Panasonic DMP-BD91/BDT260/360/460 Owner's Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 173 Old 05-20-2014, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
What's MT? Mediatek chip?
Cortiz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 173 Old 05-20-2014, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Yes.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #63 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
I highly doubt that NA will get the 700.

sheshechic is offline  
post #64 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Im having my doubts...

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #65 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I'm not. I expect to see it in the US.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #66 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
Dragon Nexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tried both How to Train Your Dragon and Frozen in 3D and I get no audio and a clear picture but what looks like TV snow/static on top. White speckles that flicker around the screen like static and they show up more the darker the colour.
Tried a 2D Blu Ray and it's perfect, no issues at all. Just tried Thor: The Dark World and none of these issues are present.

I'm assuming (hoping) it's the HDMI cable I'm using. I honestly have no idea what catagory it is, but I'm damn sure it's not a 1.3, so is that something I'll need to buy? I bought 4 a couple of years ago for, like, £1 each and they've been fine so far for my Xbox 360, my 2D Blu Ray player and my PC. I guess they've never been stressed out with a 3D movie until now, though it seemed to play 3D games on my 360 just fine (different TV though).

The TV I'm using this on is an LG42LM760T.

I've just tried it on my TV (LG47LA860W) using the same type of cable and it worked. No speckles, no loss of audio. Took that confirmed working cable downstairs and plugged it in and the speckles and lack of audio returns.
Can I assume it's something to do with the TV? Can any of you gues suggest any kind of setting I might have overlooked that would fix this?

[Edit]: Both TV and player have the latest firmware.
Dragon Nexus is offline  
post #67 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Definitely the cable. Each HDMI device has its own tolerance on cable qualities. So, your cable may work on one combination of the devices but not other. Head over to MonoPrice.com and order some decent cable.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #68 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Dragon Nexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Definitely, definitely the cable?
I just found it bizarre that this cable will work with my (admittedly newer) TV but not mum's TV down stairs.

I've been looking up 1.3 HDMIs while waiting for a reply. Will this do?
http://www.amazon.co.uk/AmazonBasics-High-Speed-Supports-Ethernet-Standard/dp/B003L1ZYYW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1400872793&sr=8-2&keywords=HDMI+1.3

I'm hoping it's not something like mum's TV has an HDMI port too old to cope with this player. I'm not sure if that's even a thing.
Dragon Nexus is offline  
post #69 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Can't speak for cables sold on Amazon as quality varies a lot depending on the supplier. I always use Monoprice as their cable quality is dependable by many here.

In 3D mode, your cable need pass twice as much information as 2D. Snowy or sparkles in picture is a typical symptom of a HDMI cable not up to spec.

Even though the video signal is digital, the transceivers in TV and player are still operated in analog domain. Some transceivers just doing a better job correctly identifying 1s and 0s in a sub quality cable.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #70 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Merged. I use Amazon Basics and Media Bridge all the time. Both work perfectly.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #71 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

I'm not. I expect to see it in the US.

S~

If it can record cable or satellite, it won't be available in NA.

sheshechic is offline  
post #72 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
Dragon Nexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Merged. I use Amazon Basics and Media Bridge all the time. Both work perfectly.

S~

Gah. Ya coulda warned me. I thought I got deleted >_<<br />
So Amazon Basics are okay for what I need? I find myself with a knowledge gap with all this. I was under the impression HDMI, being digital, either worked or it didn't. No middle ground.
Plugging a blu ray player in and finding an image that looked like my 1990s Sky Satalite connection when it was raining was not what I expected to see.
sheshechic likes this.
Dragon Nexus is offline  
post #73 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

If it can record cable or satellite, it won't be available in NA.
The version that wasat CES did not have that capability. Straight upgrade to the 500 that included HDMI 2.0 and HEVC support. The US version might not include Divx support, but it was listed as a feature.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1512023/panasonic-dmp-bdt700

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #74 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sheshechic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheshechic View Post

If it can record cable or satellite, it won't be available in NA.
The version that wasat CES did not have that capability. Straight upgrade to the 500 that included HDMI 2.0 and HEVC support. The US version might not include Divx support, but it was listed as a feature.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1512023/panasonic-dmp-bdt700

S~

Thanks.

sheshechic is offline  
post #75 of 173 Old 05-23-2014, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

The version that wasat CES did not have that capability. Straight upgrade to the 500 that included HDMI 2.0 and HEVC support. The US version might not include Divx support, but it was listed as a feature.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1512023/panasonic-dmp-bdt700

S~

Thats all I saw, 700 is new 500 with updates.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #76 of 173 Old 05-27-2014, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
Dragon Nexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, so the new cable came, I plugged it in and suddenly the player is giving me "This disk is incompatable" messages with every disk I've tried. Disks that worked fine before.
I swapped out the old cable and it still gives me this message. I've tried forcing it to 1080p mode, I've changed 24FPS on and off, I've reset to factory settings, and it won't read anything.

Need some real help here now. I don't know what happened to this player in the 3 days it's been sat there switched off.
Dragon Nexus is offline  
post #77 of 173 Old 05-28-2014, 08:46 AM
Newbie
 
Dragon Nexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turns out the player is borked.
Though the speckly picture seemed to be an HDMI port problem with the TV. Had it in port 2, but port 3 didn't have that issue. So I'm going to need to exchange this for one that hopefully works.
Dragon Nexus is offline  
post #78 of 173 Old 05-28-2014, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
jwckauman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Bought my 360 today.  Looking forward to plugging it into my TC-P65VT60 tonight to see how it works....

jwckauman is offline  
post #79 of 173 Old 05-28-2014, 10:00 AM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Let us know what you think of the player, wondering if it will be a better  than the 330?

HD KOOL-AID is offline  
post #80 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Looks like best buy has the bdt460 in stock for 179.00 anyone going to pick one up?
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
post #81 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Waiting on 700.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #82 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
What is the difference between the 460 and the 360??
Cortiz is offline  
post #83 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 11:42 AM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
From the panasonic au site has 460 specs panasonic usa doesnot have the 460 listed yet,The 460 has dual hdmi , 4kjpeg playback, external HDD playback through usb.
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
post #84 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post

From the panasonic au site has 460 specs panasonic usa doesnot have the 460 listed yet,The 460 has dual hdmi , 4kjpeg playback, external HDD playback through usb.

Do you or anyone knows if the 460 has the Uniphier chip or is that only reserved for the 1700? I have a feeling the 1700 will not be released in the US.
Cortiz is offline  
post #85 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
700 was the only release/spec that I read that mentioned "uniphier".

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #86 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 05:04 PM
Member
 
HD KOOL-AID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
http://news.panasonic.co.uk/pressreleases/panasonic-brings-4k-picture-quality-and-smart-networking-features-to-extended-blu-ray-disc-player-range-975478.


check out this european press releaseI think the 460 and the 700 has the uniphier LSI chip but for the European versions of the player the us press release has no mention of anything for the 460 or 700.
HD KOOL-AID is offline  
post #87 of 173 Old 05-30-2014, 05:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Easiest way to tell, maybe, is if someone gets the 460 and checks the menu for the "chroma" setting. It was removed in the mediatek models

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #88 of 173 Old 06-01-2014, 12:00 PM
Member
 
antivirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD KOOL-AID View Post

http://news.panasonic.co.uk/pressreleases/panasonic-brings-4k-picture-quality-and-smart-networking-features-to-extended-blu-ray-disc-player-range-975478.


check out this european press releaseI think the 460 and the 700 has the uniphier LSI chip but for the European versions of the player the us press release has no mention of anything for the 460 or 700.

DMP-BD81/91 and DMP-BDT160/260/360/364/365/460/465 have been built around Mediatek chipsets.

The new Uniphier chipset is used only in the DMP-BDT700 and in some of Panasonic's Blu-ray recorders for the European market.
gadgtfreek likes this.
antivirus is offline  
post #89 of 173 Old 06-01-2014, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,821
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Just like the tv's. Lower end models get MT now, flagship still gets uniphier.

65" VT50 / BDP-103
X4000 / Outlaw Model 7125
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #90 of 173 Old 06-03-2014, 10:37 PM
Member
 
cyphers72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: California
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So before I immediately return the 360 like I returned the 330 last year, can anyone confirm that there appears to be no way to control this thing except with the remote that comes with it? I want IP control only just like Panasonic used to be great at. The "Remote Device Operation" option still exists in the menus, but they do not seem to have updated their app since the 2012 models and the way it was controlled back then definitely does not work.

QuickStart does leave the player's network turned on when off, but there's no apparent way to control the player despite that. It's sort of like the right hand (Panasonic's team writing the main player UI) is not talking to the left hand (DLNA and control outsourced to another company apparently called Access Company that seems to be doing an awfully poor job of providing access for the second year in a row.

Failing that does anyone know a top notch DLNA client that would be able to exercise any and all DLNA functionality provided by the unit? It seems to have some, but DLNA is such a roulette wheel that it's usually not even worth investigating.
cyphers72 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off