Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 703 Old 05-20-2014, 09:04 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ Yep, that's the ticket! This limitation on the digital outs will probably catch a few more people before all is said and done....

So, how does it sound (high bit rate played via Analog)?
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 703 Old 05-20-2014, 09:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
I can hear a little bit more of detail at 384000Hz but only with WAV or AIFF files. FLAC or ALAC sound the same to me at 192000Hz or 384000Hz. Fortunately almost 90% of my digital collection is in AIFF.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #453 of 703 Old 05-20-2014, 09:15 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ Try this: Pick the higher rate which is an integer multiple of the content rate. EXAMPLE: For 44.1KHz content use 352.8KHz (8x the content rate) instead of 384KHz
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #454 of 703 Old 05-20-2014, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Yes, I do use 352.8KHz for 44.1KHz content. But I switch a lot between 352.8 and 384 because I bounce all my Pro Tools recordings at 96KHz - 24bit.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #455 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Yep, that's the ticket! This limitation on the digital outs will probably catch a few more people before all is said and done....

So, how does it sound (high bit rate played via Analog)?
--Bob

All my two channel music is ripped in 44/16 flac files. I hear a difference in them at every even multiple step, from 44/88/176/352. I find the audio upscaling, not too surprisingly, is very similar to the effect of blowing up a picture. Everything gets bigger, fuller, but less distinct around the edges. The music is definitely airier sounding, but I take this as a happy byproduct of the multiplication, not that anything is being revealed in the music. I've gone back-and-forth on it and decided that I prefer the upscaling. Even though it's not technically "correct", it definitely has a more pleasing effect.

Omar
OmarF is offline  
post #456 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 05:40 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
OPPO UK Has Now Posted Official Firmware 0515 for the European 103/103D/105/105D Players

http://www.oppodigital.co.uk/customer-services/firmware-updates/bdp-103d-105d.aspx

(Note that their site is still being updated, so at the moment, not all the links reflect the new firmware yet, and network install may not be live just yet.)
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #457 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
After the new firmware update the Oppo Media Control app doesn't work. I need to power ON the 105D for app to detect the player.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #458 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 09:01 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ Set Quick Start. That keeps the networking live while the player is "OFF".
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #459 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 09:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Thanks, Bob. My Roomie remote works perfect but the app still not working. It sees the player but I get "Connection Failed" error

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #460 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
OK now is working fine. I just updated the app to 2.1.0 (May 21, 2014) and the app now shows the Darbee on the remote smile.gif

Still no update for the iPad, though.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #461 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 09:41 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ I was just about to post that the iOS app updated this evening. Presumably the iPad version will follow shortly.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #462 of 703 Old 05-21-2014, 10:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post

OK now is working fine. I just updated the app to 2.1.0 (May 21, 2014) and the app now shows the Darbee on the remote smile.gif

Still no update for the iPad, though.

Darbee on the remote was my suggestion :-)

Omar
OmarF is offline  
post #463 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by OmarF View Post

Darbee on the remote was my suggestion :-)

Omar
Yes, I'm sure you were the only one requesting this wink.gif

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #464 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ Set Quick Start. That keeps the networking live while the player is "OFF".
--Bob
Interesting. When the new iphone app started for the first time, it couldn't find the Oppo. I turned the Oppo on manually and when the app discovered it this time there was a message "quick start turned on" on something similar. However, when I turned off the Oppo and then launched the app again, it couldn't find the Oppo. Think I need to go into the Oppo menus directly and turn this on.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #465 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 11:42 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ In addition to Quick Start, you also need to have either Ethernet networking configured, or Wifi networking with the Wifi dongle attached to the USB 1 port on the back of the player.

Also be aware that if you disconnect the player from wall power, then Quick Start won't re-engage until you next power up the player. I.e., the next power up will be Energy Efficient, until it reads in your settings and reestablishes Quick Start.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #466 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
Harrie201's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello,


New here. I am planning to purchase the oppo 105d. I have a plasma tv and cable box and av receiver Marantz sr6008 and monitor audio vector 5.1 speakers. What's the best way to connect my devices for best use of the oppo sabre dacs for stereo and multichannel 5.1 and the use of darbee.

I am a little bit confused what's the best setup.
Harrie201 is offline  
post #467 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by OmarF View Post

Darbee on the remote was my suggestion :-)

Omar
Yes, I'm sure you were the only one requesting this wink.gif

Laugh. Well, the tech I spoke to said I was the first to request it when I called to suggest it some months ago. No doubt it has occurred to others, I'd be surprised if it didn't.

Omar
OmarF is offline  
post #468 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrie201 View Post

Hello,


New here. I am planning to purchase the oppo 105d. I have a plasma tv and cable box and av receiver Marantz sr6008 and monitor audio vector 5.1 speakers. What's the best way to connect my devices for best use of the oppo sabre dacs for stereo and multichannel 5.1 and the use of darbee.

I am a little bit confused what's the best setup.

Connect the Dedicated 105D Unbalanced (RCA) to the FL/.FR of the 7.1 channel inputs.
Connect the Center, Sub, and Surround to the corresponding 7.1 analog inputs.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #469 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

^ In addition to Quick Start, you also need to have either Ethernet networking configured, or Wifi networking with the Wifi dongle attached to the USB 1 port on the back of the player.

Also be aware that if you disconnect the player from wall power, then Quick Start won't re-engage until you next power up the player. I.e., the next power up will be Energy Efficient, until it reads in your settings and reestablishes Quick Start.
--Bob
Now that's a gem of info! I had the USB dongle in USB 2. I'll give it a try once the wifi handshake is complete. Thanks again. Update: That did the trick!

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #470 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scirica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Dallas, TX1
Posts: 1,650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Connect the Dedicated 105D Unbalanced (RCA) to the FL/.FR of the 7.1 channel inputs.
Connect the Center, Sub, and Surround to the corresponding 7.1 analog inputs.

- Rich

Doesn't he also have to make sure that the Oppo analog is setup to use FL/FR vs Stereo Mix-Down to ensure he just gets what he wants out of the FL and FR and that bass management works correctly? And I'm making the assumption he wants to do multichannel for movies/surround versus dedicated stereo.

McIntosh MX121. McIntosh MC205. Focal Aria 948 Main Speakers, Aria CC900 Center. Focal Electra IC 1002 In-Ceiling Surrounds. Paradigm Studio Sub 15. Oppo BDP-105D. Roku XS. Roku 3. Apple TV(3). DirecTV. Panasonic TC-P65VT50. Samsung UN40FH6030F, URC MX-780.
My current SACD list
scirica is online now  
post #471 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 02:09 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Now that's a gem of info! I had the USB dongle in USB 2. I'll give it a try once the wifi handshake is complete. Thanks again. Update: That did the trick!

Turns out this info is actually posted as part of the app description on Apple's app store, but it is easy to miss. Glad it worked!
--Bob
scirica likes this.

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #472 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by scirica View Post

Doesn't he also have to make sure that the Oppo analog is setup to use FL/FR vs Stereo Mix-Down to ensure he just gets what he wants out of the FL and FR and that bass management works correctly? And I'm making the assumption he wants to do multichannel for movies/surround versus dedicated stereo.

Yes. Thanks.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is offline  
post #473 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 07:39 PM
Newbie
 
wolbbf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I am in no way at the level as many of you but I wanted to get some advice on what the best setup would be. I have a Harman Kardan 2650 with Klipsch quintet speakers. I have the had I from the oppo going to the HK and then I have the analog out going into the aux so I can take advantage of the dacs. Is that the best way? I know every system is different but is there a good configuration to set the oppo settings to?

Thank you all for looking at this.
wolbbf is offline  
post #474 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Something weird happened today with my 105D. I turned it ON and 1/3 of the screen was totally white with sparkles. I switched to network and it was fine, but as soon switch back to blue ray the 1/3 of the screen with sparkles again. I put Avatar and as soon the movie started I got handshake issues with audio and video drop off. I turned the 105D ON and OFF several times with the same results. Then I unplugged the power cord for 15 sec, plug it in again, turned it ON and problem solved. Does anybody experienced something similar?

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #475 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 08:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
OmarF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by enricoclaudio View Post

Something weird happened today with my 105D. I turned it ON and 1/3 of the screen was totally white with sparkles. I switched to network and it was fine, but as soon switch back to blue ray the 1/3 of the screen with sparkles again. I put Avatar and as soon the movie started I got handshake issues with audio and video drop off. I turned the 105D ON and OFF several times with the same results. Then I unplugged the power cord for 15 sec, plug it in again, turned it ON and problem solved. Does anybody experienced something similar?

It's probably a glitch related to HDMI. Some bad data about your HDMI connection got stored in memory, and when you cleared the OPPOs memory by unplugging it, the setting refreshed and corrected itself. Doubt you have to worry about it.

*Note: If turning the player on and off did not fix it, you probably have it in Quick Start mode, which maintains a memory cache. The only way to clear that cache is by unplugging it, or switching to Efficient startup mode, which is effectively the same as unplugging.

Omar
OmarF is offline  
post #476 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 08:52 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
Odds are this was actually a problem in your TV. That HDMI input got wedged. Think of it as one processor (of several) in the TV crashing.

As long as the connection was live from the OPPO that part in the TV could not reset itself. When you power cycled the OPPO, the connection was likely kept live for HDMI CEC purposes. When you unplugged the OPPO the HDMI connection was taken down, at which point that wedged part in the TV reset itself.

You would likely have gotten the same result by power cycling the TV.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #477 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Thanks, Omar. You are correct I have it in Quick Start mode because I use the Media Control app and my Roomie remote. Now I know that if it happens again I do need to switch it back to Efficient Start up mode or unplug it.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #478 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post

Odds are this was actually a problem in your TV. That HDMI input got wedged. Think of it as one processor (of several) in the TV crashing.

As long as the connection was live from the OPPO that part in the TV could not reset itself. When you power cycled the OPPO, the connection was likely kept live for HDMI CEC purposes. When you unplugged the OPPO the HDMI connection was taken down, at which point that wedged part in the TV reset itself.

You would likely have gotten the same result by power cycling the TV.
--Bob

I did power cycling the TV with no result. Also I turned ON the projector as soon I got the issue in my TV and the projector was having the same problem, so definitely was the player.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
post #479 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 09:16 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 820
^ The odds change when you post additional information. biggrin.gif
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #480 of 703 Old 05-22-2014, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
enricoclaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 166
BTW the new Oppo Media Control HD (for iPad) is available. It works much better than before but I love the look of the new iPhone version better.

Best Regards,

Enrico Castagnetti
Rythmik Audio

 

My Multimedia Room Gallery

enricoclaudio is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off