Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 283 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 539Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8461 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
HDMI 1 signal passes thru the MT chip, the Darbee and the VRS. HDMI 2 is MT only. If using Source Direct or no other enhancements, I would assume they would both be the same.
gadgtfreek is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8462 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 07:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,158
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1900 Post(s)
Liked: 827
HDMI inputs are the same. At least, I'm not recalling any difference...

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #8463 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 09:33 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,299
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1339 Post(s)
Liked: 1341
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogrub View Post
Quick question. I've been through the manual and the FAQ's, and think I have my answer, but to confirm: am I correct that the two HDMI inputs on the 103D are processed identically?
You are correct. The two HDMI *Inputs* on the OPPO 10x family of players are processed identically, both for audio and video.

----------------------------------------

There are differences between the two HDMI *Outputs* of the players. And those differences between the two Outputs vary slightly between the Darbee and non-Darbee versions of the players.

(The capabilities of the Asynchronous USB DAC Input also vary between the 105 and 105D players.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #8464 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 09:37 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,732
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 618
^ Only the front input has the MHL feature. Other than that, the 2 inputs are the same.
gsr is online now  
post #8465 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Questions on output resolution 4K vs. Auto

I have a couple observations/questions on the output resolution setting on the BDP-103D.

1. I have a 4K TV that is 3D capable. If I set the BDP-103D output to forced 4K/2K, 3D (from a 3D disk) doesn't seem to work, but setting it back to auto allows 3D to work. (I would assume that's because 3D is already using 2x1080p, but that's not clear in the manual or FAQ).

2. If I set the output to auto and put in a DVD, even though both the AVR and TV are 4K-capable, the output from the 103D is 1080p at most. (I only get 576p from a PAL DVD, though I suspect that's because the TV doesn't negotiate being PAL-capable, even though it can play PAL material.) Any reason auto doesn't just upscale to 4K (at least for NTSC) since the TV supports it?

3. Finally, using forced 4K/2K output, PAL DVDs get converted to 4K/60 instead of 4K/50, even though the output is set to multi-system instead of NTSC. Any reason for this, or is this just expected behavior? My Denon X4200W converts 576p to 4K/50 if I do the conversion there.

I can have the Denon do most of these tasks, but I don't know if the conversion/scaling is considered better in the X4200W than in the Oppo. Certainly my old DV-983H and BDP-83 were very good at this, but maybe their processing has been surpassed. Is the 103D considered as good as the 83 for PAL playback?

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8466 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
Even the new UHD player does not output 3D in 2160p. because it is not able to. So that is normal.

I also noticed if you forced 2160p for say a 1080i signal, the output is 2160p ycbcr 4:2:0.
dcbii likes this.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8467 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Even the new UHD player does not output 3D in 2160p. because it is not able to. So that is normal.

I also noticed if you forced 2160p for say a 1080i signal, the output is 2160p ycbcr 4:2:0.
I figured. It's just a little inconvenient, since I can't leave the BDP-103D output set on 4K -- it has to be changed at least for 3D discs. I was kind of hoping it would just drop back for 3D playback (or that auto would go all the way up to 4K when it could).

And yes, I've also noticed the 4K-upconvert reducing the colorspace. If I output at 576p or 1080p, I get 4:4:4. Not that my eyes can actually see any difference there -- at least unless it was side by side, and maybe not even then!

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8468 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
I had the UHD player for a bit and it was forced to 2160p. I confirmed when I player a 1080p 3D disc, the display was only getting 1080p. PQ was good though.
dcbii likes this.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8469 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I had the UHD player for a bit and it was forced to 2160p. I confirmed when I player a 1080p 3D disc, the display was only getting 1080p. PQ was good though.
I agree that 1080p 3D is good enough. And if I use the AVR to auto upconvert, it will upconvert 1080p 2D from the Oppo to 4K, and 1080p 3D from the Oppo it leaves alone. I guess I just need to be happy with using 4K upconvert on the AVR vs. the Oppo, unless I want to do a lot of extra setup for each disc.

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8470 of 8823 Old 03-03-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
Seems my 103D does a better job than the OLED with fine Chroma 1080p vs 2160p out (from Oppo).

Oppo set to 2160p resolution and Auto (50/60hz)


2160p


1080p (note 3rd square up right side)


Darbee on Luma Pattern (double images)


Darbee off


2160p


1080p (note dark edges)


Everything else is just anomalies from the iphone camera. I am going to send blu-rays out at 2160p/24 444 to my OLED and will prob run 1080i Dish thru the 103D and let VRS put out 2160p/60.
dcbii, ti-triodes and retro124 like this.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8471 of 8823 Old 03-04-2016, 07:52 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Seems my 103D does a better job than the OLED with fine Chroma 1080p vs 2160p out (from Oppo).

.
.
.

Everything else is just anomalies from the iphone camera. I am going to send blu-rays out at 2160p/24 444 to my OLED and will prob run 1080i Dish thru the 103D and let VRS put out 2160p/60.
Just did those same tests this morning, and I can duplicate your results, including the with/without Darbee on the one screen. So I will definitely set the Oppo to do the 4K output, rather than the Denon.

One other thing -- with all the screwing around with various settings on all the devices in the chain, I must have changed something important, because when I selected the 3D material on the S&M disc, with the Oppo still set to 4K/2K output, the 3D engaged properly! The TV showed 1080p, and the Oppo still showed 4K/2K output. I'm not sure what was different from what I had before, since I was changing too many settings on all 3 devices. Should have written it down. I also didn't try a regular 3D disc, but at this point in time, I don't have any reason to believe it wouldn't work. So my 3D issue with the 4K output appears to be no longer an issue. Glad I had to try a bunch of things while trying out what you posted! I really hate the lack of transparency in HDMI settings and how they interact (or at least my understanding of them) on various devices.
gadgtfreek likes this.

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8472 of 8823 Old 03-04-2016, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
Thats odd. When I tried to force 3D conversion in the Oppo using some contrast and brightness patterns to check the 3D mode on the LG, it would not force until I changed the Oppo rez setting from 4Kx2K to 1080p.

I did some more reading today, it seems the VRS solution in this model is pretty good at scaling to 4K after the mediatek chip gets done with the signal. I guess in the long run it may be as good as your display but not better, but I'd also bet it would not be worse than a display. At least with the Oppo you know they pride themselves on accurate output.

Some people say the fine chroma rez is not a big deal, but if it passes one way and fails the other, I do not see why you wouldn't run it the way it passes.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8473 of 8823 Old 03-04-2016, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Thats odd. When I tried to force 3D conversion in the Oppo using some contrast and brightness patterns to check the 3D mode on the LG, it would not force until I changed the Oppo rez setting from 4Kx2K to 1080p.
I didn't try that this morning, but the 3D "forced conversion" didn't work for me in 4K output mode when I previously tested it either. That wouldn't really bother me that much -- if I intended to use that mode a lot, I can change to auto output. I do want it to properly handle 3D discs, though. 3D disc mode needs to pass the wife/family factor (i.e. put in 3D disc, use glasses, it works).

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500

Last edited by dcbii; 03-04-2016 at 11:23 AM.
dcbii is online now  
post #8474 of 8823 Old 03-08-2016, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 123
I had a really odd issue occur while watching Lincoln this weekend with my 103d and JVC R4910. after a bit of rewinding a fast forwarding, the motion looked like it was in 1.5X speed. Sort of like the soap opera effect if you have motion processing on, but I verified it is off on the PJ and I even cycled through all modes and back off. I powered cycled everything and even factory reset the oppo. I don't know for sure at what point it went away, but it did go back to normal. I could get it to occur again, seemingly if I tried to slow motion RR or FF for a bit. It would come back again.


Any thoughts?
curlyjive is offline  
post #8475 of 8823 Old 03-11-2016, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
I had a really odd issue occur while watching Lincoln this weekend with my 103d and JVC R4910. after a bit of rewinding a fast forwarding, the motion looked like it was in 1.5X speed. Sort of like the soap opera effect if you have motion processing on, but I verified it is off on the PJ and I even cycled through all modes and back off. I powered cycled everything and even factory reset the oppo. I don't know for sure at what point it went away, but it did go back to normal. I could get it to occur again, seemingly if I tried to slow motion RR or FF for a bit. It would come back again.


Any thoughts?
Not sure what is happening, but I was unable to reproduce this with my Lincoln BD. I tried multiple FF/RW and slow FF/RW back and forth, and was unable to see what you are seeing. Not sure how many times this needs to be tried, but 5-10 minutes of attempts didn't do it. However, I'm not using a JVC R4910, so that is one obvious different factor.

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8476 of 8823 Old 03-11-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
curlyjive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcbii View Post
Not sure what is happening, but I was unable to reproduce this with my Lincoln BD. I tried multiple FF/RW and slow FF/RW back and forth, and was unable to see what you are seeing. Not sure how many times this needs to be tried, but 5-10 minutes of attempts didn't do it. However, I'm not using a JVC R4910, so that is one obvious different factor.
It was FF and RR at frame by frame speed that seemed to trigger it.
curlyjive is offline  
post #8477 of 8823 Old 03-11-2016, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
dcbii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by curlyjive View Post
It was FF and RR at frame by frame speed that seemed to trigger it.
Yes, that's what I meant by "slow FF/RW". That didn't seem to do it for me either.

Dave Barnhart

Oppo BDP-103D, Denon X4200W, LG 55EF9500
dcbii is online now  
post #8478 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 04:57 PM
Member
 
skinnydoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thumbs down

I am really disappointed in my Oppo. I used to think it was the greatest player in the world, but I am having second thoughts.

Has anyone else had issues with playing mkv files off th network? It plays fine, unless I fast forward and hit play. This causes it to freeze 100% of the time. Not good.

It's frozen up on me a few times during regular playback as well... I have the latest firmware, and its only a couple of years old.
skinnydoggy is offline  
post #8479 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 05:22 PM
Member
 
skinnydoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well, now the mkv ended, and it froze to a black screen. Wow.
skinnydoggy is offline  
post #8480 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 6,966
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 1889
I dunno, I put shiny round 2D and 3D discs in mine and they play.
Kazz063 likes this.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #8481 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 07:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,134
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1351 Post(s)
Liked: 652
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnydoggy View Post
I am really disappointed in my Oppo. I used to think it was the greatest player in the world, but I am having second thoughts.

Has anyone else had issues with playing mkv files off th network? It plays fine, unless I fast forward and hit play. This causes it to freeze 100% of the time. Not good.

It's frozen up on me a few times during regular playback as well... I have the latest firmware, and its only a couple of years old.
That's a network issue. Although there are limits on how fast you can FF/RW over a network connection, freezing isn't a normal part of the process. If the player has a weakness, its that network bottlenecks can make it freeze.
skinnydoggy likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #8482 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 07:56 PM
Member
 
skinnydoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I dunno, I put shiny round 2D and 3D discs in mine and they play.
I used to put shiny discs in mine too, until every video store within 100 miles closed.
skinnydoggy is offline  
post #8483 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I dunno, I put shiny round 2D and 3D discs in mine and they play.
+1
laserjock II is offline  
post #8484 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ambesolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 5,085
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnydoggy View Post
I used to put shiny discs in mine too, until every video store within 100 miles closed.

Perhaps one of these days somebody will invent a new way to get them, maybe even through the mail. Until then, looks like we're all SOL.


Sent using Tapatalk since the mobile version is still
rlb and Smarty-pants like this.
ambesolman is online now  
post #8485 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 09:25 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 26,837
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 848 Post(s)
Liked: 1935
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnydoggy View Post
I used to put shiny discs in mine too, until every video store within 100 miles closed.
Have you tried Amazon?
htwaits is online now  
post #8486 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Netflix still has disc delivery.
pappaduke is offline  
post #8487 of 8823 Old 03-12-2016, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 1,414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 566 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Redbox pretty much everywhere, no?
laserjock II is offline  
post #8488 of 8823 Old 03-13-2016, 01:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,487
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnydoggy View Post
Has anyone else had issues with playing mkv files off th network? It plays fine, unless I fast forward and hit play. This causes it to freeze 100% of the time. Not good.
I can't say I've encountered any problems myself.

Which network connection protocol are you using, SMB or UPnP?
What type of file storage device are you using?
Are you connecting through a network switch or through a router?
Which mkv file muxer did you use to create these .mkv contained files?


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #8489 of 8823 Old 03-13-2016, 05:47 AM
Member
 
skinnydoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, Amazon is where I buy most of my BD's. I was a huge renter from my local store, but it could not survive. We (Canada) no longer have Redbox, our Netflix is inferior, and the exchange rate has driven prices on new releases over $30 per disc. Any streaming service is sub par. I really wish there was another way. Cable has become something for the rich and foolish, antenna does not give you the British stuff, and is almost unwatchable with so many commercials.
skinnydoggy is offline  
post #8490 of 8823 Old 03-13-2016, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ronomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by skinnydoggy View Post
Yes, Amazon is where I buy most of my BD's. I was a huge renter from my local store, but it could not survive. We (Canada) no longer have Redbox, our Netflix is inferior, and the exchange rate has driven prices on new releases over $30 per disc. Any streaming service is sub par. I really wish there was another way. Cable has become something for the rich and foolish, antenna does not give you the British stuff, and is almost unwatchable with so many commercials.
One of these days everybody is going to cancel cable and satellite and they will go out of business. Monthly bills are getting out of hand. I am getting sick of it even here in the States. I don't understand why they still charge extra for HD and DVR service...and charge monthly for the receiver. Too many bogus fees!
gbreda likes this.
Ronomy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off