or any other such combo.

NOW, each active device in your HDMI path -- your prepro for example -- REGENERATES the HDMI signal at its outputs. So HDMI in and HDMI out are TWO DIFFERENT connections. I.e., the Redmere cables on either side are not "daisy chained". They would only be daisy chained if connected via a PASSIVE connector -- such as a female/female adapter between the two cables, or something a bit more elaborate such as a passive (purely mechanical) HDMI switch box between them.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #6669 of 6678 Old Today, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
golffnutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Which is better and why:

1) Buy the Oppo 103D or

2) Buy the DVP 5000 Darbee Standalone

The stand alone makes more sense in order to improve picture quality on your Video display (TV or Projector) via all of your inputs, multiple DVD players, TV, projector, etc. instead of having it in just one dvd player if you buy the Oppo 103D.

I have heard some comments from AVS members who have the 5000 that they do sometimes have black out problems from time to time. I want to buy one or the other format but do not know which one to buy, please, help me make up my mind by giving me yoiur input. By the way does the Darbee really improve or work with LCD projectors like mine, the Panasonic PT-AE 8000? I also have a 120" viewing area screen, I have also heard that really big screens actually benefit more from Darbee. Thank you so much.
Thank you.

Thank you.

Golffnutt

"GO DAWGS" !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
golffnutt is online now  
post #6670 of 6678 Old Today, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Up north
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have recently noticed audio drop outs that have not occurred before. They were ATMOS tracks. Trying to figure out why, I started surfing Oppo threads.


It appears to be related to a new "TrueHD soundtracks that use Seamless Branching".


Based on user comments, all Oppo players have this problem. It can be corrected by outputting LPCM to the audio processor.


I have two Oppo players in use. A BDP 83 and a 93. The 93 is for my HT, the 83 is for the second system.


I thought I would just buy a new 103 or 103D, but users are reporting the same problem with these two machines as well.


I'm not sure what to do at this point. I do not wish to change audio output settings whenever I watch a BR movie.


I also use a Lumagen Radiance XS 3D in the HT. I send the Oppo output to the XS a direct source video output.


I have a couple questions that might help me determine what to do next, as I was not planning to upgrade my entire system to 4K yet. Figured I would wait a year before doing that.


1 - is there an Oppo player that does not have problems with "TrueHD soundtracks that use Seamless Branching" ??


2 - if I were to buy the 103D, can I use the Darbee if I output source direct??
mdrew is offline  
post #6671 of 6678 Old Today, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,914
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 638 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdrew View Post
I have recently noticed audio drop outs that have not occurred before. They were ATMOS tracks. Trying to figure out why, I started surfing Oppo threads.
I have two Oppo players in use. A BDP 83 and a 93. The 93 is for my HT, the 83 is for the second system.


I thought I would just buy a new 103 or 103D, but users are reporting the same problem with these two machines as well.
Nobody has reported DolbyTHD dropouts on the 103/103D models. You are misinformed.

The issue is WELL documented in the dedicated threads for the 83 and 93 models.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #6672 of 6678 Old Today, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Up north
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Nobody has reported DolbyTHD dropouts on the 103/103D models. You are misinformed.

The issue is WELL documented in the dedicated threads for the 83 and 93 models.
No need to be snarky.


I searched this thread for "ATMOS", and there were reports of drop outs. I may have misinterpreted what was written. Could have sworn it was in regards to "TrueHD Seamless Branching". Expendables 3 and John Wick for examples.


So you are saying the 103 and 103D do not have issues with these two movies outputting bit stream?
mdrew is offline  
post #6673 of 6678 Old Today, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,565
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked: 213
There are no issues with Oppo players and ATMOS soundtracks.
As you said, the issue lies primarily with Dolby TrueHD soundtracks that happen to use "seamless branching".
Also as rdgrimes stated, that issue is not present with the newer BDP-10x players from Oppo.

Sometimes we see a lone report from a user that may have experienced some kind of anomaly, like audio dropouts,
but it's also good to wait and see if anyone else can confirm to have the same issue.
Sometimes that issue is due to some kind of improper setup, or is an issue with some other piece of gear in their setup.
This is also why it's better to come into a thread like this and ask questions
rather than make statements against something that hasn't been confirmed.
Now someone else my read your previous comments that aren't correct and make the same mistake.
Not that mistakes don't happen, and IMO you are to be commended for actually reading though to find answers,
where so many others ask the same questions that were answered just a few days ago, lol.

Again though, just to be clear, there are no issues with Dolby's seamless branching on the 10x players.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #6674 of 6678 Unread Today, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1941 Post(s)
Liked: 1107
Quick question before I choose whether to purchase the BDP-103 or the BDP-103D.

I am interested in up-scaling to 4K in the player, rather than letting my flat panel up-scale. The problem I have now is that there is a Darblet in the HDMI chain between the AVR and the flat panel. The Darblet, of course, does not pass a 4K signal.

Does the 103D apply Darbee processing to the up-scaled 4K signal?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #6675 of 6678 Unread Today, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Quick question before I choose whether to purchase the BDP-103 or the BDP-103D.

I am interested in up-scaling to 4K in the player, rather than letting my flat panel up-scale. The problem I have now is that there is a Darblet in the HDMI chain between the AVR and the flat panel. The Darblet, of course, does not pass a 4K signal.

Does the 103D apply Darbee processing to the up-scaled 4K signal?
I believe it does, I have at times set the oppo to output 4k with the Darbee settings on, but never checked to see if the Darbee is still active in the 4k mode. I'll check next time I change the output to 4k.

on a side note, my Samsung 8550 does a better job upscaling to 4k than the Oppo.
vega509 is online now  
post #6676 of 6678 Unread Today, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post

Does the 103D apply Darbee processing to the up-scaled 4K signal?
Darbee is applied to the 1080p image, then upscaling to 4K happens after that. So, the Oppo upscales the Darbee'd 1080p image to 4K.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #6677 of 6678 Unread Today, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1941 Post(s)
Liked: 1107
Quote:
Originally Posted by vega509 View Post
I believe it does, I have at times set the oppo to output 4k with the Darbee settings on, but never checked to see if the Darbee is still active in the 4k mode. I'll check next time I change the output to 4k.

on a side note, my Samsung 8550 does a better job upscaling to 4k than the Oppo.
I have the Sony XBR65x900A, which does a beautiful job up-scaling. I pass 1080p signals from source components like my BDP-93 to my Marantz, and then thru the Darblet to the Sony, where the final up-scaling occurs. I really like the Darbee processing, but I also like having options regarding where to up-scale.

Looking forward to your test, thanks.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #6678 of 6678 Unread Today, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 8,926
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1941 Post(s)
Liked: 1107
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Darbee is applied to the 1080p image, then upscaling to 4K happens after that. So, the Oppo upscales the Darbee'd 1080p to 4K.
Thanks. Similar to what I am doing now.
AustinJerry is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off