Official OPPO BDP-105D Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 696 Old 01-30-2014, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
Javaruke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks DanF8500. I have tested going from Oppo to AVR, then AVR to projector and there doesn't appear to be video degradation.
Javaruke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 696 Old 01-30-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javaruke View Post

Thanks DanF8500. I have tested going from Oppo to AVR, then AVR to projector and there doesn't appear to be video degradation.

Good to hear. That is by far the simplest configuration. I go through my Marantz AV8801 for convenience with all processing disabled with no problems.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #93 of 696 Old 02-01-2014, 02:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

What format are the subtitles? I use PGS, VOBSUB and SRT and all work.

Is this on local storage, over SMB or DLNA?

-Bill

Thank you for the reply.

Local .mkv files on a USB Stick.

I don't know the format of the subtitles, how can I find that out??

They work fine in the PS3 Media Server streamed, and locally on my PC using VLC Media player, but not locally in my 105D.... I cannot seem to find a setting that may allow them to work, perhaps this player does not do some types of subtitles on local .mkv files??

Take care....
Cain is offline  
post #94 of 696 Old 02-01-2014, 02:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas21 View Post

Just got my 105D and it is up and running with a regionfree prokit (normal 103/105 prokit) from bluraychip.dk and it works with all sones on BD. Will watch the first movie on it tonight.smile.gif

Was it difficult to install that kit?? Does it degrade the picture quality in any way??

TIA
Cain is offline  
post #95 of 696 Old 02-01-2014, 05:21 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post

Thank you for the reply.

Local .mkv files on a USB Stick.

I don't know the format of the subtitles, how can I find that out??

Are the subtitles embedded in the MKV container, or in separate files?

There are free utilities MediaInfo and mvkinfo (which is part of the mkvmerge package) which will give you details on the container and the data within it.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #96 of 696 Old 02-01-2014, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I appreciate the help. They are embedded. I'll research the type.
Cain is offline  
post #97 of 696 Old 02-01-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Neuromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Navigating the Black IC
Posts: 10,959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Make sure you use the Subtitle button to select the subtitle track you want to use, as the player does not support forced subtitles in MKV containers.
Neuromancer is offline  
post #98 of 696 Old 02-02-2014, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
wagnerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Watched my first BluRay on the 105D!
wagnerc is offline  
post #99 of 696 Old 02-02-2014, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmzip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomfield Connecticut
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does anyone have their 105D hooked up in a balanced 2 channel setup? Curious to the sound quality for 2 channel hi end audio
fmzip is offline  
post #100 of 696 Old 02-02-2014, 07:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmzip View Post

Does anyone have their 105D hooked up in a balanced 2 channel setup? Curious to the sound quality for 2 channel hi end audio
yep of course. that is pretty much the whole purpose of the -105 model, along with digital audio inputs and headphone amp too.
balanced 2ch direct to amps sounds superb. smile.gif

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #101 of 696 Old 02-02-2014, 08:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmzip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomfield Connecticut
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Any input on the headphone output? I have some Audeze LCD2 Headphones, wonder how well the Oppo can drive them
fmzip is offline  
post #102 of 696 Old 02-02-2014, 10:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmzip View Post

Any input on the headphone output? I have some Audeze LCD2 Headphones, wonder how well the Oppo can drive them
http://www.head-fi.org/t/642103/oppo-bdp-105-headphone-amp

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #103 of 696 Old 02-03-2014, 04:47 AM
Member
 
GreenMtnGringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Vermont, USA
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmzip View Post

Does anyone have their 105D hooked up in a balanced 2 channel setup? Curious to the sound quality for 2 channel hi end audio

Initially, I connected my 105D via 1m Kimber Hero XLR's. The sound was good but it did not blow me away. Last night, I swapped out the Kimbers for a pair of 1m RCA Harmonic Technology Magic Link Two interconnects. Suddenly, the heavens opened up and I heard that extremely musical sound I had hoped for. The Harm Techs cost approximately four times more than the Kimbers, so I guess I should not be that surprised the sound improved so substantially. Nevertheless, I concluded that a great RCA interconnect can sometimes beat a very good XLR interconnect, and by a wide margin.
GreenMtnGringo is offline  
post #104 of 696 Old 02-03-2014, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 123
^ Theoretically, the only difference between the 105D's dedicated stereo rca and xlr outputs is that the xlr outputs are 6 db hotter than the rca outputs. At full volume, the 105D has an output level of 2.1V rms via its rca outputs, and 4.2 V rms via its xlr outputs.
DanF8500 is online now  
post #105 of 696 Old 02-03-2014, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post

Make sure you use the Subtitle button to select the subtitle track you want to use, as the player does not support forced subtitles in MKV containers.

Thank you, I did not notice a subtitle button, I will do this!!
Cain is offline  
post #106 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmzip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bloomfield Connecticut
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ordered the BDP-105D today!
fmzip is offline  
post #107 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys! I am considering buying a BDP-105D (I have a BDP-93 now) Just a question, does the Oppo still allow AVCHD playback over SMB? If i have my blu-ray movies backed up and ripped to the BDMV folder structure, will it play it like the full blu-ray movie? I can do this with any USB Hard Drive locally, just wondering if I can do this over network now?
Rebellion is offline  
post #108 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 05:54 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellion View Post

Hey guys! I am considering buying a BDP-105D (I have a BDP-93 now) Just a question, does the Oppo still allow AVCHD playback over SMB? If i have my blu-ray movies backed up and ripped to the BDMV folder structure, will it play it like the full blu-ray movie? I can do this with any USB Hard Drive locally, just wondering if I can do this over network now?

No, and it doesn't work on local storage either.

There is a free utility that will "bless" AVCHD backups to make them playable. That should work for SMB and local storage, but there is no way of knowing how long the technique will work.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #109 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

No, and it doesn't work on local storage either.

There is a free utility that will "bless" AVCHD backups to make them playable. That should work for SMB and local storage, but there is no way of knowing how long the technique will work.

-Bill

What?! They completely removed that functionality in the new players? I am on the latest firmware with my BDP-93 and it can still play the folder structure it as if I am playing a Disc movie when I plug in my Hard Drive.
Rebellion is offline  
post #110 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 06:25 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellion View Post

What?! They completely removed that functionality in the new players? I am on the latest firmware with my BDP-93 and it can still play the folder structure it as if I am playing a Disc movie when I plug in my Hard Drive.

Yes, the rules change with new players.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #111 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Rebellion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post

Yes, the rules change with new players.

-Bill

Yes I found this so called "blessing". Heres hoping its not messed with. Is this due to the CInavia protection?
Rebellion is offline  
post #112 of 696 Old 02-04-2014, 07:05 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,962
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellion View Post

Yes I found this so called "blessing". Heres hoping its not messed with. Is this due to the CInavia protection?

No, that is yet another DRM complication. The -83 and -93 models ignore Cinavia because of their age. The -103 and after must detect and respect Cinavia, although currently that happens only on optical disc. That too may change in the future. As the studios see how people are getting around the copy protection measures they tighten the rules.

-Bill
wmcclain is online now  
post #113 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 01:05 AM
Newbie
 
dog_dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just picked up my 105d from magnolia bestbuy today.

connected thru audioquest xlr cable to mcintosh mac6700

so far it sounds very impressive!!!! eventho without sacd.

here are pics.

enjoy!













dog_dealer is offline  
post #114 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 03:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Webmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
it is a beauty
Webmonkey is offline  
post #115 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 4,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you for the unboxing photos! I was in such a rush to open mine and connect it, that never dawned on me. Can is use your photos on my "under construction" HT web page? I will of course keep your tag and name intact on the bottom right.

BTW folks, just to re-state. The picture this player produces is nothing short of "jaw-dropping". Very happy with it. I have not yet experimented with Darbee.
Cain is offline  
post #116 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Nice pictures Dog_Dealer. Long term, you may want to move the BDP-105 since the Mac is likely heat it up wink.gif

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #117 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 09:06 AM
Newbie
 
dog_dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cain View Post

Thank you for the unboxing photos! I was in such a rush to open mine and connect it, that never dawned on me. Can is use your photos on my "under construction" HT web page? I will of course keep your tag and name intact on the bottom right.

BTW folks, just to re-state. The picture this player produces is nothing short of "jaw-dropping". Very happy with it. I have not yet experimented with Darbee.

sure! not a problem man!
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Nice pictures Dog_Dealer. Long term, you may want to move the BDP-105 since the Mac is likely heat it up wink.gif

- Rich

i know that. already built my audio rack but this 76lbs mac piece makes me lazy. smile.gif
dog_dealer is offline  
post #118 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultra 150 pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Western mass
Posts: 1,070
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
what camera you using? nice shots!
ultra 150 pilot is offline  
post #119 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 07:34 PM
Member
 
cogipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose the answer to my questions may appear in the 105 thread, but I was unable to find them.

Can the 105D output through the 7.1 analog channels while simultaneously outputting through the stereo analog/XLR connections? I so, I would like to run 2 zones at once from the OPPO.

Also, my plan was to connect the Oppo via HDMI 1 to the TV and send the analog 7.1 to the Sherbourn PT-7030. Of course, by using the Sherbourn Preamp, I would be able to play different sources into different zones which would not be possible if using the OPPO by itself.

Which leads me to my 2nd question: Will the quality of the signal output from the OPPO be degraded in any way by the Sherbourn Preamp DACs? If so, I am not sure I am going to use the PT-7030 in this particular room despite the zone flexibility it would afford.
cogipro is offline  
post #120 of 696 Old 02-05-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by cogipro View Post

I suppose the answer to my questions may appear in the 105 thread, but I was unable to find them.

Can the 105D output through the 7.1 analog channels while simultaneously outputting through the stereo analog/XLR connections? I so, I would like to run 2 zones at once from the OPPO.

Also, my plan was to connect the Oppo via HDMI 1 to the TV and send the analog 7.1 to the Sherbourn PT-7030. Of course, by using the Sherbourn Preamp, I would be able to play different sources into different zones which would not be possible if using the OPPO by itself.

Which leads me to my 2nd question: Will the quality of the signal output from the OPPO be degraded in any way by the Sherbourn Preamp DACs? If so, I am not sure I am going to use the PT-7030 in this particular room despite the zone flexibility it would afford.

Yes. You can use the multi-channel 7.1 AND the dedicated stereo outputs simultaneously. You just need to make the correct settings in the player menus to make it happen.
I am not familiar enough with the PT-7030 to say whether or not it will cleanly pass through the analog audio without coloring the sound.
Maybe someone more familiar will chime in on that, or you could ask in the thread(s) dedicated to Sherbourn or your specific model.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Digital Inc Bdp 105
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off