Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 676 Old 07-17-2014, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
Totallyconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^

The 3 to 5 second audio mute when fast forwarding, reversing, or after a pause (or changing channels) is my main (actually only) dissatisfaction with my set-up. Since RichB is having the same problem and we are both using the 105D with analog outs to an A51, but different set-top sources, I'm inclined to believe the problem is with my Oppo settings rather than the very limited settings available with the Dish set-top, but I am sure I have tried every setting and combination of settings in the Oppo. RichB, I hope you solve your situation and share it with us. Thanks.
Totallyconfused is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 676 Old 07-17-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totallyconfused View Post
^^^

The 3 to 5 second audio mute when fast forwarding, reversing, or after a pause (or changing channels) is my main (actually only) dissatisfaction with my set-up. Since RichB is having the same problem and we are both using the 105D with analog outs to an A51, but different set-top sources, I'm inclined to believe the problem is with my Oppo settings rather than the very limited settings available with the Dish set-top, but I am sure I have tried every setting and combination of settings in the Oppo. RichB, I hope you solve your situation and share it with us. Thanks.
I removed the Lumagen from the chain and there was no difference. I have not found any settings in the 105D that has any effect.
However, the Panasonic 65ZT60 definitely has slow HDMI handshaking.


It may be system specific so I recommend contacting Oppo support and see if they have any suggestions.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15

Last edited by RichB; 07-17-2014 at 07:08 AM.
RichB is online now  
post #663 of 676 Old 07-17-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
acrafton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unable to connect BDP105 to Apps

I am unable to get my new Oppo 105 to connect to the iOS App on any of my devices. The oppo is on the network, I can see it from the app, but when I select it then it immediately say "connection failed". If I change the name of the Oppo the new name shows up in the app with the correct ip, etc but when I select it then it fails. .

Any ideas?
acrafton is offline  
post #664 of 676 Old 07-17-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 34
did you check to see if you have the latest version of the app? I have deleted and reinstalled the app before to get it to work. Have you turned off the oppo and restarted to try to connect again?
edfowler is online now  
post #665 of 676 Old 07-17-2014, 09:30 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
Also, the latest iOS app requires the latest player firmware. Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The "Main" firmware version number should end "0515".

If you are trying to use the app to Power On the player, additional requirements are:

1) Quick Start must be set

2) You must either be using Ethernet networking, or the Wifi dongle must be plugged into the USB 1 socket on the back of the player, and Wifi networking enabled.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #666 of 676 Old 07-18-2014, 07:06 AM
Member
 
ECS01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FWIW, and that might not be much, I also have a 50" Pioneer Kuro display (but use a Tivo Romio) and have also noted that the HDMI handshake is pretty slow... I suspect that the Kuro is starting to show it's age, relative to the HDMI in the TiVo and 105, but the picture is so good I'm willing to live with the slow handshake and resulting audio gap issues.
scirica likes this.
ECS01 is offline  
post #667 of 676 Old 07-18-2014, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Im curious as to how you guys have your 105d's hooked up? I was planning on running the oppo to the stereo outs on the yamaha and use the hdmi out strictly for blu ray. Is there a big difference between the hdmi and the analog outs? Thanks in advance guys
NextLevel217 is offline  
post #668 of 676 Old 07-19-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Im curious as to how you guys have your 105d's hooked up? I was planning on running the oppo to the stereo outs on the yamaha and use the hdmi out strictly for blu ray. Is there a big difference between the hdmi and the analog outs? Thanks in advance guys
Yes there is. With analog outs, you're using the audio DACs of the Oppo. With HDMI, you're using the audio DACs of your AVR. Which is better depends on your AVR's DACs and implementation.
BillP is online now  
post #669 of 676 Old 07-19-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
jabol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own Oppo 105D which I bought 2 months ago. I recently started using navigation buttons on the front panel instead of the remote. However, I noticed that sometimes the buttons, when playing CD, are not responsive. I can see that they light up when I press them, but the player does not react. It happens from time to time. I do not have any issues when operating the player using the remote. Has anyone experienced it?

Thank you,
jabol
jabol is offline  
post #670 of 676 Old 07-22-2014, 05:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,155
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Please take all audio theory discussion to the audio theory thread.


Thank you.
gsr and Links like this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #671 of 676 Old 07-22-2014, 11:22 PM
Newbie
 
jakenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One more 4k future proofing question... re the Oppo 105D's HDMI input

I've scanned the thread and as far as I can tell this specific question hasn't been asked and answered yet:

I understand the 105D's HDMI output is HDMI 1.4 compliant which means it can output 4k resolution content at 24 or 30 frames per second with 8 bit colour - as evidenced by the 105D's own 4k upscaling. Whereas (per the helpful link someone posted) 4k at higher frame rates such as 50 or 60fps or at 10-12 bit colour depth would require the greater bandwidth of HDMI 2.0.

So for argument's sake make a few assumptions re 4k in 2015:
- 2015 4k disc and/or streaming video formats are agreed supporting a range of bitrates and framerates
- current audio codecs e.g. LPCM remain for the time being
- 4k HDMI 2.0 capable source hardware becomes available, say disc players & video cards
- that as 4k content starts to arrive, that some of that 4k content - film in particular - is available in 8bit colour and at 24fps i.e. theoretically still within the HDMI 1.4 spec

My question is if given the above assumptions, and what you know of the 105D's hardware, in the scenario where you used some 2015 4k hardware to play 4k content at 24fps with 8 bit colour over HDMI would you expect the 105D ought to be able to successfully take (and process or passthrough) that signal via its HDMI input? My focus here is the possibility of continuing to use the 105D's terrific audio DACs with some 4k material even if only passing through the video.

Quite a few variables here so I suspect 'it depends' but I'd be interested in your thoughts.
jakenz is offline  
post #672 of 676 Old 07-23-2014, 04:27 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 7,373
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakenz View Post
One more 4k future proofing question... re the Oppo 105D's HDMI input

I've scanned the thread and as far as I can tell this specific question hasn't been asked and answered yet:

I understand the 105D's HDMI output is HDMI 1.4 compliant which means it can output 4k resolution content at 24 or 30 frames per second with 8 bit colour - as evidenced by the 105D's own 4k upscaling. Whereas (per the helpful link someone posted) 4k at higher frame rates such as 50 or 60fps or at 10-12 bit colour depth would require the greater bandwidth of HDMI 2.0.

So for argument's sake make a few assumptions re 4k in 2015:
- 2015 4k disc and/or streaming video formats are agreed supporting a range of bitrates and framerates
- current audio codecs e.g. LPCM remain for the time being
- 4k HDMI 2.0 capable source hardware becomes available, say disc players & video cards
- that as 4k content starts to arrive, that some of that 4k content - film in particular - is available in 8bit colour and at 24fps i.e. theoretically still within the HDMI 1.4 spec

My question is if given the above assumptions, and what you know of the 105D's hardware, in the scenario where you used some 2015 4k hardware to play 4k content at 24fps with 8 bit colour over HDMI would you expect the 105D ought to be able to successfully take (and process or passthrough) that signal via its HDMI input? My focus here is the possibility of continuing to use the 105D's terrific audio DACs with some 4k material even if only passing through the video.

Quite a few variables here so I suspect 'it depends' but I'd be interested in your thoughts.
The 10x platform won't accept 4K video input in any form, whether it be from optical disc, Internet streaming, locally attached storage, network playback, the HDMI inputs, etc. AFAIK, that's a hardware limitation, so don't expect it to change.
jakenz likes this.
gsr is online now  
post #673 of 676 Old Yesterday, 08:49 AM
Member
 
mikeveredas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a headache! (Oppo 105d connection plan)

In need of a new SACD player, so the 105D is on my radar. I want to take advantage of darbee. or at least give it a try, so I am trying to figure out how to connect it properly to take advantage of all the bells and whistles.

Currently I am connected by the following.

Xfinity, PS3 and Apple plugged into Marantz then single hdmi from marantz to TV.

The way I think I should connect if I get the 105d is

Xfinity, ps3, apple connected to marantz. Marantz to oppo, oppo to tv. Bam darbee is set and ready to roll. But wait...AUDIO. Do I connect analogs to marantz input? HDMI?
That is where I am stumped. I almost want to use 2 output sources, HDMI for movies and such and analogs for audio. Is that nuts?

And now you see why I have a headache. Seems like a lot of looping.

On a long enough time line the survival rate for everyone drops to zero
Panasonic 65ZT60 (STOLEN), Samsung f8500 64"
Marantz 7008 as pre/pro
(STOLEN)Emotiva XPA-5 gen 2
(STOLEN)Axiom M22, M2, SVS PB12NSDx2, Definitive Technology Mythos 3 (STOLEN)
PS3, Xfinity X2 (beta)Working to replace stolen items...
mikeveredas is offline  
post #674 of 676 Old Yesterday, 10:11 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 797
^ If you connect HDMI output from the OPPO to a Marantz Input you will have an HDMI loop. Consider that when playing movies the Marantz will also be sending HDMI to the OPPO's input. And when playing your external sources, the Marantz will see HDMI input from the external source an also from the OPPO.

Now, that may or may not work depending upon details of how each source device executes the HDMI handshakes (handshakes are driven by the source device) and how the Marantz reacts to an HDMI handshake arriving on two separate inputs at the same time. You can try it of course, but you may have issues.

The alternative is to run multi-channel Analog to the Marantz for audio. The Marantz will only ever see HDMI input from the external sources, and the OPPO will only not be trying to send HDMI to the Marantz while also receiving HDMI from the Marantz.

Setting up Analog audio takes a bit of care to make sure speaker and sub levels are matched and that you don't have both the OPPO and the Marantz trying to process that audio (e.g., Crossover processing or speaker distance adjustments). But it does avoid loops.

On another note, if you use the PS3 for games there's an added complication, which is that the video processing in the OPPO may add undesired timing lag.
--Bob

Anthem D2/D2v/AVM50/AVM50v/ARC1 tweaking guide. -- Need personal consultation/training? PM me!
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #675 of 676 Old Yesterday, 11:55 AM
Member
 
mikeveredas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
This seems like more hassel than its worth. Mayby I'll just get a 103, standard, and use as a blu-ray/sacd and leave it as is...

On a long enough time line the survival rate for everyone drops to zero
Panasonic 65ZT60 (STOLEN), Samsung f8500 64"
Marantz 7008 as pre/pro
(STOLEN)Emotiva XPA-5 gen 2
(STOLEN)Axiom M22, M2, SVS PB12NSDx2, Definitive Technology Mythos 3 (STOLEN)
PS3, Xfinity X2 (beta)Working to replace stolen items...
mikeveredas is offline  
post #676 of 676 Old Yesterday, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 2,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeveredas View Post
This seems like more hassel than its worth. Mayby I'll just get a 103, standard, and use as a blu-ray/sacd and leave it as is...
I've got a 103D, so take my comments from that perspective.

I have XFinity, and use HDMI exclusively.

I don't have a gaming system, so my connection is easy - the XFinity box to HDMI1 input and I'm done. It works great with the 103D and the Darbee function is an improvement.

As Bob mentioned, you may not want a gaming system processed by the 10XD due to latency issues, so that you may want direct to the Marantz.

So that leaves the Apple TV. That might benefit from the Oppo / Darbee processing, so you could connect it to the HDMI2 input.

Leaves you without a loop, then you could use the 103/105 (D) to your heart's content. Switching to a different input is easy, the analog connection is live, so if you wanted analog for music, you could do that as well.

Just my 2 cents.
hernanu is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off