Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 85 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2521 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 306
For something with Native, use Native. For something without (Dish Network), Id recommend 1080i.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2522 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 08:59 AM
Member
 
vince325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern California, The OC, Mouseville
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hello all have the 103D and wonder if it will play back pal discs in a region 1 player. It looks like it might but want to check before I go and buy any.Thx

Thanks, Vince


Pioneer Kuro
Sony VPL-HW50
Marantz 8801
Oppo 103D
DirectV
XBOX 360
vince325 is offline  
post #2523 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thinking about buying a 103D and read on another thread that its possible to connect a cable box to the player? I'm curious to know how big of a difference it makes and if there's any lip sync issues? My configuration would be Cable box > Oppo 103D > Marantz HDMI receiver > Panny 60VT60 via ARC 2.
mbroadus is online now  
post #2524 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 09:39 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince325 View Post

Hello all have the 103D and wonder if it will play back pal discs in a region 1 player. It looks like it might but want to check before I go and buy any.Thx
Yes, as long as they are coded for the correct region for player or set as all region, they'll play fine. The player can either keep them in PAL format or convert them to NTSC depending on what your TV supports and how you have the video output settings configured on the Oppo.
gsr is online now  
post #2525 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

Thinking about buying a 103D and read on another thread that its possible to connect a cable box to the player? I'm curious to know how big of a difference it makes and if there's any lip sync issues? My configuration would be Cable box > Oppo 103D > Marantz HDMI receiver > Panny 60VT60 via ARC 2.

Set up that way, cable box is into the rear HDMI of the 103D - cable/103D/AVR/65ZT60 - no problems once you get the settings right in the 103D - all the processing of the signal is done in the 103D - box is native/direct - AVR through/direct to Panny 65ZT60

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #2526 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Neuromancer is offline  
post #2527 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Set up that way, cable box is into the rear HDMI of the 103D - cable/103D/AVR/65ZT60 - no problems once you get the settings right in the 103D - all the processing of the signal is done in the 103D - box is native/direct - AVR through/direct to Panny 65ZT60

Thanks...yes I currently have the cable box set on pass thru so that the panny does the signal processing and would keep the current configuration so that the 103D does the processing.
mbroadus is online now  
post #2528 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Fox/ESPN and several other stations transmit in 720P, most transmit in 1080i. It is usually recommended the the output from the cable box to the 103D should be set to native/direct or whatever sends the signal through unprocessed. The 103D should be set to output whatever the display capability of the HDTV/projector is which usually is 1080p.

-The 9242 allows only 3 levels 420p, 720p, 1080i

Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCDA View Post

The Bell 9242 (a rebadged Dish receiver) can be set for an fixed HD output of either 720p or 1080i, which applies to all channels regardless of the source signal. As it's impractical to change this on the fly, I chose the 1080i setting and let the 103D deinterlace the signal. To me, this results in the best image.

Tx I will leave it at 1080i then

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

Save turtles:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #2529 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 168
If you set the Oppo to 4K upscale, does the darbee still function? I was told the darbee does not process 4K signals, so wouldn't that be a waste of money if you have a 4K tv and upscale everything to 4K from the Oppo?
conan48 is offline  
post #2530 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 04:34 PM
Newbie
 
garyokie51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my Directv STB hooked up to my Oppo 103D. If I use the native setting and jump back and forth between a 720P and 1080i program it takes a couple seconds to sync. This is an issue when watching 2 sporting events at the same time. If I have the STB output 1080i there is no lag. Anyway to use native and eliminate the lag?
garyokie51 is offline  
post #2531 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Nope, its the handshake and resolution change.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2532 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Th
Quote:
Originally Posted by conan48 View Post

If you set the Oppo to 4K upscale, does the darbee still function? I was told the darbee does not process 4K signals, so wouldn't that be a waste of money if you have a 4K tv and upscale everything to 4K from the Oppo?

The Darbee is applied before 4K upscaling. Also IF you use a Sony TV or projector, the Sony's internal scaler is leaps and bounds better than Oppo.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #2533 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Th


The Darbee is applied before 4K upscaling. Also IF you use a Sony TV or projector, the Sony's internal scaler is leaps and bounds better than Oppo.

I have a JVC, but it's funny they were saying in the Sony 4k thread that he Oppo was better at upcaling then the Sony built in one biggrin.gif
conan48 is offline  
post #2534 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyokie51 View Post

I have my Directv STB hooked up to my Oppo 103D. If I use the native setting and jump back and forth between a 720P and 1080i program it takes a couple seconds to sync. This is an issue when watching 2 sporting events at the same time. If I have the STB output 1080i there is no lag. Anyway to use native and eliminate the lag?

The same thing happens since my cable box is set to pass thru the signal so that it's processed by the Panasonic display. There's a lag when switching channels.
mbroadus is online now  
post #2535 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by conan48 View Post

I have a JVC, but it's funny they were saying in the Sony 4k thread that he Oppo was better at upcaling then the Sony built in one biggrin.gif

Too funny. They must have used "auto" setting instead of custom settings. I have daily access to multiple Sony displays and use the projector too, the upscaling on the Sony is closer to real 4K (A/B comparison with actual 4K movies of the same title and scenes) than the Oppo.

The Oppo can look "nicer" (sharper, more contrasty etc) but in terms of re-creating 4K, the Sony displays have the best upscaler.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #2536 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 06:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I was told that the 103D processes audio, is this true?
mbroadus is online now  
post #2537 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 06:25 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,367
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I was told that the 103D processes audio, is this true?

"Processes"? In what way?

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #2538 of 5354 Old 01-30-2014, 06:35 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I was told that the 103D processes audio, is this true?

Using the audio analogue preamp outputs, you can adjust levels and speaker types / audio delay etc.
HDMI audio no Sir.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2539 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 05:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Too funny. They must have used "auto" setting instead of custom settings. I have daily access to multiple Sony displays and use the projector too, the upscaling on the Sony is closer to real 4K (A/B comparison with actual 4K movies of the same title and scenes) than the Oppo.

The Oppo can look "nicer" (sharper, more contrasty etc) but in terms of re-creating 4K, the Sony displays have the best upscaler.

Do you have experience with the JVC eshift 3? I'm trying to get an idea if the Oppo 4K upscale does a better job then the JVC upscale to 4K,
conan48 is offline  
post #2540 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Unfortunately I'm still waiting for my X700 projector to arrive from JVC for long-term loaner (so I can do a very thorough feedback for their next year's model).

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #2541 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 07:50 AM
Member
 
tlb48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

Set up that way, cable box is into the rear HDMI of the 103D - cable/103D/AVR/65ZT60 - no problems once you get the settings right in the 103D - all the processing of the signal is done in the 103D - box is native/direct - AVR through/direct to Panny 65ZT60
wouldn't direct AVR through refer to the audio not the video. would you loose mcacc or audyssey processing that way ? would you loose surround modes on the AVR ?
tlb48 is offline  
post #2542 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlb48 View Post

wouldn't direct AVR through refer to the audio not the video. would you loose mcacc or audyssey processing that way ? would you loose surround modes on the AVR ?
No - would have no effect on the audio portion of the signal - with many AVR's you can bring up the onscreen menu and set the "video" for direct or pass-through - Audio portion would have surround modes & audyseey intact

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is online now  
post #2543 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kris Deering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Pacific Northwet
Posts: 7,107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Unfortunately I'm still waiting for my X700 projector to arrive from JVC for long-term loaner (so I can do a very thorough feedback for their next year's model).

I thought you got a X700 back in December?

From you in December:

"My apology for not catching your question I have the JVC X700 for review purpose the 4K upscaling inside the X700 is better than the 103D 4K upscaling.

My favourite setting is to set the 103D in hi-def mode at 35%, VRS at +1, output at 1080p 4:4:4 30-bit dithered into the X700 and let the projector do the upscaling under AUTO mode (under auto it uses 3 separate filters at 3 separate variable rate whereas if you use manual mode, the 3 filters will be running in tandem at the same rate on all three of them)

Now if you want a great upscaler, you'll need to get the Sony 4K projector the upscaler is freakishly amazing although the black level is nowhere as good as the X7oo."

Senior Video Editor
Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kris Deering is online now  
post #2544 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 417
Kris, at that time the review unit was using the beta firmware (I didn't know at the time), just before CES they took it away from me to install the final firmware. Therefore my review at the time is considered moot.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #2545 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
conan48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Igloo
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

Kris, at that time the review was using the beta firmware (I didn't know at the time), just before CES they took it away from me to install the final firmware. Therefore my review at the time is considered moot.

I don't think they would mess up the eshift 3 from prototype to final firmware. Usually, things only get better not worse......

I'm gonna wait then and see what you and the other experts on here think between the Oppo upscale vs. JVC eshift upscale.
conan48 is offline  
post #2546 of 5354 Old 01-31-2014, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 417
So true, but I just don't want to assume.
Kris Deering likes this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

David Susilo is offline  
post #2547 of 5354 Old 02-02-2014, 06:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mbroadus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have an appointment to have my Panny 60VT60 calibrated on March 1 and thinking of buying a 103D but not sure if it will happen before or after the calibration. I currently have a PS3 for blu-ray but I'm more concerned how much of an impact the Darbee processor will have on calibration on the cable output since I'll have my SA 8300HD running thru it?
mbroadus is online now  
post #2548 of 5354 Old 02-02-2014, 06:08 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,367
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbroadus View Post

I have an appointment to have my Panny 60VT60 calibrated on March 1 and thinking of buying a 103D but not sure if it will happen before or after the calibration. I currently have a PS3 for blu-ray but I'm more concerned how much of an impact the Darbee processor will have on calibration on the cable output since I'll have my SA 8300HD running thru it?

People say Darbee does not affect calibration, but I would ask the calibrator. Give him all the specifics and see what he says. Does he need all the final gear in place or not?

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #2549 of 5354 Old 02-02-2014, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 306
IMO it does not. If you have the 103D by then, just have them run their signal generator thru the Oppo, thats what I do smile.gif

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2550 of 5354 Old 02-02-2014, 07:25 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

People say Darbee does not affect calibration, but I would ask the calibrator. Give him all the specifics and see what he says. Does he need all the final gear in place or not?

-Bill

It's easy to disable Darbee. I always calibrate with it off, especially when working on sharpness.

I came from a PS3, and all I can say is, wow, I wouldn't have thought the 103D output to be superior but it totally is, with Darbee on or off, the clarity is fantastic. I never knew what I was missing.
pieandchips is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off