Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 94 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2791 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwillcox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

When playing stereo audio, I always disable any processing on the AVR and either play in stereo mode or pure direct. You really don't want to turn stereo into 5.1 or 7.1 movie sound, as all it does is mud the sound up. Try and leave it as pure as possible.

Well, I do believe (for me at least) that depends on what the DSP changes are. I'm a big fan of Yamaha DSP settings (not so much of any of the other brands I've owned/used over the years), and find that the various Club DSP settings often significantly improve the sound of some stereo recordings in my system (11.2 channels). When on, it just sounds more like what a live performance sounds like to me. Of course, this is very subjective and YMMV.
bwillcox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2792 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltiesantos View Post

I own a 70" sharp elite tv set  and a Mico 50 projector with a 120" screen size. Both the projector and the tv set are professionally calibrated. The difference of darbee on the projector's  image is stunning, specially when using HDTV. On the tv set the improvements can be seen but in a far lesser degree. The bigger the image the more you notice the effects.

That is what most of the reviewers said - subtle on plasma/led but much more pronounced on projectors (bigger the better)

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #2793 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 10:14 AM
Member
 
warrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Release date: February 12, 2014.
Category: Latest Public Beta Test Release
Main Version: BDP10X-69-0124B

Release Notes:

1. Resolved an audio dropout issue occurring with "Monsters University (BD, 2013)", related to its Dolby TrueHD 5.1 and 7.1 audio tracks when the player's HDMI Audio Format was set to Bitstream. We worked with Dolby and our decoder chip maker to address this type of audio dropouts.

I wonder if this fixes the issue with Sony's Total Recall disc as well.

________________________________________
Sony Bravia KDL-55BX520 / Pioneer VSX-54TX
OPPO BDP-103D / Xfinity X1 / Klipsch Speakers
warrian is offline  
post #2794 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwinders View Post

I'm at work at the moment but I can comment that when I had my panasonic player hooked up I didn't have this issue so this is why I'm so confused. I've toggled through every tweak on the oppo but it just doesn't work right. So far I haven't ran analog to see how clear that was because I just assumed it would be close to identical with hdmi as my panny was. I'm is anybody else here running the oppo though an umc1 to make a comparison?
More details about the settings you are using would help. Also, if you call OPPO support, they can walk you through some diagnostics to determine if it's your settings or if your OPPO needs repair. Just saying that the player sounds bad playing CDs isn't enough to determine what's wrong.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #2795 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyokie51 View Post

I am using my 103D with a Pioneer VSX1120 receiver. I am trying to decide if running analog cables to my AVR is worth the trouble. Can you really hear the differance on CDs and SCADs? I am thinking about only running stereo rather than 5 or 7 since I still want to use MCAAC for other sources. Thanks for everyones input in advance.

I didn't consider it trouble, my first AVR required analog connections (no HDMI), and my succeeding ones allowed both.

It's fun to try both, using the analog way (sounds like a martial arts flick) requires more work. Running the cables is not bad, just work labeling the cables.

The part that's fun is doing your own calibration, since most AVRs don't apply room correction to analog inputs. So be ready to do the connections, then play with the distance / level settings on your own. Usually it's best to do this with a meter so you can standardize on a set common output for all speakers given a listening position.

Once you've done the calibration, you should be able to leave it alone for a long time.

As to the sound, I liked it, but when I compared it to HDMI, there wasn't enough difference between the two methods to justify the increased complexity and giving up room correction (MCACC in my case). I use a BDP-83, maybe an 83SE, 95 or 105 would much improve the analog performance, but in my case (and the BDP-83 is pretty good), it was a wash (analog vs. HDMI with room correction).

My sources have been (over the years) regular (redbook) CD's, concert and movie blurays, DVD-A's, SACDs (both stereo and multi channel) and a s***load of MP3's on a NAS drive (the 83, unfortunately doesn't do FLAC). I also tied my Toshiba HD-A35 HD DVD player by analog and HDMI to test it out.

All in all, I had fun running my whole music and movie collection in both HDMI and analog. I am now doing just HDMI, and will probably continue to do so unless I want to try the 103D or 105D directly to an amp. It's convenient and gives great results, I think (just my own opinion here). It's easier to deal with and I value the room correction.

I do run the matrixed sound. I think my receiver (Pioneer Elite VSX-33) does a good job with it, even run it with my stereo SACD's. I just like getting more sound, and the receiver and speakers are pretty good (Energy RC's) to perform well.

Maybe higher performance receivers or direct to amps with higher performance speakers than mine would give a different result, but for me, a music lover (at least 50% music), HDMI with matrixed sound gets me to my happy place.
hernanu is offline  
post #2796 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
For good HDTV and blu-ray is this is a good starting point (65" plasma)?

IMG_20140213_171857_894_zpsicgntz7a.jpg

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2797 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
amercnchopz34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Yes
gadgtfreek likes this.
amercnchopz34 is offline  
post #2798 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 04:26 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

For good HDTV and blu-ray is this is a good starting point (65" plasma)?

Pause a nice crisp shot of a face or image with nice shadow detail and flick Darbee on and off. Then you'll see what it does wink.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #2799 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Oh yeah, ive done that, I just havent messed with it since before they did the update for bands, which has been awhile. Seems like Hi Def and 40% is standard for a start.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2800 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 05:49 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf0621 View Post
 

Thanks for the response & the effort of testing this out. I was hoping that there would be no loop issues given the inactive nature of each connection chain but sounds like that's not the case. Oh well, I guess I'll have to live with changing the source on both the AVR & the Oppo.

 

One more question though: In terms of the Oppo's audio, I would obviously want that to feed to the AVR instead of to the TV so I think I'd still have to make a connection from the Oppo out > AVR in. The final HDMI feed out from the AVR to the Oppo (I can specify in my AVR to suppress Audio out) for all sources would be video only & since Oppo video was never routed to the AVR inputs, only Audio, would that still constitute an HDMI loop?

My AVR is a Marantz av8801. The manual makes it appear that my settings would also block audio to Oppo...but I still had issues.  Those issues were either no sound on blu ray OR image flickering every 5 secs on some sources (presumably trying to establish HDMI handshake). Such HDMI issues tend to be specific to certain gear so I'd say you could certainly give it a try.

 

FYI; the set-up I settled on was having: 

Sat TV--Oppo HDMIrearIN

PVR--Oppo HDMIfrontIN

Oppo HDMI1OUT to AVR input3

AVR HDMI out to TV

 

An advantage of this set-up is that I get the onscreen displays for both the Oppo and the AVR.

I could not detect any difference in PQ between this set-up and running video direct from Oppo to TV.

Changing sources involves only changing the Oppo input (AVR input remains the same).  I programmed my Harmony remote to make this change.

 

All good, though I'm kinda bummed at having an expensive AVR that never switches inputs :-)

JDOz is offline  
post #2801 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 05:55 PM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post

Oh yeah, ive done that, I just havent messed with it since before they did the update for bands, which has been awhile. Seems like Hi Def and 40% is standard for a start.

Silly question but people (including reviewers) keep quoting Darbee best at "Hi Def + xx%"

I've been assuming that only the % value matters and e.g. 40% HiDef is identical to Full Pop 40%

 

Am I wrong?

JDOz is offline  
post #2802 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 06:03 PM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Yes smile.gif


Hi Def - For video purists, the most refined effect
Gaming - For computer generated video
Full Pop - The strongest effect, but some possible visible artifacts
pieandchips is offline  
post #2803 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Thats the way I understood it.

Seems like Hidef between 35 and 50 is kinda the goto setting.

Turning 40% off and on during a paused high quality feed is quite obvious.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2804 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 07:11 PM
Member
 
bigslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My 103d arrives on Friday. One of the reviews I read said Darby can only be used when resolution is set to 1080p. Is this true?
bigslim is offline  
post #2805 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 07:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 130
^no, not true, darbee can be used at lower resolutions too.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #2806 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
bigslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks! I thought so. I didn't think that was correct when I read it.
bigslim is offline  
post #2807 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 08:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 24,797
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigslim View Post

Thanks! I thought so. I didn't think that was correct when I read it.
Maybe what you read was intended to say that Darbee is most effective with the best (1080p?) source material.

Calibration Resources:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

htwaits is offline  
post #2808 of 5260 Old 02-13-2014, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Robinson ------'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Maybe what you read was intended to say that Darbee is most effective with the best (1080p?) source material.

This.

JVC rs4810 (115)
Pioneer Kuro-9gen (50)
Oppo 103d
Marantz sr7001
Klipsch rb81/rc62/rs52
Robinson ------ is offline  
post #2809 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 03:43 AM
Member
 
bigslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

Maybe what you read was intended to say that Darbee is most effective with the best (1080p?) source material.


http://www.homecinemachoice.com/news/article/oppo-bdp-103d-review/17653

Maybe I interpreted the statement incorrectly!

From the review at Home Cinema Choice by Mark Craven. The review is from a British site.

"The Darbee menu overlays on your screen when you hit the dedicated button on the handset. Here you can choose the mode, the level of its impact (from 0-120 per cent) and even view the pre- and post-processed images in split-screen. The latter is very useful to see exactly what's occurring. Note that the Oppo needs to be set to 1080p output for the Darbee suite to work."
bigslim is offline  
post #2810 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 05:36 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 96
"Source Direct" is the only output resolution choice where Darbee isn't functional.
rlb is offline  
post #2811 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 05:53 AM
 
pieandchips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 169
^ Even though the Darbee menu still displays, which is confusing wink.gif
pieandchips is offline  
post #2812 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigslim View Post

http://www.homecinemachoice.com/news/article/oppo-bdp-103d-review/17653

Maybe I interpreted the statement incorrectly!

From the review at Home Cinema Choice by Mark Craven. The review is from a British site.

"The Darbee menu overlays on your screen when you hit the dedicated button on the handset. Here you can choose the mode, the level of its impact (from 0-120 per cent) and even view the pre- and post-processed images in split-screen. The latter is very useful to see exactly what's occurring. Note that the Oppo needs to be set to 1080p output for the Darbee suite to work."

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post

"Source Direct" is the only output resolution choice where Darbee isn't functional.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pieandchips View Post

^ Even though the Darbee menu still displays, which is confusing wink.gif

Extremely - I just tried - took Darbee to 120 and saw no difference - also could not start the 'split screen" mode - below is from Page 22 of 103D manual - I have a Panasonic 65ZT60 which made me think I should use 'source direct" BUT I bought the 103D for Darbee and I am a happy camper with its performance - leaving output @ 1080p.

The BDP-103D supports a special Source Direct mode through its HDMI outputs. This resolution is
recommended for use with external video processors or high-end TVs. In Source Direct mode, the player
works as a “transport”. It decodes video from the discs and then sends the raw video signal in its native
resolution and format, without extra processing, to the external video processor or TV. The actual output
resolution varies by content:

Content Source Direct Output Resolution
NTSC DVD 480i
PAL DVD 576i
Most Blu-ray Movies (film-source) 1080p 23.976Hz or 1080p 24Hz
Most Blu-ray TV shows or Concerts
(video-source) 1080i
SACD and DVD-Audio 1080p

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 - Oppo BDP-103D - Panasonic DMP-BDT220 - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A - OPPO DV-981HD - Harmony 880
Onkyo TX-NR809 --- Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 45 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #2813 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 06:07 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,268
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 346
None of the Picture Adjustments work for Source Direct, by design. If they were disabled you wouldn't be able to make adjustments for when you switch back to 1080p.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #2814 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 06:13 AM
Member
 
JDOz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigslim View Post

My 103d arrives on Friday. One of the reviews I read said Darby can only be used when resolution is set to 1080p. Is this true?

Indeed it does (as stated by others). I recall reading that Oppo found 1080 to be the "sweet spot" for Darbee. Suggest that the confusion may derive from a true statement that when both scaling and Darbee are to be applied, the  Oppo will apply Darbee at the 1080 level to maximise performance.

JDOz is offline  
post #2815 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 07:09 AM
rlb
AVS Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: North Royalton, OH
Posts: 3,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Darbee does its internal processing at 1080p (will convert any resolution to 1080p) but will output at any of the OPPO's resolutions.
rlb is offline  
post #2816 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 07:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,813
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 306
That works out OK then. I like the fact the Darbee chip is able to be updated on the 103D.

Both my dvr's come in set on Native, and I have the Oppo send out 1080p/60 for their inputs, and 1080p/24 for blu-ray. All at 4:4:4. Darbee is set to Hi-Def and 40%.

65" VT50 / BDT460
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #2817 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 09:09 AM
Member
 
ClemsonChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey Oppo guys. I finally pulled the trigger and upgraded my Sony s5100 to the 103D. Can't wait to receive it from Amazon! My system will now include the following: Panasonic 65ZT60, Oppo 103-D, Sony PS3, DirecTV DVR, Pioneer 1120 AVR, Monitor Audio RS6 center, left, right and surrounds, and HSU VTF-1 MK2 sub.

Panasonic TC-P65T60
Oppo BDP-103D
Pioneer VSX-1120-K
Monitor Audio RS6 Silver F, R, C, Surrounds
HSU VTF-1 MK2
PS3
CinemaQuest Ideal-Lume
Harmony Remote
ClemsonChad is offline  
post #2818 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Redbeemer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

The Media Control droid app for the 103/105 became available about a month ago and has seen one update. The one for the 93/95 has been around a long time.
Thanks for your reply, Bill. However, it seems my actual problem is that neither of my Samsung Galaxy Tab II tablets is compatible with the 103/105 media app. Interestingly enough, my Samsung Galaxy S3 smartphone works just fine with that app.eek.gif
Redbeemer is offline  
post #2819 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 02:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeemer View Post

Thanks for your reply, Bill. However, it seems my actual problem is that neither of my Samsung Galaxy Tab II tablets is compatible with the 103/105 media app. Interestingly enough, my Samsung Galaxy S3 smartphone works just fine with that app.eek.gif

I'm not Bill, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn last night.

I've heard reports that the tabs don't play nice with the apps, you could contact Oppo support on that. It might be to do with the Droid version its running, wireless implementation or the like. I use my S3 also, with no issues before or after the recent Android update on the S3.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #2820 of 5260 Old 02-14-2014, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
wolf0621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDOz View Post
 

My AVR is a Marantz av8801. The manual makes it appear that my settings would also block audio to Oppo...but I still had issues.  Those issues were either no sound on blu ray OR image flickering every 5 secs on some sources (presumably trying to establish HDMI handshake). Such HDMI issues tend to be specific to certain gear so I'd say you could certainly give it a try.

 

FYI; the set-up I settled on was having: 

Sat TV--Oppo HDMIrearIN

PVR--Oppo HDMIfrontIN

Oppo HDMI1OUT to AVR input3

AVR HDMI out to TV

 

An advantage of this set-up is that I get the onscreen displays for both the Oppo and the AVR.

I could not detect any difference in PQ between this set-up and running video direct from Oppo to TV.

Changing sources involves only changing the Oppo input (AVR input remains the same).  I programmed my Harmony remote to make this change.

 

All good, though I'm kinda bummed at having an expensive AVR that never switches inputs :-)


Yeah that's probably the setup I'd have to settle on as well if using this player. The drawback here is obviously that the AVR can handle tons of different inputs while this setup only applies the Darby processing to the two input sources routed through the Oppo. I'm kinda thinking of maybe going with the standalone processor instead & connecting that between the AVR & the tv. That way all sources routed into the AVR get processed.

wolf0621 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc
Gear in this thread - 103d by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off