Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 258 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #7711 of 7729 Old 08-20-2015, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
KevinH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 941
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks guys. I emailed Oppo too and they said to turn Darbee on and then set the resolution to 4Kx2K, then the panel(Vizio M70) won't do any scaling since it's being fed it's native res. Looks great.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DanF8500 View Post
Like Dave mentioned, test it out for yourself and see what you prefer. One thing I'd like to add is that Darbee on the 103D is done at 1080p resolution, so you may see different results if you have a standalone Darbee that is fed a 4K input signal.

-KevinEpson 5020UB 1080p 3LCD projector/ GIK Acoustic room treatmentsScreen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge 1.4 110" 16:9Marantz AV7702 pre/proWyred4Sound 5-channel ampOppo BDP-105/Darbee DarbletJTR 3TX LCRs, Single8 HT-LP surrounds, twin JTR Orbit Shifter LF subwoofers
KevinH is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7712 of 7729 Old 08-20-2015, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Ran into a issue with the new beta firmware. When i played back a BD backup with TrueHD audio, the oppo would not output bistream. It just decoded the audio itself and sent multi-channel Pcm to the receiver.

Returned to the previous official firmware, and no problems and receiver received the TrueHD bitstream ok.

DTS MA was fine however with the beta firmware.
apw2607 is offline  
post #7713 of 7729 Old 08-20-2015, 09:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Ran into a issue with the new beta firmware. When i played back a BD backup with TrueHD audio, the oppo would not output bistream. It just decoded the audio itself and sent multi-channel Pcm to the receiver.

Returned to the previous official firmware, and no problems and receiver received the TrueHD bitstream ok.

DTS MA was fine however with the beta firmware.
Just exactly how are you making said "BD backup"? (details)
Have you tried the same scenario with a commercial distributed Blu-ray disc?

This also could have been some kind of one-off glitch.
Did you try it multiple times across power cycles?
Did you try resetting the player to default settings?

I'd be curious if you re-installed the beta firmware, if it would mimic the same behavior as the previous time you installed it.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #7714 of 7729 Old 08-22-2015, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Ran into a issue with the new beta firmware. When i played back a BD backup with TrueHD audio, the oppo would not output bistream. It just decoded the audio itself and sent multi-channel Pcm to the receiver.

Returned to the previous official firmware, and no problems and receiver received the TrueHD bitstream ok.

DTS MA was fine however with the beta firmware.
This is the promised "fix" for dolby true hd and MKV's, and pretty much what I have been doing on my own up until now.
The oppo does a fine job if not better than most AVR's at decoding so can you honestly tell a difference ?

At most some true hd content when decoded to PCM drops a few DB in volume, I do not notice this drop with current beta firmware where as I would before just listen a little bit higher than what I otherwise would say at mv -15 instead of -20.

And when playing a disc it will bitstream dolby tracks as before, it only happens if it's using the mkv decoder.
billymerritt likes this.
TorTorden is online now  
post #7715 of 7729 Old 08-23-2015, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
beta?

My problem with beta! Playing mkv files fine for several days then last night mkv titles would no longer display sub titles, and when I stopped play video would freeze and only way to exit is use home to get back to Oppo menus. I tried reset defaults, powered on off, cleared persistent storage, but nothing helped. Reinstalled previous firmware and all is good, I only have few titles with ThruHD so just set to pcm which is easy to do. I did like when it was working to play TrueHd as pcm, but when it started freezing had to go back to original firmware. Maybe will try reinstall the beta later to see if it was a one time glitch. Will be monitoring this thread to see if more problems show up!

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
post #7716 of 7729 Old 08-23-2015, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 125
You should report what happened to Oppo.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #7717 of 7729 Old 08-23-2015, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Re-installed beta today and all is good for now, so will see how it goes before I report to Oppo.

Bill
billymerritt is offline  
post #7718 of 7729 Old 08-23-2015, 08:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,373
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 919 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by billymerritt View Post
My problem with beta! Playing mkv files fine for several days then last night mkv titles would no longer display sub titles, and when I stopped play video would freeze and only way to exit is use home to get back to Oppo menus. I tried reset defaults, powered on off, cleared persistent storage, but nothing helped. Reinstalled previous firmware and all is good, I only have few titles with ThruHD so just set to pcm which is easy to do. I did like when it was working to play TrueHd as pcm, but when it started freezing had to go back to original firmware. Maybe will try reinstall the beta later to see if it was a one time glitch. Will be monitoring this thread to see if more problems show up!
Subtitles in MKV has been broken since forever. Otherwise your description sounds a bit like a networking issue.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #7719 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 01:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 2,151
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Subtitles in MKV has been broken since forever...
I've recently discovered that Blu-ray (sup) 'graphics based' subtitles appear to work much better when played via an SMB network connection as opposed to a UPnP network connection

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #7720 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 04:52 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1247 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Subtitles in MKV has been broken since forever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
I've recently discovered that Blu-ray (sup) 'graphics based' subtitles appear to work much better when played via an SMB network connection as opposed to a UPnP network connection
I haven't noticed either of these effects. (Although: I haven't tested much DLNA recently).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7721 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 08:19 AM
Member
 
DougMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First Impressions

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougMac View Post
Well, I just joined the club. My second PS3 just died and I can't see buying a new one since the novelty of video games wore off after about a week.

The 103D should be here Thursday. I can't wait!
Well, the 103D arrived Friday. I helped my son move over the weekend, so I haven't had a lot of time to spend with it.

I just plugged in the HDMI cable and cranked it up. Everything worked great at the factory settings. I plugged the Dish Satellite box into the rear HDMI input to be able to "Darbee" it's signal.

So far I've played SACD, DVD-A, CD, blu-ray, DVD and satellite with it. I've been very impressed. I tryied Darbee processing, finally ending up with high def set at 41%. I put it in split screen demo mode and asked my wife if she could see a difference and which she preferred. She felt both sides looked good, but gave the nod to the Darbee processing.

I'm glad I made the plunge. I bought the rack rail kit for it. I also plan to connect analog audio out and do a comparison.
DougMac is offline  
post #7722 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
billymerritt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Subtitles in MKV has been broken since forever. Otherwise your description sounds a bit like a networking issue.
Was not working with USB drive either! After re-installing beta still working fine as of today.

Bill

Last edited by billymerritt; Yesterday at 08:48 AM. Reason: typo
billymerritt is offline  
post #7723 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
dla26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just got my 103D a couple weeks ago and have been playing around with it. I had two somewhat related questions for everyone:

1. Is there a way I can set different Darbee settings depending on the input? I connected my PC to the HDMI in in the back. The goal of this is to play PC games on my projector instead of my tiny monitor. Because I'm using it for games, I set Darbee to Gaming Mode instead of HDTV mode. I found that when I switched back to watch a Blu-Ray, it was still in Gaming Mode. I'm hoping the system can be smart enough to have the settings change depending on whether I'm using it as a Blu-Ray player or using the HDMI input in the back.

2. I've read on the forums that the general consensus seems to be to set Darbee at around 35% for HDTV/movies. Is there a similar consensus for games?

Thanks!
dla26 is offline  
post #7724 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 04:31 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,810
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1247 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by dla26 View Post
1. Is there a way I can set different Darbee settings depending on the input?
Not automatically. There are user-defined presets in Picture Adjustment which include the Darbee settings, but you have to select them manually.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #7725 of 7729 Old Yesterday, 05:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,744
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 380 Post(s)
Liked: 242
^ ^
I have mentioned in the past, there are 3 main inputs on the 10x players...
Blu-ray / Dvd / Apps / USB are in the most used one, but then there is also the HDMI-front, and HDMI-rear inputs.
It would be very cool to be able to assign picture setting #2 and #3 to the two HDMI inputs automatically.
I'm not sure if it's possible to do that, but it would be a great option.

I would especially love to be able calibrate the rear HDMI input separately, since I watch quite a bit of sports
from my cable STB that way, and many times the color/brightness/contest is way off on any given broadcast and it drives me nuts.
I'm not even that sensitive to colors being off a little, so for it to really bother me means it's off by a lot.
Brightness also being too low drives me nuts since it blacks out all the shadow details.
Of course it also varies a lot from channel to channel, but if the player had at least some flexibility, that would be cool.

As it stands right now, I use a different picture setting that I can access on my display when I want to switch to it,
but then that also becomes annoying when I forget that I switched it, and go to watch a Blu-ray and then realize
half way through the movie, the PQ was off because I was on the wrong setting. *sighhh*

Of course all that wouldn't even be an issue if the broadcasters and cable STBs would use properly calibrated settings
that would be universally standard, but that hasn't ever been a priority and I'm not sure it ever will be.
Perhaps they will get their heads out of their proverbial asses once everyone switches to 4k broadcasting,
but that of course won't be mainstream for many years to come. Probably after I'm dead and gone.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #7726 of 7729 Unread Today, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Just posing a question to those who are on the current beta firmware and using the 103d for Netflix.


Is it just me or have they really fixed the ghosting issue?
As far as I can tell Netflix just took a giant leap in image quality.
Still not quite blueray but now good enough that I keep asking myself why I'm using the plasma and not the projector..
TorTorden is online now  
post #7727 of 7729 Unread Today, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 125
That is listed as one of the things this beta fixes so the answer to your question is 'yes'.

JazzGuyy is online now  
post #7728 of 7729 Unread Today, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
That is listed as one of the things this beta fixes so the answer to your question is 'yes'.
Guess since its oppo yea.
I'm just so used to having firmware updates that are supposed to fix something but doesn't and gives you 3 new problems in addition :P
Not been like this with oppo though.
TorTorden is online now  
post #7729 of 7729 Unread Today, 04:13 PM
Member
 
Dogor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello. I am using the oppo android app on my 103D and works awesome.
Just one inquiry: when I connect the oppo using the android application via network to my pc and browse its video folders, when the folder has lots of subfolders, the app only shows certain number of these folders and not all of them. It seems like if there is some quantity limit showing folders when browsing from the app (not when I use the current oppo browse app on the tv or projector screen).
Any one could tell me if this is normal or is there any way to let the application show all the folders in stead of a few ones? Thanks
Dogor is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off