Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 304 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 602Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9091 of 9108 Old 11-09-2016, 08:39 AM
Member
 
srinivas1015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Is there any way to connect the Sony Playstation Gold wireless headset to the Oppo? It comes with a proprietary bluetooth dongle, which I'm not sure will work with the Oppo.

The headset does have a 3.5mm jack but I'd like a wireless solution for this. Is any adapter available? I'd like to avoid getting a new pair of headphones if possible.

srinivas1015 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9092 of 9108 Old 11-09-2016, 08:56 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 8,922
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 930 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by srinivas1015 View Post
Is there any way to connect the Sony Playstation Gold wireless headset to the Oppo? It comes with a proprietary bluetooth dongle, which I'm not sure will work with the Oppo.

The headset does have a 3.5mm jack but I'd like a wireless solution for this. Is any adapter available? I'd like to avoid getting a new pair of headphones if possible.
The only way you could really pull that off is to connect a headphone amp to the Oppo's analog outputs and then connect the headphones to the headphone output on that. Note that they wouldn't be wireless at that point. If you had a BDP-105 or BDP-105D, you could use an adapter plug to built in headphone preamp on that player. I don't have any recommendations for an inexpensive headphone amp - the Oppo HA-1 would work, but would be extreme overkill.
gsr is online now  
post #9093 of 9108 Old 11-11-2016, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
bjhess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Try setting 3D Output FORCED instead of Auto. This produces 3D output (but only when you are playing 3D content) even if the display does not properly report it is 3D-capable.

Projectors are notorious for not properly reporting that they are 3D capable, which is why the FORCED choice was added.

2D content will still go to the projector as 2D.
--Bob
Thanks, that did it! I swear I had tried it, but I must have needed to "restart" the disc or somesuch. Thanks again!

Barry
bjhess is online now  
post #9094 of 9108 Old 11-18-2016, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just purchased the 103D and have it running HDMI into my Marantz 8802A AVP. The Marantz is handling the audio / speaker configuration. How do I set the audio in the Oppo? I don't want to limit anything coming out of the OPPO.

Thanks,
Ken
ken6217 is offline  
post #9095 of 9108 Old 11-18-2016, 03:51 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
I just purchased the 103D and have it running HDMI into my Marantz 8802A AVP. The Marantz is handling the audio / speaker configuration. How do I set the audio in the Oppo? I don't want to limit anything coming out of the OPPO.

Thanks,
Ken
Set HDMI Audio BITSTREAM. Turn Secondary Audio OFF, and DTS Neo:6 Mode OFF. That's it. HDMI handles all the rest automatically.

In particular, none of the Speaker Configuration stuff in the OPPO applies to HDMI audio output. That's only for the Analog audio outs.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9096 of 9108 Old 11-18-2016, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken6217 View Post
I just purchased the 103D and have it running HDMI into my Marantz 8802A AVP. The Marantz is handling the audio / speaker configuration. How do I set the audio in the Oppo? I don't want to limit anything coming out of the OPPO.

Thanks,
Ken
From the manual:
HDMI Audio: Allows you to select the digital audio output format from the HDMI port. The
options are:
Auto (default) – The player checks with the device connecting to the HDMI output to
automatically determine which audio format to use.
LPCM – Digital audio output via HDMI will be in the multi-channel Linear PCM format. When
this option is selected, compressed audio bit streams will be decoded by the player. This
setting is recommended when connecting the HDMI output directly to a TV or to a receiver
without advanced audio decoding capabilities.
Bitstream – Digital audio output via HDMI will be in bitstream format. This option is
recommended when connecting the HDMI output to an A/V receiver or processor that
supports advanced audio decoding, such as Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio.
Off – No digital audio output via HDMI.

If your receiver can decode all the hi-Def audio codecs, then Bitstream would be your choice.
Also, don't worry about the "Audio Processing Setup" speaker configuration except for DRC. That section is for analog audio, not HDMI.
Tom

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #9097 of 9108 Old 11-19-2016, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ken6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Got it. Thanks a lot!
ken6217 is offline  
post #9098 of 9108 Old 11-25-2016, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Cobra5wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Charles, Il.
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just acquired my first 4K TV(LG OLED65 B6). I need to verify how my 103D should be set up. I'm currently running a Directv HR24-100(set for "native output") into the rear HDMI input of the 103D and I'm running the HDMI #1 output to my Dennon X4200W. The current video settings for the 103D are output resolution=1080p, 1080p24 output=auto, and 4Kx2K output=auto(50/60hz) The current audio settings are HDMI Audio=Auto. I'm going to assume the ip scaling will be better in the LG than the Oppo. Do these settings seem OK without further revision?
Cobra5wood is online now  
post #9099 of 9108 Old 11-25-2016, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra5wood View Post
I just acquired my first 4K TV(LG OLED65 B6). I need to verify how my 103D should be set up. I'm currently running a Directv HR24-100(set for "native output") into the rear HDMI input of the 103D and I'm running the HDMI #1 output to my Dennon X4200W. The current video settings for the 103D are output resolution=1080p, 1080p24 output=auto, and 4Kx2K output=auto(50/60hz) The current audio settings are HDMI Audio=Auto. I'm going to assume the ip scaling will be better in the LG than the Oppo. Do these settings seem OK without further revision?
I've got a 105 and a 65" LG E6.

I do not reliably see a difference between sending Blu-ray at 1080p from the 105 and having the E6 upscale that to 4K or having the 105 upscale to 4K and passing that to the E6. When it comes to standard def sources from DVD and the like, I think the 105 does a marginally better job upscaling to 4K than outputting 1080p from the 105 and having the E6 upscale that to 4K. I would expect your results with the 103D and B6 to be similar.

I have the 105 set to upscale everything to 4K on the basis that it makes no difference with Blu-ray but it's slightly better with DVD and other standard def sources so I would suggest setting your output resolution to 4K.
David Aiken is online now  
post #9100 of 9108 Old 11-26-2016, 10:23 AM
Newbie
 
jasper08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have anyone try Spiderman 2(Sam Raimi version) with the Dolby Truhd track on the 103d? There are audio drop out in a few scene in these blu ray. More on the 2.1 version of the movie. Had latest firmware update on the 103d.
jasper08 is offline  
post #9101 of 9108 Old 11-26-2016, 02:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quick question, if I run my 103d hdmi out into my avr (denon x4100) hdmi in am I loosing all the oppo's video processing to the avr's video processing? Should I be running an hdmi right from the oppo to my projector (epson 5030ub)? Sorry if this has been answered 1000 times, but please point me in the right direction! I finally switched my focus from bass to other things in the theater. Thanks
Jared
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #9102 of 9108 Old 11-26-2016, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 227 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
Quick question, if I run my 103d hdmi out into my avr (denon x4100) hdmi in am I loosing all the oppo's video processing to the avr's video processing? Should I be running an hdmi right from the oppo to my projector (epson 5030ub)? Sorry if this has been answered 1000 times, but please point me in the right direction! I finally switched my focus from bass to other things in the theater. Thanks
Jared
You should be able to configure the AVR's video settings so that it just passes through the video signal from all inputs without doing any processing at all. Provided you do that what you will see will be the 103D's processing unaltered.

You'll need to check your AVR's manual or look for an owners' thread on your AVR here for information on how to set your AVR up in that way.
David Aiken is online now  
post #9103 of 9108 Old 11-26-2016, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Jk7.2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Detroit area
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Aiken View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk7.2 View Post
Quick question, if I run my 103d hdmi out into my avr (denon x4100) hdmi in am I loosing all the oppo's video processing to the avr's video processing? Should I be running an hdmi right from the oppo to my projector (epson 5030ub)? Sorry if this has been answered 1000 times, but please point me in the right direction! I finally switched my focus from bass to other things in the theater. Thanks
Jared
You should be able to configure the AVR's video settings so that it just passes through the video signal from all inputs without doing any processing at all. Provided you do that what you will see will be the 103D's processing unaltered.

You'll need to check your AVR's manual or look for an owners' thread on your AVR here for information on how to set your AVR up in that way.
Thanks. I will look into that!
Jk7.2 is online now  
post #9104 of 9108 Old 11-28-2016, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kriktsemaj99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Forced subtitles in MKV

For the first time I just had a case of a forced subtitle track (Russian dialog in Captain America: Civil War) not playing automatically on the 103D (from a network drive). I made the MKV myself and that was the only subtitle track, set as default and set as forced. VLC shows the subtitles automatically when playing on a PC, but on the Oppo I had to explicitly enable them. I've made plenty of other MKVs the same way and the forced subtitles have always worked as intended.

Anyone else had subtitle issues with the latest public beta firmware?
kriktsemaj99 is offline  
post #9105 of 9108 Old 11-29-2016, 08:29 AM
Member
 
harrykeogh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I hope the 203 does just as well as the 103D for blus. I was going to pick up another as a backup, then saw the price loons are asking for them.
harrykeogh is offline  
post #9106 of 9108 Old 12-01-2016, 07:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
tang7969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tonawanda NY
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked: 150
I'm having problems with Vudu and Netflix. When I put either of them on I get the picture and no sound. I am running the 103 into a Marantz 7008. When I put in a bd I have picture and sound. Is anyone else having this problem? Can anyone suggest a fix? Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

SAMSUNG UN607150- OPPO BDP 103D- PSA 210T L/R -PHANTOM CENTER -ENERGY RC-10 SURROUNDS -PSA S3000i - MARANTZ SR7008 - APPLE TV -MONSTER POWER HTS2600MK -DIRECTV GENIE -HARMONY ELITE

BASEMENT SETUP- SAMSUNG UN466500- ENERGY 50'S L/R - DENON-AVR-3311CI- PS3 -APPLETV- MINI GENIE
tang7969 is online now  
post #9107 of 9108 Old 12-01-2016, 08:07 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1470 Post(s)
Liked: 1521
Quote:
Originally Posted by tang7969 View Post
I'm having problems with Vudu and Netflix. When I put either of them on I get the picture and no sound. I am running the 103 into a Marantz 7008. When I put in a bd I have picture and sound. Is anyone else having this problem? Can anyone suggest a fix? Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
There's a fix for this problem in the current "Public Beta" firmware. Install this via USB stick. Details here:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...-83-0918B.aspx

--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #9108 of 9108 Unread Today, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
hydrotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
There's a fix for this problem in the current "Public Beta" firmware. Install this via USB stick. Details here:

http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...-83-0918B.aspx

--Bob
thanks Bob! I've been gong nuts trying to resolve this issue. (I've been away from the forums for a while) Worked like a charm.
hydrotex is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off