Official Sony BDP-S1200, BDP-S3200, BDP-S4200, BDP-S5200, BDP-S6200, and BDP-S7200 - Page 38 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1265 Old 06-22-2014, 07:23 PM
Member
 
cminer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Why can't you just hold the power button down do several seconds? Accomplishes the same thing.
For whatever reason, this year's player does not have that feature. You have to unplug. It's completely stupid. I did yet another exchange just in case since my 30 days are almost up.
cminer72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 10:10 AM
Member
 
bachusTheOld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is Sony BDPS6200 best at IP video?

Sony claims its "Advanced IP Content Noise Reduction Pro technology, and Super Bit Mapping" produce the best streamed video which is making it difficult for me to decide between the BDPS6200 and Samsung's BD-F7500. Any help much appreciated.

blu-ray Operas: 6
blu-ray Ballets : 1
There's a reason they're called the fine arts--buy them on blu-ray.
bachusTheOld is offline  
post #1113 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
The first thing I do when I get a new player is turn all of that worthless junk off. How much IP video will you be watching? And why would it need any noise reduction? All it does is make bad content look even worse.
marctronixx likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1114 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Even with IP NR Pro, a Roku 3, etc... set top streamer still provides better PQ IMO. My Roku 3 and Fire TV Amazon HD PQ look better than the 6200 and 5100.

My BR player is for playing BR's and DVD's though, nothing else. I prefer to have a streaming box for streaming.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1115 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 11:50 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Even with IP NR Pro, a Roku 3, etc... set top streamer still provides better PQ IMO. My Roku 3 and Fire TV Amazon HD PQ look better than the 6200 and 5100.

My BR player is for playing BR's and DVD's though, nothing else. I prefer to have a streaming box for streaming.
Same here.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #1116 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 01:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Even with IP NR Pro, a Roku 3, etc... set top streamer still provides better PQ IMO. My Roku 3 and Fire TV Amazon HD PQ look better than the 6200 and 5100.

My BR player is for playing BR's and DVD's though, nothing else. I prefer to have a streaming box for streaming.
I think the picture quality from my S6200 is better than my Roku 3 and FireTv. At least for netflix. My Roku 3 and FireTv won't do any 3D content. Plus they don't have the netflix overlay that shows the bitrate and encode playing. Which is why I prefer to use the Sony player or my TiVo for Netflix. Over the Roku and fireTv. For amazon content though the FireTV is what I use. I don't use my Roku boxes too much any more. Except for the streaming apps that are not available on other devices. Like the Funimation app.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #1117 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 81
I am constantly impressed with the PQ of House Of Cards viewed via my 6200.
RPicard_1963 likes this.
Nickff is offline  
post #1118 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
One thing the past couple of generations of Sony players can do that some other streaming devices can't is Netflix Super HD (4300 or 5800 kbps). The x90 series can't even do it. I think Netflix looks fantastic on all my Sony players (x100 series and above).

This IP noise reduction nonsense isn't needed for Netflix and makes virtually no difference on poor quality Youtube videos from what I've seen. I wouldn't factor that feature into any buying decision.
mdavej is offline  
post #1119 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
You will note I did not say anything about Netflix, I said Amazon HD.

My Roku 3 and Fire TV Amazon PQ is fantastic, and they both do Netflix well. Its an obviously better choice for me than a device that does one equal or better, and one worse. Meaning, The 6200 is subpar at Amazon and good at Netflix, while the boxes are good at both.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1120 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
You will note I did not say anything about Netflix, I said Amazon HD.

My Roku 3 and Fire TV Amazon PQ is fantastic, and they both do Netflix well. Its an obviously better choice for me than a device that does one equal or better, and one worse. Meaning, The 6200 is subpar at Amazon and good at Netflix, while the boxes are good at both.
Yeah, the Amazon app and PQ are pretty terrible on Sony, I agree. My biggest problem with Amazon is I can't ever find anything to watch that I can't already get elsewhere. I probably watch one thing every 3-4 months.
mdavej is offline  
post #1121 of 1265 Old 06-23-2014, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
I use it for mainly tv shows now, but as the original series start rolling out Ill have it more.

For now, Fire TV in living room, roku stick in bedroom, and 6200 for blu-ray

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1122 of 1265 Old 06-24-2014, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Regarding Sony's video quality on some apps, I haven't used Amazon much, but the PS3's Hulu video quality is acceptable, but could be better. I can see a noticeable difference between the app on my TV (a 2013 Panasonic S64 plasma) and the PS3. The image is sharper and the motion is smoother on the TV, however, the PS3 incurs fewer stuttering, buffering issues during peak hours. Netflix, on the other hand, is consistently good on the PS3, while the TV app is older and is often readjusting quality. So I do believe that it is difficult to give the Sony's the slam-dunk. It seems that some devices are better at streaming some services than they are with others.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #1123 of 1265 Old 06-25-2014, 02:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatuglyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mars
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
About 2 weeks ago I talked with my Sony insider and she said the 7200 will not be offered in the U.S and the 6200 is it equivalent which means its pretty much the same model. This is one reason why I went with the 6200. So if people are waiting for Sony to bring the 7200 to the U.S your going to be waiting for a long time. One other thing I want to bring up is I am getting tired of people comparing the 6200 to the Oppo Blu ray players. Oppo is in a league of their own when it comes to Blu ray players and anyone who's smart enough knows that. They also charge a high price for their players which a guy like me who has a family and has priorities cant afford what they are asking for it. To me Sony is the next best thing and I feel the PQ of the 6200 comes very very close to the Oppo's. But to make comparisons just aint fair.
I had a chance a few weeks ago to have a short chat with a couple nice guys from Sony Japan, they were from the Blu-Ray division and told me that they were still "considering" a release of the S7200 here in the US. Not sure how much influence or insight (if any) they have on what Sony USA does though.

I'd welcome a high-end Sony player for improved build quality alone. I like their new players but they definitely feel kinda junky; I set up a new BDP-S5200 in my store last week and yesterday it was completely unresponsive. I unplugged it and plugged it back in, felt the mechanism whirring around for a second, and then nothing. Happens I guess, but I've always found Sony players to be really reliable (I still wish I had kept my 5000ES instead of selling it for an Oppo -- never had a single issue with that player), and my 1000ES is still going strong. I have a BDP-S3100 that I've had lock up on me a couple times but nothing major. I was planning on getting a 6200 for my ST60 soon but found a used S5100 for $50 the other day and couldn't pass it up.

ht Panasonic TC-P60ZT60, Monitor Audio: Silver RX6, RX Centre, Radius 90HD; Martinlogan Dynamo 700, Marantz SR5006, PS3, Oppo BDP-103D
2ch Marantz PM8004, Sony BDP-S1000ES, JVC T-X3 tuner, Monitor Audio Silver RX1, REL T3, Apple TV, Peachtree Audio DAC•iT
lr Panasonic 50ST60, Sony BDP-S5100
fatuglyguy is online now  
post #1124 of 1265 Old 06-25-2014, 06:42 AM
Member
 
krips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by bachusTheOld View Post
Sony claims its "Advanced IP Content Noise Reduction Pro technology, and Super Bit Mapping" produce the best streamed video which is making it difficult for me to decide between the BDPS6200 and Samsung's BD-F7500. Any help much appreciated.
It might do some good, but most of the people might have already disabled that feature. For me I already have a Sony TV with SBM, and I have enabled it on the TV but not on the Blu-ray player.

Now regarding Samsung BD-F7500, I found that unit very slow due to Samsung's bloatware plus it has a limitation on mkv bit rate i.e. 30 Mbps. I have several BDRX that exceed that limit. Sony plays them without any issues. Samsung didn't. Therefore if you have collection of mkv format that have higher bit rate than 30 Mbps, then you are out of luck on BD-F7500.
marctronixx likes this.

XBR55HX929 / AVR X4000
PS3 Slim / BDP-S6200
Roku 3 / WD TV Live /Chromecast
DT PM1000 / PC2000
DVP5000
krips is online now  
post #1125 of 1265 Old 06-25-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatuglyguy View Post
I had a chance a few weeks ago to have a short chat with a couple nice guys from Sony Japan, they were from the Blu-Ray division and told me that they were still "considering" a release of the S7200 here in the US. Not sure how much influence or insight (if any) they have on what Sony USA does though.

I'd welcome a high-end Sony player for improved build quality alone. I like their new players but they definitely feel kinda junky; I set up a new BDP-S5200 in my store last week and yesterday it was completely unresponsive. I unplugged it and plugged it back in, felt the mechanism whirring around for a second, and then nothing. Happens I guess, but I've always found Sony players to be really reliable (I still wish I had kept my 5000ES instead of selling it for an Oppo -- never had a single issue with that player), and my 1000ES is still going strong. I have a BDP-S3100 that I've had lock up on me a couple times but nothing major. I was planning on getting a 6200 for my ST60 soon but found a used S5100 for $50 the other day and couldn't pass it up.
Thanks for the insight.

It would be nice to have the 7200 in the US. But I doubt it will be the panacea everybody thinks. Maybe it will have a more substantial case and a few more bells and whistles. But it will still run the same bug-riddled firmware as the other models. I would say it isn't entirely Sony's fault, but since they created this blu-ray monster, it is their fault.

[rant]As long as the train wreck we call blu-ray exists, every player is going to have issues of some kind. How many times did your old DVD player crash? Never, right. Now we have a platform with virtually no standards or best practices where anything goes code-wise. That's a recipe for disaster and the reason players crash and need new firmware updates every few months.[/rant]

If anyone things the 7200 will magically make all these problems go away, they are mistaken.
marctronixx likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1126 of 1265 Old 06-25-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Just looked up the 7200 on the net and I like the design. It looks solidly built but while scrolling through the features it don't differ very much from the S6200 that I now have. But think Sony should have went with the 7200's design and did the same with the 6200. Oh well cant always get what we want can we?
marctronixx likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1127 of 1265 Old 06-28-2014, 11:56 AM
Member
 
SireTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question... can the 2014 Sony bluray units stream Netflix and/or Amazon Instant in 24p?
SireTV is offline  
post #1128 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 03:28 AM
Member
 
akadoublej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Another quick question. Is the only difference between the S3200 and S5200 the fact that the S5200 has a wireless network connection?
akadoublej is offline  
post #1129 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadoublej View Post
Another quick question. Is the only difference between the S3200 and S5200 the fact that the S5200 has a wireless network connection?
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-PEopPEV...BDP-S5200.html

The S5200, like the S5200 last year, also supports 3D. And last year the S5100 had a display, the S5100 did not. I am not sure if the S5200 has one.
marctronixx likes this.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
post #1130 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 283
5100 and 5200 have a display. 3100 and 3200 have wifi but no 3D or display.
mdavej is offline  
post #1131 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Zaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
5100 and 5200 have a display. 3100 and 3200 have wifi but no 3D or display.
Only the 6200/7200 have a display in the 2014 range.
marctronixx likes this.
Zaim is offline  
post #1132 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 11:04 AM
Member
 
akadoublej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaim View Post
Only the 6200/7200 have a display in the 2014 range.
Should I care about a display on the unit itself? I can't think of anything that it might be needed for but I have never owned a Blu-Ray player so I don't know what I might be missing.
akadoublej is offline  
post #1133 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,723
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 277
It doesnt really display anything useful.
marctronixx likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S6200
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1134 of 1265 Old 06-29-2014, 11:16 PM
Member
 
Riera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does netflix plays 4K content when using the app on the s6200? I tried giving the unit an static IP, and played with the settings, but the most I can get is "HD" and honestly, it looks bad, I can however play 4K from netflix using the app on my TV (HU8550).
Riera is offline  
post #1135 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by akadoublej View Post
Should I care about a display on the unit itself? I can't think of anything that it might be needed for but I have never owned a Blu-Ray player so I don't know what I might be missing.
The S5200 also doesn't have a rear USB port. It only has one USB port which is on the front. I mainly got the S6200 because it seemed more like the successor to the S5100. Both have displays and both have 2 USB ports. I use the back USB port for a USB flash drive for BD Live. I didn't want the front USB port to be my only choice.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #1136 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riera View Post
Does netflix plays 4K content when using the app on the s6200? I tried giving the unit an static IP, and played with the settings, but the most I can get is "HD" and honestly, it looks bad, I can however play 4K from netflix using the app on my TV (HU8550).
No, it doesn't have the ability to decode HEVC H.265.
marctronixx likes this.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1150.5
Denon AVR-2313ci, Denon AVR-S900w, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200
Cox Cisco 6 tuner Contour Box , PS4, Xbox One, HD Antenna
(2) Klipsch F-30s, (2) Klipsch F-20s, (2) Klipsch S-20s,
(2) Klipsch S-10s, (2) Klipsch B-20s, (1) Klipsch Sub-12HG
UN55HU8550, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S590, Motorola Cox Contour Receiver, PC
sikclown is offline  
post #1137 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Riera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sikclown View Post
No, it doesn't have the ability to decode HEVC H.265.
Thank you, it was driving me crazy.
marctronixx and sikclown like this.
Riera is offline  
post #1138 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
cminer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So after my last exchange, I've encountered my first glitch with the new 6200 player. This time it wouldn't turn on. A quick unplug and operating fine again. I still think the quick start causes the problems since the player doesn't shut down completely. It would be nice if the feature could be used without the crashes and other odd quirks. Anyone saying it is trouble free either hasn't had it very long or doesn't use it much.
cminer72 is offline  
post #1139 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by cminer72 View Post
So after my last exchange, I've encountered my first glitch with the new 6200 player. This time it wouldn't turn on. A quick unplug and operating fine again. I still think the quick start causes the problems since the player doesn't shut down completely. It would be nice if the feature could be used without the crashes and other odd quirks. Anyone saying it is trouble free either hasn't had it very long or doesn't use it much.
I've had the 6200 since launch. Check out my posts as I was one of the first people to have this unit that participates in this thread.

I have the unit wired to the network. I have quick start on and I use this unit daily.

When I turn on the display (Panasonic) , it turns on the Sony receiver and the player through the hdmi cable.

I've never had any issues with this player locking up on by using quick start. Same goes for the Sony players before it.

There could be other factors that contribute to some people's players locking up, but quick start is not the sole culprit.

Other than a couple of Netflix 3d titles freezing up the unit in the early run of its launch requiring the unit be power cycled via the ac plug (scroll back to read if anyone cares) , I've had zero issues since.

Ymmv as always...
marctronixx is online now  
post #1140 of 1265 Old 06-30-2014, 04:13 PM
Member
 
cminer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post
I've had the 6200 since launch. Check out my posts as I was one of the first people to have this unit that participates in this thread.

I have the unit wired to the network. I have quick start on and I use this unit daily.

When I turn on the display (Panasonic) , it turns on the Sony receiver and the player through the hdmi cable.

I've never had any issues with this player locking up on by using quick start. Same goes for the Sony players before it.

There could be other factors that contribute to some people's players locking up, but quick start is not the sole culprit.

Other than a couple of Netflix 3d titles freezing up the unit in the early run of its launch requiring the unit be power cycled via the ac plug (scroll back to read if anyone cares) , I've had zero issues since.

Ymmv as always...
Well, the point is the remote and power button on the player were unresponsive. Since I have quick start turned on, it is technically sleeping and not off. Which is why unplugging the power cord fixes it. I hope next year's model brings back the option to force power down by holding the power button like last year. Or having the cord plugged directly into the back of the player to make it easier to access.
cminer72 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off