Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCrazy View Post

The same argument caused pages of flame wars when CD players replaced cassettes. Believing the ones and zeros theory I bought the cheapest CD player I could find. Years later I was thrilled when I could afford a $5k Cary audio CD player. It was worth every penny in terms of improving the audio quality of the ones and zeros.

I was even more shocked when I tried various digital cables at the audible difference they made. Never would have believed it.

Uh huh. Do a double-blind listening test and then report back to us about how well you fared in distinguishing one digital transport (or digital cable) from another.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
wagnerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I would buy a BDP-103D can I swap the video board with my BDP-105 to make it a BDP-105D?

If I put the video board from the 105 into the 103D will I have a 103?
wagnerc is offline  
post #813 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTCrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: State of Disbelief
Posts: 4,888
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

Uh huh. Do a double-blind listening test and then report back to us about how well you fared in distinguishing one digital transport (or digital cable) from another.

I used the cable company and bunches of their sample cables to do just that. You've been around here long enough to know how long this debate has been raging (or flaming). People that don't hear the difference don't believe there is one and those that do (like myself) put our money where our mouths (or ears) are. After tens of thousands of AVS pages of flame wars, that's what it always boils down to. Lets not pollute this thread with it.
HTCrazy is offline  
post #814 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 01:10 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by wagnerc View Post

If I would buy a BDP-103D can I swap the video board with my BDP-105 to make it a BDP-105D?

If I put the video board from the 105 into the 103D will I have a 103?

I don't recall anyone trying either, but I'm sure the answer is no.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #815 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 01:12 PM
Senior Member
 
wagnerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I don't recall anyone trying either, but I'm sure the answer is no.

-Bill

I just phoned and was told it would not work.
wagnerc is offline  
post #816 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Come on. We're trying to help, could you cooperate?

Is that what's on the disc or what's being sent out by the player? First OSD screen or second? When you use the AUDIO bottom, what audio track appears on in the popup: what exactly does it say?

-Bill


I had to run just got back and now I have to run again , I will post more info when I get home



Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #817 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
skoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilash1 View Post

I have been using my hard disk to store and listen to songs on my laptop. One day I introduced a basic 4 USB hub in between the laptop and the hard drive. The quality and quantity of sound immediately got affected. It was the same 1s and 0s here too!

If your USB hub introduces some digital jitter (highly likely) that might account for the difference. However, that would imply that your D/A conversion did not have the capability to reclock the digital stream. Otherwise, unless you hub is corrupting the stream, which is highly unlikely, it is just bits that might have jitter affecting the sound.

And one reason the async USB on the 105 is so nice, it does this reclocking for a bit stream to get the timing correct.
skoor is offline  
post #818 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post





?

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #819 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 07:02 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

?

Well, there doesn't seem to be a DTS track on that list.

Is there an on-disc menu that allows you select a DTS track? If so, what does the popup and the On Screen Display show when you do that?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #820 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 07:12 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post





?

Uh, you do realize you are playing a standard DVD disc and not a Blu-ray disc right? See the info on the lower right of your 2nd picture.

DTS-HD MA tracks only exist on Blu-ray discs.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #821 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 306
LOL!

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #822 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

LOL!
+1
audiomixer likes this.
ambesolman is online now  
post #823 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

This is really good news. I'll admit that I have a bad habit of constantly surfing channels all the time which is why this is really bugging me. Every time I flip channels up and down using my Tivo's remote it takes a couple of seconds for it to catch up to show me a picture or what channel I'm on before I can keep going. This never happened before I added the 103D to the mix.

It is entirely up to the source device (the TIVO in this case) whether it initiates a new HDMI handshake when it doesn't HAVE TO. As long as the channel you are on and the channel you are going to have the same characteristics, there's no need to do a new handshake, but the TIVO might be too stupid to implement it that way.

Also, some of these boxes go bonkers when you bring up their menus -- including channel guide. I.e., they force a new resolution to display the menu -- and thus a new handshake.

Now, if you are using "native" video resolution output, and the two channels have different video characteristics (1080i,720p or 480i) then there has to be a new handshake -- that's just the way HDMI works. That will take a minimum of 2 seconds as delays are built into the handshake spec to allow slower devices time to dawdle along. If something goes wrong, a handshake "retry" happens. So the time to new video/audio may be longer, in multiples of 2 seconds.

If you want best video quality, you learn to live with the handshakes. If you can't tolerate the handshake delays, then set the TIVO to a fixed output resolution (e.g., 1080i) and just live with that video quality.

Complaints to HDMI.ORG please. But you'll need to queue up. There's a LONG line at their complaints window.
--Bob
Chere likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #824 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 306
The problem with the Tivo is some menu's are still SD. So not only do you have to deal with native rez on channel changes, you have to deal with menu quirks. The native on my Directv has a delay, but its not bad. What am I gonna do, have the box convert everything to say 1080i before I give it to the Oppo? Nope, native to the Oppo.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #825 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Uh, you do realize you are playing a standard DVD disc and not a Blu-ray disc right? See the info on the lower right of your 2nd picture.

DTS-HD MA tracks only exist on Blu-ray discs.
--Bob


well then I got ripped off so don't be lol explain this


Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #826 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
^ You sure there isn't ANOTHER disc in that jewel case?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #827 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ You sure there isn't ANOTHER disc in that jewel case?
--Bob


I borrowed this disk from a friend , I'm going to go purchase a new one tomorrow . This is very strange

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #828 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:45 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
^ Well it could simply be they applied the wrong label to the companion SD-DVD disc.

I just did a quick check and I'm not seeing any reports out there of other people finding SD-DVD on the disc from The Hobbit with the Blu-ray label.

Of course if your friend got a manufacturing error, he should get in touch with the studio and they'll send him a replacement disc.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #829 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Well it could simply be they applied the wrong label to the companion SD-DVD disc.

I just did a quick check and I'm not seeing any reports out there of other people finding SD-DVD on the disc from The Hobbit with the Blu-ray label.

Of course if your friend got a manufacturing error, he should get in touch with the studio and they'll send him a replacement disc.
--Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Well it could simply be they applied the wrong label to the companion SD-DVD disc.

I just did a quick check and I'm not seeing any reports out there of other people finding SD-DVD on the disc from The Hobbit with the Blu-ray label.

Of course if your friend got a manufacturing error, he should get in touch with the studio and they'll send him a replacement disc.
--Bob


collectors item ? lol

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #830 of 5095 Old 10-29-2013, 08:57 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
There are at least 14 different packagings of "The Hobbit", Blu-ray, out there -- and that's just in the US!

It wouldn't surprise me at all if they've screwed up the labeling on some of them.

And then there's the market for counterfeit discs, which might be labeled as ANYTHING….
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #831 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 12:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 840
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

It is entirely up to the source device (the TIVO in this case) whether it initiates a new HDMI handshake when it doesn't HAVE TO. As long as the channel you are on and the channel you are going to have the same characteristics, there's no need to do a new handshake, but the TIVO might be too stupid to implement it that way.

Also, some of these boxes go bonkers when you bring up their menus -- including channel guide. I.e., they force a new resolution to display the menu -- and thus a new handshake.

Now, if you are using "native" video resolution output, and the two channels have different video characteristics (1080i,720p or 480i) then there has to be a new handshake -- that's just the way HDMI works. That will take a minimum of 2 seconds as delays are built into the handshake spec to allow slower devices time to dawdle along. If something goes wrong, a handshake "retry" happens. So the time to new video/audio may be longer, in multiples of 2 seconds.

If you want best video quality, you learn to live with the handshakes. If you can't tolerate the handshake delays, then set the TIVO to a fixed output resolution (e.g., 1080i) and just live with that video quality.

Complaints to HDMI.ORG please. But you'll need to queue up. There's a LONG line at their complaints window.
--Bob



Thanks Bob. I think it'll be worth the trade off in the long run. I just hope Oppo will fix the other issues with the back HDMI Input (namely the colored static and the lost connections)
Chere is offline  
post #832 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 03:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
a1usedcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Janesville WI
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Pink oppo screen at startup normal ?

Preamp: NOS Valves NBS Preamplifier
Selah Tempestas
BMC Pure Dac - Mac Mini
VPI Classic 2
a1usedcomp is offline  
post #833 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 04:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mattg3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ma
Posts: 3,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I sometimes get it for a split second when I shut off a movie and it goes to oppo screen but it goes away in a flash.I have the Oppo 83 and the darbee.

Matt
mattg3 is offline  
post #834 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 04:38 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1usedcomp View Post

Pink oppo screen at startup normal ?

Not exactly "normal", but nothing to worry about. The player powers up producing RGB video output, then it reads in your Setup settings and adjusts as necessary. Typically the Setup settings result in YCbCr video. If your display is a bit slow to react to that change there is a brief disagreement as to which format is in use. And that's where the Shocking Pink video comes from. It should correct on its own almost immediately. If the rest of your video chain responds fast enough -- or mutes video to black during the handshake -- then you won't see this.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #835 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 04:41 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post

I sometimes get it for a split second when I shut off a movie and it goes to oppo screen but it goes away in a flash.I have the Oppo 83 and the darbee.

Try using an explicit Color Space choice instead of AUTO. YCbCr 4:4:4 is typical (although you should check to see which format works best for your Display).
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #836 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
brinyhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
How is this player for upscaling standard DVD's vs the 93? Does it offer 24fps on them as well?
brinyhenry is offline  
post #837 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 05:33 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by brinyhenry View Post

How is this player for upscaling standard DVD's vs the 93?

Both are capable players. They have different video processing so the look will be different.
Quote:
Does it offer 24fps on them as well?

It is the same feature on both players: a manual control, not automatically enabled and disabled.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #838 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
brinyhenry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sans enabling the Dardee would you say a less processed picture similar to the 983 for upscaled DVD's?
brinyhenry is offline  
post #839 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,808
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 306
I do not watch a lot of DVD's, but I am picky about PQ. Comparing players is something I cannot do, but I recently watched Cockneys vs Zombies on DVD with the 103D (all processing off) and I felt it looked great.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #840 of 5095 Old 10-30-2013, 07:48 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,159
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by brinyhenry View Post

Sans enabling the Dardee would you say a less processed picture similar to the 983 for upscaled DVD's?

To my eye: yes.

But this is pretty subjective. If you are seriously interested you should get your test materials together and try it under OPPO's 30-day return. All you would be out would be the time, effort and shipping.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off