Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 91 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2701 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No, it is.

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2702 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Keeping thinking that, but if its fine by you its fine by me. I'd personally rather not have something show up every time I posted that was just wrong, but it's your sig.

You might benefit from some time with a calibrator or in the calibration forum.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2703 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,766
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Keeping thinking that, but if its fine by you its fine by me. I'd personally rather not have something show up every time I posted that was just wrong, but it's your sig.

You might benefit from some time with a calibrator or in the calibration forum.
The proper setting for sharpness, if we're not talking CRT, is "none" which can be a variety of settings depending on the device.
htwaits is offline  
post #2704 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
You dont have to tell me, thats what test patterns are for. Might wanna tell the other guy though smile.gif

On some products, simply running down to "0" actually softens the image...

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2705 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

You dont have to tell me, thats what test patterns are for. Might wanna tell the other guy though smile.gif

On some products, simply running down to "0" actually softens the image...

No, that would be below 0.

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is online now  
post #2706 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post

No, that would be below 0.

One more time, wrong.

Anyways, this bores me because the name of the site reflects audio, video and science. Something your sig is lacking with improper calibration advice.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2707 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboyz View Post

No, that would be below 0.

One more time, wrong.

Anyways, this bores me because the name of the site reflects audio, video and science. Something your sig is lacking with improper calibration advice.


For most devices 0 is none.
Don't try to troll me.

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is online now  
post #2708 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Good grief. Could we stick to the -103D, please?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #2709 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Fanboyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I don't think turning a film based 1080i blu ray into 24p is something hard to attain.

The proper setting for sharpness is always0.
Also my Oppo BDP-103D is region free.
That makes me awesome.
Fanboyz is online now  
post #2710 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 04:09 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
How about you ladies take it to the bingo where you can talk all the crap you want in private.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2711 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 04:15 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,229
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Keep on topic, please.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #2712 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

How about you ladies take it to the bingo where you can talk all the crap you want in private.

Im over it as stated above, no need to add your 2 cents if you want it to end.
KONICA TECH likes this.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2713 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
So you wan`a talk about the 103D , great I have a question !

Will the 103D do a better job as far as picture quality on SD DVD`s compared to my DV-79AVi ?

Thanks,

Gary. 


PS:

I already now it is going to do BD & 3D better !!
jedi29 is offline  
post #2714 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi29 View Post

So you wan`a talk about the 103D , great I have a question !

Will the 103D do a better job as far as picture quality on SD DVD`s compared to my DV-79AVi ?

Thanks,

Gary. 


PS:

I already now it is going to do BD & 3D better !!

Only thing I could find with some google inquiries was 83 and 93 comparisons to the Pioneer.

It seems if SACD/CD/DVD-A was your thing, both owners felt the Pioneer audio was outstanding. In the video realm they felt the Oppo was hard to beat. This doesn't help with the 103D comparison, but I can't find anything it right now.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #2715 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jedi29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hi , thanks for the effort , ,yes the audio on my `79 is very good SACD`s and CD`s , it hooked up to my DSP-A1G , yup , that one !!

I have a huge collection of SD dvd`s and was looking to improve , but maybe SD is what it is and no dvd player ever made would help.

I am aware of the video flaws of the `79 , however I have never really noticed them.

I have the F8000 and can`t get audio via HDMI to it from my `79 , it`s a program glitch within the F8000 , it could be hacked out , but I don`t know Linux :roll eyes:
A Samsung engineer confirmed the you could disable the DVI signal string , O__well.

Take care ,

Later biggrin.gif

Gary 

PS:

I have finally started a Blu-Ray collection with the Star Wars Saga biggrin.gif
jedi29 is offline  
post #2716 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
bwinders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: marion, Ky
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me or does the oppo have extremely high black levels? It really seems dark even with tv cranked up and of course oppo video settings. I have the bluray coming to get everything setup but it just seems really dark.
bwinders is offline  
post #2717 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 09:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalith View Post

Think I'll just hang on to my BDP-83, then. Darbee is of no real interest to me; I'm against any kind of artificial video enhancement.

Well fwiw Darbee does not degrade the picture quality when used at reasonable settings, and while it does "enhance" the picture quality, it only accentuates what is already in the pic, so it does not add anything artificial. What most people don't realize is that almost all movies/DVDs/BDs are already chock full of artificial enhancements when mastering is done to said movies. Darbee is just simply an enhancement that helps AND is controllable by the user.

Here's a question to ponder... If you could turn up the contrast and sharpness in your display to make the image look better without adding any degradation to the image, most notably in test patters when calibrating a display to ISF standards, would you do it? wink.gif

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #2718 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 09:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinders View Post

Is it just me or does the oppo have extremely high black levels? It really seems dark even with tv cranked up and of course oppo video settings. I have the bluray coming to get everything setup but it just seems really dark.
No, it doesn't. The picture settings at -0- in the player should be reference standard levels. Only adjust them when you can't get proper adjustment from the display's settings.
You may see better what is happening once you get the calibration disc and then do adjustments from that.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #2719 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 10:06 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post


No, it doesn't. The picture settings at -0- in the player should be reference standard levels. Only adjust them when you can't get proper adjustment from the display's settings.
You may see better what is happening once you get the calibration disc and then do adjustments from that.

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post


Well fwiw Darbee does not degrade the picture quality when used at reasonable settings, and while it does "enhance" the picture quality, it only accentuates what is already in the pic, so it does not add anything artificial. What most people don't realize is that almost all movies/DVDs/BDs are already chock full of artificial enhancements when mastering is done to said movies. Darbee is just simply an enhancement that helps AND is controllable by the user.

Here's a question to ponder... If you could turn up the contrast and sharpness in your display to make the image look better without adding any degradation to the image, most notably in test patters when calibrating a display to ISF standards, would you do it? wink.gif

Well said.

 

As it happens I just went through a calibration of my TV and it wasn't hard to see the artefacts when sharpness was raised just a bit above optimum.  However, turning the Darbee on gave no such artefacts on the same test pattern.  Not sure that's a meaningful comparison but it gave me more confidence in using Darbee

JDOz is offline  
post #2720 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 10:10 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinders View Post

Is it just me or does the oppo have extremely high black levels? It really seems dark even with tv cranked up and of course oppo video settings. I have the bluray coming to get everything setup but it just seems really dark.

Strangely, that happened to me once when I was going through a plethora of HDMI issues so was swapping cables and inputs all over the place. It disappeared with the next cable shuffle or restart and never reappeared.

JDOz is offline  
post #2721 of 5033 Old 02-10-2014, 11:45 PM
Member
 
TorTorden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinders View Post

Is it just me or does the oppo have extremely high black levels? It really seems dark even with tv cranked up and of course oppo video settings. I have the bluray coming to get everything setup but it just seems really dark.

Sounds a bit like it has enabled expanded color space, and that is giving you a dark picture, best I can reccomend is to play around with the HDMI color space settings.
TorTorden is offline  
post #2722 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 02:48 AM
Newbie
 
arniegrable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 103d is supposed to arrive today! Can't wait.

Sent from my ASUS Transformer Pad TF300T using Tapatalk
arniegrable is offline  
post #2723 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 03:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dougofthenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post

Per the following: http://hometheaterreview.com/oppo-bdp-103d-darbee-edition-universal-disc-player-reviewed/

"...Oppo also mentioned that the SI VRS ClearView processor can output 4K video at a 50Hz or 60Hz frame rate over HDMI 1.4a using the new YCbCr 4:2:0 color space as defined in the HDMI 2.0 specification, which will make 4K upscaling better for content that's not originated from a 24Hz film (like 1080i concert video); the next 103D/105D firmware update will include this experimental feature."

Not your specific question, but it is critical for those desiring to upconvert and use Darbee on broadcast TV.

Is that the Beta FW version that is currently on the OPPO site? (showing there last week)

Is the Beta FW better than the Dec 2013 Official FW??

------------------------
Regards,

Dougofthenorth

Save turtles:
http://www.turtleshelltortue.org
Dougofthenorth is offline  
post #2724 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 07:46 AM
Member
 
JBran24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: McDonough, Georgia
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm curious to know if anyone has used one of the HDMI inputs to connect a gaming console like the PS4 or XBOX360. If so, were there any problems or issues?
JBran24 is offline  
post #2725 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 08:29 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^it doesn't work well with a console outputting RGB. The 103 inputs are only able to handle YCbCr correctly. This makes the Darbee 'game' control a little bit of an undisclosed dubiousness.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2726 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 08:37 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by TorTorden View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinders View Post

Is it just me or does the oppo have extremely high black levels? It really seems dark even with tv cranked up and of course oppo video settings. I have the bluray coming to get everything setup but it just seems really dark.

Sounds a bit like it has enabled expanded color space, and that is giving you a dark picture, best I can reccomend is to play around with the HDMI color space settings.
What is your source and what colorspace is it set to?
pieandchips is offline  
post #2727 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 08:40 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ quoted wrong post and it looks like its being dealt with apologies wink.gif

Tapatalk isn't fun on this forum.
pieandchips is offline  
post #2728 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 09:25 AM
Newbie
 
garyokie51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think when you use set and forget settings you are really cheating yourself, especially with DVDs. I have used as low as 20% hi def all the way to 70% full pop with excellent results. Depending on the mastering of the DVD you really have to adjust it for each movie. I will agree that for blu ray or STBs set and forget is fine.
garyokie51 is offline  
post #2729 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Got my 103d today.....having issues....want to run brighthouse box thru 103d as well as avr....

I hook hdmi from cable box to hdmi 1 in on oppo....run out to avr...The out on avr to tv.....do I need a second hdmi somewhere to be able to see cable tv....oppo turns on..but can't get darbee / cable to show on tv...sorry for newbie questions.....

Please help...can I get blu ray and cable to run together so I have option to view both...how do i do that



Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post

YES - same effect on cable - Run cable box into HDMI In - Run HDMI out from HDMI OUT1 (on rear panel) to AVR
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #2730 of 5033 Old 02-11-2014, 04:02 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by amercnchopz34 View Post

Got my 103d today.....having issues....want to run brighthouse box thru 103d as well as avr....

I hook hdmi from cable box to hdmi 1 in on oppo....run out to avr...The out on avr to tv.....do I need a second hdmi somewhere to be able to see cable tv....oppo turns on..but can't get darbee / cable to show on tv...sorry for newbie questions.....

Please help...can I get blu ray and cable to run together so I have option to view both...how fo I fo that

Are you pressing the INPUT button on the remote to select the HDMI1 input?

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off