Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 309 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 634Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9241 of 9273 Old 07-10-2017, 05:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,368
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Do anyone know where I can buy the attached part for a oppo bdp-103 lens or a lens with it attached?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oppo laser 3.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	248.0 KB
ID:	2227689  

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9242 of 9273 Old 07-10-2017, 06:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,421
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3405 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post
Do anyone know where I can buy the attached part for a oppo bdp-103 lens or a lens with it attached?
Have you tried OPPO? They might help.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9243 of 9273 Old 07-11-2017, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,368
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Have you tried OPPO? They might help.

-Bill
Thanks Bill.......They're going to help.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
 
post #9244 of 9273 Old 07-18-2017, 10:27 AM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I apologize if this has been asked before. I just bought a used 103D for a game room system (1080P for the foreseeable future). I already have a 203 for the main system in anticipation of a 4K TV purchase (probably a LG OLED). However, in the continuing effort to complicate my life, I came up with a possible alternative. Would there be any advantage in feeding the new TV 1080P with Darbee for BluRay and other HD content from the 103D vs. using the 203 upscaling to 4K? Would the Darbee processing be retained after upscaling?
greyflag is offline  
post #9245 of 9273 Old 07-18-2017, 10:41 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,421
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3405 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyflag View Post
I apologize if this has been asked before. I just bought a used 103D for a game room system (1080P for the foreseeable future). I already have a 203 for the main system in anticipation of a 4K TV purchase (probably a LG OLED). However, in the continuing effort to complicate my life, I came up with a possible alternative. Would there be any advantage in feeding the new TV 1080P with Darbee for BluRay and other HD content from the 103D vs. using the 203 upscaling to 4K? Would the Darbee processing be retained after upscaling?
Yes, you still get the Darbee effect with upscaling, whether the TV does the scaling (when the player is set to 1080p) or whether the player does the scaling (when it is set to 4k output).

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9246 of 9273 Old 07-18-2017, 01:13 PM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks Bill,

I may just keep both players in the main system where most viewing takes place and move the old Denon 2500BTCI downstairs as it is gathering dust.

In you and Bob P. I trust....

Glenn
greyflag is offline  
post #9247 of 9273 Old 07-18-2017, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8,180
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4536 Post(s)
Liked: 3115
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyflag View Post
Thanks Bill,

I may just keep both players in the main system where most viewing takes place and move the old Denon 2500BTCI downstairs as it is gathering dust.

In you and Bob P. I trust....

Glenn
I kept my 103D connected to my E6 along with the 203. IMO, the 103D is the best player for SDR blu ray due to the darbee effect.
sschen likes this.

LG 65E6P FW 05.30.02
LG 65EF9500
wxman is online now  
post #9248 of 9273 Old 07-18-2017, 02:36 PM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I think that's what I'll do. I may run my cable box through the 103D as well. I believe any lip sync issues with the 103D have been resolved with firmware long ago; correct?
greyflag is offline  
post #9249 of 9273 Old 07-23-2017, 12:33 PM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Got a 103D when it came out. Have the Darbee set at 65. Also have a 95 and a 103. The lipsynch issues are rare and just switch to another input for a few seconds then back. All inputs (new 4kRoku and tv box) go thru the 103D upscaled to 4k to an LGB6. The Roku doesn't recognize the 103D as a 4k input but the picture is fantastic Am not interested in a 203 due to the Darbee for all inputs My pic on my 65 lg B6 calibrated by ChadB looks fantastic on the 4k setting (standard).
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #9250 of 9273 Old 07-24-2017, 02:11 PM
Member
 
greyflag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post
Got a 103D when it came out. Have the Darbee set at 65. Also have a 95 and a 103. The lipsynch issues are rare and just switch to another input for a few seconds then back. All inputs (new 4kRoku and tv box) go thru the 103D upscaled to 4k to an LGB6. The Roku doesn't recognize the 103D as a 4k input but the picture is fantastic Am not interested in a 203 due to the Darbee for all inputs My pic on my 65 lg B6 calibrated by ChadB looks fantastic on the 4k setting (standard).
I played with it a little before I left town with the Darbee at 35. Are you using Hi-Def or Full Pop?
greyflag is offline  
post #9251 of 9273 Old 07-24-2017, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudiophileWalt View Post
Got a 103D when it came out. Have the Darbee set at 65. Also have a 95 and a 103. The lipsynch issues are rare and just switch to another input for a few seconds then back. All inputs (new 4kRoku and tv box) go thru the 103D upscaled to 4k to an LGB6. The Roku doesn't recognize the 103D as a 4k input but the picture is fantastic Am not interested in a 203 due to the Darbee for all inputs My pic on my 65 lg B6 calibrated by ChadB looks fantastic on the 4k setting (standard).
I have to admit, when I do the UHD upgrade (including a 20X player), the 103D is staying right where it is. I can source anything less than 4K/UHD through that and have it upscale. Darbee is a great feature for me, and I don't know if it will ever be available on 4K players.
hernanu is online now  
post #9252 of 9273 Old 07-25-2017, 08:21 AM
Member
 
AudiophileWalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Reston VA
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
I have to admit, when I do the UHD upgrade (including a 20X player), the 103D is staying right where it is. I can source anything less than 4K/UHD through that and have it upscale. Darbee is a great feature for me, and I don't know if it will ever be available on 4K players.
Hi-Def for the Darbee. Since the Darbee is the distinctive feature of the 103D, I bumped it from 35 to 55-65. The bump really works well with the HDR upscaling of the LG OLED. I had a Panny 60VT60 calibrated 3 times by Chad B so I know a good picture. The LG picture at 4K HDR is significantly better. Really don't think a 203 for Roku and for UHD discs would be an improvement since it wouldn't have the Darbee. Keep your 103D folks-Certainly for non HDR input like cable tv.
AudiophileWalt is offline  
post #9253 of 9273 Old 08-14-2017, 02:58 PM
Member
 
Cobra5wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Charles, Il.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My 103D is 2 years old this summer. It "locks up" every 3 - 4 months and I have to unplug it for 30 seconds to "restore" it to normal. Is this par for the course?
Cobra5wood is offline  
post #9254 of 9273 Old 08-14-2017, 03:02 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,643
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3797 Post(s)
Liked: 4934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra5wood View Post
My 103D is 2 years old this summer. It "locks up" every 3 - 4 months and I have to unplug it for 30 seconds to "restore" it to normal. Is this par for the course?
No. What are you doing when it locks up?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #9255 of 9273 Old 08-14-2017, 07:37 PM
Member
 
Cobra5wood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Charles, Il.
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
No. What are you doing when it locks up?
--Bob
This last time I was switching inputs from Hdmi Rear(Directv) to Bluray so I could play a cd.
Cobra5wood is offline  
post #9256 of 9273 Old 08-14-2017, 08:21 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 32,643
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3797 Post(s)
Liked: 4934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra5wood View Post
This last time I was switching inputs from Hdmi Rear(Directv) to Bluray so I could play a cd.
First off, you should never have to unplug it. Even if the player crashes, there's a power off failsafe. Press Power button once on the Front Panel or Remote and be patient. If the player is not responding normally, a timer will kick in after about 15 seconds and force a shutdown. The next power up will be Energy Efficient (a full reboot) even if you have Quick Start set.

When you change Inputs like that, a new HDMI handshake happens. This is complex as the DirecTV box has to stop trying to do things on the Input. My guess would be that if you get the timing wrong, that box may not be willing to Reset its HDMI output. As an experiment you could try unplugging the HDMI feed cable from the HDMI Input of the OPPO and see if that frees things up.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #9257 of 9273 Old 08-17-2017, 05:03 AM
Member
 
FreMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corsica - FRANCE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Are Darbee settings still working with you? There are some owners from EU complaining about Darbee having no effect anymore since last update and even after reset to factory default.
FreMo is offline  
post #9258 of 9273 Old 08-17-2017, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8,180
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4536 Post(s)
Liked: 3115
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
Are Darbee settings still working with you? There are some owners from EU complaining about Darbee having no effect anymore since last update and even after reset to factory default.
Yes. No issues with Darbee after the update.

LG 65E6P FW 05.30.02
LG 65EF9500
wxman is online now  
post #9259 of 9273 Old 08-18-2017, 12:21 AM
Senior Member
 
sschen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
Are Darbee settings still working with you? There are some owners from EU complaining about Darbee having no effect anymore since last update and even after reset to factory default.
Can I please ask what is this last update you are referring to? The last firmware update was more than 6 months ago in Jan 2017?
sschen is offline  
post #9260 of 9273 Old 08-18-2017, 12:30 AM
Member
 
FreMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corsica - FRANCE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, that s the one.
FreMo is offline  
post #9261 of 9273 Old 08-18-2017, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 3,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1218
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
Are Darbee settings still working with you? There are some owners from EU complaining about Darbee having no effect anymore since last update and even after reset to factory default.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Yes. No issues with Darbee after the update.
No problems here with Darbee either. Not sure what they are looking for.
hernanu is online now  
post #9262 of 9273 Old 08-19-2017, 12:38 AM
Member
 
FreMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corsica - FRANCE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
No problems here with Darbee either. Not sure what they are looking for.
Thanks for the feedback.
FreMo is offline  
post #9263 of 9273 Old 08-21-2017, 07:05 PM
Senior Member
 
hydrotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Working around the constraints of an older AVR (MRX 300) that will not pass 4K. Can I input directv that may include 4K material into the input of the HDMI in and have the 103D split the output to bidder direct to TV and audio to the MRX 300?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hydrotex is offline  
post #9264 of 9273 Old 08-21-2017, 07:08 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22,421
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3405 Post(s)
Liked: 2660
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrotex View Post
Working around the constraints of an older AVR (MRX 300) that will not pass 4K. Can I input directv that may include 4K material into the input of the HDMI in and have the 103D split the output to bidder direct to TV and audio to the MRX 300?
No 4k input on the 103. The 203 removes that restriction.

-Bill
hydrotex likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #9265 of 9273 Old 08-21-2017, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
hydrotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
No 4k input on the 103. The 203 removes that restriction.



-Bill


Thanks, Bill. 203 is higher on my list now.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hydrotex is offline  
post #9266 of 9273 Old 08-23-2017, 01:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rickardl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 2,144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
Are Darbee settings still working with you? There are some owners from EU complaining about Darbee having no effect anymore since last update and even after reset to factory default.
I got the European 103D and Darbee is still working with the latest official firmware from Jan 30th 2017.
rickardl is offline  
post #9267 of 9273 Old 09-08-2017, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all. I have had the 103D for about a year now and have enjoyed it. However with the release of the 203 and the availability of 4K projectors at or below $2k I have started considering upgrading my HT to 4K.

So my question is; Is it worth upgrading my 103D to a 203 and give up the Darbee effect. Or is the improvement not worth the effort and money so I should stick with what I have?

Thew projector I am considering is the EPSON 5040UB with the image to be projected onto a 120" screen.

Thanks
Mark.Leiter is online now  
post #9268 of 9273 Old 09-08-2017, 01:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,589
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2483 Post(s)
Liked: 1789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark.Leiter View Post
Hello all. I have had the 103D for about a year now and have enjoyed it. However with the release of the 203 and the availability of 4K projectors at or below $2k I have started considering upgrading my HT to 4K.

So my question is; Is it worth upgrading my 103D to a 203 and give up the Darbee effect. Or is the improvement not worth the effort and money so I should stick with what I have?

Thew projector I am considering is the EPSON 5040UB with the image to be projected onto a 120" screen.

Thanks
Beware the marketing claims of the PJ sellers. They really are not ready yet for HDR, and the jump to UHD alone may not be worth the effort.. That said, you might want to ask the question in the dedicated thread for that Epson.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #9269 of 9273 Old 09-08-2017, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vitod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Pocono, PA
Posts: 3,620
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark.Leiter View Post
Hello all. I have had the 103D for about a year now and have enjoyed it. However with the release of the 203 and the availability of 4K projectors at or below $2k I have started considering upgrading my HT to 4K.

So my question is; Is it worth upgrading my 103D to a 203 and give up the Darbee effect. Or is the improvement not worth the effort and money so I should stick with what I have?

Thew projector I am considering is the EPSON 5040UB with the image to be projected onto a 120" screen.

Thanks
I'd stick with the 103D till the whole mess becomes perfected.
ambesolman likes this.

Panasonic AE-8000, Carada BW 120", Paradigm Studio 40v3 x 2, Paradigm 690v4, Paradigm ADP 470v3 (rears), Micca M-8C x 4, Volt 6 x 2 (SR), SI DS4-18 in 12cuft X 2, Marantz 7702MKII, OPPO 103D, Emotiva XPA-3,
vitod is offline  
post #9270 of 9273 Old 09-11-2017, 08:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the tips guys. I will just keep the 103D. It does not seem like there is a big reason to change at the moment. I am still in the market for a projector but I will go into that in more detail in the appropriate forum.
Mark.Leiter is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off