Official Sony BDP-S1200, BDP-S3200, BDP-S4200, BDP-S5200, BDP-S6200, and BDP-S7200 - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1293 Old 05-11-2014, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Thanks for the advice - I'm going to buy it. Do you have 4:4:4 color or 16 bit selected? I like that it offers those features but does the W9 take advantage of it?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
helvetica bold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1293 Old 05-11-2014, 11:37 AM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I messed around with all the different settings but I just left it in default auto as well in my W9 just remember to turn off secondary bd audio in the 6200 so it send correct audio from bluray could not get the HD MST audio or Dolby true to show upon my avr until I disabled it.
HD KOOL-AID is online now  
post #813 of 1293 Old 05-11-2014, 04:19 PM
Newbie
 
BlackHawk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I am looking for opinions from people more knowledgeable on this than I am... I am debating on whether to get last years Sony BDP-S5100 or this years Sony BDP-S5200. Any advantages or disadvantages between these? I need 3D for sure. Are there issues upgrading firmware that disables any desirable features? What is the best firmware version for these? Help in picking one is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
BlackHawk1 is offline  
post #814 of 1293 Old 05-11-2014, 11:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Answered many times. Check near the beginning of the thread. Also, you have no choice of firmwares.
mdavej is offline  
post #815 of 1293 Old 05-12-2014, 12:15 AM
Newbie
 
BlackHawk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Answered many times. Check near the beginning of the thread. Also, you have no choice of firmwares.

Been there, done that... at that time the model was too new to sift through people "guessing." Seeing that it appears you *might* know the differences you could have been helpful and posted what you know. smile.gif Sure you have a choice of firmware to a point... it will come with a certain firmware and after that you can disable updating to future versions in the menu if you like. At least that's how the BDP-S590 was. With it some people decided to stick with the original firmware that didn't cripple features and firmware that didn't introduce restrictions. Heck I was even able to downgrade the firmware of the S590 from M12R0497 to M12R0430. So, there actually is a choice. smile.gif
BlackHawk1 is offline  
post #816 of 1293 Old 05-12-2014, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Streaming apps stop working if you don't use the latest firmwares. I've never been able to downgrade a firmware on Sony, so you know more about it than I do. It's not like the old days before Cinavia. You gain nothing by staying on old firmwares.

I see plenty of firsthand reports in the thread about HD audio decoding being removed in the x200 series, plus load times being faster.
mdavej is offline  
post #817 of 1293 Old 05-13-2014, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
BlackHawk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Streaming apps stop working if you don't use the latest firmwares. I've never been able to downgrade a firmware on Sony, so you know more about it than I do. It's not like the old days before Cinavia. You gain nothing by staying on old firmwares.

I see plenty of firsthand reports in the thread about HD audio decoding being removed in the x200 series, plus load times being faster.


Thank you for the reply, I appreciate it! After downgrading the firmware on the S590 I have not had any issues with streaming apps not working. Netflix, accessing files on the PC, etc. are ok. I am sorry to disagree, but staying on old firmware has advantages in certain situations and mine happens to be audio media related. While I have no reason to avoid Cinavia, and haven't, I see some people do and because of that they avoided updating the firmware. I see some people seeking out older used players that were never updated for that reason. True... I checked and decoding has been removed for the x200 series. Decent comparison of the two units...

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ldHdbyUNP23/compare_158BDP5100_158BDP5200/Sony-BDP-S5100-vs-Sony-BDP-S5200.html

I think I am going with the S5100. I thank you again.
BlackHawk1 is offline  
post #818 of 1293 Old 05-13-2014, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
Hatex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHawk1 View Post


Thank you for the reply, I appreciate it! After downgrading the firmware on the S590 I have not had any issues with streaming apps not working. Netflix, accessing files on the PC, etc. are ok. I am sorry to disagree, but staying on old firmware has advantages in certain situations and mine happens to be audio media related. While I have no reason to avoid Cinavia, and haven't, I see some people do and because of that they avoided updating the firmware. I see some people seeking out older used players that were never updated for that reason. True... I checked and decoding has been removed for the x200 series. Decent comparison of the two units...

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-ldHdbyUNP23/compare_158BDP5100_158BDP5200/Sony-BDP-S5100-vs-Sony-BDP-S5200.html

I think I am going with the S5100. I thank you again.

Please explain your thoughts choosing the S5100 over the S5200

Hatex is offline  
post #819 of 1293 Old 05-13-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 196
5200, IMO, is not an upgrade from 5100. It is in fact a downgrade. If you look for an upgrade from 5100, you need look at 6200 and up. Besides, with the price of 5100 so cheap these days, paying for a premium for a 5200 is not worth it.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #820 of 1293 Old 05-13-2014, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatex View Post

Please explain your thoughts choosing the S5100 over the S5200
Reasons:
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackHawk1 View Post

... decoding has been removed for the x200 series.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

5200, IMO, is not an upgrade from 5100. It is in fact a downgrade...

Newer isn't always better. They consistently cut hardware and features from one year to the next to minimize cost and maximize profits hoping nobody will notice.
mdavej is offline  
post #821 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Zaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've just returned my 4200 to Sony after complaining about the response times when forwarding via DLNA.

Picked up the 6200 from John Lewis today, it cost £175 which is twice as much as I wanted to spend, However its sorted out my problem, this responds far better than the 4200.

Just wondering if I should have tried another 4200 in case my one was dodgy..
Zaim is offline  
post #822 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 05:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,801
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 196
6200 has dual-core processor, IIRC, while 4200 doesn't. That's probably the major cause of responsiveness.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #823 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 08:29 PM
Member
 
ultimate_ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey folks, I've ordered an S6200 to go with the Denon x4000 AVR and JVC 4910 projector for my media room build. I found another thread related to finding and viewing 4K native content (I know the 4910 isn't a true 4K projector, but it will take 4K content and project through e-shift).

Most of the discussion was related to using an HTPC to stream sources like Youtube videos that have been recorded in native 4K.

I'm curious - what does the S6200 player do with 4K videos it streams in the Youtube app? can it pass the native 4K signal out?
ultimate_ed is offline  
post #824 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 156

I just saw the S6200...

 

It looks like a toy!

 

It is about as big as a notebook and light as a feather....

 

WTF?

 

Guess I am waiting for the S7200.

HDTVAV is offline  
post #825 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
the same guts that are in the 7200 are in the 6200. you would only be paying for a different case.
marctronixx is offline  
post #826 of 1293 Old 05-14-2014, 11:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post

the same guts that are in the 7200 are in the 6200. you would only be paying for a different case.

 

Wrong...

 

:p

HDTVAV is offline  
post #827 of 1293 Old 05-15-2014, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post

the same guts that are in the 7200 are in the 6200. you would only be paying for a different case.

I have no idea if the innards are identical, but seemingly no one (save one person) can find a difference operationally...and that one person isn't sharing.

Sony-Asia has now listed the 7200 and it's specs and I still don't see a difference, but my eyes are starting to fail me.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #828 of 1293 Old 05-15-2014, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Has it ever been confirmed the S7200 will be realeased in the US? I see no indication that the S7200 will be available in the US. If I remember correctly, Sony released the A6000 last year in Europe only as the sucessor of the S790. This could be the case with the S7200 as well.
Cortiz is offline  
post #829 of 1293 Old 05-15-2014, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
there has been no indication the 7200 will be released officially in the US. there was a report some new york city store had it listed on its website. this store and its link is posted earlier in this thread.
marctronixx is offline  
post #830 of 1293 Old 05-15-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post

there has been no indication the 7200 will be released officially in the US. there was a report some new york city store had it listed on its website. this store and its link is posted earlier in this thread.

 

Yes, according to B&H it is:

 

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1033029-REG/sony_bdp_s7200_high_end_4k_blu_ray_disc.html

gadgtfreek likes this.
HDTVAV is offline  
post #831 of 1293 Old 05-18-2014, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does the 6200 offer QELLO?

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #832 of 1293 Old 05-19-2014, 03:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

Does the 6200 offer QELLO?
Unless some have been added or removed recently, I gave a complete list of streaming services available on the 6200 earlier in the thread.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #833 of 1293 Old 05-19-2014, 08:16 AM
Member
 
ohYew812's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubertoliver View Post

Does the 6200 offer QELLO?

Yes it does.

 

I have it and use that app frequently.

ohYew812 is offline  
post #834 of 1293 Old 05-20-2014, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Hubertoliver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Got the 6200 delivered today and so far I think it's a better performer than the 790.
marctronixx and ohYew812 like this.

Army Rangers lead the way!

Pioneer SC-1523K, Sony BDP-S6200, Sharp Q+ 60" display, Monster Power HDP IR 2550, Klipsch Quintet SL, Klipsch Sub 12
Hubertoliver is offline  
post #835 of 1293 Old 05-21-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Noticed there was an update for my 6200 today.

From Sony's site:

This utility upgrades the Blu-ray Disc™ Player firmware to version M21.R.0116 and provides the following benefits:

Improvements over firmware version M21.R.0112:

Improves BRAVIA® Internet Video connectivity to address the following concerns:

Netflix® Streaming Service may return to the Main page or SSL alarm may appear

Launchpad screen may freeze during advertisments

Playback may crash for some Internet services (Flixter, iComedy, Golflink.com)

Improves Wi-Fi® router connectivity

Benefits provided by previous upgrades and included in version M21.R.0116:

Provides Digital Content Protection (HDCP) 2.2 compatibility for Screen Mirroring
marctronixx and gadgtfreek like this.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #836 of 1293 Old 05-22-2014, 07:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Thanks. I did it and then checked with spears and munsil. Still passes all patterns I test.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #837 of 1293 Old 05-22-2014, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Zaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

6200 has dual-core processor, IIRC, while 4200 doesn't. That's probably the major cause of responsiveness.

Yeah, I was going to wait for the 7200 but some sites have it at £250 which is just too much for me lol. I'm happy with the 6200, no issues what so ever.
marctronixx likes this.
Zaim is offline  
post #838 of 1293 Old 05-24-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
smalltownhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, UT
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was at costco today and I saw the BDP-BX320 for $79.99, it looks like a good deal. Does anyone have this player, if so how good is it? Looks like it supports a bunch of providers.
smalltownhick is offline  
post #839 of 1293 Old 05-24-2014, 04:04 PM
Member
 
smalltownhick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, UT
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also here is the manual that I found for multiple models including this one. http://www.manualslib.com/download/620095/Sony-Bdp-S1200.html
smalltownhick is offline  
post #840 of 1293 Old 05-24-2014, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Kisakuku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 70
So Costco has 320 and 520 listed online, but no 620. Disappointing to say the least, I want to keep my rear USB port when upgrading from 510.
Kisakuku is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off