Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 239 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7141 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Oppo's response was simply confirming that you can use the de-embedder, which is true.

But as several of us already told you (a few of us are beta testers for Oppo and some of the others have a lot of experience using Oppo products), using the dual display option will dumb down the audio format you get out of HDMI2 to the audio modes supported by your display. Yes, you can use the de-embedder on HDMI2, but you won't get the best audio formats unless you setup the Oppo for split A/V mode. Regarding handshakes, there will still be a handshake even if you aren't actually displaying the video that comes out of HDMI2.

I guess the obvious question that comes to mind is why do you want audio to get to your display if you're sending it to your AVR via the de-embedder?
yes, in their response oppo was assuming i would be using spit a/v with the de-embedder for hi-res audio... question tho, why would oppo recommend lpcm rather than bitstream? re why would i want audio from my display if i'll also be sending it to my avr via de-embedder? i'll be using the oppo in a business environment where at times i'll need to use the display for close proximity viewing and listening while simultaneously playing the highest res possible licensed music from a different source through my avr via de-embedder to a multi-speaker system, it's not important that display audio is anything special in this sitch, just audible. here's what i'm thinking:



anyway, thanks very much for your help, it's greatly appreciated!

Last edited by aeneas01; 04-16-2015 at 10:46 AM.
aeneas01 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7142 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
btw oppo just responded to why lpcm and not bitstream:

Quote:
The de-embedder can't decode Dolby Digital and DTS, and their high resolution counter parts, so the player needs to convert these to PCM for the de-embedder.
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7143 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 10:56 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,984
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
yes, in their response oppo was assuming i would be using spit a/v with the de-embedder for hi-res audio... question tho, why would oppo recommend lpcm rather than bitstream?
As Oppo answered, the de-embedders can't typically decode the DD and DTS formats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas01 View Post
re why would i want audio from my display if i'll also be sending it to my avr via de-embedder? i'll be using the oppo in a business environment where at times i'll need to use the display for close proximity viewing and listening while simultaneously playing the highest res possible licensed music from a different source through my avr via de-embedder to a multi-speaker system, it's not important that display audio is anything special in this sitch, just audible. here's what i'm thinking:
The problem is that the Oppo can only output 1 audio format via the HDMI outputs at any given time, hence all the posts regarding that above... So if you insist on using the Dual Display mode, both ports will only get the best audio format your display will support. The only potential way around this is probably to replace the AVR you're using with something newer that can accept HDMI and then pass downmixed audio to the display. You would then only need to use 1 of the Oppo's HDMI outputs.
gsr is online now  
post #7144 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
The problem is that the Oppo can only output 1 audio format via the HDMI outputs at any given time, hence all the posts regarding that above... So if you insist on using the Dual Display mode, both ports will only get the best audio format your display will support. The only potential way around this is probably to replace the AVR you're using with something newer that can accept HDMI and then pass downmixed audio to the display. You would then only need to use 1 of the Oppo's HDMI outputs.
or if i want display audio + high res audio i can just use split a/v, hdmi-1 out to the display sans audio + analog f/l/r out to the display, and hdmi-2 out to the de-embedder + avr no?
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7145 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 11:20 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
^ Correct, assuming the display lets you play incoming HDMI video along with incoming Stereo Analog audio. Check the display's Manual for how to hook up a "DVI" source device, as this is exactly what is needed for such pre-HDMI, digital video source devices. It may be that only one, specific HDMI Input on the display works for this.

In Speaker Configuration, set the "Down Mix" to STEREO. Leave Left Front / Right Front as LARGE and Subwoofer as OFF. (These settings will only affect the multi-channel Analog audio outputs.)

You might also want to experiment with turning the Subwoofer back ON after setting STEREO above, even though the Subwoofer output is not cabled. This will discard any LFE channel content when you play multi-channel tracks (the ".1" of 5.1 or 7.1 tracks), thus eliminating the need for substantial down-mix attenuation on the Left Front / Right Front outputs, and may also be a better fit for what the built-in speakers of your display can handle. (If I were cabling things this way, this is what I would do.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 04-16-2015 at 11:35 AM.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7146 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 11:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Correct, assuming the display lets you play incoming HDMI video along with incoming Stereo Analog audio. Check the display's Manual for how to hook up a "DVI" source device, as this is exactly what is needed for such pre-HDMI, digital video source devices. It may be that only one, specific HDMI Input on the display works for this.

In Speaker Configuration, set the "Down Mix" to STEREO. Leave Left Front / Right Front as LARGE and Subwoofer as OFF. (These settings will only affect the multi-channel Analog audio outputs.)
--Bob
yes, my main display (not concerned with the other) has one hdmi input configured for dvi/hdmi + analog audio (l/r) use. and thanks for the display audio setting tip for this type of connection!
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7147 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 11:32 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
^ I just edited in an update to those recommended settings for you, so re-read my response above.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7148 of 7170 Old 04-16-2015, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ I just edited in an update to those recommended settings for you, so re-read my response above.
--Bob
just saw that, great stuff, thanks again!
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7149 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 01:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,849
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 910
I want to split the HDMI signal from my DVR which only has one HDMI output port. I'd like to send one stream directly to my AVR and one stream to the Oppo 103D so I can use the Darbee and other Oppo video processing to improve the cable picture from the DVR. This wouldn't be an issue if the Oppo passed the HDMI signal through when in its "off" (standby) state. However, the HDMI outs only seem to be active when the Oppo is "on". I don't want to leave it on all the time when I'm just watching TV. It sucks power and just puts more hours on the unit than necessary. So I'm trying to split the HDMI signal so I don't have to leave the Oppo "on" all the time.

What I found out is few if any of these HDMI splitters will pass multi-channel PCM audio through. They'll pass 6-channel bitstream audio just fine, and they'll pass 2-channel PCM just fine, but not the DD5.1 soundtrack when it's being fed to the splitter in LPCM.

Anybody have any idea why? Or what brand of splitter will work? Or why Oppo won't pass HDMI through in the "off" state? All questions for the ages...
archiguy is online now  
post #7150 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
I don't want to leave it on all the time when I'm just watching TV. It sucks power and just puts more hours on the unit than necessary. So I'm trying to split the HDMI signal so I don't have to leave the Oppo "on" all the time.
I really don't understand your logic. So, you want to save a little electricity and daily wear and tear on your Oppo unit? I have news for you....I'm positive your Oppo player will way outlast your tv as far as hrs used til failure. Plus, you only need your player on when your tv is on. I don't consider that excessive. Watch less tv if you really want to save electricity...tv's are electricity hogs. Most 103D owners want to gain the benefits of Darbee when watching tv. You will have no benefits with the player off. Also, an hdmi splitter is not a passive device. It requires power, which probably will be plugged in your wall 24/7. I don't like my tv on when I listen to music. This makes more sense...one doesn't need a tv on to listen to music, unless they want to use the Oppo player's onscreen music/network browsers. This is just my two cents of electricity I used to send this reply from my iPad.

Last edited by DanF8500; 04-17-2015 at 04:41 PM.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #7151 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 05:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 226
^ I would agree about just watching everything through the player...
If you are going to watch some content though it, and you are going to have the tv on anyway,
having the player on too isn't going to use that much more electricity.

As for wearing out the player... nah. The Oppo players are built to last.
I personally wouldn't hesitate to use it as much as necessary.
The player has a good 2yr warranty and if it should break out of warranty,
Oppo also has low repair costs in the rare event that it would need such service.

On the topic of splitters... I used to use one the was REALLY CHEAP (eBay/$10),
and it worked just fine for all the audio and video I sent through it.
I have also seen some that are powered and some that are not, so there are some passive ones out there,
but I would just look for something that is reliable, and if it's powered I wouldn't worry about the power usage as it would be really small.
One place to check might be Monoprice.com. You can see what they have and read through their user reviews and knowledge base articles
and see if it mentions what audio will pass through it.
You can also try send them some questions about a specific product and they will usually get back to you fairly quickly.
Just be careful what you do buy, as a lot of their stuff is really chinsy/cheap and some of their stuff is decent quality.
The trick usually for me is to just make sure I'm buying something that does what I want it to.
If something cheap gets the job done, then I consider that a win.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #7152 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 06:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
archiguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 18,849
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
but I would just look for something that is reliable, and if it's powered I wouldn't worry about the power usage as it would be really small.
One place to check might be Monoprice.com. You can see what they have and read through their user reviews and knowledge base articles
and see if it mentions what audio will pass through it.
Actually, one of the splitters I tried was from Monoprice. I talked to one of their techs who said they don't carry any HDMI splitters that will pass multi-channel PCM, only 2-channel. But they'll all pass 6-channel bitstream. That's weird, but apparently true. I don't understand it.

Maybe you guys are right. I'll just pass everything through the Oppo and be done with it. It's just one more machine to turn on & off before I get everything consolidated into a universal remote.
archiguy is online now  
post #7153 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
I want to split the HDMI signal from my DVR which only has one HDMI output port. I'd like to send one stream directly to my AVR and one stream to the Oppo 103D so I can use the Darbee and other Oppo video processing to improve the cable picture from the DVR. This wouldn't be an issue if the Oppo passed the HDMI signal through when in its "off" (standby) state. However, the HDMI outs only seem to be active when the Oppo is "on". I don't want to leave it on all the time when I'm just watching TV. It sucks power and just puts more hours on the unit than necessary. So I'm trying to split the HDMI signal so I don't have to leave the Oppo "on" all the time.

What I found out is few if any of these HDMI splitters will pass multi-channel PCM audio through. They'll pass 6-channel bitstream audio just fine, and they'll pass 2-channel PCM just fine, but not the DD5.1 soundtrack when it's being fed to the splitter in LPCM.

Anybody have any idea why? Or what brand of splitter will work? Or why Oppo won't pass HDMI through in the "off" state? All questions for the ages...
i was recently in the market for a hdmi splitter, something that would send hdmi to 2 displays simultaneously if needed, but that doesn't seem what you want/need, seems that you might actually be looking for an hdmi switch, not splitter. if that's the case, i believe this hdmi switch handles 5.1... you can do a search within the q&a section of the link to confirm...

http://www.amazon.com/Kinivo-301BN-P..._cd_al_qh_dp_i
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7154 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 08:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 29,197
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 867 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by archiguy View Post
I don't want to leave it on all the time when I'm just watching TV. It sucks power and just puts more hours on the unit than necessary. So I'm trying to split the HDMI signal so I don't have to leave the Oppo "on" all the time.
I agree with the others here, just leave the player on, it really is built like a tank and in the event it does "throw a track", Oppo has insanely good customer service, even way beyond the warranty period. Last year I had a problem with the tray sticking on a BDP-83, I was the second owner, and all it cost me was the shipping to Oppo, they fixed it free of charge and shipped it back for free as well, simply amazing as this player was purchased in 2009.
Keenan is online now  
post #7155 of 7170 Old 04-17-2015, 11:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Randall.White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I've been wondering. Is the Darbee enhancement more noticeable on a LED, Plasma or projector? I'm looking into buying a Oppo in the near future and am trying to decide if it's worth the extra $100.

Thanks.
Randall.White is offline  
post #7156 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 05:27 AM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall.White View Post
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I've been wondering. Is the Darbee enhancement more noticeable on a LED, Plasma or projector? I'm looking into buying a Oppo in the near future and am trying to decide if it's worth the extra $100.

Thanks.
They say the bigger the screen, the better it works. Mine is a 110 inch. Like it so far.
woodhead2 is offline  
post #7157 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 06:23 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
The type of display technology doesn't make a difference.
--Bob
Randall.White likes this.
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7158 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 06:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 226
^ I agree. The display tech isn't a variable, but the size of the screen does make a bigger difference.

The Darbee is very subtle on small displays (IE: 42" or so). Then as the display gets into the bigger sizes
(IE: 65"+) it becomes a little more noticeable. If you have a very large display, like a projector, you will see the Darbee do a lot more,
although it could still be considered "subtle", depending on your personal view.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #7159 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by johann777 View Post
I'm trying to figure out whether to get the 103 or 103D. I'm running a 7.2.4 system. Below is my whole system:

Projector: Sony HW-40ES
Receiver: Denon 5200
Amplifier: Emotiva-XPA 2
Screen: 150' Horizon Falcon Screen
Right and Left Front in Wall: Polk 265 LS
Center in Wall: Polk Audio 255 LS
Side Surround in-ceiling: 2 Polk Audio 80 F/X LS
Rear Surround in-ceiling: 2 Polk Audio 80 F/X LS
Dolby Atmos in-ceiling: 4 Polk Audio 700 LS
Subwoofers: 2 HSU VTF-15H MK II
Power Conditioner: Panamax M-5400

Would it be worth it to get the 103D? I'm mainly going to use it for playing blu-ray. I will have a cable box too. Haven't decided yet if I'll run it through the blu-ray player or straight to the receiver. Would the 103D be worth it for my system.

Thanks in advance
The 103d is a definite yes in my opinion , there are no drawbacks to the the . compared to the regular, only benefits from the darbee processor.
TorTorden is offline  
post #7160 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Randall.White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 962
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Thank you! I currently have a 64" plasma (D8000) but was looking to get a 75" or larger TV. Sounds like it'll be more noticeable with the larger screen. No plans to go projector though.
Randall.White is offline  
post #7161 of 7170 Old 04-18-2015, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
eng-399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Plainfield il
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Just ordered my Oppo BDP-103D today very excited glad to join the club here!!!
woodhead2 likes this.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-di...oot-boxes.html
The STONE HAMMERS sub box build 4/20 cubic boxes tuned @ 16hz.
eng-399 is online now  
post #7162 of 7170 Old Yesterday, 07:11 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arrow 103d and 4k: Best configuration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post
As for the Directv, you should set your STB to output the native resolution of each channel,
and when you do that there should be a decent improvement by running it though the player.
Do people have experience with doing that to a 4k TV? I am about to replace my HD with SUHD TV, which will upconvert to 4K and I wondered if the double upconvert was a good idea or whether I should let the Sammy TV and its one-connect box upscale the video from the sourceand not try to Darbize external video.

Relatedly, I have a Marantz SR7008 AVR and I was wondering if anyone had experience with the HDMI-loop problem trying to use the 103d to Darbize.

I guess the safest is to split the A/V and send audo to AVR and video to the TV, but it would nicer not to have to split them.
vodil is offline  
post #7163 of 7170 Old Yesterday, 07:24 AM
Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question AVR or UHD TV as master switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
The video and sound data are interleaved in the data stream, so whatever data is sent will be comprised of video and audio. The type of data that can be accommodated is limited by the HDMI bandwidth used.


No display that I know of can interpret TrueHD or DTS-HD-MA encoded audio. Yet my AVR, which takes the signal in from my 103D will happily do the translation and play the sound over my speakers then pass the signal along to my 1080p display, which has stereo speakers. .
Does that mean you are also using your TV speakers with your Home Theater speakers?
If the (UHD) TV is used as the switch will it pass the TrueHD audio to the AVR for decoding there (through ARC)?
vodil is offline  
post #7164 of 7170 Old Yesterday, 08:56 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,493
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 864 Post(s)
Liked: 1114
ARC can not carry TrueHD or DTS-HD MA.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #7165 of 7170 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Member
 
uriah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just been through this and wound up ordering active switch. just look up ARC. I was wrong about it till I researched.
uriah is online now  
post #7166 of 7170 Old Today, 12:47 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randall.White View Post
Thank you! I currently have a 64" plasma (D8000) but was looking to get a 75" or larger TV. Sounds like it'll be more noticeable with the larger screen. No plans to go projector though.
You should definitely see it on the 64".
I can see the darbee effect at 45% on my 51" plasma but as you say, bigger screen give more impact.

I don't go over 45% I do have a projector so a 90" screen comes down in front of the tv, at <10' that's big enough and over 45% on the darbee can start introducing artifacts on some content at that size.
TorTorden is offline  
post #7167 of 7170 Old Today, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
The problem is that the Oppo can only output 1 audio format via the HDMI outputs at any given time, hence all the posts regarding that above... So if you insist on using the Dual Display mode, both ports will only get the best audio format your display will support. The only potential way around this is probably to replace the AVR you're using with something newer that can accept HDMI and then pass downmixed audio to the display. You would then only need to use 1 of the Oppo's HDMI outputs.
i just came across, dug up actually, this key digital hdmi amp/switch left over from a setup i put together many years ago, and i'm wondering if it could be used as a workaround to the 103d's lowest common denominator for audio? it's an interesting switch in that it allows you to manually select edid for each output including audio output, which i assume is what the oppo will see rather than the tv's edid info. and, iirc, when hdmi spdif is selected as the audio output and connected to a sp/avr it still sends audio to the display via hdmi. anyway i had moved on, deciding to just set the oppo to split mode and run analog out to my display and hdmi 2 out to my sp. but now that i stumbled across this, and because i also need a splitter/switch in my setup, i'm going to give this thing a try. if it works well i'll report back because others might be interested, especially given they only go for about $40-$50 on ebay (i think they retailed Fro $400-$500 back in the day)...

http://mito-oem.com/media/pdf/HDMI2x4P_Manual.pdf
aeneas01 is online now  
post #7168 of 7170 Old Today, 07:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
J.Mike Ferrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 3,477
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 147
I've embraced the "straight wire" concept for some time. I want the information on the disc to be projected on the screen with no alteration to the signal. But I find the Darbee enhancement compelling. I'm running it at 60 HD (Blu-ray) and POP (DVD) and love what I see.

J.Mike
Those who die with the most toys ... are still dead!
J.Mike Ferrara is offline  
post #7169 of 7170 Old Today, 05:39 PM
Member
 
uriah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Confused

I think I am just thoroughly confused about getting sound from the OPPO back to my receiver while still having all the devices attached to my receiver benefit from the Darby in the OPPO. I could care less about the sound to the Samsung PD 8500 plasma as I don't use it speakers or if for some reason it was necessary could use an optical cable or analog stereo pair. So what is the simplest way for me to attach all my devices to my receiver "Yamaha 2030" so that the OPPO's Darby can enhance the picture and also get the best quality sound from my receiver. If I decided to go old school and use the analog outs from the OPPO to the analog inputs of the Omaha what if anything would I lose in the way of sound quality?
uriah is online now  
post #7170 of 7170 Old Today, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yamaha 2030 , why not just use optical.

OK , I was thinking it was the older DSP-2030.

I have the DSP-A1/G , I have no choice

Someday I fear my life shall become complicated , especially when I need to shop for a new amp/rec. !

Later

Me 
jedi29 is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off