Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 296 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 549Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #8851 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 06:47 AM
Senior Member
 
eliocon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
For you and anyone else having problems of any sort after the firmware install, try doing a complete Reset of the player. This can sometimes cure weird problems due to stuff left behind by the prior firmware:

1) Remove any disc from the Tray.

2) Save your current settings to a USB stick -- Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management (NOTE: Account/password info is not saved)

3) Erase Persistent Storage -- Setup > Device Setup > Persistent Storage

4) Erase Accounts and Settings -- Setup > Device Setup > Reset Factory Defaults > Erase Accounts and Settings.

5) Turn the player off. While it is off, unplug it from wall power. While it remains unplugged press and hold the Power button on the Front Panel for a few seconds to discharge any residual power. This insures even the lowest levels of the hardware will reboot on the next power up.

6) Plug the player in, and power it back up.

7) Reload your saved settings from the USB stick -- Setup > Device Setup > Settings Management.

8) Power cycle the player once more. Settings are saved as the player powers down.

9) NOTE: You will need to re-enter your User ID & Password credentials for things like Netflix.

10) See if this has fixed your problem.


It should *NOT* be necessary to do a Reset after a firmware install these days. The firmware installer does a form of Reset in the background as part of the install. However, it does no harm to try it, and it MIGHT fix your problem before you spend time trying other diagnostic steps.

Other folks talking about this Netflix/Vudu audio problem here have reported that setting HDMI Audio to LPCM is also a workaround.
--Bob
Hi Bob,

I tired what you suggested and I'm also still having the same issue. I switched the audio out to LPCM and that seems to have resolved the Netflix issue. Haven't had a chance to test VUDU yet. I emailed OPPO about it and they suggested using HDMI 1 for video and HDMI 2 for audio. That ain't gonna happen cause I have a projector and I'm not about to go through the hassle of running a second HDMI line to it. Besides it's kind of a brute force fix for something that's obviously software related.

Thanks very much for the suggestion though. Much appreciated.

Elio
eliocon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8852 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,156
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post
My Oppo 103D seems to take longer to get to the HOME screen on boot since the firmware update. The TV also flickers as the display mode changes.


Anyone else notice?


Soooo...nobody else noticed.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #8853 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterTHX View Post
Soooo...nobody else noticed.
I don't have this issue with mine just the no audio with Netflix.
Please inform Oppo on the issue you are having and share their response with us.


Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #8854 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
seanbryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Knowhere
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 221 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Updated the software on Saturday. I tried watching something in 3D yesterday and got a message about not being connected to a 3D display. Never had that before the software update. So I just did a power cycle and then the 3D worked.

However, now when I skip around the chapters it studders with each 3D chapter jump. It also didn't do that before. No studdering with chapter jumping in 2D.

I think oppo needs to put this software version back in the oven for a bit longer.
seanbryan is offline  
post #8855 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
asere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,201
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 990 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanbryan View Post
Updated the software on Saturday. I tried watching something in 3D yesterday and got a message about not being connected to a 3D display. Never had that before the software update. So I just did a power cycle and then the 3D worked.

However, now when I skip around the chapters it studders with each 3D chapter jump. It also didn't do that before. No studdering with chapter jumping in 2D.

I think oppo needs to put this software version back in the oven for a bit longer.
Yup, please contact Oppo.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk
asere is online now  
post #8856 of 8865 Unread 08-22-2016, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I didn't get around to installing the beta, and I think I'll hold off on this final release as well. My configuration pushes the envelope enough as it is with my old HDMI ±1.1 receiver in the mix so I'll just wait and see.

(I only have m/c LPCM as an option with Oppo doing the lossless conversion; don't stream or anything, except once in a while via Roku which I now have to feed through Oppo to even get 5.1 audio; I do watch 3D blu-ray every once in a while, but only directly connected to tv (split a/v); forced 1080p/24 thru the receiver works, but it has to be forced; etc. Don't use Apple TV enough to know whether my only getting stereo the last couple times I played with it is that same situation as with Roku... my ISP was doing fine for a while, but now they've clogged up the pipe, so I can't stream directv any more (so I am going to pester them again about my speeds in a few weeks if that persists (I'm paying them enough for upgraded service I shouldn't be having any problem with simple 1080i (or even 1080p for that matter))), plus haven't checked Roku lately come to think of it (and maybe Apple TV is same situation?)).
fmalczewski is offline  
post #8857 of 8865 Unread 08-23-2016, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Cecchine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received update today 83-0715, this IS NOT the beta.

Last edited by Cecchine; 08-24-2016 at 03:21 AM.
Cecchine is offline  
post #8858 of 8865 Unread 08-23-2016, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
PaulG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Out There
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quick question. Is anyone using a wireless USB keyboard with this player? I'd like to add one, but wanted to find out if folks have had good luck with it first before I go out and buy one.
PaulG is online now  
post #8859 of 8865 Unread 08-23-2016, 03:23 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,187
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1916 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulG View Post
Quick question. Is anyone using a wireless USB keyboard with this player? I'd like to add one, but wanted to find out if folks have had good luck with it first before I go out and buy one.
I bought a no-name kb from Walmart and it worked.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #8860 of 8865 Unread 08-23-2016, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterTHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,156
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cecchine View Post
I received update today 83-0715, this IS NOT the bata.




NOT THE BATA!
JasonQG and Vader424242 like this.

My opinions do not reflect the policies of my company
PeterTHX is offline  
post #8861 of 8865 Unread 08-25-2016, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I've been running on the Beta for a while and noticed it was finalized but despite being connected to the internet I have not received the final update. I know I can just download it via USB but I wanted to check in to see if this is any indication of a problem?
SteveCaron is offline  
post #8862 of 8865 Unread 08-25-2016, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
I've been running on the Beta for a while and noticed it was finalized but despite being connected to the internet I have not received the final update...
What country are you based in?

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
post #8863 of 8865 Unread 08-25-2016, 01:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
What country are you based in?


United States..... when I click the update via Web it tells me the firmware is up to date but its clearly not because it has the B alpha letter at the end of the version.
SteveCaron is offline  
post #8864 of 8865 Unread 08-25-2016, 04:08 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,313
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked: 1347
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCaron View Post
United States..... when I click the update via Web it tells me the firmware is up to date but its clearly not because it has the B alpha letter at the end of the version.
You can download the official version 0715 to your computer for install into the OPPO via a USB stick. The instructions are here:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...e-83-0715.aspx

My guess is you are having some glitch getting the version comparison info from the Update Server.

When you finish doing the install, go into Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information and compare each of the firmware version numbers against the ones listed on that Support page. (0715 is the version number for just the Main firmware.)

If you find that any of the firmware versions is out of date, give OPPO Tech Support a call or email and they can get you what you need to complete the update.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #8865 of 8865 Unread Today, 07:49 AM
Member
 
dunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tampa
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Oppo 103 D 4k conversion question

I own a 103d going into a 1080p TV. I am considering upgrading to a 4k TV. My question is for those that play Blu Ray discs and upconvert it to a 4k TV, how is the PQ and how noticeable is the difference coming from the 103d? Is there a small difference in PQ or a big difference? I know this is a general question and many responses will be it depends on blah blah blah so I am not asking that. What I am asking is what did you see when YOU upgraded to a new 4k TV? Was it worth it? Or was the PQ just as good on YOUR old 1080p tv? Thanks

Guess I should add I'm only talking about still using the 103d, NOT a newer device.

Last edited by dunno; Today at 07:52 AM. Reason: addition
dunno is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off