Official Sony BDP-S1200, BDP-S3200, BDP-S4200, BDP-S5200, BDP-S6200, and BDP-S7200 - Page 45 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 2253 Old 07-31-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
Sony's website is just terrible when it comes to comparing specs or even getting reliable information. For instance, if you look at Sony Asia's ( http://www.sony-asia.com/product/bdp-s7200 ) marketing specs on the S7200, you will see this gem...

"The Sony BDP-S7200 Blu-ray Disc™ Player doesn't just play 4K resolution content, it also upscales lower resolution content to near 4K resolution. Pair it with your 4K-enabled TV or projector so you can enjoy the best possible picture quality."

Exactly what native 4K content does it play? Photos, perhaps?
This was all brought up before in this thread.
marctronixx likes this.
Nickff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 2253 Old 07-31-2014, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
This was all brought up before in this thread.
Probably so, but it's easy to miss something that is posted somewhere between pages 10 and 40 of a 45 page thread.

What would be helpful is if we added the 7200 to the first post in the thread. I would also consider redoing the first post such that it lists all of the features and specs for the lowest model (the 1200) and then for the next model up just say "everything the 1200 has plus...". Repeat as you go up the line all the way to the 7200, which would say "everything the 6200 has plus...". This way we can be more comprehensive in listing the features, while also making it easier to identify the differences between the models.
marctronixx and ToonMasterTim like this.
HockeyoAJB is online now  
post #1323 of 2253 Old 07-31-2014, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
Probably so, but it's easy to miss something that is posted somewhere between pages 10 and 40 of a 45 page thread.

What would be helpful is if we added the 7200 to the first post in the thread. I would also consider redoing the first post such that it lists all of the features and specs for the lowest model (the 1200) and then for the next model up just say "everything the 1200 has plus...". Repeat as you go up the line all the way to the 7200, which would say "everything the 6200 has plus...". This way we can be more comprehensive in listing the features, while also making it easier to identify the differences between the models.
Good idea.
marctronixx likes this.
Nickff is offline  
post #1324 of 2253 Old 07-31-2014, 04:01 PM
Member
 
skads_187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 12
is the netflix interface the same on the 5200 and the 6200?
skads_187 is offline  
post #1325 of 2253 Old 08-01-2014, 06:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by skads_187 View Post
is the netflix interface the same on the 5200 and the 6200?
Sure is.
marctronixx and skads_187 like this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1326 of 2253 Old 08-01-2014, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickff View Post
Good idea.
If you PM me what you want I will cut and paste it into the first post.
marctronixx likes this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1327 of 2253 Old 08-01-2014, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
It's true that there's a lot of BD's that are region free, mostly Warner, Paramount and Universal, but there's also a lot of region B locked titles. Usually these comes from smaller companies, like Arrow in the UK. I have a few UK imports that are region Locked.
And of course the pesky 1080i/50 titles ;-)
marctronixx likes this.
apw2607 is offline  
post #1328 of 2253 Old 08-01-2014, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
And of course the pesky 1080i/50 titles ;-)
I hear you!...I also have a S6200 region free for those pesky titles and it work like a charm! (knock on wood!)
Cortiz is offline  
post #1329 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 12:20 AM
Member
 
tohoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a Sony BDP-S6200 (Japanese edition). I found a bug regarding to audio output as following.


If AV receiver's HDMI audio decode set to PCM, rather than Auto, then Dolby Digital 5.1ch audio is conveted to PCM 2ch audio. Even if AV receiver's HDMI audio decode set to PCM, DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1ch is converted properly to PCM 5.1ch.


I also have a OPPO BDP-103. In this player, both Dolby Digital 5.1ch audio and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1ch are conveted properly to PCM 5.1ch audio, even if AV receiver's HDMI audio decode set to PCM.


Is there anyone who have same bug?
tohoho is offline  
post #1330 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 05:52 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,662
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Not a bug. The Sonys do not have internal decoders whereas the Oppos do. When set to PCM, DD and DTS are output as 2 channel PCM.


S~
marctronixx likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #1331 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Not a bug. The Sonys do not have internal decoders whereas the Oppos do. When set to PCM, DD and DTS are output as 2 channel PCM.


S~
Partially true. The Sony internally decodes True HD/Dolby but only 2 channels. However, it does fully internally decodes DTS and DTS HD Master as LCPM.
marctronixx likes this.
Cortiz is offline  
post #1332 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 10:20 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,662
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 164
The 6200 and 7200 do. The 1200, 3200, and 5200 do not unless it was added at some point. His 6200 is decoding DTS-HD correctly and outputting DD as 2.0 PCM. No mention of receiver and whether or not it can decode lossless audio.


S~
marctronixx likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #1333 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
The 6200 and 7200 do. The 1200, 3200, and 5200 do not unless it was added at some point. His 6200 is decoding DTS-HD correctly and outputting DD as 2.0 PCM. No mention of receiver and whether or not it can decode lossless audio.


S~
You are correct. I was referring to the S6200 and S7200.
marctronixx likes this.
Cortiz is offline  
post #1334 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 11:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Yes they are perfectly capable of decoding to multichannel PCM.Sony just didn't pay for the license to be able to do it.

Which is why I only bitstream from my Sony BD players. With my PS4 and XBOne I have them decode and send out multichannel PCM.
marctronixx likes this.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1335 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 12:08 PM
Member
 
tohoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cortiz View Post
Partially true. The Sony internally decodes True HD/Dolby but only 2 channels. However, it does fully internally decodes DTS and DTS HD Master as LCPM.
So, why Sony make such strange specifications ?
tohoho is offline  
post #1336 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,096
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tohoho View Post
So, why Sony make such strange specifications ?
Your answer:

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes they are perfectly capable of decoding to multichannel PCM.Sony just didn't pay for the license to be able to do it.
marctronixx likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1337 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Zaim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
We've being through this so many times I've lost count. The dual core processor makes little to no difference. It's just a bunch of marketing babble by Sony.

When the s790 was launched we saw only minor improvements in the xmb for navigation and a slight improvement with the lean back youtube interface.
I've certainly noticed a difference between the 6200 and the 4200, overall performance is a fair bit better, especially for DLNA in my case, the problem I mentioned with forward/rewind/pause/play is not an issue anymore, the player is way more responsive.
marctronixx likes this.

Last edited by Zaim; 08-02-2014 at 04:16 PM.
Zaim is offline  
post #1338 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
For those interested, the 7200 is available via Sony's USA site.
marctronixx likes this.
Nickff is offline  
post #1339 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3,040
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Neat.
marctronixx likes this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI / Emotiva XPA-3
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1340 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 06:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Only $400!?!??

They list the 7200 at 5 lbs. And the 6200 at 2 lbs. They also list them has each having the same power consumption.
marctronixx likes this.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1341 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 09:06 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Help!

I'm watching Alice in 3D and the color temp keeps changing on me randomly. I don't think it's any settings on my F8500 because I haven't had it happen with any other source.

What do I need to change on the 6200 settings?

Edit: only happens in 3D, need to check other BD's.

Last edited by cjpk248; 08-02-2014 at 11:01 PM.
cjpk248 is offline  
post #1342 of 2253 Old 08-02-2014, 10:30 PM
Member
 
tohoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
Yes they are perfectly capable of decoding to multichannel PCM.Sony just didn't pay for the license to be able to do it.

Did anyone confirmed above from authorized Sony people?

Need liscense to just decode PCM 5.1 from DD 5.1 ? I can't understand.
tohoho is offline  
post #1343 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 12:39 AM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 33
sounds right. the 7200 has a metal chassis. the 6200 is made of recycled plastics.
i posted a link from sonys site about the amount of recycled plastics in the 6200, so those numbers sound about right.

the 7200 feels just like the 790 did...


and yea the power consumption is the same because other than the the cover/chassis, its the same machine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Only $400!?!??

They list the 7200 at 5 lbs. And the 6200 at 2 lbs. They also list them has each having the same power consumption.
marctronixx is offline  
post #1344 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,330
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 614 Post(s)
Liked: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by tohoho View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt
Yes they are perfectly capable of decoding to multichannel PCM.Sony just didn't pay for the license to be able to do it.

Did anyone confirmed above from authorized Sony people?

Need liscense to just decode PCM 5.1 from DD 5.1 ? I can't understand.
No need to confirm. It's well documented by Sony and proven by direct experience. Dolby makes it's money from licensing. Sony saves money by not paying for it. I think it's a smart thing to do since your AVR will decode anyway. Why pay for it twice?

We know they are capable since every other model until now would decode DD.
marctronixx likes this.
mdavej is offline  
post #1345 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
If you PM me what you want I will cut and paste it into the first post.
Done.
marctronixx likes this.

Mathematics is the reason for the season.

 

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Ogive

Nickff is offline  
post #1346 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
tohoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
No need to confirm. It's well documented by Sony and proven by direct experience. Dolby makes it's money from licensing. Sony saves money by not paying for it. I think it's a smart thing to do since your AVR will decode anyway. Why pay for it twice?

We know they are capable since every other model until now would decode DD.

I don't think so. Specification is very strange such that can only decode DTS and DTS HD multi-channel to PCM multi-channel. Dolby's licensing is very expensive?
tohoho is offline  
post #1347 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 10:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,096
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by tohoho View Post
I don't think so. Specification is very strange such that can only decode DTS and DTS HD multi-channel to PCM multi-channel. Dolby's licensing is very expensive?


Even if it is only $1 for each player, it can save Sony a few million dollars easily. This is the second year Sony did this. 2013 Sony players are the first to do this. Before that, old Sony players can full decode all audio tracks.
marctronixx and Zaim like this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #1348 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
tohoho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Even if it is only $1 for each player, it can save Sony a few million dollars easily. This is the second year Sony did this. 2013 Sony players are the first to do this. Before that, old Sony players can full decode all audio tracks.

Thank you. I understand.
marctronixx likes this.
tohoho is offline  
post #1349 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 09:20 PM
Member
 
cjpk248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
Help!

I'm watching Alice in 3D and the color temp keeps changing on me randomly. I don't think it's any settings on my F8500 because I haven't had it happen with any other source.

What do I need to change on the 6200 settings?

Edit: only happens in 3D, need to check other BD's.
Does this with Avatar is 3D too. I used another port on the TV with another cable. Towards the end of the movie it seemed to do it a lot less though. It's really weird and I'm pretty disappointed if this is some limitation with the 6200 not handling some sort of deep color or something else.

Anybody more technically savvy have a clue why I'm seeing this cool to warm switching in 3D?
cjpk248 is offline  
post #1350 of 2253 Old 08-03-2014, 10:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjpk248 View Post
Does this with Avatar is 3D too. I used another port on the TV with another cable. Towards the end of the movie it seemed to do it a lot less though. It's really weird and I'm pretty disappointed if this is some limitation with the 6200 not handling some sort of deep color or something else.

Anybody more technically savvy have a clue why I'm seeing this cool to warm switching in 3D?
I've never noticed this happening on my S6200 with the 3D titles I've watched. Does it only occur with certain titles?
marctronixx likes this.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread - S790 by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off