Official Sony BDP-S1200, BDP-S3200, BDP-S4200, BDP-S5200, BDP-S6200, and BDP-S7200 - Page 50 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1471 of 2015 Old 08-15-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anyone has the problem with subtitles on s6200? To me doesn't appear
marctronixx likes this.
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1472 of 2015 Old 08-15-2014, 04:38 PM
Member
 
hoganj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
Any chance you can test the 7200 by trying to play the same file via. DLNA instead of USB? And if it's not too much trouble could you test both USB & DLNA playback of an ALAC and/or DSD file? My understanding is that FLAC is supported via both, but ALAC and DSD are only supported via. USB (not DLNA).
Sorry, the 7200 users guide clearly states that FLAC and a number of other file formats cannot be played by streaming from DLNA servers. Music specifications footnote #6 reads "The player does not play this file format on a DLNA server."
John
marctronixx likes this.
hoganj1 is offline  
post #1473 of 2015 Old 08-15-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoganj1 View Post
RE: 6200 vs 7200
Sony claims that only the 7200 will play Hi-Res Audio files, so I did one-half of an experiment with my 7200 today.

I have a small collection of Hi-Res Audio albums (mostly purchased from HDtracks.com). I selected Eagles > Desperado FLAC files recorded at 24-bit/192 kHz resolution.

(Keep in mind that FLAC by itself does not imply Hi-Res Audio; FLAC (and ALAC and others) only means loss-less compression. Many FLAC files are 16-bit, 44.1 kHz (compact disc standard) recordings.)

I loaded the Eagles album on a flash chip in a USB dongle and plugged it into the front of my 7200.

RESULT: As promised by Sony, the 7200 plays Hi-Res Audio files (in this case, 24-bit/192-kHz FLAC).

If some sufficiently capable and curious 6200 owner is able to repeat the experiment on their player, to test if a 6200 can play 24-bit/192 kHz tracks (doesn't have to be Eagles, any Hi-Res Audio file will do), we could put to rest, one way or the other, the discussion about the equality of the two players.

Anyone?

John
I found some Hi-Res files online. DSD, FLAC, and DXD. My S6200 would not play the DXD file or the DSD 128 stereo file. But my S6200 did play the 5.1 DSD 64 file, the FLAC 5.1 - 24bit/96khz file, and it played the FLAC 2.0 - 24 bit/192Khz file.

I found the files from here.

http://www.2l.no/hires/
marctronixx likes this.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1474 of 2015 Old 08-15-2014, 05:46 PM
Member
 
hoganj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I found some Hi-Res files online. DSD, FLAC, and DXD. My S6200 would not play the DXD file or the DSD 128 stereo file. But my S6200 did play the 5.1 DSD 64 file, the FLAC 5.1 - 24bit/96khz file, and it played the FLAC 2.0 - 24 bit/192Khz file.

I found the files from here.

http://www.2l.no/hires/
OK!
aaronwt (thank you) verifies that the S6200 does play Hi-Res Audio files up to 24-bit/192 kHz. That puts the lie to the Sony press release quoted in post 1425 by Iain, implying that functionality was exclusive to the S7200.

Also, I checked that my S7200 firmware, currently M21.R.0116, is the same filename as the S6200 according to power-to-burn in post 1444.

Bad Sony!
John
marctronixx likes this.
hoganj1 is offline  
post #1475 of 2015 Old 08-15-2014, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoganj1 View Post
OK!
aaronwt (thank you) verifies that the S6200 does play Hi-Res Audio files up to 24-bit/192 kHz. That puts the lie to the Sony press release quoted in post 1425 by Iain, implying that functionality was exclusive to the S7200.

Also, I checked that my S7200 firmware, currently M21.R.0116, is the same filename as the S6200 according to power-to-burn in post 1444.

Bad Sony!
John

I told everyone that the 2 players were identical except for the caseing but some didn't believe me. Do they now? Lol Forgot to mention. My 6200 now has the WWE 24/7 app and I am now signed up!!! I be watching SummerSlam tomorrow night!!!!
marctronixx and Jamo8 like this.

Last edited by steve1971; 08-15-2014 at 06:46 PM.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1476 of 2015 Old 08-16-2014, 01:01 AM
Senior Member
 
powertoburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Marino, CA, USA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoganj1 View Post
OK!
aaronwt (thank you) verifies that the S6200 does play Hi-Res Audio files up to 24-bit/192 kHz. That puts the lie to the Sony press release quoted in post 1425 by Iain, implying that functionality was exclusive to the S7200.

Also, I checked that my S7200 firmware, currently M21.R.0116, is the same filename as the S6200 according to power-to-burn in post 1444.

Bad Sony!
John
Thanks for checking the firmware version!!!

I am happy to report that "Monsters University" Dolby True HD 7.1 along with "Brave", "Finding Nemo", "Monsters INC", "TOTAL RECALL" play just fine on the S6200 without audio drop out due to the seamless branching. The Sony BX-510 exhibits the drop outs with these titles so I had upgraded to the Panasonic BDT500 which did not have issues with these titles as well but due to poor file support I decided to get the S6200 since the BX510 played those files without issue but I wanted the new Netflix interface, Dual Core Processor so those features I upgrade to the S6200. I wanted the S7200 but thought for it's $398 price mind as well get an OPPO 103 for $499.

Anyone else's S6200 get warm on the bottom?
marctronixx likes this.

Last edited by powertoburn; 08-16-2014 at 01:17 AM.
powertoburn is offline  
post #1477 of 2015 Old 08-16-2014, 07:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,920
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertoburn View Post
Thanks for checking the firmware version!!!

I am happy to report that "Monsters University" Dolby True HD 7.1 along with "Brave", "Finding Nemo", "Monsters INC", "TOTAL RECALL" play just fine on the S6200 without audio drop out due to the seamless branching. The Sony BX-510 exhibits the drop outs with these titles so I had upgraded to the Panasonic BDT500 which did not have issues with these titles as well but due to poor file support I decided to get the S6200 since the BX510 played those files without issue but I wanted the new Netflix interface, Dual Core Processor so those features I upgrade to the S6200. I wanted the S7200 but thought for it's $398 price mind as well get an OPPO 103 for $499.

Anyone else's S6200 get warm on the bottom?
I have never felt the bottom of either of my 6200s. I'm not sure if I ever will.
marctronixx likes this.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1478 of 2015 Old 08-16-2014, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by powertoburn View Post
Thanks for checking the firmware version!!!

I am happy to report that "Monsters University" Dolby True HD 7.1 along with "Brave", "Finding Nemo", "Monsters INC", "TOTAL RECALL" play just fine on the S6200 without audio drop out due to the seamless branching. The Sony BX-510 exhibits the drop outs with these titles so I had upgraded to the Panasonic BDT500 which did not have issues with these titles as well but due to poor file support I decided to get the S6200 since the BX510 played those files without issue but I wanted the new Netflix interface, Dual Core Processor so those features I upgrade to the S6200. I wanted the S7200 but thought for it's $398 price mind as well get an OPPO 103 for $499.

Anyone else's S6200 get warm on the bottom?

My 6200 is cool to the touch when playing movies and steaming.
marctronixx likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1479 of 2015 Old 08-16-2014, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 355
I can't rub on my 6200 while its working, Im 8 feet away in the recliner with popcorn.
marctronixx, Jamo8 and matonanjin like this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1480 of 2015 Old 08-17-2014, 08:22 AM
Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Today I try to stream one truHD movie and the audio is not supported. That is tru? Not support truHD in streaming the s6200? Also I can't make it to work the subtitle while is streaming. I connected both wire and wireless. Anybody has similar problem with the s6200? Or is something wrong with my player and I have to return it?
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #1481 of 2015 Old 08-17-2014, 10:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
I can't rub on my 6200 while its working, Im 8 feet away in the recliner with popcorn.
classic
marctronixx likes this.
matonanjin is offline  
post #1482 of 2015 Old 08-18-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I think its time to upgrade my BR, I currently have the BDP-S360 and I think its time to replace it. I'm thinking of getting the S6200, I would like the S7200 just because of the flat top, but don't want to pay a "premium" to have a flat top!

Any think I need to know about the S6200? Known issues? I'm browsing through this thread but thats a lot of information here.
marctronixx likes this.

Denon 2809CI
C: Def Tech - CLR2002
F: Def Tech - BP2002TL
S: Def Tech - BP1.2X
SB: Def Tech - PM400
Sub: Still looking
BRAISKI is offline  
post #1483 of 2015 Old 08-18-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,998
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Nah, been working great for me.
marctronixx and steve1971 like this.

65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #1484 of 2015 Old 08-18-2014, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got the s5200 and immediately updated the firmware. First thing I tried was Pandora app. It has a screensaver but the strange thing is that when the screensaver kicks on you can see vertical scroll bars (browser scroll bars) on the side. As I have a plasma, I can definitely see this as a burn-in issue.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #1485 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 07:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoganj1 View Post
OK!
aaronwt (thank you) verifies that the S6200 does play Hi-Res Audio files up to 24-bit/192 kHz. That puts the lie to the Sony press release quoted in post 1425 by Iain, implying that functionality was exclusive to the S7200.

Also, I checked that my S7200 firmware, currently M21.R.0116, is the same filename as the S6200 according to power-to-burn in post 1444.

Bad Sony!
John
That press release is relevant to European version of BDP-S7200. If you have some other version, then it may not be relevant.

Compare the functionality of European versions of BDP-S6200 v BDP-S7200 and you'll agree.
Iain- is offline  
post #1486 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iain- View Post
Not true for UK models as file playback via USB is different. Download respective user manuals and read the specifications section:
http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/BDP-S6200

http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/product/BDP-S7200
Specifications for BDP-S7200 are on pages 38-41.

Should be similar pages for S6200.
Iain- is offline  
post #1487 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iain- View Post
Specifications for BDP-S7200 are on pages 38-41.

Should be similar pages for S6200.

I have said it once and I will say it for the last time and that is the 6200 and 7200 are identicle Blu ray players save for the look of the players themselves. Otherwise they both share the same internal parts. The 7200 is the European version of the 6200 and that is all. Its sad that so many people have been duped into believing the 7200 is a better model then the 6200 when in fact they are THE SAME INTERNALLY!!!!
marctronixx likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1488 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeKustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 6,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post
I just got the s5200 and immediately updated the firmware. First thing I tried was Pandora app. It has a screensaver but the strange thing is that when the screensaver kicks on you can see vertical scroll bars (browser scroll bars) on the side. As I have a plasma, I can definitely see this as a burn-in issue.
I use Pandora frequently and have never seen anything except the album art & text when the screen saver kicks in. Since the screen saver is unique to the playing device, I can only speculate the unit is defective. I would change the cable first however. I keep most of the Screen Settings at Auto, but the video is set to a fixed 1080p.
marctronixx likes this.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #1489 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
I use Pandora frequently and have never seen anything except the album art & text when the screen saver kicks in. Since the screen saver is unique to the playing device, I can only speculate the unit is defective. I would change the cable first however. I keep most of the Screen Settings at Auto, but the video is set to a fixed 1080p.
It probably has to do with screen resolution. I will try to mess with it later.

I am coming from a Panasonic and I also have a Samsung smart tv and must say the Sony screensaver is the most boring of the 3
marctronixx likes this.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #1490 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
I have said it once and I will say it for the last time and that is the 6200 and 7200 are identicle Blu ray players save for the look of the players themselves. Otherwise they both share the same internal parts. The 7200 is the European version of the 6200 and that is all. Its sad that so many people have been duped into believing the 7200 is a better model then the 6200 when in fact they are THE SAME INTERNALLY!!!!
The bolded part is a bit misleading. In Japan & Europe, they have had both the 6200 and the 7200 from roughly the same date, give or take a month. In the US, we have had the 6200 for about 6 months, but have only had the 7200 for the last month or two. Based on the manuals and specs for the Asian and European versions, the 6200 is not able to play SACD's and does not support ALAC, AIFF, or DSD as those features were reserved for the Asian and European versions of the 7200. However, since they did not originally intend to release the 7200 in the US, they added those features to the US version of the 6200. The recently released US version of the 7200 is essentially the same as the Asian and European versions of the 7200. So, because the US version of the 6200 already had most of the features of the higher end 7200, the differences in the US models appear to be minimal (perhaps only the chassis and case). However, as far as I know, the Asian and European versions of the 6200 still can't play SACD's and don't support ALAC, AIFF, or DSD. And this creates confusion, because...

A) We have people posting specs from the Asian, European, and US versions of the 6200 as if they were the same when they are not.

and

B) Sony apparently copy/pasted the marketing specs for both the 6200 and 7200 Asian and European models when creating the marketing specs for the US models.

If you ignore the marketing specs and look at the actual manuals for each respective model, the information appears to be much more accurate based on what has actually been tested thus far.

This also helps explain the price difference between the 6200 and 7200. In Asia and Europe the price difference makes sense because you are getting not only the fancier chassis and case, but also SACD playback and support for more hi res formats. In the US, they simply gave us those extra features on the 6200 (minus the chassis and case) for free. When they brought the 7200 out, they kept the same price point as they did for the Asian and European models. So, comparatively speaking, it makes the US version of the 6200 look like a steal, or the 7200 look like a ripoff, depending on your point of view.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #1491 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 1,973
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyoAJB View Post
The bolded part is a bit misleading. In Japan & Europe, they have had both the 6200 and the 7200 from roughly the same date, give or take a month. In the US, we have had the 6200 for about 6 months, but have only had the 7200 for the last month or two. Based on the manuals and specs for the Asian and European versions, the 6200 is not able to play SACD's and does not support ALAC, AIFF, or DSD as those features were reserved for the Asian and European versions of the 7200. However, since they did not originally intend to release the 7200 in the US, they added those features to the US version of the 6200. The recently released US version of the 7200 is essentially the same as the Asian and European versions of the 7200. So, because the US version of the 6200 already had most of the features of the higher end 7200, the differences in the US models appear to be minimal (perhaps only the chassis and case). However, as far as I know, the Asian and European versions of the 6200 still can't play SACD's and don't support ALAC, AIFF, or DSD. And this creates confusion, because...

A) We have people posting specs from the Asian, European, and US versions of the 6200 as if they were the same when they are not.

and

B) Sony apparently copy/pasted the marketing specs for both the 6200 and 7200 Asian and European models when creating the marketing specs for the US models.

If you ignore the marketing specs and look at the actual manuals for each respective model, the information appears to be much more accurate based on what has actually been tested thus far.

This also helps explain the price difference between the 6200 and 7200. In Asia and Europe the price difference makes sense because you are getting not only the fancier chassis and case, but also SACD playback and support for more hi res formats. In the US, they simply gave us those extra features on the 6200 (minus the chassis and case) for free. When they brought the 7200 out, they kept the same price point as they did for the Asian and European models. So, comparatively speaking, it makes the US version of the 6200 look like a steal, or the 7200 look like a ripoff, depending on your point of view.

Personally, and this is only my take mind you, I think paying $100 or more for a player thats nearly identicle is a waste. If you are going to do that then your better off buying an Oppo. But again that's just me.
marctronixx likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1492 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
powertoburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Marino, CA, USA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmsnyc View Post
I just got the s5200 and immediately updated the firmware. First thing I tried was Pandora app. It has a screensaver but the strange thing is that when the screensaver kicks on you can see vertical scroll bars (browser scroll bars) on the side. As I have a plasma, I can definitely see this as a burn-in issue.
I noticed this too on my S6200 on a Sharp tv that I have set to Dot By Dot Mode and the player is setup to Auto
marctronixx likes this.
powertoburn is offline  
post #1493 of 2015 Old 08-19-2014, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Jamo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Guys, I'm thinking to get either 6200 or 7200 . Unfortunately , they are not available in my country (Australia).

Thus, i'm thinking to import from US.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Sony-BDP-...25490f4&_uhb=1

Now, I'm aware that it will only play US blu ray's , my question is how I can make it region free ?

Last edited by Jamo8; 08-20-2014 at 01:08 AM.
Jamo8 is offline  
post #1494 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nickff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamo8 View Post
Guys, I'm thinking to get either 6200 or 7200 . Unfortunately , they are not available in my country (Australia).

Thus, i'm thinking to import from US.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Sony-BDP-...25490f4&_uhb=1

Now, I'm aware that it will only play US blu ray's , my question is how I can make it region free ?
Buy a region-free version. I believe there is a link to a vendor earlier in this thread.
marctronixx likes this.
Nickff is offline  
post #1495 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iain-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamo8 View Post
Guys, I'm thinking to get either 6200 or 7200 . Unfortunately , they are not available in my country (Australia).

Thus, i'm thinking to import from US.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Sony-BDP-...25490f4&_uhb=1

Now, I'm aware that it will only play US blu ray's , my question is how I can make it region free ?
http://www.mrmdvd.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=1642

http://www.mrmdvd.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=1604

http://www.tps.uk.com/?tab_name=SONY...&choice_id=209

Don't forget North American mains are different from UK or Aussie mains (120 VAC/60 hz. v 230 VAC/50 hz.). These players are UK spec and won't need mains voltage converter. Only thing you will need is a mains plug adaptor to connect to mains.

Also before ordering, enquire to be sure that any future OEM firmware upgrades won't disable the multi-region features.

Last edited by Iain-; 08-20-2014 at 08:31 AM. Reason: Add third link
Iain- is offline  
post #1496 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
BRAISKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CANADA
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the 4K Upscaling mean that it will play 4K once movies are out on BR?

Denon 2809CI
C: Def Tech - CLR2002
F: Def Tech - BP2002TL
S: Def Tech - BP1.2X
SB: Def Tech - PM400
Sub: Still looking
BRAISKI is offline  
post #1497 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRAISKI View Post
Does the 4K Upscaling mean that it will play 4K once movies are out on BR?
No. It means that the player is capable of upscaling 1080p content (and sometimes lower resolutions as well) to 4K before outputting it. No existing blu-ray players are capable of playing back any type of 4K video source including physical disc, file on USB attached storage, and streaming content. Currently, there are only a couple blu-ray players that can even be used to view 4K photos.

It is possible that 2015 models may have HEVC decoders built into them and the ability to handle 4K content from various sources including streaming apps, USB attached storage, DLNA, and perhaps even from BD-R discs (e.g. homemade stuff). The standards for 4K blu-ray players and discs are unlikely to be formalized until some time in 2015 or even 2016. Depending on what those standards are, 2015 players might or might not be able to play 4K blu-ray discs when they come out. It's entirely possible that you won't be able to buy a player capable of playing actual 4K blu-ray discs until 2016.
marctronixx likes this.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #1498 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
jmsnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I am really disappointed with my S5200 purchase. Not sure if unit is defective but power button does not respond well. Again upgraded to latest firmware. That is in addition to the scrollbar issue mentioned above. I got from Sony Rewards otherwise I would return it. They are exchanging one for me, and I will give it one more go. The original one I received looks like it might have been a return because there was part of the picture on the box removed as if packing tape was ripped off.
jmsnyc is offline  
post #1499 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 10:49 PM
Member
 
Jamo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iain- View Post
http://www.mrmdvd.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=1642

http://www.mrmdvd.com/catalog/produc...oducts_id=1604

http://www.tps.uk.com/?tab_name=SONY...&choice_id=209

Don't forget North American mains are different from UK or Aussie mains (120 VAC/60 hz. v 230 VAC/50 hz.). These players are UK spec and won't need mains voltage converter. Only thing you will need is a mains plug adaptor to connect to mains.

Also before ordering, enquire to be sure that any future OEM firmware upgrades won't disable the multi-region features.
Thanks for the info mate. I didn't realize that the sony blu ray is only 120vac I thought it is multivoltage. My sony projector is multivoltage.

Hmmm... it is slightly expensive in UK.

What do you/guys think about Cambridge audio 651BD ?
Jamo8 is offline  
post #1500 of 2015 Old 08-20-2014, 11:00 PM
Senior Member
 
marctronixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 33
this isnt the thread to discuss that. already a long thread we dont need to get off topic.

feel free to search elsewhere on this forum for that model or start a new thread...
marctronixx is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790
Gear in this thread - S790 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off