Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 670 Old 07-17-2014, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
Totallyconfused's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^^

The 3 to 5 second audio mute when fast forwarding, reversing, or after a pause (or changing channels) is my main (actually only) dissatisfaction with my set-up. Since RichB is having the same problem and we are both using the 105D with analog outs to an A51, but different set-top sources, I'm inclined to believe the problem is with my Oppo settings rather than the very limited settings available with the Dish set-top, but I am sure I have tried every setting and combination of settings in the Oppo. RichB, I hope you solve your situation and share it with us. Thanks.
Totallyconfused is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 670 Old 07-17-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totallyconfused View Post
^^^

The 3 to 5 second audio mute when fast forwarding, reversing, or after a pause (or changing channels) is my main (actually only) dissatisfaction with my set-up. Since RichB is having the same problem and we are both using the 105D with analog outs to an A51, but different set-top sources, I'm inclined to believe the problem is with my Oppo settings rather than the very limited settings available with the Dish set-top, but I am sure I have tried every setting and combination of settings in the Oppo. RichB, I hope you solve your situation and share it with us. Thanks.
I removed the Lumagen from the chain and there was no difference. I have not found any settings in the 105D that has any effect.
However, the Panasonic 65ZT60 definitely has slow HDMI handshaking.


It may be system specific so I recommend contacting Oppo support and see if they have any suggestions.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15

Last edited by RichB; 07-17-2014 at 07:08 AM.
RichB is online now  
post #663 of 670 Old 07-17-2014, 08:10 AM
Member
 
acrafton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unable to connect BDP105 to Apps

I am unable to get my new Oppo 105 to connect to the iOS App on any of my devices. The oppo is on the network, I can see it from the app, but when I select it then it immediately say "connection failed". If I change the name of the Oppo the new name shows up in the app with the correct ip, etc but when I select it then it fails. .

Any ideas?
acrafton is offline  
post #664 of 670 Old 07-17-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
edfowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: central Indiana
Posts: 1,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 34
did you check to see if you have the latest version of the app? I have deleted and reinstalled the app before to get it to work. Have you turned off the oppo and restarted to try to connect again?
edfowler is online now  
post #665 of 670 Old 07-17-2014, 09:30 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 27,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 796
Also, the latest iOS app requires the latest player firmware. Check Setup > Device Setup > Firmware Information. The "Main" firmware version number should end "0515".

If you are trying to use the app to Power On the player, additional requirements are:

1) Quick Start must be set

2) You must either be using Ethernet networking, or the Wifi dongle must be plugged into the USB 1 socket on the back of the player, and Wifi networking enabled.
--Bob
Bob Pariseau is online now  
post #666 of 670 Old 07-18-2014, 07:06 AM
Member
 
ECS01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FWIW, and that might not be much, I also have a 50" Pioneer Kuro display (but use a Tivo Romio) and have also noted that the HDMI handshake is pretty slow... I suspect that the Kuro is starting to show it's age, relative to the HDMI in the TiVo and 105, but the picture is so good I'm willing to live with the slow handshake and resulting audio gap issues.
scirica likes this.
ECS01 is offline  
post #667 of 670 Old 07-18-2014, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Im curious as to how you guys have your 105d's hooked up? I was planning on running the oppo to the stereo outs on the yamaha and use the hdmi out strictly for blu ray. Is there a big difference between the hdmi and the analog outs? Thanks in advance guys
NextLevel217 is online now  
post #668 of 670 Old 07-19-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
BillP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 13,695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by NextLevel217 View Post
Im curious as to how you guys have your 105d's hooked up? I was planning on running the oppo to the stereo outs on the yamaha and use the hdmi out strictly for blu ray. Is there a big difference between the hdmi and the analog outs? Thanks in advance guys
Yes there is. With analog outs, you're using the audio DACs of the Oppo. With HDMI, you're using the audio DACs of your AVR. Which is better depends on your AVR's DACs and implementation.
BillP is offline  
post #669 of 670 Old 07-19-2014, 11:40 AM
Member
 
jabol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I own Oppo 105D which I bought 2 months ago. I recently started using navigation buttons on the front panel instead of the remote. However, I noticed that sometimes the buttons, when playing CD, are not responsive. I can see that they light up when I press them, but the player does not react. It happens from time to time. I do not have any issues when operating the player using the remote. Has anyone experienced it?

Thank you,
jabol
jabol is offline  
post #670 of 670 Old Today, 05:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,152
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Please take all audio theory discussion to the audio theory thread.


Thank you.
gsr likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105 , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off