Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 10:37 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,589
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1128 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDBT View Post

That's the problem... I never saw the Qdeo and the Darbee tech. So I'm trying to chose between the 103 and te 103D ;(. I don't know which one is the best but the Darbee seems to be a + .

The advantage of the -103 is that it is $100 cheaper and the QDEO is particularly suited when trying to improve low-quality video; it has noise reduction and sharpening controls that the other players don't.

If neither of the above are an issue for you, then I would recommend the -103D.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 10:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 17,243
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 828 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDBT View Post

That's the problem... I never saw the Qdeo and the Darbee tech. So I'm trying to chose between the 103 and te 103D ;(. I don't know which one is the best but the Darbee seems to be a + .
Its really a matter of your own personal preferences, your HT setup and use, etc.
One possible angle for deciding:

If your primary use for the player will be BD and DVD shiny discs, either player is excellent and the Darbee just gives you more to fiddle with.

If you do a lot of streaming from Netflix and the like, or play a lot of marginal quality files, the 103 with Qdeo processing might offer a more pleasing result.

If you reside in the camp that prefers no processing of any kind and just wants the original image to be delivered as-is, either player will do that from HDMI-2. The 103D also offers that via HDMI-1.

If you use a huge screen projector, you might appreciate the Darbee processing since it offers a bit of "pop" that projectors need.
lanping09 likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #1083 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 11:16 AM
Member
 
adamwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi, Recieved my JVB Digital 103/105 external mod today. Played around with it for awhile. For anyone who was wondering it works great with the 103D. No issues at all. The external mod just plugs in and works as advertised.

Adam
adamwe is offline  
post #1084 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteveCaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamwe View Post

Hi, Recieved my JVB Digital 103/105 external mod today. Played around with it for awhile. For anyone who was wondering it works great with the 103D. No issues at all. The external mod just plugs in and works as advertised.

Adam

Good to hear! Mine arrived today along with the 103D so I'll have to give it a whirl tonight. I haven't looked at the directions but I'm assuming its the same commands..... power up, once no disc comes up press dimmer, dimmer, dimmer then mute and 1,2 or 3 power down?
SteveCaron is offline  
post #1085 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 01:15 PM
Member
 
dunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tampa
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks gadgt and apw, was thinking about trying running 1080i cable box through it.
dunno is offline  
post #1086 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 189
If you have control over the output resolution of the cable box, ensure that you have set it to Native or Source as the Output Resolution. This will prevent the box from doing any de-interlacing and scaling, both of which will affect the player's performance to enhance the picture.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #1087 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 02:03 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 511
wse is offline  
post #1088 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 02:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post

I have no plans to use the HDMI input. Every other device I have outputs 1080p anyway. As for cable boxes and alike, my tivo roamio is a massive improvement with its 1080p output compared to the older premier's 1080i output. Generally speaking, by adding in another video processor to the HDMI chain needs to be so beneficial to out way the inconvenience of having to wait for the HDMI handshake.

With cable boxes, etc. channel change needs to be instantaneous especially when you are just clicking through channels .... so I can't justify what if any improvements the 103d could provide with the roamio at least. My few cents at least.




I also have the Tivo Roamio connected to my Panasonic 65ST50 and was impressed with it's scaling but nothing compared to my Oppo 103D and its overall video processing. It all depends on the capabilities of your set. Last year's 50 series Panasonic sets really had mediocre scaling and de-interlacing which led to an overall soft PQ on tv content. This year's 60 series sets have largely fixed this so this might not be an issue for those owners. Either way it doesn't hurt to try and compare to find out which source provides the best PQ for you. I used to complain about the handshake issues with the Oppo but have largely learned to live with it as the PQ improvement in my opinion has been worth it. Try it and you might be pleasantly surprised.
Chere is offline  
post #1089 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 02:53 PM
Member
 
dunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tampa
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chere View Post

I also have the Tivo Roamio connected to my Panasonic 65ST50 and was impressed with it's scaling but nothing compared to my Oppo 103D and its overall video processing. It all depends on the capabilities of your set. Last year's 50 series Panasonic sets really had mediocre scaling and de-interlacing which led to an overall soft PQ on tv content. This year's 60 series sets have largely fixed this so this might not be an issue for those owners. Either way it doesn't hurt to try and compare to find out which source provides the best PQ for you. I used to complain about the handshake issues with the Oppo but have largely learned to live with it as the PQ improvement in my opinion has been worth it. Try it and you might be pleasantly surprised.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

If you have control over the output resolution of the cable box, ensure that you have set it to Native or Source as the Output Resolution. This will prevent the box from doing any de-interlacing and scaling, both of which will affect the player's performance to enhance the picture.


Thanks, looking at the ST60 so good to know. Checking with Brighthouse on control of resolution.
dunno is offline  
post #1090 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

I don't recall that behavior or know if it is intended. See what OPPO says.

-Bill

Spoke to the nice people at Oppo and they really developed the shuffle and random modes for music playback only (even though they do somewhat work for video). So they make no guarantees as to their functionality.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1091 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

Did you know http://en.oppo.com/products/
The OPPO we know and love is owned by a Chinese Goliath that also owns the OPPO that makes and sells cell phones in China and elsewhere.
htwaits is offline  
post #1092 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 06:39 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Its really a matter of your own personal preferences, your HT setup and use, etc.
One possible angle for deciding:

If your primary use for the player will be BD and DVD shiny discs, either player is excellent and the Darbee just gives you more to fiddle with.

If you do a lot of streaming from Netflix and the like, or play a lot of marginal quality files, the 103 with Qdeo processing might offer a more pleasing result.

If you reside in the camp that prefers no processing of any kind and just wants the original image to be delivered as-is, either player will do that from HDMI-2. The 103D also offers that via HDMI-1.

If you use a huge screen projector, you might appreciate the Darbee processing since it offers a bit of "pop" that projectors need.

So for my 133" wide screen that might be nice! biggrin.gif
wse is offline  
post #1093 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 06:39 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Its really a matter of your own personal preferences, your HT setup and use, etc.
One possible angle for deciding:

If your primary use for the player will be BD and DVD shiny discs, either player is excellent and the Darbee just gives you more to fiddle with.

If you do a lot of streaming from Netflix and the like, or play a lot of marginal quality files, the 103 with Qdeo processing might offer a more pleasing result.

If you reside in the camp that prefers no processing of any kind and just wants the original image to be delivered as-is, either player will do that from HDMI-2. The 103D also offers that via HDMI-1.

If you use a huge screen projector, you might appreciate the Darbee processing since it offers a bit of "pop" that projectors need.

So for my 133" wide screen that might be what I need! wink.gif
wse is offline  
post #1094 of 7499 Old 11-08-2013, 06:41 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

The OPPO we know and love is owned by a Chinese Goliath that also owns the OPPO that makes and sells cell phones in China and elsewhere.

I see that's why they have a deal with DIRAC biggrin.gif
wse is offline  
post #1095 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 03:13 AM
Member
 
dunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tampa
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

I had a 93 and the input was a big selling point when I got the 103. I think satellite sent in as 720p/1080i and out to my display as 1080p, looks great.

Gadgtfreek, when you input your satellite feed, can you still output it through both HDMI's? Wondering if it will still feed 2 separate monitors? Thanks in advance.
dunno is offline  
post #1096 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 05:25 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunno View Post

Gadgtfreek, when you input your satellite feed, can you still output it through both HDMI's? Wondering if it will still feed 2 separate monitors? Thanks in advance.

Yes, it will -- with the same settings and provisos as when playing a shiny disc. If you really want to have both displays active at the same time, see the Dual Display setting in the Manual to get a feel for the compromises involved. The player may be forced to use what the least capable of the two displays can handle for audio and video.

If you want two displays cabled, but only one active at a time, and if the inactive one really shuts down its HDMI Input when it is turned OFF (which may depend on things like its support for HDMI CEC remote control on that cable) then the OPPO will see only one display live at a time and will provide best quality audio/video to it without regard for the one that's turned OFF. The Split A/V vs. Dual Display setting in the OPPO is ignored in that case, since the OPPO sees only one output live at a time.

For best quality, you should only use one display at a time. And keep in mind that things like Darbee are only available on the HDMI 1 output.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1097 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 05:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

If you have control over the output resolution of the cable box, ensure that you have set it to Native or Source as the Output Resolution. This will prevent the box from doing any de-interlacing and scaling, both of which will affect the player's performance to enhance the picture.

Anyone using a Dish Hopper know how to set it to 'source'?? I can't find that option in its setup menu. Probably because its not available, but I might be missing it.
Tom

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #1098 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 05:34 AM
Member
 
dunno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: tampa
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Yes, it will -- with the same settings and provisos as when playing a shiny disc. If you really want to have both displays active at the same time, see the Dual Display setting in the Manual to get a feel for the compromises involved. The player may be forced to use what the least capable of the two displays can handle for audio and video.

If you want two displays cabled, but only one active at a time, and if the inactive one really shuts down its HDMI Input when it is turned OFF (which may depend on things like its support for HDMI CEC remote control on that cable) then the OPPO will see only one display live at a time and will provide best quality audio/video to it without regard for the one that's turned OFF. The Split A/V vs. Dual Display setting in the OPPO is ignored in that case, since the OPPO sees only one output live at a time.

For best quality, you should only use one display at a time. And keep in mind that things like Darbee are only available on the HDMI 1 output.
--Bob

Thanks Bob, was thinking about just running the HDMI cable through the back wall to the master BR tv.
dunno is offline  
post #1099 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post

Anyone using a Dish Hopper know how to set it to 'source'?? I can't find that option in its setup menu. Probably because its not available, but I might be missing it.
Tom

Dish DVR's do not have a Native mode like TiVo and Directv, you'd have to manually change it every time.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1100 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 05:56 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28,699
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 963 Post(s)
Liked: 1180
^ Which can be a neat trick if you haven't memorized which channels are delivered as 720p instead of 1080i. With some due diligence you can discover that in the forum here for Dish. (Of course the 480i channels are easy to spot.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #1101 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
I actually knew the channel rez's, and had the remote key combo too so I could quickly get to that screen and change rez. LOL. WAF = low.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1102 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
ingramba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Texas, East of the Pecos!
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm returning my 1 week old 103 for the 103D! Should have it in a week. I'm curious to see how it performs with my Onkyo 809 receiver which has Mavell Qdeo & HQV VIDA VHD1900 4k upscaling video processors. Not really sure how to setup but tweaking will be fun part! cool.gif
ingramba is offline  
post #1103 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4,150
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 632 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Im not too imprssed with the implementation on the 818, Id let the Oppo do it.
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #1104 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Dish DVR's do not have a Native mode like TiVo and Directv, you'd have to manually change it every time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Which can be a neat trick if you haven't memorized which channels are delivered as 720p instead of 1080i. With some due diligence you can discover that in the forum here for Dish. (Of course the 480i channels are easy to spot.)
--Bob

Guess I'll set it to 1080i/p and forget it.

Thanks for the quick replies guys.

Tom

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #1105 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea when the FW update that's supposed to fix the Darbee issue will be released?
Brent Madden is offline  
post #1106 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
elvisizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunno View Post

Hey, Curious as to what anybody is running through the HDMI INPUT and how the PQ comes out? Also, was the HDMI INPUT a major or main reason you went with a 103/103d in the first place or something you could have done without? Thanks
i'm running my PS3 through it. I only have 3 HDMI inputs on my TV and receiver, so having another hdmi in helps me out, and that was part of the reason i bought the oppo.
my only complaint is that the way the input selection menu on the oppo works makes programming a harmony remote to select the right input reliably difficult . . .
elvisizer is offline  
post #1107 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 02:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 21,015
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by wse View Post

I see that's why they have a deal with DIRAC biggrin.gif

What deal?

Noah
noah katz is offline  
post #1108 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
tngiloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post

Any idea when the FW update that's supposed to fix the Darbee issue will be released?

Try calling psychic Sister Cleo at 1-800-355-3765.
Please let us know what she said.biggrin.gif

Seriously, anyone on this thread that might actually know are under NDA, and could, at best, give a vague answer. Anyone else on the thread would only be guessing. Oppo releases firmware (official or beta) when its ready for release. Oppo addresses problems swiftly so you can rest assured that they are working on fixes for any problems with their firmware.
Patience, young padawan.

"When all else fails, read the manual."
tngiloy is offline  
post #1109 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tngiloy View Post

Try calling psychic Sister Cleo at 1-800-355-3765.
Please let us know what she said.biggrin.gif

Seriously, anyone on this thread that might actually know are under NDA, and could, at best, give a vague answer. Anyone else on the thread would only be guessing. Oppo releases firmware (official or beta) when its ready for release. Oppo addresses problems swiftly so you can rest assured that they are working on fixes for any problems with their firmware.
Patience, young padawan.

Easy with the high horse sarcasm, slick. It was a harmless question and a simple "I don't know" would have sufficed.
Brent Madden is offline  
post #1110 of 7499 Old 11-09-2013, 02:43 PM
wse
AVS Special Member
 
wse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,688
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 964 Post(s)
Liked: 511
wse is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off